DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 08 December 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12/08/2025, 02/19/2025, and 06/18/2025.
Claims 1-14, 17-19, 21, and 37-38 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, 17-19, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 20220225369 A1).
With regarding claim 1, Park disclosed a method for information indication, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining indication information comprising at least one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state index (ID) corresponding to at least one codepoint (See Fig. 23-25, and ¶[0422]-[0424], [0455]-[0459], [0464]-[0470]. Discloses that the UE received a TCI- indication identifying TCI state IDs, and then the UE maps one or more DCI TCI-field codepoints to those activated TCI state.); and performing at least one of: determining that a TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of a joint TCl state or a separate TCl state (See Fig. 26A and ¶[0428], [0433]-[0435], [0474]-[0482]. Discloses the UE determining whether an indicated TCI is joint vs separate by using as associated link indicator (e.g., in the T.sub.k field) that explicitly determines the TCI as DL-only, UL-only (separate), or joint DL/UL (joint), i.e., the UE determines the TCI state type from the received indication.), or determining that the TCl state is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception (See Fig. 25 and ¶[0434]-[0436], [0438]-[0440], [0457]-[0472]. Disclosed determining UL and/or DL suitability of an indicated TCI by using the associated link indicator that specifies whether the TCI applies to DL channels (e.g., PDSCH/CORESET reception) and/or UL channels (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH transmission), and by describing joint TCIs providing QCL for DL reception and spatial filters for UL transmission.). With regarding claim 2, Park disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the indication information further comprises a first indication field (See Fig. 25 and ¶[0444], [0455]-[0456] the first indication field indicating any of (See Fig. 25 and ¶[0455], [0476]. Disclosed that the UE receives a TCI-indication (MAC-CE) message that includes T.sub.k fields, where each T.sub.k field carries a 2-bit link indicator (DL/UL/joint DL-UL)): the indication information only activating the joint TCl state (See ¶[0476], [0481] Disclosed that, when a T.sub.k field is set to 11, the UE determines the TCI-ID k is activated and mapped to a DCI TCI-field codepoint for joint DL/UL usage); the indication information only activating the separate TCl state (See FIG. 26A and ¶[0476], [0481]-[0482]. Disclosed That the UE reads a per-TCI T.sub.k field where ‘01’ activates a DL-only TCI and 10 activates a UL-only TCI, e.g., T.sub.2 =10 for UL usage.); or the indication information activating the joint TCl state and the separate TCl state.
With regarding claim 4, Park disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the first indication field indicating the indication information only activating the separate TCl state comprises at least one of: the indication information indicating one TCl state ID corresponding to a first codepoint (See ¶[0468]-[0471], [0497], [0456]-[0458], [0476], [0481], [0497]. Disclosed the codepoint to TCI mapping) a TCl state corresponding to the one TCl state ID being a separate downlink (DL) TCl state or a separate uplink (UL) TCl state (See ¶[0456]-[0458], [0476], [0481]-[0482]. Disclosed link indicator field values for DL/UL/Joint via T.sub.k, also teaches only DL and only UL), wherein the separate DL TCl state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCl state is configured for uplink transmission (See ¶[0476], [0497]-[0499], [0456]-[0459], [0476], [0481]. Disclosed DL reception (PDSCH/CORESET etc.), and UL transmission side (uplink signals/channels).); or the indication information indicating a plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to a second codepoint, the plurality of TCl state IDs being corresponding to different TCl states, a first TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs being a separate DL TCl state, and a second TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs being a separate UL TCl state, wherein the separate DL TCl state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCl state is configured for uplink transmission.
With regarding claim 5, Park disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the first indication field indicating the indication information activating the joint TCl state and the separate TCl state comprises at least one of: the indication information indicating one TCI state ID corresponding to a first codepoint, a TCI state corresponding to the one TCI state ID being a separate downlink (DL) TCI state or a separate uplink (UL) TCI state, wherein the separate DL TCI state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCI state is configured for uplink transmission (See ¶[0468]-[0469], [0476], [0497]-[0499], [0481], [0457]-[0458]. Disclosed a mechanism for indication information to indicate one TCI state ID, Mapping this TCI state ID to codepoint, then configuration of TCI state as either a separate DL TCI state or a separate UL TCI state, Specific configuration of the separate DL TCI state for downlink reception and separate UL TCI state for uplink transmission.); the indication information indicating a plurality of TCI state IDs corresponding to a second codepoint, the plurality of TCl state IDs being corresponding to a same TCl state, the same TCl state being the joint TCl state, and the joint TCl state being configured for uplink transmission and downlink reception; or the indication information indicating a plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to a third codepoint, the plurality of TCl state IDs being corresponding to different TCl states, a TCl state corresponding to a first TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs being a separate DL TCl state, and a TCl state corresponding to a second TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs being a separate UL TCl state. With regarding claim 6, Park disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the determining that the TCl state is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception comprises at least one of: determining according to an ID value of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint; determining according to a TCl state pool ID to which the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint belongs; determining according to uplink and downlink purpose information of the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the codepoint (See ¶[0476], [0481]. Disclosed TCI state having uplink/downlink purpose information (DL-only, UL-only, or joint Dl/UL), a mechanism for determining suitability for uplink transmission or downlink reception based on specifically on this purpose information.); determining according to TCI state information of the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the codepoint; or determining according to a location of an indication field of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint in the indication information. With regarding claim 7, Park disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein performing at least one of determining that the TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of the joint TCl state or the separate TCl state, or determining that the TCl state is configured for at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception, comprises at least one of (See ¶[0476], [0481], [0456]-[0457]. Disclosed of uplink/downlink purpose information associated with each TCI state ID, and for determining TCI state characteristics (downlink only, uplink only, or joint) based specifically on this purpose information.): determining according to a number of TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint; determining according to whether or not a plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to the codepoint are the same; determining according to whether or not TCl states corresponding to a plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to the codepoint are the same; determining according to an ID value of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint; determining according to a TCl state pool ID to which the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint belongs; determining according to uplink and downlink purpose information of the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the codepoint (See ¶[0476], [0481], [0456]-[0457]. Disclosed the link indicator carried “inside/using” a T.sub.k field indicates DL(01), UL (10), or joint DL/UL (11), and the UE determines applicability based on that (DL/UL/joint), UE determines applicability in response to those values); determining according to TCI state information of the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the codepoint; or determining according to a location of an indication field of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint in the indication information.
With regarding claim 12, Park disclosed the method of claim [[6 or]] 7, further comprising: determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception according to the TCI state pool ID to which the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the codepoint belongs(See ¶[0447], [0448], [0450], [0476]-[0481]. Disclosed separate TCI pool tied to DL vs UL usage. If a TCI state ID is in the DL pool, it is suitable for DL; it is suitable for DL; if in the UL pool, it is suitable for UL); wherein the indication information further comprises the TCl state pool ID to which the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint belongs, and a TCl state pool ID to which a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for uplink transmission and a TCl state pool ID to which a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for downlink reception are different (See ¶[0447]-[0450], [0478]. Disclosed that a pool-ID-type filed in the indication message. and there are two separate pools; one DL pool, one UL pool.). With regarding claim 13, Park disclosed the method of claim [[6 or]] 7, further comprising: determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission (See ¶[0456]-[0458], [0476]-[0481]. Disclosed LINK INDICATOR/USAGE (DL vs UL vs joint), the UE’s decision to apply a TCI for DL reception vs UL transmission is driven by that indicator); wherein the indication information further comprises the uplink and downlink purpose information of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint, and the uplink and downlink purpose information comprises any of: for uplink transmission, for downlink reception, or for uplink transmission and downlink reception (See ¶[0456]-[0458], [0474]-[0478], [0481]-[0482]. Disclosed the TCI-indication message structure, and states that the link indicator is included via a 2-bit T_k field as part of this indication information, further confirms this is part of the transmitted indication information.). With regarding claim 14, Park disclosed (Currently Amended) The method of claim [[6 or]] 7, further comprising: determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission (See ¶[0240]-[0242], [0256], [0321], [0332], [0434]-[0440], [0474]-[0478], [0481]-[0482. Disclosed defines QCL-TypeD as Spatial Rx parameter, and QCL-TypeD applicability in relation to RS behavior.). With regarding claim 17, Park disclosed the method of claim [[6 or]] 7, further comprising: determining that the TCI state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission(See ¶[0476], [0481], [0456]-[0457]. Disclosed the link indicator carried “inside/using” a T.sub.k field indicates DL(01), UL (10), or joint DL/UL (11), and the UE determines applicability based on that (DL/UL/joint), UE determines applicability in response to those values); wherein a first TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint indicates the joint TCI state or a separate DL TCI state and a second TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint indicates the joint TCI state or a separate UL TCI state (See Fig. 23-25, and ¶[0476]-[0479], [0481]. Discloses the wireless device UE is configured to obtain a TCI indication message comprising at least one TCI state ID. That is mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field in the DCI, and the wireless device determines whether the TCI state is for DL only, UL only or joint DL/UL operation based on the indicator value.); or a first TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint indicates the joint TCI state or a separate UL TCI state and a second TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint indicates the joint TCI state or a separate DL TCI state (See Fig. 23-25, and ¶[0476]-[0479], [0481]. Discloses the wireless device UE is configured to obtain a TCI indication message comprising at least one TCI state ID. That is mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field in the DCI, and the wireless device determines whether the TCI state is for DL only, UL only or joint DL/UL operation based on the indicator value.). With regarding claim 18, Park disclosed (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1,wherein the indication information further comprises at least one second indication field, the second indication field is in one-to-one correspondence with a TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint, and the second indication field indicates whether or not a TCI state ID in one TCI state ID indication field corresponding to the codepoint appears(See ¶[0450], [0474]-[0476], [0494]. TCI -indication message structure includes per-TCI fields (e.g., T.sub.k field or link indicator) carried in the indication information. And in a bitmap design position or field corresponds one-to-one with an underling TCI.). With regarding claim 19, Park disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the indication information comprises: obtaining the indication information transmitted by a medium access control element (MACCE) signaling (See ¶[0446]-[0448]. Disclosed TCI indication message is a MAC-CE message the TCI indication message comprise a MAC-CE message), wherein the uplink transmission comprises at least one of: physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmission, uplink scheduling requesting (SR) transmission, or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission(See FIG. 12A-12B ¶[0120], [0426], [0447]-[0448]. Disclosed TCI indication information via MAC-CE signaling and all the uplink transmission and downlink receptions comprises (PDSCH/coreset, PDCCH, CSI-RS, TRS)); the downlink reception comprises at least one of: physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission, physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, physical broadcast channel (PBCH) transmission, synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission, DMRS transmission, channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission (See FIG. 12A-12B ¶[0120], [0426], [0447]-[0448]. Disclosed TCI indication information via MAC-CE signaling and all the uplink transmission and downlink receptions comprises (PDSCH/coreset, PDCCH, CSI-RS, TRS)), positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission, or tracking reference signal (TRS) transmission. With regarding claim 21, Park disclosed a method for information indication, performed by a base station, comprising: transmitting indication information to a user equipment (UE), wherein the indication information comprises at least one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state index (ID) corresponding to at least one codepoint (See FIG. 23 and ¶[0007], [0447], [0474], [0125], [0456]-[0457], [0481]. Disclosed a method for information indication performed by a base station, and transmitting indication information to a UE via MAC CE signaling then the indication information comprises TCI state IDs, this TCI state IDs correspond to codepoints in the DCI field.). With regarding claim 37, Park disclosed a user equipment, comprising: a processor (See FIG. 15 and ¶[0209]-[0211]); and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (See FIG. 15 and ¶[0209]-[0211]); wherein the processor is configured to: obtain indication information comprising at least one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state index (ID) corresponding to at least one codepoint (See Fig. 23-25, and ¶[0422]-[0425], [0455]-[0459], [0464]-[0470]. Discloses that the UE received a TCI- indication identifying TCI state IDs, and then the UE maps one or more DCI TCI-field codepoints to those activated TCI state.); and perform at least one of: determining that a TCI state corresponding to the at least one TCI state ID is at least one of a joint TCI state or a separate TCI state, or determining that the TCI state is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception (See Fig. 23-25, and ¶[0476]-[0479], [0481]. Discloses the wireless device UE is configured to obtain a TCI indication message comprising at least one TCI state ID. That is mapped to a codepoint of the TCI field in the DCI, and the wireless device determines whether the TCI state is for DL only, UL only or joint DL/UL operation based on the indicator value.);.
With regarding claim 38, Park disclosed a base station, comprising: a processor(See FIG. 15 and ¶[0209]-[0211]); and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (See FIG. 15 and ¶[0209]-[0211]); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 21 (See FIG. 15 and ¶[0209]-[0211]. Disclosed a base station with processor and memory, the base station processor being configured.);.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20220225369 A1) in view of Nilsson et al (US 20240107612 A1).
With regarding claim 3, Park disclosed the method of claim 2, wherein the first indication field indicating the indication information only activating the joint TCl state comprises: the indication information indicating at most one TCI state ID corresponding to each codepoint, a TCI state corresponding to the one TCI state ID being the joint TCI state (See FIG. 25 and ¶[0476], [0433]. Disclosed The T_k filed may be set to ‘11’ indicating the TCI (T_k) with TCI-ID k is activated for joint DL/UL usage. And source RS in M (joint) TCIs of at least one joint TCI.), and the joint TCI state being configured for uplink transmission and downlink reception (See FIG. 25 and ¶[0434]-[0441]. Disclosed Joint TCI configured for uplink and downlink). Park may not explicitly disclose the indication information indicating at most one TCI state ID corresponding to each codepoint. However, in analogous art, Nilsson disclose the indication information indicating at most one TCI state ID corresponding to each codepoint (See Fig. 17-18 and ¶[0174]-[0179], [0061]-[0063]. Disclosed third subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective joint TCI state and if all activated TCI states are applied to both UL and DL, then the UE should assume joint DL/UL TCI is applied.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nilsson to modify Park. Park teaches joint TCI states configured for both uplink and downlink with per-TCI indicators, but lacks explicit teaching of limiting to one TCI state ID per codepoint when only joint states are activated. And Nilsson teaches where if all activated TCI states are joint DL/UL states, the system operates in a unified mode with specific codepoint associations. This combination references to optimize signaling overhead in 5G NR systems by simplifying the mapping structure when only joint TCI states are activated, results with reduced signaling complexity when operating exclusively in joint TCI state mode.
With regarding claim 8, Park disclosed the method of claim 7, further comprising: determining that the TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of the joint TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint comprises: in response to the number of TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint being one, determining that the TCl state corresponding to the one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint is the separate TCl state and the separate TCl state is a separate DL TCl state or a separate UL TCl state, wherein the separate DL TCl state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCl state is configured for uplink transmission (See ¶[0497], [0481]. Disclosed separate DL TCI states are configured for downlink reception and separate UL TCI states are configured for uplink transmission.). Park may not explicitly disclose determining that the TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of the joint TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint comprises (See FIG. 14 ¶[0154]-[0156], [0140]-[0141]. Disclosed three disjoint subsets of TCI codepoints mapped to only DL TCI states and only UL TCI and codepoint mapped both DL and UL TCI states.): in response to the number of TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint being one, determining that the TCl state corresponding to the one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint is the separate TCl state (See FIG. 14 ¶[0154]-[0156], [0145]-[0146], [0177]-[0178]. Disclosed that codepoint maps to a single TCI state ID (like codepoint 0 mapping to DL TCI state 3), this functions as a separate TCI state.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nilsson to modify Park. Park teaches configuration TCI states for DL reception or UL transmission, and Nilsson teaches that a system where codepoints can map to one or multiple TCI state IDs, with different behavior based on this mapping. And when maps to one TCI state ID, it functions as a separate DL or UL TCI state. This combination determine how many TCI state IDs are mapped to a codepoint to properly interpret whether it should functions as separate DL TCI/ UL/ both.
With regarding claim 9, Park disclosed the method of claim 7, further comprising: Park may not explicitly disclose determining that the TCI state corresponding to the at least one TCI state ID is at least one of the joint TCI state in response to the number of TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint being multiple, and the plurality of TCl state IDs or TCl states corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs being different, determining that the TCl states corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to the codepoint are the separate TCl state, a TCl state corresponding to a first TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs is a separate DL TCl state, and a TCl state corresponding to a second TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs is a separate UL TCl state, wherein the separate DL TCl state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCl state is configured for uplink transmission. However, in analogous art, Nilsson disclosed determining that the TCI state corresponding to the at least one TCI state ID is at least one of the joint TCI state (See FIG. 7-8 and ¶[0154], [0050], [0140]-[0144], [0177]-[0178]. Disclosed three subsets of codepoints and clarifies the three subsets are disjoint sets (supports that the codepoint categorization is an intended rule/logic.).): in response to the number of TCl state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint being multiple, and the plurality of TCl state IDs or TCl states corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs being different, determining that the TCl states corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to the codepoint are the separate TCl state, a TCl state corresponding to a first TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs is a separate DL TCl state, and a TCl state corresponding to a second TCl state ID among the plurality of TCl state IDs is a separate UL TCl state, wherein the separate DL TCl state is configured for downlink reception and the separate UL TCl state is configured for uplink transmission (See FIG. 8, 14 and ¶[0154]-[0155], [0042]-[0048], [0173]-[0174], [0167]-[0169]. Disclosed the TCI field codepoint in DCI is 2, the UE should update the RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for DL signals/channels at the same time as it updates the TX spatial filter based on UL TCI state 1 for UL signals/channels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nilsson to modify Park. Park teaches TCI state indication mechanism using MAC-CE messages, link indicator fields to differentiate between DL/UL usage and the framework of TCI state activation and configuration. And Nilsson teaches the core concept (one DL, one UL ), this implements separate TCI states, and explains TCI state IDs map to each codepoint. This combination implement separate DL/UL TCI states.
With regarding claim 10, Park disclosed the method of claim 7, further comprising: Park may not explicitly disclose determining that the TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of the joint TCl state and uplink transmission. However, in analogous art, Nilsson disclosed disclose determining that the TCl state corresponding to the at least one TCl state ID is at least one of the joint TCl state (See ¶[0038], [0174], [0140]-[0143]. Disclosed the TCI field codepoint in DCI is either associated with one DL TCI state, one UL TCI state, or a pair of DL/UL TCI state, and single-state codepoints vs dual-state codepoints.): in response to the number of TCI state ID(s) corresponding to the codepoint being multiple, and TCI states corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs being the same, determining that the TCl state corresponding to the plurality of TCl state IDs corresponding to the codepoint is the joint TCl state and the joint TCl state is configured for downlink reception and uplink transmission(See FIG. 7 and ¶[0174], [0140]-[0143], [0049], [0090], [0156], [0176]-[0177]. Disclosed the TCI field codepoint in DCI is either associated with one DL TCI state, one UL TCI state, or a pair of DL/UL TCI state, and single-state codepoints vs dual-state codepoints.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nilsson to modify Park. Park teaches indication or codepoint signaling can represent TCI applicability (DL only or UL only or joint DL/UL). And Nilsson teaches codepoint structuring where codepoint can map to one TCI state (DL only or UL only or DL/UL TCI mode where the same TCI state applies to both DL and UL). This combination teaches a codepoint carries multiple TCI IDs that resolve to the same TCI state, UE treats it as joint and applies it for DL reception and UL transmission.
With regarding claim 11, Park disclosed the method of claim [[6 or]] 7, further comprising: determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission and/or or downlink reception according to the ID value of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint (See FIG. 26A, 26B and ¶[0455]-[0459], [0472]-[0476], [0481]-[0482]. Disclosed that TCI indicators (T_K fields) with values ‘01’, ‘10’, ‘11’ to determine channel type suitability and determines suitability based on values.); Park may not explicitly disclose wherein determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission and/or or downlink reception according to the ID value of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint comprises:
determining a value range of a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for uplink transmission and a value range of a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for downlink reception according to at least one of default rules and/or or configuration information. However, in analogous art, Nilsson disclosed wherein determining that the separate TCl state corresponding to the TCl state ID is suitable for at least one of uplink transmission and/or or downlink reception according to the ID value of the at least one TCl state ID corresponding to the codepoint comprises (See FIG. 5, 17-18 and ¶[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], [0140]-[0143] [0177]-[0179]. Disclosed switching between joint and separate TCI modes based on activation of UL TCI states.):
determining a value range of a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for uplink transmission and a value range of a TCl state ID corresponding to a TCl state for downlink reception according to at least one of default rules and/or or configuration information (See FIG. 5, 17-18 and ¶[0028], [0033]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], [0140]-[0143] [0177]-[0179]. Disclosed separate subsets of codepoint and activation/deactivation configurations values for UL/DL). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nilsson to modify Park. Park teaches UE behavior depends on whether the activated TCI is DL, UL, or joint. Nilsson teaches system maintain separate DL and UL TCI pools using ID ranges. This combination determine suitability according to the ID value by checking which configuration/default range the ID falls into.
Conclusion
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468