DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 31, 33, 34-38, 41-45, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tasaki (US 2020/0407315 A1).
Regarding Claims 26, 31, 33, 34-37, 41, 42 , Tasaki teaches a material represented by Tas-pg 32 (page 32):
Ras-pg 32 reads on applicants’ Formula 1 wherein D11 and D12 = Formula 12 and 12F, k =1; m=1; n = 2, R = H; in Formula 2 p = 2 with one = Formula 14, R = H; two = Formula 15, X11 = S (per claims 26, 31, 33, 34-35, 37, 41-42).
Tas-pg32 shows CN to Cn as para as Formula 130 (per claim 36)
Regarding Claim 38, Tasaki’s Ras-pg32 reads on Formula 113:
R101 and R104 = H, R103 and D11 are labeled above (per claim 38).
Regarding Claims 43-45, Tasaki teaches an organic EL device includes a pair of electrodes and an organic layer between the pair of electrodes. The organic layer includes a layer formed of an organic compound (Tas-pg32). The organic EL device includes at least one organic layer. At least one layer of the organic compound layer is an emitting layer (paragraphs 224-225) (per claims 43-45).
Regarding Claim 50, Tasaki teaches the organic EL device can be used in a light-emitting unit such as a display unit include a display component (e.g., an organic EL panel module), TV, mobile phone, tablet and personal computer (paragraph 306) (per claim 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasaki (US 2020/0407315 A1).
Regarding Claims 39-40, Tasaki teaches Tas-pg 32 which shows n=2 and R as H.
Tas-pg32 is derived from generic Formula 12 (page 4):
Applicants’ R corresponds to Rx.
Tasaki teaches Rx as a finite set of substituents which are viewed as functionally equivalent and readily exchangeable whereby upon selection give rise to obvious variants, absent unexpected results.
One such variant reading on the limitations of claim 40 is best viewed as a modification of Tas-pg32 wherein Rx as H is replaced with at least one Rx as aryl.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of generic Formula 12 by selecting various functional equivalent substituents of Rx which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30, 32, 38, 46-49.objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A comprehensive search did not show the limitations for the above claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786