Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/16/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1, and 16-29 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Moreover, new limitations have been added to independent claim-1, therefore a new interpretation has been used and the arguments are moot.
Applicant argues about new limitation added to claim-1 that Ronald does not teach “wherein each at least one attachment devices comprise a leg or a tab configured to bend during a fall of a person wearing personal protective equipment connected to the at least one attachment device in order to absorb at least some of the force of the fall”.
In response Ronald teaches plurality of attachment devices (40) along the support structure for PPE (suitable therefor). These attachment devices can be used to attach PPE as shown in Figures. Moreover, Ronald does teach that wherein each at least one attachment devices (40) comprise a leg or a tab (u-shaped Crosby clip 38) configured to bend during a fall of a person wearing personal protective equipment connected to the at least one attachment device in order to absorb at least some of the force of the fall. It is obvious and well-known in the art that Crosby clip is of multiple types i.e., G-450 Wire Rope Clip or SS-450 Stainless Steel Clips and can be selected based on required specification of an apparatus. These clips are usually made of strong material having enough ductility, and strength to ensure strong and safe connection in lifting and rigging applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ronald (US 20200095786).
Regarding claim-1, Ronald discloses a support structure of an escalator or a moving walkway (Fig.1-4, Abstract), the support structure comprising:
wherein at least two attachment devices (plurality of 40, Fig.3-4) are configured for connecting personal protective equipment (suitable therefor) are arranged along central region (Fig.2-4) of the support structure (Fig.1-4) (It is obvious that plurality of attachment devices can be used to attach PPE as shown in Figures),
wherein the at least two attachment devices (40) and are welded, soldered or riveted (implicitly) to the support structure (i.e., 54a of escalator structure), wherein the at least two attachment devices (40) are spaced apart from one another at most by a safety distance (40 are spaced apart See Fig.2-3), the safety distance selected to be less than an average arm span of a human (It is obvious from Figures1-3 that plurality of attachment devices along the support structure are spaced apart from one another at most by a safety distance, the safety distance to be less than an average arm span of a human). It would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use attachment device to hook and unhook PPE while installing/assembling escalators (See Fig.2-4). Moreover, it would be obvious that attachment devices are firmly attached to support structure of escalator via well-known method in the art i.e., welding, soldering, adhesive techniques, mechanical fastening techniques etc. (See Fig.2-4), and
wherein each at least one attachment devices (40) comprise a leg or a tab (u-shaped Crosby clip 38) configured to bend during a fall of a person wearing personal protective equipment connected to the at least one attachment device in order to absorb at least some of the force of the fall. It is obvious and well-known in the art that Crosby clip is of multiple types i.e., G-450 Wire Rope Clip or SS-450 Stainless Steel Clips and can be selected based on required specification of an apparatus. These clips are usually made of strong material having enough ductility, and strength to ensure strong and safe connection in lifting and rigging applications.
Regarding claim-16, Ronald does not explicitly disclose wherein the attachment devices (40) are color-coded. However, it is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can easily provide colored attachment device to distinguish from rest of the escalator structure according to desired specification of an apparatus without involving any inventive step. Moreover, it would be helpful for an installing personnel to identify for quick and easy hooking and unhooking of PPE.
Regarding claim-17, Ronald discloses wherein the attachment devices (40) are arranged on opposite sides of the support structure (Fig.1C).
Regarding claim-18, Ronald does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one color-coded anchor device (hooking bracket 38) fixedly connected to the support structure for an attachment device (40) for the personal protective equipment is arranged on at least one end region of the support structure (Fig.2-4), wherein the anchor device (38) is spaced from an adjacent attachment device at most by the safety distance (Fig.2-4) (as explained in claim-16).
Regarding claim-19, Ronald discloses wherein in the end region, at least two anchor devices (38 with 40) are arranged on opposite sides of the support structure (Fig.1C).
Regarding claim-20-22, Ronald does not disclose wherein the anchor device (38) has a thread for an attachment device configured as a screw eyelet; wherein the anchor device (38) has a hole for an attachment device configured as a pawl anchor; wherein the anchor device (38) is arranged on an underside of an upper chord (54a) of the support structure. It is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can easily substitute with hooking bracket with anchor latch pawl kit or anchor latch with screw eyelet which are well known in the art without involving inventive step.
Regarding claim-23, Ronald discloses wherein at least one of the attachment devices (40) or the anchor devices (38) is arranged in pairs opposite one another (Fig.1C, 2-4).
Regarding claim-24, Ronald discloses wherein the at least one anchor device (38) is welded to the support structure (as explained in claim-1).
Regarding claim-25, Ronald discloses wherein the support structure comprises upper chords (54a, Fig.4) and lower chords (54b, Fig.4), and wherein the attachment devices or anchor devices (38 with 40) are arranged on at least one of the upper chords (54a) of the support structure (Fig.4).
Regarding claim-26, Ronald discloses wherein the attachment devices (40 with 38) are oriented toward an interior space of the support structure (Fig.4).
Regarding claim-27, Ronald discloses wherein the attachment devices (40 and 38) are cut from a sheet material, and each have a stiffening region for locally stiffening the support structure and a tab having an eyelet (Crosby clip) (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-28, Ronald discloses wherein the attachment devices (40 and 38) are cut and bent, wherein the tab is oriented at an angle to the stiffening region. It is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can easily orient attachment device according to desired specification of an apparatus without involving any inventive step.
Regarding claim-29, Ronald discloses wherein at least one attachment device (40 and 38) spaced from an adjacent attachment device at most by the safety distance and fixedly connected to the support structure is arranged on at least one of the end regions (fig.2-4).
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651