DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 13-14, 20-22, 25, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. WO 2020/218900 (herein with English language EPO machine translation).
Consider claim 1, Kang discloses a method for transmitting power information, performed by a terminal, comprising: transmitting power information to a network device (see [0008]: “…reporting power information to the base station based on the power report setting information, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”); wherein the power information corresponds to an uplink panel of the terminal or an uplink beam of the terminal (see [0008]: “…terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the power information comprises at least one of: panel identification information of a first uplink panel, and at least one of a
Consider claim 6 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses transmitting beam measurement information to the network device; wherein the beam measurement information corresponds to the uplink panel of the terminal, or the uplink beam of the terminal (see [0275]: “…UE is configured by the gNB to report measurement results for specific beam(s), the measurement report contains measurement results…”).
Consider claim 8 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the panel identification information comprises at least one of: a panel identification; an identification of a reference signal set; an identification of a reference signal; an identification of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; or an identification of spatial relationship information (see [0590]: “…the ID may be a panel ID, SRS resource group ID, SRS resource set ID, antenna port group ID, beam group ID, power control related process/parameter (set) ID, USU ID, or UTE ID…”).
Consider claim 9 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the beam identification information comprises at least one of: an identification of a reference signal; an identification of a TCI state; or an identification of spatial relationship information (see [0275-0276]: “…beam measurement, SS block (or SS/PBCH block, SSB) or CSI-RS (channel state information reference signal) is used in downlink, and SRS (sounding reference signal) is used in uplink…K beams (gNB beam 1, gNB beam 2, …, gNB beam k) (210) are configured by the gNB for L3 mobility and correspond to measurements of synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) or CSI-RS resources detected by the UE…”).
Consider claim 10 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the reference signal comprises at least one of: a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); a synchronous signal block (SSB); or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see [0275-0276]: “…beam measurement, SS block (or SS/PBCH block, SSB) or CSI-RS (channel state information reference signal) is used in downlink, and SRS (sounding reference signal) is used in uplink…K beams (gNB beam 1, gNB beam 2, …, gNB beam k) (210) are configured by the gNB for L3 mobility and correspond to measurements of synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) or CSI-RS resources detected by the UE…”).
Consider claim 13, Kang discloses a method for receiving power information, performed by a network device, comprising: receiving power information transmitted by a terminal (see [0008]: “…reporting power information to the base station based on the power report setting information, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”); wherein the power information corresponds to an uplink panel of the terminal or an uplink beam of the terminal (see [0008]: “…reporting power information to the base station based on the power report setting information, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”).
Consider claim 14 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the power information comprises at least one of: panel identification information of a first uplink panel, and at least one of a group ID…”),
Consider claim 20 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the panel identification information comprises at least one of: a panel identification; an identification of a reference signal set; an identification of a reference signal; an identification of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; or an identification of spatial relationship information (see [0275]: “…UE is configured by the gNB to report measurement results for specific beam(s), the measurement report contains measurement results…”).
Consider claim 21 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the beam identification information comprises at least one of: an identification of a reference signal; an identification of a TCI state; or an identification of spatial relationship information (see [0590]: “…the ID may be a panel ID, SRS resource group ID, SRS resource set ID, antenna port group ID, beam group ID, power control related process/parameter (set) ID, USU ID, or UTE ID…”).
Consider claim 22 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses the reference signal comprises at least one of: a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); a synchronous signal block (SSB); or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see [0590]: “…the ID may be a panel ID, SRS resource group ID, SRS resource set ID, antenna port group ID, beam group ID, power control related process/parameter (set) ID, USU ID, or UTE ID…”).
Consider claim 25 as applied to respective claim, Kang discloses performing uplink scheduling according to the power information (see [0337]: “…the base station schedules PUSCH with DCI format 0_0, the SRI field in the CB based or non-CB based transmission does not exist in DCI format 0_0, so direct beam indication method through DCI is not supported. At this time, the terminal transmits the PUSCH using the same beam as the beam to be applied to the PUCCH resource transmission having the lowest ID among the PUCCH resources set in the active BWP of the cell…”), wherein performing uplink scheduling comprises: determining a target beam, wherein the target beam is used by the terminal to transmit at least one of: an uplink TCI state, a spatial setting, or spatial relationship information (see [0275-0276]: “…beam measurement, SS block (or SS/PBCH block, SSB) or CSI-RS (channel state information reference signal) is used in downlink, and SRS (sounding reference signal) is used in uplink…K beams (gNB beam 1, gNB beam 2, …, gNB beam k) (210) are configured by the gNB for L3 mobility and correspond to measurements of synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) or CSI-RS resources detected by the UE…”).
Consider claim 30, Kang discloses a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory having at least one program code stored therein; wherein the processor is configured to: transmit power information to a network device (see [0008]: “…reporting power information to the base station based on the power report setting information, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”); wherein the power information corresponds to an uplink panel of the terminal or an uplink beam of the terminal (see [0008]: “…reporting power information to the base station based on the power report setting information, wherein the terminal includes a plurality of panels, and the power information may include power headroom information for the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information for the plurality of panels…”).
Consider claim 31, Kang discloses a network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory having at least one program code stored therein; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 13 (see [0014]: “…wireless communication system of the present specification, a terminal for reporting power information includes one or more transceivers, one or more processors functionally connected to the one or more transceivers, and one or more memories functionally connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions for performing operations…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan USPN 2024/0015666.
Consider claim 3 as applied to respective claim, Kang does not explicitly disclose
In the related field of endeavor, Yuan determining that a P-MPR value corresponding to the uplink panel or the uplink beam of the terminal is not less than an MPE threshold (see fig. 6: 604; [0054]: “…power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the power control signaling of Kang with the MPE based signaling of Yuan in order to arrive at the claimed instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Consider claim 4 as applied to respective claim, Kang does not explicitly disclose the power information comprises at least one of: n panel identifications and n pieces of first bit indication information, wherein an i-th piece of first bit indication information indicates whether a P-MPR value corresponding to an i-th uplink panel of the terminal is less than an MPE threshold; or
In the related field of endeavor, Yuan discloses the power information comprises at least one of: n panel identifications and n pieces of first bit indication information, wherein an i-th piece of first bit indication information indicates whether a P-MPR value corresponding to an i-th uplink panel of the terminal is less than an MPE threshold (see [0054;0091]: “…power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold…each respective panel ID of the plurality of panel IDs (e.g., indicated in the plurality of 0-bit fields 1118) may be associated with a different entry of the multiple entries in the multi-entry PHR 1102 and may specify the antenna panel of the UE for that different entry…”); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the power control signaling of Kang with the MPE based signaling of Yuan in order to arrive at the claimed instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Consider claim 5 as applied to respective claim, Kang as modified by Yuan disclose a P-MPR value corresponding to a first uplink panel or a first uplink beam of the terminal is not less than the MPE threshold, and the power information further comprises third bit indication information; wherein the third bit indication information indicates the P-MPR value corresponding to the first uplink panel or the first uplink beam (see fig. 6: 602; [0054]: “… MPE or R field 410 may include either an indication of a power back off value applied to the transmission power (e.g., to reduce the transmission power) to meet an MPE limit or reserved bits. For example, in some cases, if the higher layer parameter power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold. If mpr-Reporting is not configured, and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the P-bit field 408 indicates that a corresponding P.sub.CMAX field 412 would have had a different value if no power back off value (e.g., due to power management) had been applied. In some cases, the applied power back off may be indicated by an index value corresponding to a measured P-MPR level value in decibels. The P-MPR level is a maximum power reduction value applied for satisfying Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) requirements and is determined generally in consideration of the distance between the device and human body…).
Consider claim 15 as applied to respective claim, Kang does not explicitly disclose
In the related field of endeavor, Yuan determining that a P-MPR value corresponding to the uplink panel or the uplink beam of the terminal is not less than an MPE threshold (see fig. 6: 604; [0054]: “…power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the power control signaling of Kang with the MPE based signaling of Yuan in order to arrive at the claimed instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Consider claim 16 as applied to respective claim, Kang does not explicitly disclose the power information comprises at least one of: n panel identifications and n pieces of first bit indication information, wherein an i-th piece of first bit indication information indicates whether a P-MPR value corresponding to an i-th uplink panel of the terminal is less than an MPE threshold; or
In the related field of endeavor, Yuan discloses the power information comprises at least one of: n panel identifications and n pieces of first bit indication information, wherein an i-th piece of first bit indication information indicates whether a P-MPR value corresponding to an i-th uplink panel of the terminal is less than an MPE threshold (see [0054;0091]: “…power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold…each respective panel ID of the plurality of panel IDs (e.g., indicated in the plurality of 0-bit fields 1118) may be associated with a different entry of the multiple entries in the multi-entry PHR 1102 and may specify the antenna panel of the UE for that different entry…”); or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the power control signaling of Kang with the MPE based signaling of Yuan in order to arrive at the claimed instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Consider claim 17 as applied to respective claim, Kang as modified discloses a P-MPR value corresponding to a first uplink panel or a first uplink beam of the terminal is not less than the MPE threshold, and the power information further comprises third bit indication information; wherein the third bit indication information indicates the P-MPR value corresponding to the first uplink panel or the first uplink beam (see fig. 6: 602; [0054]: “… MPE or R field 410 may include either an indication of a power back off value applied to the transmission power (e.g., to reduce the transmission power) to meet an MPE limit or reserved bits. For example, in some cases, if the higher layer parameter power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) reporting (e.g., mpr-Reporting) is configured and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the MPE or R field 410 may indicate the applied power back off is larger than a threshold P-MPR 0; otherwise the MPE or R field 410 indicates the applied power back off is less than the threshold. If mpr-Reporting is not configured, and if the P-bit field 408 is set to 1, the P-bit field 408 indicates that a corresponding P.sub.CMAX field 412 would have had a different value if no power back off value (e.g., due to power management) had been applied. In some cases, the applied power back off may be indicated by an index value corresponding to a measured P-MPR level value in decibels. The P-MPR level is a maximum power reduction value applied for satisfying Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) requirements and is determined generally in consideration of the distance between the device and human body…).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Oneal Mistry can be reached on (313) 446-4912. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
January 31, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674