DETAILED ACTION
In application filed on 12/08/2023, Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 18, 24, 25, 30, 32-34, 36-38, 42, 47, 53, 59, 60, 65, 67, 68, and 70 are pending. The claim set submitted on 08/07/2024 is considered because this is the most recent claim set with some preliminary amendments. Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 18, 24, 25, 30 and 32-34 are considered in the current office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 and 08/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 36-38, 42, 47, 53, 59, 60, 65, 67, 68, and 70 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/05/2026.
Group I, Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 18, 24, 25, 30 and 32-34 are considered on the merits below.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “a chelating agent” in line 2 of the claim
Is this “a chelating agent” in line 2 of the claim 3 same as “a chelating agent” in line 9 of the claim 1?
For the purpose of expedited prosecution, Examiner interprets “a chelating agent” in line 2 of the claim 3 “the chelating agent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 24-25 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nasarabadi et al. (WO2021067588A1, submitted in IDS on 08/06/2026).
Regarding Claim 1, Nasarabadi teaches a method of stabilizing nucleic acid contained in a biological sample at ambient temperature (See Abstract… Matrices and methods of stabilizing and storing biological samples containing total DNA, total RNA, and proteins from whole blood; See Page 5, lines 25-27… wherein the systems and methods are capable of storing DNA, RNA and proteins from whole blood at room temperature) comprising the steps of:
a) obtaining a biological sample (See Page 5… the sample is a sample of whole blood or plasma);
b) contacting the biological sample (See claims 1-2; Page 36… The composition of claim 1, wherein the biological sample is whole blood) with an aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) to form a mixture ((See claims 1-2; Page 36…composition), wherein the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition …) comprises:
(i) a denaturing agent selected from sodium dodecyl sulphate (SDS), lithium dodecyl sulphate, or a guanidinium salt (See Page 5, line 7;… a pH adjuster comprises lithium dodecyl sulfate and/or lithium hydroxide);
(ii) aurintricarboxylic acid (ATA), or a salt thereof (See Page 5, line 8; See Page 16, line 30…the RNase inhibitor comprises ATA); and
(iii) at least one of a chelating agent and a buffering agent (See Page 36; Claim 1…one or more metal chelators);
wherein the composition has a pH of 4.9 or less (See Page 13…pH 4.8…4.0);
c) homogenizing the mixture of (b) to form a homogeneous mixture (See Page 6, line 5…mixing the one or more raw samples with the composition); and
d) storing the homogeneous mixture at ambient temperature (See Page 23, lines 6-7…In an embodiment, a raw sample may be stabilized and stored at room temperature for up to 2 years by providing the composition of the present application).
Regarding Claim 2, Nasarabadi teaches wherein the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) has a pH of from 3.8 to 4.9, or a pH of from 4.3 to 4.7 (See Page 13…pH 4.3…4.7).
Regarding Claim 24, Nasarabadi teaches that the ambient temperature (See Page 23, lines 6-7…In an embodiment, a raw sample may be stabilized and stored at room temperature for up to 2 years by providing the composition of the present application, thereby teaching “ambient temperature” ) is from about 15°C to about 25°C ((See Page 23, lines 6-7…In an embodiment, a raw sample may be stabilized and stored at room temperature; Examiner submits that under BRI, room temperature is 18–24 °C).
Regarding Claim 25, Nasarabadi teaches that the biological sample is a saliva sample or a fecal sample (See Page 20, lines 7-9 … he source of the raw sample may comprise, without limitation, a biological fluid, a biological suspension, a fluid aspirate, blood,… oral fluid, sputum, saliva).
Regarding Claim 30, Nasarabadi teaches that the nucleic acid is deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) or ribonucleic acid (RNA) (See Page 20, line 14… Preferably the raw sample comprises DNA, RNA, and/or proteins).
Regarding Claim 32, Nasarabadi teaches that wherein the method (See Claim 1 rejection, thereby teaching “the method”) renders the nucleic acid stable for at least 7 days (‘Examiner views as 7days or more’) at a temperature of from about 15°C to about 25°C, or for at least 14 days (‘Examiner views as 14 days or more’) at a temperature of from about 15°C to about 25°C (See Page 5, lines 22-23… . According to an aspect of the present application, the composition of the kit stabilizes whole blood for at least five days (5 days or more), and at an ambient temperature; See Page 23, lines 6-7…In an embodiment, a raw sample may be stabilized and stored at room temperature; Examiner submits that under BRI, room temperature is 18–24 °C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasarabadi et al. (WO2021067588A1, submitted in IDS on 08/06/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fischer et al. (US20090233309A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Nasarabadi teaches wherein the denaturing agent (See Page 5, line 7; Page 13, line 26… lithium dodecyl sulfate) and wherein the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) comprises a chelating agent (See Page 36; Claim 1…one or more metal chelators). the limitation “and, optionally, a buffering agent” is interpreted as optional, thus not required by the claim.
Nasarabadi does not teach that the denaturing agent is SDS.
In the analogous art of compositions for collecting, storing, and transporting populations of nucleic acids from biological specimens, and clinical, forensic, or environmental samples, Fischer teaches that the denaturing agent is SDS (See Para 0048…exemplary detergents include, without limitation, sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS), lithium dodecyl sulfate (LDS)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi to include that that the denaturing agent is SDS, as taught by Fischer for the benefit of providing the nonsense, carrier/IPC compositions of the invention will be formulated in a one-step sample collection/storage/transport medium (Fischer, Para 0046), providing for a less-expensive, and more-convenient collection/transport/storage media that minimize risk of pathogen exposure to workers or innocent bystanders, allow for the use of single-step formulations, and facilitate convenient ambient transportation of biological specimens over long distances or extended periods of time that contain high-fidelity, high-quality nucleic acid populations (Fischer, Para 0009).
Regarding Claim 7, the method of claim 3 is obvious over Nasarabadi in view of Fischer.
Nasarabadi teaches wherein the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) further comprises an inorganic salt (See Page 13, line 23…lithium chloride). The limitation “or polyacrylic acid (PAAc), or a salt thereof” is interpreted as optional.
Regarding Claim 12, Nasarabadi teaches wherein the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) comprises a buffering agent (See Page 18, line 8…buffering agent).
Nasarabadi does not teach that the denaturing agent is a guanidinium salt.
In the analogous art of compositions for collecting, storing, and transporting populations of nucleic acids from biological specimens, and clinical, forensic, or environmental samples, Fischer teaches that the denaturing agent is a guanidinium salt (See Para 0047… Exemplary chaotropes include, without limitation, guanidine thiocyanate (GuSCN), guanidine hydrochloride (GuHCl), guanidine isethionate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi to include that that the denaturing agent is a guanidinium salt, as taught by Fischer for the benefit of providing the nonsense, carrier/IPC compositions of the invention will be formulated in a one-step sample collection/storage/transport medium (Fischer, Para 0046), providing for a less-expensive, and more-convenient collection/transport/storage media that minimize risk of pathogen exposure to workers or innocent bystanders, allow for the use of single-step formulations, and facilitate convenient ambient transportation of biological specimens over long distances or extended periods of time that contain high-fidelity, high-quality nucleic acid populations (Fischer, Para 0009).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasarabadi et al. (WO2021067588A1, submitted in IDS on 08/06/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haydock et al. (US20130122496A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Nasarabadi teaches the buffering agent ((See Page 18, line 8…buffering agent).
Nasarabadi does not teach that the buffering agent is sodium acetate.
In the analogous art for storing nucleic acid in a stable form, Haydock teaches that the buffering agent is sodium acetate (See Para 0035… As noted above, neutral salts such as potassium chloride and sodium acetate can also be used to obtain binding of nucleic acid to silica-based substrates, and may be used in place of chaotropic salts when cell lysis is not required or is achieved by other means (e.g., in the case of bacterial cell lysis)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi to include that the buffering agent is sodium acetate, as taught by Haydock for the benefit of using a suitable chaotropic salts towards a solution for storing nucleic acid in a stable form (Haydock, Para 0006), providing for a simplified, low-cost methods of storing nucleic acids while protecting against degradation and contamination (Haydock, Para 0005).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasarabadi et al. (WO2021067588A1, submitted in IDS on 08/06/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asada et al. (US20090098613A1).
Regarding Claim 33, Nasarabadi teaches that the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble) comprises, consists essentially of, or consists of:
a denaturing agent selected from lithium dodecyl sulphate, SDS, or a combination thereof (See Page 5, line 7;… a pH adjuster comprises lithium dodecyl sulfate and/or lithium hydroxide);;
aurintricarboxylic acid (ATA) (See Page 5, line 8; See Page 16, line 30…the RNase inhibitor comprises ATA), or a salt thereof;
a chelating agent (See Page 36; Claim 1…one or more metal chelators); and
an inorganic salt (See Page 13, line 23…lithium chloride), wherein the inorganic salt is a lithium salt (See Page 13, line 23…lithium chloride) or a sodium salt (this limitation is optional) that is soluble (Under BRI, lithium chloride is soluble in water) in the aqueous composition (See Page 12, lines 13-14… In an embodiment, the components in the composition of the present application may also be water soluble).
Nasarabadi does not teach polyacrylic acid (PAAc), or a salt thereof.
In the analogous art of a DNA synthesis reaction-enhancer, a DNA synthesis method, a DNA synthesis reaction composition and a kit usable for the DNA synthesis method, which are useful in the field of genetic engineering, Asada teaches polyacrylic acid (PAAc), or a salt thereof (See Para 0019… polyacrylic acids; See Para 0169… polyacrylic acids…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi to include polyacrylic acid (PAAc), or a salt thereof, as taught by Asada for the benefit of preparing a composition of a reaction mixture (Asada, Para 0169), allowing for the provision of a method enabling more efficient DNA synthesis as compared to that of the conventional DNA synthesis reactions (Asada, Para 0008).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasarabadi et al. (WO2021067588A1, submitted in IDS on 08/06/2026) in view of Asada et al. (US20090098613A1), as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Whitney et al. (US20110081363A1).
Regarding Claim 34, Nasarabadi teaches that wherein:
the inorganic salt is lithium sulphate, lithium chloride, sodium chloride, or any combination thereof (See Page 13, line 23…lithium chloride).
Nasarabadi does not teach: PAAc, or the salt thereof, having a molecular weight of from about 2,000 to about 10,000, or from about 2,000 to about 5,000, or about 5,000.
In the analogous art of a DNA synthesis reaction-enhancer, a DNA synthesis method, a DNA synthesis reaction composition and a kit usable for the DNA synthesis method, which are useful in the field of genetic engineering, Asada teaches polyacrylic acid (PAAc), or a salt thereof, having a molecular weight of from about 2,000 to about 10,000, or from about 2,000 to about 5,000, or about 5,000 (See Para 0019… polyacrylic acids; See Para 0169… polyacrylic acid having an average molecular weight of about 5,000, about 25,000, about 250,000, or about 1,000,000…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi to include PAAc, or the salt thereof, having a molecular weight of from about 2,000 to about 10,000, or from about 2,000 to about 5,000, or about 5,000 as taught by Asada for the benefit of preparing a composition of a reaction mixture (Asada, Para 0169), allowing for the provision of a method enabling more efficient DNA synthesis as compared to that of the conventional DNA synthesis reactions (Asada, Para 0008).
The combination of Nasarabadi and Asada does not teach:
the denaturing agent is SDS (See Para 0198… sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS); and the chelating agent is CDTA (See Para 0017… CDTA).
In the analogous art of improved compositions and methods for biological sample protection, storage, and retrieval, Whitney teaches:
the denaturing agent is SDS (See Para 0198… sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS); and the chelating agent is CDTA (See Para 0017… CDTA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of Nasarabadi and Asada to include the denaturing agent is SDS; and the chelating agent is CDTA, as taught by Whitney for the benefit of preparing a matrix for biological sample storage (Whitney, Para 0195-0196), allowing for a convenient, low-cost, energy efficient and accessible life sciences sample storage and retrieval systems (Whitney, Para 0007).
Conclusion
/OYELEYE ALEXANDER ALABI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797