Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species D, drawn to claims 22-34 and 37-38 in the reply filed on December 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-34 and 37-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the implant to be set onto and supported by at least a craniomaxillofacial bone and/or a soft tissue layer overlaying the craniomaxillofacial bone " in lines 2-5. If the implant is set onto and supported by at least a craniomaxillofacial bone, and not a soft tissue layer overlaying the craniomaxillofacial bone (only first option of “and/OR” clause), then there is not adequate support for “the soft tissue layer” described in lines 6 and 7. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the elevation of the soft tissue layer" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-34 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0344464 to Engstrand et al.
As to Claim 22, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant (110, [0046, 0068-0069], Figs. 2-5) formed into a plate that is rigid, warped, and of a substantially uniform thickness (Figs. 2-5, [0044, 0046-0048]). The warpage is configured preoperatively (patient-customized bending described in [0048]) so as to adapt the implant to be set onto and supported by at least a craniomaxillofacial bone and/or a soft tissue layer overlaying the craniomaxillofacial bone [0048-0049], and support the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone, thereby compensating or augmenting the elevation of the soft tissue layer (customizing bone defect [0046, 0048, 0051] and including deformation of support frame 120A, [0070]).
As to Claim 23, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to also adapt the implant to support the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (customizing bone defect [0046, 0048, 0051], and including deformation of support frame 120A, [0070]), thereby compensating or augmenting the elevation of the soft tissue layer, the support being asymmetrical to that provided by a contralateral portion of the craniomaxillofacial bone (configuration described in [0069-0070]).
As to Claim 24, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the substantially uniform thickness is within a range of 0.2-0.8 mm [0074, 0113].
As to Claim 25, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant, the soft tissue layer being one or more of muscle, fat, and skin (other tissues of [0050]).
As to Claim 26, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the plate is also porous [0061].
As to Claim 27, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant comprising further a preoperatively configured mechanical reinforcement (120A, [0068-0069]).
As to Claim 28, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the mechanical reinforcement (120A) fills the porosity of the plate locally [0068-0069].
As to Claim 29, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the mechanical reinforcement thickens the plate locally (fit described in [0069]).
As to Claim 30, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant further including a means for fastening (screw inserted through 140A, 140B) and/or increasing stability of the implant upon the craniomaxillofacial bone [0067, 0071].
As to Claim 31, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the implant to support the soft tissue layer by way of receiving the soft tissue layer in place of at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (modification described in [0048, 0050].
As to Claim 32, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the implant to support the soft tissue layer by way of lifting the soft tissue layer over at least the craniomaxillofacial bone (e.g. fasteners driven through other tissue surrounding implantation site, [0050]).
As to Claim 33, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant for reconstructing a defective craniomaxillofacial bone and a defective soft tissue layer overlaying the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0066], wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the implant to be set onto and supported by at least a non-defective part of the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0068] and/or the defective part of the defective soft tissue layer [0068-0069], and support the defective soft tissue layer in place of the defective part of the defective craniomaxillofacial bone [0066, 0105], and the defective part of the defective soft tissue layer (via fasteners within 140A, 140B, [0069-0070]).
As to Claim 34, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant wherein the defective craniomaxillofacial bone is a cranium [0045], and the defective soft tissue layer comprising overlaying temporalis muscle and fat [0045, 0051].
As to Claim 37, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant for a cosmetic surgery [0045], wherein the warpage is configured preoperatively so as to adapt the implant to be set onto and supported by at least the craniomaxillofacial bone and/or the soft tissue layer [0051-0052], and support the soft tissue layer in place of at least craniomaxillofacial bone, thereby altering the apparent contours of the craniomaxillofacial bone [0051-0052, 0069].
As to Claim 38, Engstrand discloses a patient-specific craniomaxillofacial implant, the cosmetic surgery being operated upon a nasal bone [0049, 0051].
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775