The amendment filed 3/17/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-10, 12-15 and 21-25 are pending.
Claims 11 and 16-20 are canceled.
Claims 1-10, 12-15 and 21-25 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 14-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kung et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210227622 A1), hereafter referred to as Kung.
In regard to Claim 1, Kung teaches A method comprising: obtaining, by a first user equipment (UE) (A Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring parameters, Para. 42) including information related to an inter-UE (A Rx UE applies SL DRX configuration, Para. 391, FIG. 6) DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) and information related to an inter-UE DRX on-duration timer (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, Para. 42-43).
Kung teaches initiating, by the first UE (Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), the inter-UEDRX on-duration timer (starts drx on duration timer at t1, Para. 391, FIG. 6) after the inter-UE DRX slot offset (drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Kung teaches receiving, by the first UE (Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), from a second UE (The Tx UE performs sidelink transmission 1 via SL resource(s) at t2 while the timer is still running. The Rx UE is in active time at t2 and receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6), first inter-UE control information (SCI format 0-1, Para. 354) for scheduling second inter-UE control information (is used for the scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354) and an inter-UE physical shared channel (is used for the scheduling of PSSCH, Para. 354), through an inter-UE physical control channel (an initial part of the SCI on PSCCH, Para. 261).
Kung teaches receiving, by the first UE (Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), from the second UE (Tx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), the second inter-UE control information (Scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354. The Rx UE receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6) and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU), through the inter-UE physical shared channel (the set of PSSCH durations for one or more (re-)transmissions of a single MAC PDU, Para. 132. The first sidelink transmission could be associated with a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration indicating a set of PSSCH durations for transmissions of multiple MAC PDUs, Para. 394, FIG. 6).
Kung teaches, wherein a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) (deliver the sidelink grant and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process, Para. 218. Store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and QoS information, Para. 268).
In regard to Claim 2, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer is started (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, Para. 42-43) from a time informed by the information related to the inter-UE DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
In regard to Claim 5, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX configuration further includes information related to an inter-UE DRX cycle and information related to an inter-UE DRX start offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle; drx-LongCycleStartOffset: the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts, Para. 42-43, 48).
Kung teaches, wherein the inter-UE DRX cycle is configured based on the information related to QoS (deliver the sidelink grant and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process, Para. 218. Store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and QoS information, Para. 268).
Kung teaches, wherein the inter-UE DRX cycle is started from a time informed by the information related to inter-UE DRX start offset, and wherein inter-UE DRX operation is started, based on the inter-UE DRX cycle being started (A Tx UE is configured by a base station with configured grant for sidelink and is activated by the base station. A Rx UE applies SL DRX configuration and starts drx on duration timer at t1, Para. 391, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 14, Kung teaches A first user equipment (UE) (A Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6) comprising: at least one transceiver (transceiver 314, Para. 37, FIG. 3); at least one processor (control circuit 306 executes through the CPU 308, Para. 37, FIG. 3); and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions (control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300, Para. 37, FIG. 3) that, based on being executed, cause the first UE to perform operations comprising: obtaining inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring parameters, Para. 42) including information related to an inter-UE (A Rx UE applies SL DRX configuration, Para. 391, FIG. 6) DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) and information related to an inter-UE DRX on-duration timer (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, Para. 42-43).
Kung teaches initiating the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer (starts drx on duration timer at t1, Para. 391, FIG. 6) after the inter-UE DRX slot offset (drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Kung teaches receiving, from a second UE (The Tx UE performs sidelink transmission 1 via SL resource(s) at t2 while the timer is still running. The Rx UE is in active time at t2 and receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6), first inter-UE control information (SCI format 0-1, Para. 354) for scheduling second inter-UE control information (is used for the scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354) and an physical inter-UE shared channel (is used for the scheduling of PSSCH, Para. 354), through an physical inter-UE control channel (an initial part of the SCI on PSCCH, Para. 261).
Kung teaches receiving, from the second UE (Tx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), the second inter-UE control information (Scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354. The Rx UE receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6) and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU), through the physical inter-UE shared channel (the set of PSSCH durations for one or more (re-)transmissions of a single MAC PDU, Para. 132. The first sidelink transmission could be associated with a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration indicating a set of PSSCH durations for transmissions of multiple MAC PDUs, Para. 394, FIG. 6).
Kung teaches, wherein a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) (deliver the sidelink grant and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process, Para. 218. Store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and QoS information, Para. 268).
In regard to Claim 15, Kung teaches A processing device adapted to control a first user equipment (UE) (A Rx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), the processing device comprising: at least one processor (control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300, Para. 37, FIG. 3); and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions (executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, Para. 37, FIG. 3) that, based on being executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring parameters, Para. 42) including information related to an inter-UE (A Rx UE applies SL DRX configuration, Para. 391, FIG. 6) DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) and information related to an inter-UE DRX timer (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, Para. 42-43).
Kung teaches initiating the inter-UE DRX timer (starts drx on duration timer at t1, Para. 391, FIG. 6) after the inter-UE DRX slot offset (drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Kung teaches receiving, from a second UE (The Tx UE performs sidelink transmission 1 via SL resource(s) at t2 while the timer is still running. The Rx UE is in active time at t2 and receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6), first inter-UE control information (SCI format 0-1, Para. 354) for scheduling second inter-UE control information (is used for the scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354) and an physical inter-UE shared channel (is used for the scheduling of PSSCH, Para. 354), through an physical inter-UE control channel (an initial part of the SCI on PSCCH, Para. 261).
Kung teaches receiving, from the second UE (Tx UE, Para. 391, FIG. 6), the second inter-UE control information (Scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, Para. 354. The Rx UE receives SL transmission 1 (PSCCH and PSSCH), Para. 391, FIG. 6) and a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU), through the inter-UE shared channel (the set of PSSCH durations for one or more (re-)transmissions of a single MAC PDU, Para. 132. The first sidelink transmission could be associated with a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration indicating a set of PSSCH durations for transmissions of multiple MAC PDUs, Para. 394, FIG. 6).
Kung teaches, wherein a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44) based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) (deliver the sidelink grant and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process, Para. 218. Store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and QoS information, Para. 268).
In regard to Claim 21, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer is started (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, Para. 42-43) from a time informed by the information related to the inter-UE DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230107246 A1), hereafter referred to as Kang ‘246.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS.
Kang ‘246 teaches the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kang ‘246 teaches the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS.
Kang ‘246 teaches the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kang ‘246 teaches the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS.
Kang ‘246 teaches the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a PC5 5G QoS identifier (PQI) value included in the information related to the QoS (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kung fails to teach the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset.
Kang ‘246 teaches the higher a priority mapped to the PQI value, the shorter the length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset (a SL DRX configuration may be configured with a combination of one or more DRX cycles and one or more on-durations. The SL DRX configuration, i.e., the DRX cycle or on-duration, may be configured based on a SL QoS parameter set, a SL PQI, Para. 248. Determine a SL DRX offset, in a case in which data of a SL flow corresponding to the SL PQI (or SL QoS parameter set), Para. 256).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘246 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘246 provides a technique for utilizing PC5 QoS identifiers for configuring DRX cycles and on-durations, which can be introduced into arrangement of Kung to permit a drx-onDurationTimer to be configured based on PC5 QoS identifiers associated with service requirements of user equipment.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Freda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230063472 A1), hereafter referred to as Freda.
In regard to Claim 6, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX start offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer: the duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle; drx-LongCycleStartOffset: the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts, Para. 42-43, 48).
Kung fails to teach the inter-UE DRX start offset is configured based on a layer 2 (L2) Destination ID.
Freda teaches the inter-UE DRX start offset is configured based on a layer 2 (L2) Destination ID (L2 destination ID may be associated with a DRX configuration having different slot offsets, Para. 655).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Kung since Freda provides a technique to configure DRX cycles utilizing QoS, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit DRX processes to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
In regard to Claim 7, Kung teaches the QoS (deliver the sidelink grant and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process, Para. 218. Store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and QoS information, Para. 268).
Kung fails to teach the QoS is a QoS for groupcast communication or broadcast communication, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a QoS for the groupcast communication or the broadcast communication.
Freda teaches the QoS is a QoS for groupcast communication or broadcast communication, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a QoS for the groupcast communication or the broadcast communication (How a WTRU determines the DRX configuration based on QoS may further depend on the cast type. For groupcast/broadcast, a WTRU may be configured with a worst case QoS profile associated with a L2 ID, Para. 278. A WTRU may derive one QoS value for all of its interested DRX services or L2 IDs of a specific cast type (e.g. broadcast and/or groupcast), Para. 280).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Kung since Freda provides a technique to configure DRX cycles utilizing QoS, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit DRX processes to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
In regard to Claim 8, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Kung fails to teach the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a layer 2 (L2) Destination ID, and the information related to the QoS.
Freda teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a layer 2 (L2) Destination ID, and the information related to the QoS (derive the full DRX configuration from a combination of parameters (DRX cycle, on duration, etc) where some parameters are configured per QoS, Para. 309. A groupcast or broadcast L2 destination ID may be associated with a DRX configuration having different slot offsets, Para. 655).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Kung since Freda provides a technique to configure DRX cycles utilizing QoS, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit DRX processes to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Freda, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230276525 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang.
In regard to Claim 9, Kung teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset (RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, Para. 42-44).
Kung in view of Freda fails to teach the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a most significant bit (MSB) of the layer 2 (L2) Destination ID or a least significant bit (LSB) of the layer 2 (L2) Destination ID.
Zhang teaches the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on a most significant bit (MSB) of the layer 2 (L2) Destination ID or a least significant bit (LSB) of the layer 2 (L2) Destination ID (obtaining the least significant bit (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, each UE may determine the UE activating and sensing intervals on the basis of the (pre-)configured values in the DRX cycles, Para. 41. It should be understood that nk,j can be seemed to be a DRX Start Offset, Para. 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Kung in view of Freda since Zhang provides a technique to configure DRX cycles utilizing bits of a destination ID, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit DRX processes to accommodate users associated with certain destinations.
Claim(s) 10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220303821 A1), hereafter referred to as Kang ‘821.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kung teaches the information related to the QoS.
Kung fails to teach the information related to the QoS includes at least one of a PQI value or a QoS profile related to a QoS flow.
Kang ‘821 teaches the information related to the QoS includes at least one of a PQI value or a QoS profile related to a QoS flow (a terminal may transmit sidelink flow information and PC5 unicast link information mapped thereto to a base station while requesting SLRB configuration information regarding a sidelink flow. The SLRB configuration request signal may include at least one of a QoS profile of a sidelink flow, Para. 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘821 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘821 provides a technique to convey information associated with QoS profiles and related identifiers, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit configurations of DRX to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kung teaches the method.
Kung fails to teach the PQI value includes at least one of a resource type, an averaging window, a max data burst volume, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), and a priority level.
Kang ‘821 teaches the PQI value includes at least one of a resource type, an averaging window, a max data burst volume, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), and a priority level (the QoS profile parameter may include at least one of a PQI index, a resource type (GBR, non-GBR, or delay critical GBR), a priority level, packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, an averaging window, Para. 218. A PQI index of a QoS profile corresponding to the packet type may be configured. For example, PQI indices 1 to 5 may be configured for the non-IP packet type, and PQI indices 6 to 10 may be configured for the IP packet type, Para. 219).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘821 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘821 provides a technique to convey information associated with QoS profiles and related identifiers, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit configurations of DRX to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kung teaches the information related to the QoS.
Kung fails to teach the information related to the QoS further includes an index related to the PQI value.
Kang ‘821 teaches the information related to the QoS further includes an index related to the PQI value (the SLRB configuration request signal may include at least one of an identifier of a sidelink flow (a sidelink flow identifier), a QoS profile of a sidelink flow (the profile may correspond to 5G QoS indicator (5QI), PC5 5QI (PQI)), Para. 120. The QoS profile parameter may include at least one of a PQI index, Para. 218. A PQI index of a QoS profile corresponding to the packet type may be configured. For example, PQI indices 1 to 5 may be configured for the non-IP packet type, and PQI indices 6 to 10 may be configured for the IP packet type, Para. 219).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang ‘821 with the teachings of Kung since Kang ‘821 provides a technique to convey information associated with QoS profiles and related identifiers, which can be introduced in to arrangement of Kung to permit configurations of DRX to accommodate users of certain QoS requirements.
Response to Arguments
I. Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendment
Kung teaches in Para. 391 and FIG. 6, a SL (Sidelink) DRX configuration, and this is substantively the same as an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 42-44, an RRC controls DRX operation by configuring parameters that include a drx-onDurationTimer, a duration at the beginning of a DRX Cycle, and a drx-SlotOffset, a delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, and this is substantively the same as information related to an inter-UE DRX slot offset and information related to an inter-UE DRX on-duration timer of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 391 and FIG. 6, that a drx on duration timer starts at t1, Kung teaches in Para. 42-44, that drx-SlotOffset is the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, and this is substantively the same as initiating, by the first UE, the inter-UE DRX on-duration timer after the inter-UE DRX slot offset of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 354, that SCI format 0-1 is used for the scheduling of 2nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH, and this is substantively the same as first inter-UE control information for scheduling second inter-UE control information and an inter-UE physical shared channel of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 261, an initial part of the SCI on PSCCH, and this is substantively the same as first inter-UE control information for scheduling … through an inter-UE physical control channel of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 132, a set of PSSCH durations for one or more (re-) transmissions of a single MAC PDU, and Kung teaches in Para. 394 and FIG. 6, a set of PSSCH durations for transmissions of multiple MAC PDUs, and this is substantively the same as receiving … a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU), through the inter-UE physical shared channel of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 42-44, that a drx-SlotOffset is the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer, and this is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 218, QoS information associated to the Sidelink process, and Kung teaches in Para. 268, SCI valid for QoS information, and this is substantively the same as configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Kung does not disclose or suggest "wherein a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS)". This argument is not persuasive. Kung teaches in Para. 42-44: “RRC controls DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer” (emphasis added). This indicates that a drx-SlotOffset of Kung is a parameter of delay, which can be considered a length of time. As a result, a delay parameter of a drx-SlotOffset of Kung, is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset of Claim 1.
Kung teaches in Para. 218: “deliver the sidelink grant and HARQ information and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process” (emphasis added). Kung teaches in Para. 268: “store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and the associated HARQ information and QoS information” (emphasis added). This indicates that QoS information of Kung is utilized in controlling sidelink channels and processes, which include DRX operations utilizing drx-SlotOffset. A configured delay parameter of a drx-SlotOffset of Kung included in sidelink DRX operations and processes controlled by QoS information, is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, Kung merely discloses the configuration of drx-SlotOffset and the delivery and storage of QoS information separately, and does not disclose at all the feature that the length of drx-SlotOffset is configured based on QoS information. This argument is not persuasive. The arrangement of Kung does not merely deliver and store QoS information, and the QoS information of Kung is not completely unrelated to the sidelink DRX operations and processes of Kung. Kung teaches in Para. 218: “deliver the sidelink grant and HARQ information and QoS information of the MAC PDU to the associated Sidelink process” (emphasis added). Kung teaches in Para. 268: “store the SCI as SCI valid for the PSSCH durations corresponding to transmission(s) of the transport block and the associated HARQ information and QoS information” (emphasis added). This indicates that QoS information of Kung is utilized in controlling sidelink channels and processes, which include DRX operations utilizing a delay parameter of drx-SlotOffset. A configured delay parameter of drx-SlotOffset of Kung included in sidelink DRX operations and processes controlled by QoS information, is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1.
Pages 9-10 of the Remarks present the argument that In Kung, there is no mention that QoS information is used as a basis for configuring a DRX parameter, and no technical relationship is formed in which the length of drx-SlotOffset is adjusted according to QoS requirements. This argument is not persuasive. The QoS information of Kung is not completely unrelated to the drx-SlotOffset of Kung utilized in the sidelink DRX operations and processes. Since a configured delay parameter of a drx-SlotOffset of Kung is included in sidelink DRX operations and processes, and since the sidelink DRX operations and processes of Kung are controlled by QoS information, this is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1. The examiner notes that Claim 1 recites: a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS). Claim 1 does not positively recite features clarifying how information is related to a quality of service (QoS), and Claim 1 does not positively recite features clarifying how information related to a quality of service (QoS) is utilized to configure a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset, that are not taught by Kung.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that In contrast, the amended claims describe the feature of controlling a start time of active time of a receiving UE by using QoS information as a basis for determining a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not recite a start time, and does not recite an active time.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that This links a criterion for controlling DRX active time to QoS information, which is clearly distinguished from Kung, where a DRX parameter is merely configured or QoS information is processed at a MAC layer. This argument is not persuasive. QoS information of Kung is utilized in controlling sidelink channels and processes, which include DRX operations utilizing a delay parameter of drx-SlotOffset. A configured delay parameter of drx-SlotOffset of Kung included in sidelink DRX operations and processes controlled by QoS information, is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Freda fails to disclose "wherein a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS)". This argument is not persuasive. As previously presented, a configured delay parameter of drx-SlotOffset of Kung included in sidelink DRX operations and processes controlled by QoS information, is substantively the same as a length of the inter-UE DRX slot offset is configured based on information related to a quality of service (QoS) of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
5-15-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477