DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings contain deficient line quality. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(l). See Figures 22-26. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 55 and 59-61 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 55, line 3, “a user console” should be changed to the user console since the user console was previously introduced in line 2. Regarding claim 59, line 15, “and environmental smoke effect generator” should be deleted since the environmental smoke effect generator was introduced in lines 12-13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-57 and 59-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the selected audiovisual source" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 42, line 6, it is unclear if the air impact effect generator is required since the claim recites that the set of special effects generators comprise at least one of an aroma effect generator, a water spray effect generator, a wind effect generator, a light generator, a smoke generator, an air impact effect generator and a vibrations generator, such that an air impact effect generator is not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the air impact effect generator. For the purpose of examination, since lines 5-6 recite that each special effects chair comprises two air nozzles for the air impact effect generator, the air impact effect generator seems to be required.
Regarding claim 43, it is unclear if the aroma effect generator or the air impact effect generator are required since the claim from which it depends recites that the set of special effects generators comprise at least one of an aroma effect generator, a water spray effect generator, a wind effect generator, a light generator, a smoke generator, an air impact effect generator and a vibrations generator, such that an aroma effect generator and an air impact effect generator are not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the aroma effect generator and the air impact effect generator. For the purpose of examination, since lines 5-6 of claim 42 recite that each special effects chair comprises two air nozzles for the air impact effect generator, the air impact effect generator seems to be required but the aroma effect generator does not seem to be required.
Regarding claim 44, it is unclear if the smoke effect generator or the water spray effect generator are required since the claim from which it depends recites that the set of special effects generators comprise at least one of an aroma effect generator, a water spray effect generator, a wind effect generator, a light generator, a smoke generator, an air impact effect generator and a vibrations generator, such that a smoke effect generator and a water spray effect generator are not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the smoke effect generator and the water spray effect generator. For the purpose of examination, the smoke effect generator and the water spray effect generator do not seem to be required.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the water tank" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 45, it is unclear if the smoke effect generator, the aroma effect generator, or the wind effect generator are required since the claim from which it depends recites that the set of special effects generators comprise at least one of an aroma effect generator, a water spray effect generator, a wind effect generator, a light generator, a smoke generator, an air impact effect generator and a vibrations generator, such that a smoke effect generator, an aroma effect generator, and a wind effect generator are not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the smoke effect generator, the aroma effect generator, and the wind effect generator. For the purpose of examination, the smoke effect generator, the aroma effect generator, and the wind effect generator do not seem to be required.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "the turbine blower" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 59, lines 16-22, it is unclear if the environmental smoke effect generator is required. The claim previously recites that said set of environmental special effect generators comprise at least one of an environmental smoke effect generator, an environmental light effect generator, an environmental wind effect generator, an environmental aroma effect generator, and an environmental water spray effect generator such that the environmental smoke effect generator is not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the environmental smoke effect generator. For the purpose of examination, the environmental smoke effect generator does not seem to be required.
Regarding claim 60, it is unclear if the environmental smoke effect generator or the environmental water spray effect generator are required since the claim from which it depends recites that the set of environmental special effects generators comprise at least one an environmental smoke effect generator, an environmental light effect generator, an environmental wind effect generator, an environmental aroma effect generator, and an environmental water spray effect generator, such that an environmental smoke effect generator and an environmental water spray effect generator are not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the environmental smoke effect generator and the environmental water spray effect generator. For the purpose of examination, the environmental smoke effect generator and the environmental water spray effect generator do not seem to be required.
Regarding claim 61, it is unclear if the environmental smoke effect generator or the environmental aroma effect generator are required since the claim from which it depends recites that the set of environmental special effects generators comprise at least one an environmental smoke effect generator, an environmental light effect generator, an environmental wind effect generator, an environmental aroma effect generator, and an environmental water spray effect generator, such that an environmental smoke effect generator and an environmental aroma effect generator are not required, but the claim subsequently further defines the environmental smoke effect generator and the environmental aroma effect generator. For the purpose of examination, the environmental smoke effect generator and the environmental aroma effect generator do not seem to be required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-41, 47-50, 53, and 57-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2014/0277771 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Park discloses an entertainment system (Figure 1) for use with a plurality of audiovisual sources and comprising one or more special effects chairs [100]; each special effects chair [100] comprising: a body including a seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”); a motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) connected to the seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”); at least one special effects cabinet [130] contained in a portion of the body of each of the one or more chairs [100]; a controller [110] in communication with the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”), with the at least one special effects cabinet [130] for generating special effects, and with the selected audiovisual source [30]; the controller [110] being configured to receive an input signal (paragraph 0024: “4D code”) based on an audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”) from the selected audiovisual source [30] and to send a set of synchronized signals (paragraph 0029: “[t]he motion controller 110 controls operations of the actuator 120 and the special effect module 130 by receiving the 4D code from the center server 40”) to the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) (via actuators [120]) and to the at least one special effects cabinet [130] in response to the received audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”), wherein each special effects cabinet [130] generates all the special effects free of requiring external special effects devices (paragraphs 0022-0052 and Figures 1-6; wherein each special effect module [130] is a self-contained effect which doesn’t require an external device to operate the effect).
Regarding claim 41, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 40, further comprising a user console [40] configured to communicate with the selected audiovisual sources [30] to receive one or more selected audiovisual signals (paragraph 0024: “time code”) therefrom, and to simultaneously send said input signals (paragraph 0024: “4D code”) to the controller [110] of each of the one or more chairs [100] in response to the audiovisual signals (paragraph 0024: “time code”) received from said selected audiovisual sources [30] (paragraphs 0024, 0029, 0035-0036, and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 47, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 41, further comprising one or more environmental special effects generator boxes [200], wherein each of said one or more environmental special effects generator boxes [200] contains one or more environmental special effects generators (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of wind, fog, bubble, fragrance, flash, and the like”), wherein said environmental special effects are generated in synchronism with an audio or video signal (paragraph 0025: “the center server 40, as a server, also transmits the special effect code to the special effect equipment 200”); and wherein said environmental special effects are generated entirely within the one or more environmental special effects generator boxes [200] in an autonomous way, that is, free of requiring external devices (paragraphs 0022, 0025, and Figure 1; wherein each special effect equipment [200] is a self-contained effect which doesn’t require an external device to operate the effect).
Regarding claim 48, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 47, wherein said one or more environmental special effects generator boxes [200] receive the synchronization signal (paragraph 0025: “the center server 40, as a server, also transmits the special effect code to the special effect equipment 200”) to generate said environmental special effects from said user console [40] or from at least one external device; wherein said at least one external device is selected from the group formed by, but not limited to: PCs, laptops, smartphones, smartwatches, tablets and game consoles (paragraphs 0022, 0025, and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 49, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 47, wherein the user console [40] is configured to communicate with devices selected from the group formed by, but not limited to: said chairs [100], said one or more environmental special effects boxes [200], and audiovisual sources comprising external devices selected from a group formed by, but not limited to: PCs, laptops, game consoles, smartphones, smartwatches, tablets and virtual reality headsets (paragraphs 0024-0025, 0035, 0043, and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 50, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 47 wherein the user console [40] is configured to store and play-back audio and video content (paragraphs 0024, 0035-0036), run video game software (paragraph 0036) and store pre-programmed cycles to produce movements and to trigger special effects (paragraphs 0024, 0025, 0029, and 0034) in the one or more chairs [100] (paragraphs 0024-0025, 0029, 0034-0036, and Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 53, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 46, wherein each of the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”), the backrest (paragraph 0033: “a backrest”), the seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”), the armrests (paragraph 0040: “an armrest”), the special effects cabinet [130], the electronic controller unit [110] and the base (see paragraph 0028; wherein the motion chairs are installed on a motion base and thus must have a corresponding “base” to install to the motion base) form altogether an electrically and mechanically linked device, said one or more special effects chairs [100] being free from the need of being assembled by a user (paragraph 0013: “pre-installed”) and free of the need of a special electrical or mechanical infrastructure for their operation, making it suitable for its use in a home (paragraphs 0013, 0028, 0033, and 0040 and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 57, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 47, wherein the special effects are generated by the special effects cabinet [130] or the environmental special effects box [200], or both [130, 200] (paragraphs 0025, 0031, and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 58, Park discloses a special effects chair [100] for use with a plurality of audiovisual sources, the chair [100] comprising: a body including a seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”); a motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) connected to the seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”); and at least one special effects cabinet [130] housed in a portion of the body of the chair [100] and including a controller [110] configured to selectively communicate with one of the plurality of audiovisual sources [30], said controller [110] being in communication with the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”), with the at least one special effects cabinet [130] and with the selected audiovisual source [30], the controller [110] being configured to receive an input signal (paragraph 0024: “4D code”) based on an audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”) from the selected audiovisual source [30] and to send a set of synchronized signals (paragraph 0029: “[t]he motion controller 110 controls operations of the actuator 120 and the special effect module 130 by receiving the 4D code from the center server 40”) to the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) and to the at least one special effects cabinet [130] in response to the received audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”); wherein each special effects cabinet [130] generates all the special effects free of requiring external special effects devices (paragraphs 0022-0052 and Figures 1-6; wherein each special effect module [130] is a self-contained effect which doesn’t require an external device to operate the effect).
Regarding claim 59, Park discloses an environmental special effects box [200] for use with a plurality of audiovisual sources, and with a user console [110], the environmental special effects box [200] comprising: a set of environmental special effects generators (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of wind, fog, bubble, fragrance, flash, and the like”); a controller [40] configured to selectively communicate with one of the plurality of audiovisual sources [30] and with the user console [110], said controller [40] being configured to receive an input signal (paragraph 0024: “4D code”) based on an audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”) from the selected audiovisual source [30] or from the user console and to send a set of synchronized signals (paragraph 0025: “the special effect code”) to the set of environmental special effects contained therein in response to the received audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”) or the received signal from the console; wherein said set of environmental special effect generators (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of wind, fog, bubble, fragrance, flash, and the like”) contained in each of the one or more environmental special effects generator boxes [200] comprise at least one of: an environmental smoke effect generator (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of…fog”), an environmental light effect generator (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of…flash”), an environmental wind effect generator (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of wind”), an environmental aroma effect generator (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of…fragrance”), an environmental water spray effect generator, and environmental smoke effect generator (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of…fog”); wherein said environmental smoke effect generator comprises a water tank to store water, and wherein the water tank contains an ultrasonic transducer inserted into a floating device and wherein the ultrasonic transducer vibrates at an ultrasonic frequency breaking the water particles in the water tank to generate mist that simulates smoke; and wherein the environmental smoke effect generator also comprises a turbine blower that pushes the mist to an air outlet port of the environmental special effects box; wherein the set of environmental special effects generators (paragraph 0025: “a device capable of providing an effect of wind, fog, bubble, fragrance, flash, and the like”) generates all the environmental special effects free of external special effects devices (paragraphs 0022-0025, 0027, 0029, and Figures 1-2; wherein each special effect equipment [200] is a self-contained effect which doesn’t require an external device to operate the effect). Regarding the italicized language reciting the structure of the environmental smoke effect generator, an environmental smoke effect generator is not required by the claim as outlined in paragraph 13 above.
Regarding claims 60-61, an environmental smoke effect generator, an environmental water spray effect generator, an environmental aroma effect generator, and an environmental wind effect generator are not required by the claims such that Park anticipates the claims. See paragraphs 14 and 15 above.
Regarding claim 62, Park discloses a method of providing a special effects system (Figure 1) for use with a plurality of audiovisual sources, the system comprising one or more chairs [100]; each chair [100] having a seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”), a backrest (paragraph 0033: “a backrest”) and a footrest (paragraph 0033: “a foot rest”), a motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) connected to the seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”), at least one special effects cabinet [130] contained in the chair [100] and a user console [40] configured to selectively communicate with one of the plurality of audiovisual sources [30], and including a controller [110] in communication with the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”), with the at least one special effects cabinet [130] and with the user console [40]; wherein the user console [40] is configured to selectively communicate with one of the plurality of audiovisual sources [30]; the method comprising: providing a menu to a user to select a mode from: a cinema mode, a gaming mode, a relaxing mode, and a simulator mode (paragraph 0012 and claim 4; wherein the user can watch a movie (i.e., cinema mode) or play a game (i.e., gaming mode)); and causing the controller [110] to send a set of synchronized signals (paragraph 0029: “[t]he motion controller 110 controls operations of the actuator 120 and the special effect module 130”) to the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) and to the at least one special effects cabinet [130] in response to an input signal based on an audiovisual signal received from the user console and the selected mode; or in response to an input signal (paragraph 0024: “4D code”) based on an audiovisual signal (paragraph 0024: “time code”) received from the selected audiovisual source [30] and the selected mode (paragraphs 0022-0052 and Figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 63, Park discloses the method of claim 62, wherein in the cinema mode, each chair [100] moves its motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) and activates the one or more special effects cabinets [130] in synchronism with audiovisual content, according to a previously programmed and encoded sequence (paragraphs 0029-0033, 0044, 0052, and Figures 1-4); wherein, in the gaming mode, each chair communicates through different protocols with an external device selected from a group formed by, but not limited to: PCs, laptops, game consoles, smartphones, smartwatches, tablets and virtual reality headsets (36) and generates movements and special effects synchronized in real time with the action that takes place within the game; wherein, in the relaxing mode, each chair changes the ergonomic position of its backrest and footrest and, triggered from an external device or a mobile device, or through pre-programmed cycles, it generates movements, vibrations, lights and aromas in relaxation routines; and wherein, in the simulator mode, the user mounts a removable accessory/support to the chair; wherein said accessory/support allows mounting different peripherals and commercial game controls, selected from the group consisting of, but not limited to: steering wheels, pedals, gear shifters, airplane controls, joysticks and displays; and for allowing those said peripherals and game controls to accompany the movement of the chair in its motion, turning the chair into a simulator with movements and effects, wherein the entertainment system is designed to be used in a household setting. The examiner would like to point out that claim 62, from which claim 63 depends, requires only one mode to be selected from a cinema mode, a gaming mode, a relaxing mode, and a simulator mode. In the present case, Park anticipates the claimed cinema mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Lee (WO 2011/162448 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 40, wherein each special effects cabinet [130] comprises a set of special effects generators [130] comprising at least one of: an aroma effect generator, a water spray effect generator (paragraph 0031: “a water spray”), a wind effect generator (paragraph 0031: “an air shot”), a light generator, a smoke generator, an air impact effect generator (paragraph 0031: “an air shot”) and a vibrations generator (paragraph 0031: “a tickler” and/or paragraph 0032: “a shaker”); wherein each special effects chair [100] comprises a backrest (paragraph 0033: “a backrest”) containing vibration generating devices (paragraph 0033: “the tickler may be installed in…a backrest”) and comprises an air nozzle for the air impact effect generator (paragraph 0031: “an air shot”); and wherein each special effects chair comprises a seat (paragraph 0033: “a seat”) containing vibration generating devices (paragraph 0033: “the tickler may be installed in…a seat”) (paragraphs 0031-0033 and Figure 2). Park discloses an air nozzle but does not disclose two air nozzles. Lee, however, teaches a similar entertainment system [10] comprising a special effect chair [10a] comprising two air nozzles [420, 430, 460, 470] for an air impact effect generator (paragraphs 54, 60-61, 78-79, 82, 89, 96-100, and Figures 1, 6, 9, and 11). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s air impact effect generator to include more than one nozzle because Lee teaches that his configuration allows a user to experience pictures using the sense of touch for a 4-D experience to maximize the effects of watching the picture (paragraphs 4-7 and 130).
Regarding claim 43, the modified Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 42, wherein the aroma effect generator and the air impact effect generator (paragraph 0031: “an air shot”) share an air compressor (paragraph 0031: “the air shot discharges compressed air to the face”) for generating pressure and air volume, and wherein the air impact effect generator (paragraph 0031: “an air shot”) further comprises an air container (integral to the air compressor) (paragraph 0031 and Figure 2; also see paragraphs 97-100 and Figure 9 of Lee). Regarding the italicized claim language, an aroma effect generator is not required by the claim as outlined in paragraph 8 above.
Regarding claims 44-45, a smoke effect generator, a water spray effect generator, an aroma effect generator, and a wind effect generator are not required by the claims such that the modified Park anticipates the claims. See paragraphs 9 and 11 above.
Claims 46 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Butt et al. (US 2011/0043006 A1).
Regarding claim 46, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 40, wherein each chair [100] further comprises: a backrest (paragraph 0033: “a backrest”), two armrests (paragraph 0040: “an armrest”), a footrest (paragraph 0033: “a foot rest”), and a base (see paragraph 0028; wherein the motion chairs are installed on a motion base and thus must have a corresponding “base” to install to the motion base), wherein said base has a supportive surface that provides stability to the chair [100] against the forces exerted by the motion platform (paragraph 0028: “a motion base”) over its entire range of motion, preventing the chair [100] from tipping over (paragraphs 0028, 0033, and 0040). Park does not disclose that the chair is free from the need to be anchored to the ground of fastened to any structure. Butt, however, teaches a similar entertainment system comprising a chair [10] having a motion platform [92, 94] and a base [54, 56, 110], wherein said base [54, 56, 110] has a supportive surface that provides stability to the chair [10] against the forces exerted by the motion platform [92, 94] over its entire range of motion, preventing the chair [10] from tipping over, thereby freeing the chair [10] from the need of being anchored to the ground or fastened to any structure (paragraphs 0031-0032, 0037, 0040, 0042-0043, 0045, and Figure 1-5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s base to have a supportive surface that provides stability to the chair which prevents the chair from tipping over to free the chair from the need of being anchored to the ground or fastened to any structure because Butt teaches that this configuration increases the stability of the system while being flexible, less obtrusive, easily stored, and easily manufactured (paragraphs 0004 and 0043).
Regarding claim 56, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 40, wherein each of the one or more chairs [100] further comprises a socket (paragraph 0040: “installed at an armrest portion of each motion chair”); wherein said socket (paragraph 0040: “installed at an armrest portion of each motion chair”) is configured for the mounting of an accessory support [140] for attaching different peripherals and commercial controls for software simulators and video games (paragraph 0040: “a button, a joystick, and the like”), selected from the group formed by, but not limited to: steering wheels, pedals, gear-shifters, airplane controls, joysticks (paragraph 0040: “a joystick”) and displays; and for allowing those said peripherals and game controls to accompany the movement of the chair [100] in its motion, turning the chair [100] into a simulator with movements and effects (paragraphs 0040-0041, 0049, and Figures 2-4). Park does not disclose the accessory support being removable. Butt, however, teaches a similar entertainment system comprising a chair [10], wherein the chair further comprises a socket [226]; wherein said socket [226] is configured for the mounting of a removable accessory support [228] for attaching different peripherals (paragraph 0065: “joystick, steering wheel, display, controls, etc.”) and commercial controls for software simulators and video games (paragraphs 0002, 0006, 0031, 0065, and Figures 18-21). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the accessory support to be removable because Butt teaches that this configuration allows for different gaming devices to be attached (paragraphs 0006 and 0065).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Hernandez et al. (US 2009/0218860 A1).
Regarding claim 51, Park does not disclose the user console communicating through an internet connection. Hernandez, however, teaches a similar entertainment system [10] comprising a chair [12] and a user console [60], wherein the user console [60] communicates through an internet connection [62] with digital platforms of audio and video contents (paragraphs 0010, 0039-0041, 0045-46, 0048, 0051-0053, and Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s user console to communicate with digital platforms of audio and video contents through an internet connection because Hernandez teaches that this configuration allows the download of appropriate software applications to furth accomplish intended operation and control of the gaming chair and provides the capability to interconnect the device with a plurality of gaming platforms or applications which are commercially available (paragraph 0052).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Filippini et al. (US 2018/0336929 A1).
Regarding claim 52, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 47, wherein the user console [40] is configured to create movement schedules and to create timing sequences of special effects trigger commands for the one or more chairs [100] (paragraphs 0024-0025 and Figure 1). Park does not disclose editing the movement or timing sequences or sharing said schedules and sequences. Filippini, however, teaches a similar entertainment system [100] comprising a user console [120], wherein the user console [120] is configured to create and edit movement schedules and to create and edit timing sequences of special effects trigger commands [900], and is configured for allowing the entertainment system [100] to share said schedules and sequences with other identical entertainment systems in other locations, via the internet or mobile phone communications (paragraphs 0022, 0024, 00260066-0079, and Figures 1, 4-6, and 9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s user console to create and edit movement and timing sequences and to share said schedules and sequences with other entertainment systems because Filippini teaches that this configuration allows for distribution via data stream such that others can enjoy the content and allows for reproduction of the effects in a user’s home (paragraphs 0024 and 0079).
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Denne (US 2005/0069839 A1).
Regarding claims 54-55, Park discloses the entertainment system according to claim 40, wherein each chair [100] is configured to operate in two different hardware configurations: (i) configuration with a user console [140]; (ii) configuration with a PC or a game console [40] (paragraph 0036: “game contents are stored in the center server 40 and an interactive game is provided to the viewer under the control of the center server 40”); (i) wherein the hardware configuration with a user console [140] includes at least one chair [100] connected to a user console [140]; and comprises communication with a display device [20] selected from the group consisting of, but not limited to: TV, smart TV, monitor, video projector [20] and virtual reality headset; (ii) wherein in the hardware configuration with a PC or a game console [40], the one or more chairs [100] are connected to the PC or game console [40] (paragraphs 0022-0023, 0034, 0036-0052 and Figures 1-4). Park does not disclose the chair configured to operate with a mobile device. Denne, however, teaches a similar entertainment system comprising a chair [11]; wherein the chair [11] is configured to operate in a (iii) configuration with a mobile device (paragraph 0033: “virtual-reality headset”); and (iii) wherein in the hardware configuration with a mobile device (paragraph 0033: “virtual-reality headset”), the one or more chairs [11] are connected directly to a mobile device selected from the group consisting of, but not limited to: smartphones and smartwatches, tablets and virtual reality headsets (paragraphs 0030, 0033, and Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Park’s chair to operate with a virtual-reality headset because Denne teaches that this configuration enhances a perceived sensation of motion for training or recreational purposes (paragraph 0001).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Travis et al. (US 10/596,460 B2) and Duran et al. (US 2008/0111408 A1) which both disclose similar special effects chairs.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711