DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1, claim 1-16 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8 are rejected as being vague and indefinite because the content range by weight as claimed does not have a base for the percentage. In this office action, it is taken that the content percentage is based on total weight of the polypropylene polymer. Claims 2-3, 5-7 and 9-16 are also rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite because the melt flow rate as recited does not associate with its measurement condition such as temperature and loading. Without reciting measurement conditions, the scope of the melt flow rate as claimed is not clear. In this office action, it is taken that the measurement temperature is 230°C and loading is 2.16 kg as disclosed in the present specification. Claims 2-16 are also rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected as being vague and indefinite because the content range by weight as claimed does not have a base for the percentage. In this office action, it is taken that the content percentage is based on total weight of the polymer composition including polypropylene and other components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Palo et al (US 2019/0112732, ‘732 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-5, 8 and 15, ‘732 discloses a polymer material for a three-dimensional extrusion printing system ([0006]), wherein the polymer material can be a filament or rod having diameter of 1.75 or 3 mm ([0016]) being feed stock having a size and shape suitable for feeding to a three-dimensional printing system. The feed stock comprises a polymer composition comprising a polypropylene polymer in an amount greater than about 60% by weight ([0042]-[0045], majority component is polypropylene), and the polypropylene polymer is a polypropylene random copolymer of propylene as a primary monomer and a comonomer of ethylene with a content of from about 3% to 12% by weight ([0007], [0012]); a melt flow rate up to 20 g/10 min ([0008], [0013]); and xylene soluble content of from about 3% to about 30% by weight ([0009], [0014]).
Regarding claims 9-14 and 16, ‘732 discloses that the polypropylene polymer is a simi-crystalline polymer ([0019]-[0020]), which inherently satisfies all the limitations of present claims 9-10 and 13. ‘732 also discloses that the composition further includes a filler such as talc in 10 wt% ([0022], [0045]), a nucleating agent or/and a processing aid ([0021]).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Palo et al (US 2019/0127890, ‘890 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 15, ‘890 discloses a polymer material for a three-dimensional extrusion printing system ([0006]), wherein the polymer material can be a filament or rod having diameter of 1.75 or 3 mm ([0018]) being feed stock having a size and shape suitable for feeding to a three-dimensional printing system. The feed stock comprises a polymer composition comprising a polypropylene polymer in an amount greater than about 60% by weight ([0042]-[0046], majority component is polypropylene), and the polypropylene polymer is a polypropylene terpolymer of propylene as a primary monomer and comonomers of ethylene and butene with a content of ethylene preferably from about 1.0 to 15% by weight ([0015]), content of butene preferably from 3.0 to 18.0 wt% ([0016]), thus total comonomer content can be 4.0 to 33 wt%; a melt flow rate up to 20 g/10 min ([0007], [0011]); and xylene soluble content of from about 3% to about 30% by weight ([0008], [0013]).
Regarding claims 9-14 and 16, ‘890 discloses that the polypropylene polymer is a simi-crystalline polymer ([0021]-[0022]), which inherently satisfies all the limitations of present claims 9-10 and 13. ‘890 also discloses that the composition further includes a filler such as talc in 10 wt% ([0024], [0046]), a nucleating agent or/and a processing aid ([0023]).
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chae et al (US 2016/0122570). Chae et al discloses a polymer composition for 3D printing comprising a polypropylene including a propylene-ethylene copolymer having melt flow rate of up to 30 g/10M min ([0010]-[0022]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782