DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-5 and 14-15, in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-13, 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Applicants further elected oleic acid as specific fatty acid and hydrogen carbonate as gas generation component. For compact prosecution purpose, the election of species requirement is withdrawn.
Claims 1-18 are pending, claims 1-5 and 14-15 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is national stage of international patent application PCT/JP2022/023146, filed on 06/08/2022; which claims priority from Japan Patent application JP2021-096114, filed on 06/08/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023, 01/13/2025 and 06/13/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling et al. (US20180023040).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Schilling et al. teaches sophorolipid may be in acid form or lactone form, and their preferred ratio is 80:20 to 20:80 ([0059-0061]). In one example, a powder detergent comprising sophorolipid (100% acid form), sodium salt of fatty acid and sodium carbonate ([0134]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Schilling et al. is that Schilling et al. do not expressly teach all limitation in one embodiment.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 14, Schilling et al. teaches a detergent comprising sophorolipid (acid form or acid: lactone form 80:20), sodium salt of fatty acid and sodium carbonate.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling et al. (US20180023040), as applied for the above 103 rejection for claims 1-4 and 15, in view of Meier et al. (US20180044613).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Schilling et al. teaching has already been discussed in the above 103 rejection and is incorporated herein by reference.
Meier et al. teaches A concentrated detergent composition in the form of a solid, a powder, a liquid, a gel, or a paste and diluted with water (claims 1, 10-15). Generally, the present invention is not limited to the case of hard water. In a preferred aspect, however, the water used to prepare the use solution has a hardness of at least 50 mg/l CaCO3, more preferably at least 61 mg/l CaCO3, even more preferably at least 85 mg/l, most preferably at least 121 mg/l ([0067]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Schilling et al. is that Schilling et al. do not expressly teach water with hardness of 30-200 mg/L. This deficiency in Schilling et al. is cured by the teachings of Meier et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schilling et al., as suggested by Meier et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to dilute powder detergent with water having hardness of 30-200 mg/L because diluting a powder detergent with water is known practice and water having hardness of 30-200 mg/L is suitable water for diluting as suggested by Meier et al. Therefore, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to dilute powder detergent with water having hardness of 30-200 mg/L and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12478928. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches a composition comprising sophorolipid containing acidic sophorolipid and lactonic sophorolipid in a ratio (mass ratio) of 78:22 to 100:0; a free fatty acid or salt thereof, and a gas generation component, which thus teaches applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613