DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Shumard et al (US2021/0058702).
Consider claims 1, 12. Shumard teaches an audio signal processing apparatus (600 fig. 6), comprising: an audio signal conversion unit configured to convert a first audio signal (i.e., audio signal detected by microphone (Mic1-2, fig. 6, para 79, The microphones included in the array microphone may be, for example, MEMS transducers which are inherently omnidirectional, other types of omnidirectional microphones, electret or condenser microphones, or other types of omnidirectional transducers or sensors) into a first unidirectional audio signal (e.g., directional output, para 65: Referring now to FIG. 6, sum and difference beamformer 600 may be configured to combine audio signals captured by a given set or pair of microphones 602 and generate a combined output signal for said microphone pair that has a directional polar pattern, in accordance with embodiments. More specifically, beamformer 600 may be configured to use appropriate sum and difference techniques on each set of first and second microphones 602 arranged orthogonally to a first axis, or front face, of an array microphone, such as, e.g., array microphone 100 in FIG. 1, to form cardioid elements with narrowed lobes (or sound pick-up patterns), for example, as compared to the full omni-directional polar pattern of the individual microphones 602; para 67: beamformer 600 further includes a correction component 608 for correcting the differential output generated by the difference component 606. The correction component 608 may be configured to correct the differential output for a gradient response caused by the difference calculation. For example, the gradient response may give a 6 dB per octave slope to the frequency response of the microphone pair. In order to generate a first-order polar pattern (e.g., cardioid) for the microphone pair over a broad frequency range, the differential output must be corrected so that it has the same magnitude as the summation output; also see para 95-95, fig. 11a-b and 12, array microphone 100 forms a unidirectional or cardioid polar pattern) , wherein the first audio signal is from a non-directional microphone (i.e., omnidirectional microphone, para 79, fig. 6), and the non-directional microphone collects first sound to generate the first audio signal (i.e., audio signal detected by microphone (Mic1-2, fig. 6)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumard et al (US2021/0058702) in view of Gigandet (US2022/0240027).
Consider claim 2. Shumard does not explicitly teach the audio signal conversion unit is configured with a deep neural network.
Gigandet further teaches the audio signal conversion unit is configured with a deep neural network (para 0059, system 100 may analyze sound from each of the multidirectional audio input signals 418 and, within that sound, may recognize (e.g., based on voice recognition technologies, machine learning or artificial intelligence technologies, etc.) the voice of listener 312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gigandet into the teachings of Shumard in order to present users with improved sound quality when an audio input signal is received from an external microphone assembly instead of or in addition to audio input signals captured by one or more built-in microphones of the hearing device.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumard et al (US2021/0058702) in view of Gigandet (US2022/0240027) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Komeilipoor (WO 2021/237368).
Consider claim 3. Shumard further teaches extract a first acoustic feature amount from audio signal, wherein the audio signal is from the non-directional microphone (i.e., omnidirectional microphone, Mic 1); extract a second acoustic feature amount from at least one second unidirectional audio signal (e.g., all sounds would have been picked up by Mic 1-2 regardless of non-directional or unidirectional sounds), wherein the at least one second unidirectional audio signal is from a unidirectional microphone (i.e., the combined of at least two omnidirectional microphones, Mic 1-2): and learn, based on the extracted first acoustic feature amount and the extracted second acoustic feature amount, to convert the first audio signal into the first unidirectional audio signal (e.g., the directional output by combiner 610).
Shumard in view of Gigandet does not expressively teach at a time of a first training process on the deep neural network, the deep neural network is configured to: extract a first acoustic feature amount from at least one learning audio signal, wherein the at least one learning audio signal is from the non-directional microphone; extract a second acoustic feature amount from at least one second unidirectional audio signal, wherein the at least one second unidirectional audio signal is from a unidirectional microphone, and the unidirectional microphone collects second sound to generate the at least one second unidirectional audio signal.
Komeilipoor teaches extract a first acoustic feature amount from at least one learning audio signal, wherein the at least one learning audio signal is from the non-directional microphone; extract a second acoustic feature amount from at least one second unidirectional audio signal, wherein the at least one second unidirectional audio signal is from a unidirectional microphone (para 13, the solution should provide a speech separation and enhancement system that comprises the combination of binaural beamforming and deep learning using microphone arrays comprising directional and omnidirectional microphones on each pair of a hearing device in addition to an input from external microphones in order to improve the quality and reliability of speech enhancement using both beamforming and neural network approaches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Komeilipoor into the teachings of Shumard and Gigandet in order to provide a speech separation and enhancement system that comprises the combination of binaural beamforming and deep learning using microphone arrays comprising directional and omnidirectional microphones on each pair of a hearing device in addition to an input from external microphones in order to improve the quality and reliability of speech enhancement using both beamforming and neural network approaches.
Consider claim 4. Komeilipoor further teaches the audio signal processing apparatus is configured with a convolutional neural network, and the extracted first acoustic feature amount and the extracted second acoustic feature amount as correspond to information of a plurality of layers of the convolutional neural network (para 85-86).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumard et al (US2021/0058702) in view of Gigandet (US2022/0240027) and Komeilipoor (WO 2021/237368), as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Bhadrik et al (KR 20210099059A).
Consider claim 5. Bhadrik teaches at a time of a second training process on the convolutional neural network, the convolutional neural network is configured to: learn to distinguish between the at least one learning audio signal (e.g., the historical data; see fig 8, figure 8 shows an evaluation system 800 according to an embodiment. System 800 may implement a self-consistent model to evaluate and train a composite model composed of various machine learning blocks. The accuracy of a composite model is affected by each of the machine learning blocks in it. To evaluate each of these blocks, the system 800 may compare the outputs, introduce a major source of error, and then the models may update the lossy blocks. System 800 includes sensors 818 (which may serve as data sources), other data sources 808-1 and 808-2, data source models 891-0/1/2, parameter estimators 889 , subject model 887-0/1, comparison section 885, and evaluation section 883. The data sources may include at least one primary or direct data source (sensor 818) and one or more secondary data sources (808-1 and 808-2 in the illustrated example). Primary data source 818 may provide data for a value that may be inferred from secondary data sources 808 - 1 / 808 - 2 and serve as a reference value. Data sources 818 , 808 - 1 , 808 - 2 may provide current data as well as historical data. In the illustrated embodiment, the primary data source 818 may be a sensor. In some embodiments, the primary data source 818 may be a sensor making a biophysical measurement of the subject) and the at least one second unidirectional audio signal (e.g., the collected or current data; fig, 8 and its descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Bhadrik into the teachings of Shumard in view of Gigandet and Komeilipoor in order to provide a neural network involves providing inputs to an untrained neural network to produce predicted outputs, comparing predicted outputs to expected outputs, and taking into account differences between predicted and expected outputs.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumard et al (US2021/0058702) in view of Gigandet (US2022/0240027) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al (US2023/0185518).
Consider claim 6. Shumard teaches an electronic device, the electronic device comprising: a non-directional microphone configured to collect sound to generate an audio signal (fig. 6, microphones Mic1-2; para 79, The microphones included in the array microphone may be, for example, MEMS transducers which are inherently omnidirectional, other types of omnidirectional microphones, electret or condenser microphones, or other types of omnidirectional transducers or sensors); and an audio signal conversion unit (fig. 6: 604, 606, 608 and 610) configured to convert the generated audio signal into an unidirectional audio signal (e.g., directional output, para 65: Referring now to FIG. 6, sum and difference beamformer 600 may be configured to combine audio signals captured by a given set or pair of microphones 602 and generate a combined output signal for said microphone pair that has a directional polar pattern, in accordance with embodiments. More specifically, beamformer 600 may be configured to use appropriate sum and difference techniques on each set of first and second microphones 602 arranged orthogonally to a first axis, or front face, of an array microphone, such as, e.g., array microphone 100 in FIG. 1, to form cardioid elements with narrowed lobes (or sound pick-up patterns), for example, as compared to the full omni-directional polar pattern of the individual microphones 602; para 67: beamformer 600 further includes a correction component 608 for correcting the differential output generated by the difference component 606. The correction component 608 may be configured to correct the differential output for a gradient response caused by the difference calculation. For example, the gradient response may give a 6 dB per octave slope to the frequency response of the microphone pair. In order to generate a first-order polar pattern (e.g., cardioid) for the microphone pair over a broad frequency range, the differential output must be corrected so that it has the same magnitude as the summation output; also see para 95-95, fig. 11a-b and 12, array microphone 100 forms a unidirectional or cardioid polar pattern).
Shumard in view of Gigandet does not clearly teach the electronic device including an image capturing function.
Yang teaches the electronic device including an image capturing function (fig. 9, camera 1 to N [193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Shumard in view of Gigandet in order to provide enhance a sound signal of a target sound source based on a zoom operation performed by the user on the image content.
Consider claim 7. Yang further teaches the electronic device includes a smartphone (see Fig. 9).
Consider claim 8. Shumard further teaches the audio signal conversion unit is further configured to convert a mixed signal (e.g., by combiner 610, fig 6) into a third unidirectional audio signal (e.g., directional output), the mixed signal includes a second audio signal and a third audio signal, the second audio signal corresponds to a signal from the first microphone (e.g., Mic 1), the first microphone collects third sound to generate the second audio signal, the third audio signal corresponds to a signal from the second microphone (e.g., Mic 2), the second microphone collects fourth sound to generate the third audio signal. It is noted that all sounds would have been picked up by Mic 1-2 regardless of non-directional or unidirectional sounds.
Yang teaches the smartphone includes, as the non-directional microphone, a first microphone on a top side and a second microphone on a bottom side of the smartphone, (see fig. 4 of Yang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Shumard in view of Gigandet in order to provide enhance a sound signal of a target sound source based on a zoom operation performed by the user on the image content.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumard et al (US2021/0058702) in view of Yang et al (US2023/0185518).
Consider claim 13. Shumard teaches an electronic device, the electronic device comprising: a non-directional microphone configured to collect sound to generate an audio signal (fig. 6, microphones Mic1-2; para 79, The microphones included in the array microphone may be, for example, MEMS transducers which are inherently omnidirectional, other types of omnidirectional microphones, electret or condenser microphones, or other types of omnidirectional transducers or sensors); and an audio signal conversion unit (fig. 6: 604, 606, 608 and 610) configured to convert the generated audio signal into an unidirectional audio signal (e.g., directional output, para 65: Referring now to FIG. 6, sum and difference beamformer 600 may be configured to combine audio signals captured by a given set or pair of microphones 602 and generate a combined output signal for said microphone pair that has a directional polar pattern, in accordance with embodiments. More specifically, beamformer 600 may be configured to use appropriate sum and difference techniques on each set of first and second microphones 602 arranged orthogonally to a first axis, or front face, of an array microphone, such as, e.g., array microphone 100 in FIG. 1, to form cardioid elements with narrowed lobes (or sound pick-up patterns), for example, as compared to the full omni-directional polar pattern of the individual microphones 602; para 67: beamformer 600 further includes a correction component 608 for correcting the differential output generated by the difference component 606. The correction component 608 may be configured to correct the differential output for a gradient response caused by the difference calculation. For example, the gradient response may give a 6 dB per octave slope to the frequency response of the microphone pair. In order to generate a first-order polar pattern (e.g., cardioid) for the microphone pair over a broad frequency range, the differential output must be corrected so that it has the same magnitude as the summation output; also see para 95-95, fig. 11a-b and 12, array microphone 100 forms a unidirectional or cardioid polar pattern).
Shumard does not clearly teach the electronic device including an image capturing function.
Yang teaches the electronic device including an image capturing function (fig. 9, camera 1 to N [193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Shumard in order to provide enhance a sound signal of a target sound source based on a zoom operation performed by the user on the image content.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DUC M. NGUYEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691