DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the limitations "the anodic side", “the cathodic side” and “the electrolytic cell”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
As to claim 6, the claim recites the limitation "the electric current". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 10, it is unclear as to specifically what is meant by the limitation “the percentage of electronic efficiency of the recovery”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,093,528 to Wynkoop et al. (Wynkoop) in view of US 2011/0240484 A1 to Pendleton et al. (Pendleton).
As to claims 1, 2, 3, 7 and 12, Wynkoop teaches a process for obtaining terephthalic acid and recovering sodium hydroxide from a sodium terephthalate solution produced form reused PET, the method comprising platin a sodium terephthalate solution obtain from a PET hydrolysis process on an anodic side of an electrolysis cell, placing a sodium hydroxide solution on a cathodic side of the electrolytic cell, and recovering terephthalic acid and sodium hydroxide simultaneously (Abstract; Column 1, Line 56 to Column 2, Line 57; Column 3, Line 64 to Column 4, Line 9; Figures 1 and 2). However, Wynkoop teaches that the sodium hydroxide solution is a water based solution and fails to further teach that it comprises an alcohol.
However, Pendleton also discusses the electrolytic production of sodium hydroxide from water solution but also teaches that by providing methanol for the solution sodium methoxide can be produced (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that by utilizing a combination of water and methanol a combination of sodium hydroxide and sodium methoxide can be produced as valuable products.
AS to claim 4, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 3. Wynkoop further teaches that the molarity of the sodium hydroxide in the solution is, for example, 0.6 to 0.7 (Column 3, Line 64 to Column 4, Line 9).
As to claim 5, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 1. Wynkoop further teaches that the electrolytic cell has a membrane between the anodic side and the cathodic side (Column 1, Line 56 to Column 2, Line 57; Figures 1 and 2).
As to claim 6, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 1. Wynkoop further teaches that electrolytic current is supplied to the cell at 0.1 to 0.5 Amperes/cm2 (100 to 500 Amperes/ft2) (Column 3, Line 64 to Column 4, Line 9).
As to claim 8, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 7. Wynkoop further teaches that the solution on the anode side is filtered (Column 1, Line 56 to Column 2, Line 57).
As to claim 10, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 7. Wynkoop further teaches that the conversion in view of overall efficiency is 60 to 70%, thus considered to read on “the percentage of electronic efficiency of the recovery of terephthalic acid” (Column 3, Line 64 to Column 4, Line 9).
As to claim 11, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 7. The combination fails to specifically teach the concentration of the sodium methoxide; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the methanol concentration and operating conditions in order to achieve the desired volume of sodium methoxide produce produced.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 5,095,145 to Rosen (Rosen).
As to claim 9, the combination of Wynkoop and Pendleton teaches the method of claim 7. Wynkoop teaches that the terephthalic acid is washed (Column 1, Line 56 to Column 2, Line 57; Figure 1), but fails to specifically discuss any product drying after washing. However, Rosen also discusses the production of terephthalic acid and teaches that after washing the terephthalic acid should be dried to remove any remaining impurities (Column 5, Lines 7 to 13). Rosen teaches that this drying occurs at elevated temperature of, for example, 100C, thus the drying considered to be oven drying. Rosen fails to specifically contemplate drying at a temperature of 125 to 135C; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the temperature in order to optimize the drying speed in view of other efficiency considerations such as the cost of drying (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794