DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petschacher (US-2014026671), in view of, Toru (JP-2004294382).
In regards to claim 6, Petschacher teaches method for installing and operating a measuring assembly with spatially widely distributed sensor measuring points, using sensors which are devoid of any TEDS, the method comprising: (abstract; para [0006, 0029, 0034, 0049-0050])
a. attaching the sensors to a measurement object; (para [0006, 0029, 0034, 0049-0050], 8-9 fig. 1, ‘sensors/WSG sensors’, ‘temperature sensor’; 21 fig 2A, ‘acceleration sensors’)
b. connecting measuring cables to the sensors in one-to-one correspondence; (39 fig. 4, ‘cables’; para(s) [0006, 0010, 0035, 0049])
c. connecting the measuring cables to measuring amplifier channels of a measuring amplifier in one-to-one correspondence; (32-33, 41-42 fig(s) 2A, 3, 4, ‘measuring channels’, ‘preamplifier’, ‘programmable amplifier’; para(s) [0029, 0041, 0049])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Petschacher to provide a system for measuring the desired structure with a plurality of spatially widely distributed sensor measuring points.
Petschacher does not teach:
d. checking whether each of the measuring cables is connected and the measuring amplifier indicates a measuring signal for each of the measuring amplifier channels;
e. acquiring parameterization data from a data sheet belonging to a corresponding one of the sensors using an acquisition device;
f. feeding the parameterization data into a measuring cable end to which the corresponding one of the sensors is connected or directly into the corresponding one of the sensors;
g. when the measuring channels have received the measuring signals required for identification and parameterization of the corresponding ones of the sensors, the measuring amplifier generating a confirmation signal and confirming to a measuring technician at a sensor location a proper parametrization of the sensor; and
h. repeating steps e, f, and g, until all measuring amplifier channels have been parametrized.
Toru teaches:
d. checking whether each of the measuring cables is connected and the measuring amplifier indicates a measuring signal for each of the measuring amplifier channels; (Toru: abstract, ‘performs connecting confirmation’; 11(a-n), 13(a-n), 15(a-n), 85(a-n), 91(a-n) fig. 1, ‘strain gauge units’, ‘strain gages’, ‘lead wires’, ‘measurement channels’; para(s) [0003, 0005, 0019, 0022, 0024-0025])
e. acquiring parameterization data from a data sheet belonging to a corresponding one of the sensors using an acquisition device; (Toru: 30 fig. 1, ‘strain measuring device’; 20(a-n) fig. 1, ‘identification tags’; para(s) 0016, 0018-0020, 0028, 0031-0034]; 50, 59-60, 65-66 fig. 4 , ‘RFID tag’, ‘information signal’, ‘identification monitor’, ‘display unit’, ‘operation switch’, ‘information request signal’)
f. feeding the parameterization data into a measuring cable end to which the corresponding one of the sensors is connected or directly into the corresponding one of the sensors; (Toru: 11(a-n), 13(a-n), 15(a-n), 85(a-n), 91(a-n) fig. 1, ‘strain gauge units’, ‘strain gages’, ‘lead wires’, ‘measurement channels’)
g. when the measuring channels have received the measuring signals required for identification and parameterization of the corresponding ones of the sensors, the measuring amplifier generating a confirmation signal and confirming to a measuring technician at a sensor location a proper parametrization of the sensor; and (Toru: abstract; 30 fig. 1, ‘strain measuring device’; 20(a-n) fig. 1, ‘identification tags’; para(s) [0016, 0018-0020, 0028, 0031-0034]; 50, 59-60, 65-66 fig. 4 , ‘RFID tag’, ‘information signal’, ‘identification monitor’, ‘display unit’, ‘operation switch’, ‘information request signal’)
h. repeating steps e, f, and g, until all measuring amplifier channels have been parametrized. (Toru: para(s) [0016, 0018-0020, 0028, 0031-0034], ‘connecting confirmation on a strain-measuring instrument for each sensor on a channel is applied to each attached sensor.’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Toru to provide a method for checking the connection of the cable channels for a system for measuring the desired structure with a plurality of spatially widely distributed sensor measuring points to verify the attachment of the applied components.
In regards to claim 7, Petschacher & Toru teach a method of claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) Toru teaches wherein the confirmation signal in step g is transmitted via a corresponding one of the measuring cables. (abstract; para [0031], recites: ‘Toru: And the received identification ID information signal 59, for example, the identification ID information of “N0.1 front fender” is displayed on the display unit 65, and the identification type strain gauge units 10a to 10n are identified.’)
In regards to claim 8, Petschacher & Toru teach a method of claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) Toru teaches wherein the confirmation signal in step g is not sent via a corresponding one of the measuring cables, but via an information channel. (Toru: abstract; 30 fig. 1, ‘strain measuring device’; 20(a-n) fig. 1, ‘identification tags’; para(s) [0016, 0018-0020, 0028, 0031-0034]; 50, 59-60, 65-66 fig. 4 , ‘RFID tag’, ‘information signal’, ‘identification monitor’, ‘display unit’, ‘operation switch’, ‘information request signal’)
In regards to claim 9, Petschacher & Toru teach a method of claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) wherein each of the sensors is a strain gauge. (Toru: 11(a-n), 13(a-n), 15(a-n) fig. 1, ‘strain gauge units’, ‘strain gages’)
In regards to claim 10, Petschacher & Toru teach a method of claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) wherein each of the sensors is a thermocouple. (Petschacher: 8-9 fig. 1, ‘sensors/WSG sensors’, ‘temperature sensor’)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Lazea (US-20240102983), Takashi (JPH09237524A), Angliker (US-20210326030), and Angliker (EP-3627298) references further describe a method for checking the connection of the cable channels for a system for measuring the desired structure with a plurality of spatially widely distributed sensor measuring points to verify the attachment of the applied components as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852