CTNF 18/568,349 CTNF 84277 DETAILED ACTION This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/568,349 filed 12/08/2023 which claims priority from PCT/JP2021/023828 filed 6/23/2021. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 4/6/2026 which provides amendment to claims 1, 5, and 6, and new claims 7-9, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are currently pending. Claim Rejections – Withdrawn The previous 35 U.S.C § 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 1-5 have been withdrawn as necessitated by amendment. The previous 35 U.S.C § 103 rejections in view of Uchida (US 2021/0064226 A1), Nagasaka, (US 2018/0253229 A1), and Rodgers et al. (US 11,061,383 B1), have been withdrawn as necessitated by amendment. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered, however, the amendment(s) to the claims necessitated a new consideration and search resulting in new prior art cited below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi (US 2024/0094706 A1, with priority to foreign application JP2021-063854 filed 4/5/2021), and further in view of Fanuc America Corporation (“01 CNC Display Overview” - YouTube, published 10/31/2016, hereinafter referred to as “Fanuc”) Regarding claim 1, Ouchi teaches a numerical controller for displaying a user interface screen, the numerical controller comprising a processor configured to: acquire display state information o btained by associating a combination of a plurality of composite parts included in the user interface screen, a display state of each of the composite parts constituting the combination, and setting of operation buttons; create an operation button layout table that determines a layout of the operation buttons for each display state of the user interface screen…; More specifically, an operation panel for operating a machine tool includes a first display unit for displaying information related to the machine tool, a keyboard, and a plurality of operation buttons (Ouchi, abstract, Figure 2). A combination of application screens (“program running screen”, “program editing screen”, “tool information screen”, i.e., composite parts ) may be displayed simultaneously. One of the application screens can be selected/made into an active state and shown with a highlighted frame. Each button has a display and shows the functionality associated with the selected/active application of the combination (Ouchi, [0040]-[0041]). Figure 14 depicts the high-level button control processing. Key arrangements for many different composite parts and operating modes are stored in key arrangement memory 236 construed as a button layout table (Ouchi, [0098], [0108] [0114], [0115], Figure 17). detect a change in the display state of the user interface screen, and switch layout of the operation buttons on the user interface screen based on the operation button layout table . More specifically, when the active screen is changed, the key arrangement is retrieved from the key arrangement memory (button layout table) and switched based on the activation of a different screen (Ouchi, [0124], Figure 18). However, Ouchi may not explicitly teach every aspect of [the button layout] defined by the combination of the plurality of composite parts. Fanuc video describes the user interface of a CNC. From 1m:54s – 2m:40s, the narrator is describing the softkey function assignments (“Absolute”, “Relative”, “All”, “Program”, “Folder”, “Next”, “Check”, etc.) that pertain to a combination of at least two different simultaneously displayed composite parts (i.e., at least a coordinate display part and a program part). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Ouchi and Fanuc that a controller for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state would include [the button layout] defined by the combination of the plurality of composite parts. With Ouchi and Fanuc disclosing user interfaces with operation buttons with functions that are switched based on display states, with Fanuc additionally suggesting that the button layout can pertain to a display state that defines a combination of composite parts, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a controller for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state would include [the button layout] defined by the combination of the plurality of composite parts in order to not require screen switching in order to provide operation button input to displays that are simultaneously displayed and make use of any unassigned operation buttons. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this controller for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state. Regarding claim 2, Ouchi and Fanuc teach the numerical controller according to claim 1, wherein the display state includes information on whether or not the plurality of composite parts are displayed . More specifically, the operation buttons are dependent on what is displayed and active / selected (Ouchi, abstract, Figure 2, [0040]-[0041], [0098], [0108] [0114], [0115], [0124]). Additionally, softkey allocation is dependent on the composite parts actually displayed in the user interface (Fanuc, at least 1m:54s – 2m:40s). Regarding claim 3, Ouchi and Fanuc teach the numerical controller according to claim 1, wherein the display state includes a mode of the numerical controller . More specifically, the specific key arrangement displayed is also dependent on the current mode of the numerical controller as well as the active / selected composite part (Ouchi, [0056]-[0060], [0102], [0114], [0121], [0164], “mode” is periodically referred to as “operation scene”). Regarding claim 4, Ouchi and Fanuc teach the numerical controller according to claim 1, wherein the display state includes information on whether or not the plurality of composite parts are selected . More specifically, the operation buttons are dependent on what is displayed and active / selected (Ouchi, abstract, Figure 2, [0040]-[0041], [0098], [0108] [0114], [0115], [0124]). Regarding claim 7, Ouchi and Fanuc teach the numerical controller of claim 1, wherein in response to the detection of the change in the display state, the processor automatically switches the layout of the operation buttons . More specifically, an embodiment will change the key arrangement responsive to a change in the active / selected composite part (Ouchi, [0091]). Regarding claims 6 and 9, these claims recite a non-transitory storage medium storing an instruction for performing the functions of the numerical controller of claims 1 and 7, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi, in view of Fanuc, and further in view of Seitz et al. (US 2016/0179085 A1, hereinafter “Seitz”) . Regarding claim 5, Ouchi teaches a screen creation system comprising…a processor: …the processor configured to: receive setting of display state information by associating a combination of a plurality of composite parts included in the user interface screen, a display state of each of the composite parts constituting the combination, and setting of operation buttons for the composite parts ; create an operation button layout table that determines a layout of the operation buttons for each display state of the user interface screen; More specifically, an operation panel for operating a machine tool includes a first display unit for displaying information related to the machine tool, a keyboard, and a plurality of operation buttons (Ouchi, abstract, Figure 2). A combination of application screens (“program running screen”, “program editing screen”, “tool information screen”, i.e., composite parts ) may be displayed simultaneously. One of the application screens can be selected/made into an active state and shown with a highlighted frame. Each button has a display and shows the functionality associated with the selected/active application of the combination (Ouchi, [0040]-[0041]). Figure 14 depicts the high-level button control processing. Key arrangements for many different composite parts and operating modes are stored in key arrangement memory 236 construed as a button layout table (Ouchi, [0098], [0108] [0114], [0115], Figure 17). detect a change in the display state of the user interface screen, and change layout of the operation buttons displayed on the UI screen in a numerical controller based on the operation button layout table. More specifically, when the active screen is changed, the key arrangement is retrieved from the key arrangement memory (button layout table) and switched based on the activation of a different screen (Ouchi, [0124], Figure 18). However, Ouchi may not explicitly teach every aspect of [the button layout] defined by defined by the combination of parts. Fanuc video describes the user interface of a CNC. From 1m:54s – 2m:40s, the narrator is describing the softkey function assignments (“Absolute”, “Relative”, “All”, “Program”, “Folder”, “Next”, “Check”, etc.) that pertain to a combination of at least two different simultaneously displayed composite parts (i.e., at least a coordinate display part and a program part). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Ouchi and Fanuc that a screen creation system for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state would include [the button layout] defined by the combination of the plurality of composite parts. With Ouchi and Fanuc disclosing user interfaces with operation buttons with functions that are switched based on display states, with Fanuc additionally suggesting that the button layout can pertain to a display state that defines a combination of composite parts, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a screen creation system for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state would include [the button layout] defined by the combination of the plurality of composite parts in order to not require screen switching in order to provide operation button input to displays that are simultaneously displayed and make use of any unassigned operation buttons. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this controller for displaying a user interface screen with a combination of composite parts that determines button layout pertaining to the current display state. However, Ouchi and Fanuc may not explicitly teach every aspect of [a] part library configured to store parts included in a user interface screen and a plurality of composite parts obtained by combining the parts. Seitz discloses a control system for controlling operation of a numerically controlled machine tool, the system comprising a back-end control device and a front-end control device communicably connected to the back-end control device. The back-end control device comprises a numerical controller (Seitz, abstract). A first graphical user interface being preferably configured to switch among one or more first control screens (construed as composite parts ) displayed on the display unit on the basis of user input operations input via the input unit, the control screens each including a configuration of a respective set of user operable widgets (construed as parts ) (Seitz, [0022], [0088], [0090], switching among screens ( composite parts ) implies they are also stored). Figures 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, and 4-6 depict a library of widgets/parts 254 included in screens ( composite parts ) of a user interface. Figure 8 depicts a screen of a composite part (Seitz, at least [0099]-[0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Ouchi and Fanuc with Fanuc that a screen creation system for a numerical controller with a plurality of composite parts would include a part library configured to store parts included in a user interface screen and a plurality of composite parts obtained by combining the parts. With Ouchi, Fanuc, and Seitz disclosing user interfaces for numerical controllers with buttons that are switched based on the current display state, and with Seitz additionally suggesting a part library configured to store widgets (parts) and screens (composite parts) obtained by combining the widgets/parts, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a screen creation system for a numerical controller with a plurality of composite parts would include a part library configured to store parts included in a user interface screen and a plurality of composite parts obtained by combining the parts in order to have an advantage that a convenient graphical user interface for controlling the NC/PLC can be universally provided independent of vendor specific NC/PLC systems and independent of vendor specific communication protocols used in a vendor specific NC/PLC system environment (Seitz, [0022]). One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this numerical controller for displaying a user interface screen where the display state is determined for switching buttons. Regarding claim 8, Ouchi and Fanuc teach the screen creation system of claim 5, wherein in response to the detection of the change in the display state, the processor automatically switches the layout of the operation buttons . More specifically, an embodiment will change the key arrangement responsive to a change in the active / selected composite part (Ouchi, [0091]). Pertinent Prior Art The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. Rutkowski (US 6,389,325 B1) – machine tool, selecting a window causes the softkey functions to update for the selected window. Friedrich (US 2009/0046066 A1) – machine tool, using button 7 essentially selects from a plurality of applications, common buttons 6 are updated for the selected application. Takagi (US 4,862,389 A) – system, selecting a window causes the function keys to update for the selected window. Itakura (US 2014/0379118 A1) – numerical controller, the functions assigned to softkeys pertain to the multiple parts displayed. Oonishi (US 2020/0272126 A1) – screen creation for a numerical controller, softkeys pertain to a combination of the displayed composite parts. Kumasaka (US 2021/0365005 A1) – user interface for a numerical controller with a soft button row that switches functions. Miller (US 2010/0063608 A1) - user interface for a numerical controller with a soft-button rows that switch functions. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PATRICK F RIEGLER whose telephone number is (571)270-3625. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30am-6:00pm, ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kieu Vu can be reached at (571) 272-4057. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 2 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 3 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 4 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 5 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 6 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 7 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 8 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/568,349 Page 9 Art Unit: 2171