DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the insulator" where only “interior insulation layer” and “central insulated panel” are previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites “an outer housing including a back wall and at least one side wall extending from and defining an outer perimeter around the back wall, an aperture formed in the back wall; an oven core housing received in the outer housing, the oven core housing having a back wall and at least one side wall coupled to and extending from the back wall, the at least one side wall defining a perimeter around the back wall that is smaller than the perimeter of the outer housing” where multiple different features for the outer housing and oven core housing are referred to by the same terminology, specifically the back wall and at least one side wall is recited multiple times for multiple different components. As such it becomes unclear which back wall and which side wall are being referred to in later recitation.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the ceramic insulator". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated US Publication 20170082296 to Jeong.
As to claim 1, Jeong discloses An oven comprising: an outer housing (11); an oven core comprising an oven core housing (22,21,40), an interior insulation (44) layer and a heating coil (42), the oven core received within the outer housing (Fig 2a); a plenum (A, below) between the outer housing and the oven core; a blower directing a cooling fluid flow into the plenum (50, Par 0045); a door (30) including a central insulated panel ( closer to center of oven, 32,60,31) and a door plenum (70) between the central insulated panel and an outer edge (33), wherein the door is moveable between an open and a closed position (Fig 2a,7), and wherein the central insulated panel encloses the oven core and the door plenum mates with the plenum between the outer housing and the oven core when in the closed position (Fig 2a, plenum 70 mates with airflow plenum at 57, door insulation 32,60,31 mates with 44 top and bottom Fig 2a), the door including a vent (inlets to 70,60 at bottom) provided at a position vertically opposite the blower (blower 50 at top, vents at bottom), wherein cooling fluid flow from the blower is directed through the plenum and the door vent (Par 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20170082296 to Jeong as applied to claim 1 above in view of US Patent 10598391 to Padula.
As to claim 2, Jeong does not expressly disclose the insulator is a ceramic insulator, however Padula discloses how oven insulation paired with an air gap can be a ceramic insulation (Col 12, Line 30-35).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong to include where the insulation (44) is a ceramic insulation using the teachings of Padula as this was a well known heat resistant insulation at the time that would withstand the temperatures and provide the desired outcome.
As to claim 3, Jeong does not expressly disclose the outer housing comprises stainless steel, however this is taught by Padula (Col 3, line 30-33, Col 12, Line 19-53).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong to include the outer housing comprises stainless steel using the teachings of Padula as stainless steel is a poor heat transfer material and would allow for a resilient and heat capable shell of the system.
As to claim 4, Jeong does not expressly disclose the oven core comprises stainless steel, however this is taught by Padula (Col 6 Line 14-17).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong to include the oven core comprises stainless steel using the teachings of Padula as stainless steel is a poor heat transfer material and would allow for a resilient and heat capable shell of the system.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20170082296 to Jeong as applied to claim 1 above in view of US Publication 20190316380 to Kim.
As to claim 5, Jeong does not expressly disclose a latch for latching the door to the outer housing which is disclosed by Kim (Abs).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeong to include a latch for latching the door to the outer housing using the teachings of Kim so as to effectively secure the door closed insuring an insulating seal while avoiding undesired opening of the door while in use.
As to claim 6, Jeong as modified by Kim discloses the latch includes a cam style latching mechanism (Kim: Abs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming any 112 issues.
Claim 18-20 allowed.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746