DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 04/01/2026.
Claims 24, 26-28, 30-32 and 34-35 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 24, 26-28, 30-32 and 34-35 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 24, 28 and 32 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 line 2 recites “index value of m” does not define what value of “m” because m can includes fractional/decimal and negative number. Examiner suggest applicant define the value of m is a positive integer. Similar issue exists in claim 28 and 32.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 26-28, 30-32 and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2024/0267174 A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US 2021/0281306 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches a method of communication performed by a terminal device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network device, information configuring a first channel measurement resource set and a second channel measurement resource set (receiving a configuration of one or two CMR sets for channel measurement see Liu: Fig.3 step 302; ¶[0074-0075]);
transmitting, to the network device, a channel state information (CSI) report comprising a field of a first indicator with a value of either 0 or 1 (transmitting CSI report comprising CRSI field either equal to 0 or 1 “transmitting a CSI report including N pairs of CRIs or SSBRIs and the measured L1-RSRP value of the resource indicated by each of the N pairs of CRIs or SSBRIs” see Liu: Fig.3 step 304; ¶[0075]; Fig.1 CRSI= 0 or 1; ¶[0052]) and a field of a first resource indicator (CRSI=0 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1 “the CSI report includes a 1-bit CRSI indicating whether CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1 or from NZP CSI-RS resource set #2. CRSI=0 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1; while CRSI=1 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #2” see ¶[0052]; Fig.1);
wherein;
the first indicator indicates one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which a first resource indicator is reported (first indicator CRSI=0 indicates first channel measurement resource CSI report 1 and CSI report 3 and CRSI=1 indicates second channel measurement resource CSI report 2 and CSI report 4 and NZP CSI-RS resource Set #1 and #2 see Liu: Fig.1; ¶[0052]),
the first resource indicator is one of a plurality of resource indicators of a first resource group (CRSI=0 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1 “the CSI report includes a 1-bit CRSI indicating whether CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1 or from NZP CSI-RS resource set #2. CRSI=0 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #1; while CRSI=1 indicates that CRI #1 indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource from NZP CSI-RS resource set #2” see ¶[0052]; Fig.1),
the first resource group is one of a plurality of resource groups (NZP CSI-RS resource group set #1 is one of two CSI resource set group see Liu: Fig.1; ¶[0052-0053]).
Liu does not explicitly teaches the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported, is different to one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which another one of the plurality of resource indicators of the first resource group is reported, each of the plurality of resource groups comprises resource indicators starting with index value m, and remaining resource groups other than the first resource group follow a same mapping order as the first resource group, where a resource indicator, with the index value m, of each of the remaining resource groups is reported from the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported.
However, Rahman teaches the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported, is different to one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which another one of the plurality of resource indicators of the first resource group is reported (first data frame/subframe for slice 1 930a-b and second data frame for slice 2 970a-970c see Rahman: Fig.9; ¶[0229]; ¶[0244-0250]), each of the plurality of resource groups comprises resource indicators starting with index value m and remaining resource groups other than the first resource group follow a same mapping order as the first resource group (UCI1 includes the CSI 1 and UCI indicator for indicating a number of information bits for the UCI2 and payload of UCI1 transmission and bandwidth mapping see Rahman: ¶[0246]; ¶[0212-0215]), where a resource indicator, with the index value m, of each of the remaining resource groups is reported from the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported (UCI part 1 and UCI part 2 remainder CSI report carry remaining CSI reports “The UCI carrying the CSI for multiple (Ng) gNBs/TRPs can be divided (partitioned) into two parts: part 1 and part 2, where UCI part 1 carries a subset of the CSI reports for multiple gNBs/TRPs (i.e., CSI part 1), and the UCI part 2 carries the remaining CSI reports for multiple gNBs/TRPs (i.e. CSI part 2)” see Rahman: ¶[0185-0192]) in order to select appropriate communication parameters to efficient perform wireless data communication with the UE (see Rahman: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Liu to include (or to use, etc.) the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported, is different to one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which another one of the plurality of resource indicators of the first resource group is reported, each of the plurality of resource groups comprises resource indicators starting with index value m, and remaining resource groups other than the first resource group follow a same mapping order as the first resource group, where a resource indicator, with the index value m, of each of the remaining resource groups is reported from the one of the first channel measurement resource set or the second channel measurement resource set from which the first resource indicator is reported as taught by Rahman in order to select appropriate communication parameters to efficient perform wireless data communication with the UE (see Rahman: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Liu taught the method of claim 24 as described hereinabove. Liu further teaches wherein the first resource indicator corresponds to a largest measured value of reference signal received power (RSRP) (largest L1-RSRP value “The NZP CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #1 has the largest measured L1-RSRP value, which is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with a step size of 1 dB” see Liu: ¶[0072]).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Liu taught the method of claim 26 as described hereinabove. Liu further teaches wherein the largest measured value of RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value (“The NZP CSI-RS resource indicated by CRI #1 has the largest measured L1-RSRP value, which is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with a step size of 1 dB” see Liu: ¶[0072]).
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as claim 24 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 28 recites a method of communication performed by a network device instead of the terminal device that perform the same functionalities in the vice versa direction.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as claim 26 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is rejected for the same reason as claim 27 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as claim 24 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 32 recites a terminal device that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 24 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as claim 26 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected for the same reason as claim 27 as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
June 13, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478