DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the combination of references with regard to claim 2 and whether or not the Yamagishi reference teaches the feature of “injecting molten ethylene carbonate to be analyzed into a gas chromatography analyzer,” and that Yamagishi teaches only the step of injecting a diluted solution of ethylene carbonate rather than molten ethylene carbonate. However, as described in paragraph 0052 for example, Yamagishi teaches the withdrawal of molten ethylene carbonate (EC) for analysis by gas chromatography. Since Yamagishi has only been relied on for a teaching of the molten ethylene carbonate in a chromatography system, the combination with Jones is still deemed proper as Jones teaches the remaining limitations with regard to the specific chromatography steps and the only difference is the addition of the molten ethylene carbonate. Therefore, in combination, the analysis method would be performed on the molten ethylene carbonate in the system. As to the arguments with regard to the advantageous properties of the present application, while such advantages may exist, they are not claimed and do not affect the claim language in any manner to differentiate it from the prior art combination and are not considered to be part of the method as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 7-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. US 2013/0081484 and Yamagishi US 2009/0221840.
Regarding claim 2, the claim is directed to a standard gas chromatography method for analyzing ethylene carbonate using a single taper liner not packed with wool. The remaining limitations are generally known in the art and taught by Jones which discloses a gas chromatography analytical method based on an ethylene carbonate split injection technique, comprising:
injecting a sample to be analyzed into a gas chromatography analyzer,
vaporizing the injected sample (paragraph 0006, 0009) in a liner (paragraph 0009),
introducing a part of the vaporized sample into a capillary column (paragraph 0001, 0007) with an inert gas (helium, paragraph 0071) flowing and allowing the sample to pass through the capillary column, and
detecting the sample having passed through the capillary column with a detector (paragraph 0008). Therefore, Jones differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly teach the method as analyzing ethylene carbonate as claimed.
Yamagishi teaches a process for purifying ethylene carbonate for use in batteries in which a finished product is subjected to chromatographic analysis to determine its purity (paragraph 0042-0043). The ethylene carbonate is molten (melted, abstract) so that it can flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have conducted the method of Jones to detect ethylene carbonate in order to monitor the presence of EC to ensure the correct production of batteries, and since the method of Jones could be used with any sample.
Regarding claim 3, the liner of Jones can be a single taper liner not packed with wool such as that seen in fig. 2c and described in paragraph 0062.
Regarding claim 5, Jones teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the purity of the ethylene carbonate to be analyzed is 99.5% by mass or more. Yamagishi teaches a process for purification of ethylene carbonate for use in batteries in which a purity of 99.8-99.84% by weight is used (paragraph 0006). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used the ethylene carbonate of Yamagishi in the method of Jones to ensure the quality is sufficient for manufacturing of the batteries.
Regarding claim 7, the method of Jones collects the sample to be analyzed into a syringe for injection in a gas chromatograph (paragraph 0009) under a dry inert gas (helium, paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 8, Jones discloses using a vial holding the sample before introduction into the gas chromatograph (paragraph 0009) which would be capped to prevent contamination or loss of the sample.
Regarding claim 9, the sampling of Jones takes place at a high temperature with a helium carrier (paragraph 0071) which would be dry as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, the method of Jones discloses operating the injection port temperature in the claimed range (paragraph 0069 discloses heating to 280 degrees C).
Regarding claim 12, the method of Jones discloses operating the detector in the claimed range (paragraph 0071 discloses heating to 300 degrees C).
Regarding claim 13, the inert gas of Jones is helium (paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 14, jones discloses in paragraphs 0071-0072 a flow rate into the column of 1.5mL/min and a makeup gas flow of 60mL/min which would be within the claimed ratio as the makeup gas would be after the column.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones and Yamagishi as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dhan et al. US 2019/0207246.
Regarding claim 4, Jones and Yamagishi teach the claimed invention with the exception of the water content of the ethylene carbonate to be analyzed is 100 ppm or less. Dahn discloses a lithium-ion battery which is prepared with ethylene carbonate and a water content of 14ppm or less (paragraph 0221). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have relied upon the teachings of Dhan when analyzing ethylene carbonate for use in batteries by maintaining the same water content to ensure the analyzed sample would correspond to the actual battery.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones and Yamagishi as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Reuter US 2011/0016951.
Regarding claim 6, Jones and Yamagishi teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the gas pressures as claimed. It was known at the time of filing to increase the carrier gas pressure during injection of a sample into a gas chromatography analyzer and to decrease it afterwards when no flow is necessary. Reuter teaches in paragraphs 0008-0009, for example, increasing the pressure of the carrier gas during injection and reducing it afterwards. Although the prior art does not specifically teach the increase as being 1.5 to 30 times a common operating pressure, there is no disclosed benefit to such a value and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to any pressure increase to allow for the optimal flow, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones and Yamagishi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Okuyama US 2020/0268032.
Regarding claim 10, Jones and Yamagishi teach the claimed invention but do not explicitly disclose the liquid phase as claimed. Okuyama teaches a gas chromatograph which uses polyethylene glycol as a liquid phase (paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Okuyama with those of Jones and Yamagishi to provide a similar liquid phase since PEG was known to be commonly used in gas chromatography phases for separation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A SHABMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855