Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 22. 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claim 30. 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 22-34 and 37-38 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Please direct attention to rejection below, specifically reference Edwards regarding the amended limitations of wherein the rigid plate lifts, by the warpage, the soft tissue layer to compensate or augment an elevation of the soft tissue layer while maintaining the substantially uniform thickness.
Applicant argues that:
Although Engstrand discloses an implant (110) comprising an internal wire mesh support frame (120A) integrated with a plate (112), the implant (110) does not exhibit a uniform thickness as illustrated in FIGS. 3-5. Especially, FIG. 2 clearly shows that the thickness of the plate (112) differs from that of the support frame (120A) which also comprises retention arms (138A).
Examiner respectfully contends that the rigid plate of Engstrand is capable of having a substantially uniform thickness. [0046] reads: The implants can be customized for each patient and the bone defect to be corrected, particularly with respect to the shape of the biocompatible plate(s) and the location of the fastening points.
[0048] reads: After the support frame is modified, a patient-customized biocompatible plate is molded over the support frame. In other embodiments, a patient-customized internal support frame is created so as to fit within, and adequately support a patient-customized biocompatible plate designed for a particular patient and bone defect.
Edwards is further relied upon to teach a rigid plate having a substantially uniform thickness, described in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-34 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0344464 to Engstrand et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0022868 to Edwards et al.
As to Claim 22, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant (110, [0046, 0068-0069], Figs. 2-5) comprising a rigid plate (112) that is preoperatively formed into a warpage (patient-customized bending described in [0048]) and capable of having a substantially uniform thickness (Figs. 2-5, [0044, 0046-0049]). The rigid plate supports, in place of a craniomaxillofacial bone, a soft tissue layer overlaying the craniomaxillofacial bone [0048-0049], is set onto and supported by at least the craniomaxillofacial bone and/or the soft tissue layer overlaying the craniomaxillofacial bone [0048-0049], and support the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone, thereby compensating or augmenting an elevation of the soft tissue layer (customizing bone defect [0046, 0048, 0051] and including deformation of support frame 120A, [0070]).
As to Claim 23, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to also adapt the rigid plate to support the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (customizing bone defect [0046, 0048, 0051], and including deformation of support frame 120A, [0070]), thereby compensating or augmenting the elevation of the soft tissue layer, the support being asymmetrical to that provided by a contralateral portion of the craniomaxillofacial bone (configuration described in [0069-0070]).
As to Claim 24, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the substantially uniform thickness is within a range of 0.2-0.8 mm [0074].
As to Claim 25, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant, the soft tissue layer being one or more of muscle, fat, and skin (other tissues of [0050]).
As to Claim 26, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the plate is also porous [0061].
As to Claim 27, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant comprising a preoperatively configured mechanical reinforcement (120A, [0068-0069]).
As to Claim 28, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the mechanical reinforcement (120A) fills a porosity of the plate locally [0068-0069].
As to Claim 29, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the mechanical reinforcement thickens the plate locally (fit described in [0069]).
As to Claim 30, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant further comprising a fixture (screw inserted through 140A, 140B) that for fastens and/or increases stability of the rigid plate upon the craniomaxillofacial bone [0067, 0071].
As to Claim 31, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the rigid plate to support the soft tissue layer by way of receiving the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (modification described in [0048, 0050].
As to Claim 32, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the rigid plate to support the soft tissue layer by way of lifting the soft tissue layer over at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (e.g. fasteners driven through other tissue surrounding implantation site, [0050]).
As to Claim 33, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant for reconstructing a defective craniomaxillofacial bone and a defective soft tissue layer overlaying the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0066], wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the rigid plate to be set onto and supported by at least a non-defective part of the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0068] and/or the defective part of the defective soft tissue layer [0068-0069], and support the defective soft tissue layer in place of the defective part of the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0066, 0105], and the defective part of the defective soft tissue layer (via fasteners within 140A, 140B, [0069-0070]).
As to Claim 34, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the defective craniomaxillofacial bone is a cranium [0045], and the defective soft tissue layer comprising overlaying temporalis muscle and fat [0045, 0051].
As to Claim 37, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant for a cosmetic surgery [0045], wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the rigid plate to be set onto and supported by at least the craniomaxillofacial bone and/or the soft tissue layer [0051-0052], and support the soft tissue layer in place of at least craniomaxillofacial bone, thereby altering the apparent contours of the craniomaxillofacial bone [0051-0052, 0069].
As to Claim 38, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant, the cosmetic surgery being operated upon a nasal bone [0049, 0051].
Claims 22-34 and 37-38, Engstrand discloses the claim invention except for wherein the rigid plate has a substantially uniform thickness and wherein the rigid plate lifts, by the warpage, the soft tissue layer to compensate or augment an elevation of the soft tissue layer while maintaining the substantially uniform thickness.
Edwards discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the rigid plate has a substantially uniform thickness (constant thickness described in [0102], [0125] describes “mesh template, in its flattened form, is shown at 615”) and wherein the rigid plate lifts, by the warpage, the soft tissue layer to compensate or augment an elevation of the soft tissue layer while maintaining the substantially uniform thickness ([0125] describes “As shown at 620, and explained in further detail below, the anatomical region-specific mesh template may include optimized regions for molding, shaping to anatomical features, and fixation,” and “The density of the pattern can be adjusted as required, including increasing the fill factor to 1.0. Element 620a indicates a change in the mesh pattern to enhance folding of the mesh where the implant needs to bow outward to match the desired shape from skull apex to brow.”) in order to accommodate the defect geometry [0125] while preventing late erosion of overlying soft tissues with implant exposure [0006].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant of Engstrand with the substantially uniform thickness and warpage modification of Edwards in order to accommodate the defect geometry while preventing late erosion of overlying soft tissues with implant exposure
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775