DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiba et al. (4546210).
Akiba et al. (Fig. 1A or 6) discloses a multicore cable comprising a core including a plurality of insulated wires; and an outer sheath (4 or 15) covering an outer surface of the core, wherein the plurality of insulated wires includes a plurality of outer insulated wires located on an outer peripheral side of the core, and a plurality of inner insulated wires located on an inner side of the core, wherein the outer sheath includes a convex portion disposed to penetrate in between a pair of adjacent outer insulated wires among the plurality of outer insulated wires and extending along outer peripheries of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires, and wherein the convex portion makes no contact with the plurality of inner insulated wires (re-claims 1 and 15). Akiba et al. also discloses that the outer insulated wires are in direct contact with the outer sheath (re-claim 6); Re-claim 7, since the multicore cable of Akiba et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires and the convex portion are at least partially in contact with each other at a bent portion of the multicore cable in a state where the multicore cable is bent at the bent portion; the outer sheath (15) includes a thermoplastic resin (polyester) (re-claim 9); the core has a gap (see Fig. 1A or 6) between at least the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires among the plurality of outer insulated wires, and the convex portion is in contact with at least a portion of surfaces of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires and penetrates the gap between the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires along the outer peripheries of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires (re-claim 10); and a void (Fig. 1A or 6) is provided inside the core in a cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (re-claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba et al. in view of Parke et al. (2006/0032660).
Akiba et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the height of the convex portion between 0.05 mm and 0.4 mm. Parke et al. discloses a multicore cable comprising an outer sheath (32, Fig. 8) which includes a convex portion (34), wherein the convex portion has a height (35) of about 0.5 mm ([0047], 20 mils = about 0.5 mm and 0.4 mm is about 0.5 mm). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the convex portion of Akiba et al. with a height of 0.4 mm as taught by Parke et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable, greater height further protecting the outer insulated wires.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2017/0110221) in view of Akiba et al.
Wu et al. discloses a multicore cable comprising a core including a plurality of insulated wires; and an outer sheath (20) covering an outer surface of the core, wherein the plurality of insulated wires includes a plurality of outer insulated wires (11, 12, 15) located on an outer peripheral side of the core, and a plurality of inner insulated wires (14, 16, 17) located on an inner side of the core (re-claim 1).
Wu et al. does not disclose the outer sheath including a convex portion disposed to penetrate in between a pair of adjacent outer insulated wires among the plurality of outer insulated wires and extending along outer peripheries of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires, and the convex portion making no contact with the plurality of inner insulated wires (re-claim 1).
Akiba et al. (Fig. 6) discloses a multicore cable comprising a core including outer insulated wires, inner insulated wires, and an outer sheath (15), wherein the outer sheath includes a convex portion disposed to penetrate in between a pair of adjacent outer insulated wires among the plurality of outer insulated wires and extending along outer peripheries of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires, and wherein the convex portion makes no contact with the plurality of inner insulated wires.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the outer sheath of Wu et al. to comprise a convex portion which is disposed to penetrate in between a pair of adjacent outer insulated wires among the plurality of outer insulated wires; extends along outer peripheries of the pair of adjacent outer insulated wires; and makes no contact with the plurality of inner insulated wires, as taught by Akiba et al. to keep the outer insulated wires in their positions with respect to the inner insulated wires.
Re-claim 3, Wu et al. discloses the insulated wires including a first insulated wire (12), and a second insulated wire (11) having an outer diameter larger than that of the first insulated wire, wherein the second insulated wire is disposed on the outer peripheral side of the core.
Re-claim 4, Wu et al. discloses the first insulated wire (12, 13, 15) and the second insulated wire (11) being disposed on the outer peripheral side of the core; and in a cross section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core, a first region including the first insulated wire and a second region including the second insulated wire, which are alternately arranged along an outer periphery of the core (Fig. 2).
Re-claim 5, Wu et al. discloses the core including a twisted pair insulated wire (14) having two insulated wires twisted together.
Re-claim 8, Wu et al. discloses each insulated wire including a central conductor and an insulator covering an outer surface of the central conductor, but does not disclose the insulator including fluororesin. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use fluororesin as the insulator in the cable of Wu et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since fluororesin is well-known in the art for being used as insulator because of its dielectric properties.
Re-claim 13, Wu et al. discloses the outer insulated wires including a pair of insulated wires (11), but does not disclose the pair being a twisted pair. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pair of insulated wires (11) of Wu et al. to be a twisted pair to meet the specific design of the cable since a twisted pair of insulated wires is known in the art for being used as differential wires.
Re-claim 14, Wu et al. discloses the outer insulated wires including predetermined outer insulated wires (11) that are arranged symmetrically in a cross section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core, and the predetermined outer insulated wires (11) having a diameter greater than that of other outer insulated wires (12, 13, 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 12-15 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841