DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of SEQ ID No. 36, G37S, in the reply filed on 047/20/2026 is acknowledged. The claims only recite SEQ ID No. 12-30 and a review of the sequences show G37S which is SEQ ID No. 26. Therefore this sequence will be searched.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-10 are pending and are currently under examination. SEQ ID NO. 26 is free of the prior art. The remaining sequences having SEQ ID Nos. 12-25 and 27-30 were searched. SEQ ID Nos. 13-30 are free of the prior art. SEQ ID No. 12 was found in the prior art and is rejected as discussed below.
Specification
The use of the term GENBANK, which is a trade name or mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application on page 4, first paragraph. Each term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore each term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
The claims recite a/the “a microorganism” and thus encompasses any naturally occurring microorganism. For examination purpose, the “microorganism” will be interpreted as an isolated or engineered microorganism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 9 recite "derivatives thereof" and this limitation is indefinite because the meets and bounds of this term in the claim cannot be determined and the specification does not define what would be considered a derivative of glutathione.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “recovering glutathione or derivatives thereof from at least one material selected from the cultured microorganism, a dried product thereof, an extract thereof, a culture product thereof, and a lysate thereof" and depends from claim 9 drawn to a method for producing glutathione or derivatives therefore from any microorganism with a SOD1 variant. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how glutathione or derivatives thereof are recovered or even what recovered encompasses. The claims recite “at least one material” the meets and bounds of the material are unclear or how glutathione or derivatives are recovered from this said material. Further, the recitation of “a dried product thereof, an extract thereof, a culture product thereof, and a lysate thereof” is unclear. Is this the material recovered. The instant specification does not describe any method of recovering glutathione or derivatives thereof from any type of material as claimed. Claim 10 will not be further examined as it cannot be determined, with assumption, how the glutathione is recovered from one or more materials as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bastow, Emma L., et al. ("New links between SOD1 and metabolic dysfunction from a yeast model of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis." Journal of cell science 129.21 (2016): 4118-4129).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bastow et al. teach a superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R), see Fig.1 and alignment below.
Regarding claim 3, Bastow et al teach SOD1 wherein position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R) which is instantly claimed SEQ ID No. 12.
Thus Bastow wet al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim(s) 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corson, Laura B., et al. ("Chaperone-facilitated copper binding is a property common to several classes of familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis-linked superoxide dismutase mutants." Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 95.11 (1998): 6361-6366).
Regarding claims 4-10, Corson et al. teach cDNA expressing a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R) that was cultured in Saccharomyces cerevisiae strains (see page 6361-6362 and Fig. 1).
With respect to the limitation of claim 6 reciting “wherein the microorganism produces glutathione or derivatives thereof”, because the prior art teach a microorganism comprising a SOD1 variant it would inherently product glutathione or derivatives thereof.
With respect to the preamble of claim 9 which states “method for producing glutathione or derivatives thereof”, a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). The claims only require culturing a microorganism with the SOD1 variant which is taught by Corson et al.
Thus the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
Moreover, the written description requirement for a genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by “…disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between functional and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Thus when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The claims are drawn to a genus of microorganism comprising a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R) or a Saccharomyces such as cerevisiae with the function of producing glutathione or any derivative thereof.
When determining whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. In the instant case, the specification describes a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R). was capable of increasing glutathione (pages 33-34). The specification does not describe any of the claimed microorganisms producing glutathione or any derivative thereof.
It is then determined whether a representative number of species have been sufficiently described by other relevant identifying characteristics (i.e. other than nucleotide sequence), specific features and functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genera. In the instant case, the only other identifying characteristics are glutathione expression in Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast (pages 31-34). The specification does not describe any of the claimed microorganisms producing glutathione or any derivative thereof. The number of different microorganisms is vast, encompassing a vast number from all types of microbes such as protozoa, fungi, bacteria and viruses, for example (see Pitt, T. L., and M. R. Barer. "Classification, identification and typing of micro-organisms." Medical microbiology (2012): 24). A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
Since the disclosure and the prior art fail to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant a vast number of microorganisms and derivatives of glutathione, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus claimed.
"A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Further, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features.” Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007) citing University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
Thus the specification and claims lack written description because it is clear that Applicant did not have possession of every microorganism capable of producing glutathione or derivatives thereof. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369,372-372 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Enablement
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for methods of producing glutathione in Saccharomyces cerevisiae, does not reasonably provide enablement for producing glutathione in any microorganism or producing any derivative. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The following factors have been considered in the analysis of enablement: (1) the breadth of the claims, (2) the nature of the invention, (3) the state of the prior art, (4) the level of one of ordinary skill, (5) the level of predictability in the art, (6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (7) the existence of working examples, (8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims and the nature of the invention:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims is any microorganism that is capable of producing glutathione or any variant of glutathione using a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R).
Whether the specification would have been enabling as of the filing date involves consideration of the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, and the level of skill in the art. The state of the prior art is what one skilled in the art would have known, at the time the application was filed, about the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains. The relative skill of those in the art refers to the skill of those in the art in relation to the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains at the time the application was filed. See MPEP § 2164.05(b). The state of the prior art provides evidence for the degree of predictability in the art and is related to the amount of direction or guidance needed in the specification as filed to meet the enablement requirement. The state of the prior art is also related to the need for working examples in the specification.
The state of the prior art:
A thorough review of the patent and non-patent literature describes cDNA expressing a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R) that was cultured in Saccharomyces cerevisiae strains (see Corson et al.). The prior art does not teach Saccharomyces cerevisiae comprising the SOD1 variant as capable of producing glutathione or any derivative thereof.
The level of one of ordinary skill:
While the level of one of ordinary skill practicing said invention would be high, the level of predictability is considered variable as evident in the prior art discussed above and is not considered to provide sufficient enablement to practice the claimed invention.
Because the state of the prior art does not provide evidence of the degree of predictability that the claimed microorganism, in its breadth, is capable of producing glutathione or any derivative thereof, one of ordinary skill in the art would look for guidance or direction in the instant specification.
The level of predictability in the art:
“The “predictability or lack thereof” in the art refers to the ability of one skilled in the art to extrapolate the disclosed or known results to the claimed invention. If one skilled in the art can readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, then there is predictability in the art. On the other hand, if one skilled in the art cannot readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which that claimed invention pertains, then there is lack of predictability in the art. Accordingly, what is known in the art provides evidence as to the question of predictability.” (MPEP 2164.03).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. >See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The existence of working examples:
The working embodiment in the instant application describes glutathione expression in Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast with a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with an arginine (G37R) (pages 31-34). The working embodiments do not describe the breadth of the invention as claimed.
The standard of an enabling disclosure is not the ability to make and test if the invention works but one of the ability to make and use with a reasonable expectation of success. A patent is granted for a completed invention, not the general suggestion of an idea (MPEP 2164.03 and Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1325-26 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
While the MPEP 2164.02 states the specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970), the lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
The prior art is undeveloped for the role a SOD1 variant wherein the amino acid corresponding to position 37 from the N-terminus is substituted with any amino acid such as arginine (G37R) plays in being capable of producing glutathione or any derivative in any microorganism.. For an enabling disclosure, one of skill in the art must be able to make and use the invention with a reasonable expectation of success and not to make and test if the invention actually works. A patent is granted for a completed invention, not the general suggestion of an idea (MPEP 2164.03 and Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1325-26 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Without further guidance, one of skill in the art would have to practice a substantial amount of trial and error experimentation, an amount considered undue and not routine, to practice the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636