DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 08 December 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 08 December 2023.
Claims 1-13 and 17 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 December 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20220140879 A1) in view of Stacey et al. (US 20200221545 A1). With regarding Claim 1, Liang disclose a method for transmitting channel state information by a station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method comprising (See FIG. 4, and ¶[0009], [0015], [0110], [0128], [0114], claim 1. Disclosed a WLAN system and describes a method for transmitting channel state information by STA.): receiving, from an access point (AP), a first frame containing request information for requesting channel state measurement for multiple Aps (See FIG. 3-5, and ¶[0009]-[0010], [0023]-[0026], [0049]-[0050], [0110]-[0112]. Disclosed that before sending channel sounding frames, the Aps send NDPA frames to indicate to the STA to perform channel sounding on channels of the Aps, both primary and secondary Aps may send NDPA frames.); and transmitting, to the AP, a second frame containing channel state information for multiple Aps (See ¶[0009]-[0011], [0015]-[0019], [0031]-[0035], [0048]-[0052]. Disclosed STA transmits a second frame(channel measurement report frame), the frame contains channel state information, and the information is for multiple Aps (m target Aps out of n, where m less than are equal to 1), with per-AP identification). wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively (and wherein the channel state information includes channel measurement values for each of multiple APs measured by the STA. (See FIG. 12, 22 and ¶[0009]-[0011], [0019], [0048], [0144]. Disclosed that the STA measures channel state information for each AP form multiple Aps and then reports this information.) Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively, and However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively(See FIG. 5A, 12, 22 and ¶[0126], [0132], [0163], [0168], [0192]. Disclosed fields for multiple AP link adaptation control , per-link policy fields for multi-AP/MLO, carried in MAC frame elements), and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stacey to modify Liang. Liang teaching AP-originated NDPA/BFRP requesting CSI, multi-AP channel sounding context, channel measurement report with CSI of m target Aps and their identifiers, and CSI request/response semantics tied to link adaptation. And Stacey teaching single multi-link AP device with multiple-AP element and per-AP element in one frame, and multi-link per-AP policy/parameter fields carried in frame. i.e. multi-AP link-control fields. The combination ensure multi-band operation in EHT as a critical area of improvement, multi-band operations enable STA 504 seamless and lossless transition between links/bands. Which directly addresses the need for accurate channel state information across multiple APs. With regarding Claim 2, Liang and Stacey disclose the method of claim 1, Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein A-Control subfield in a HT Control (High Throughput Control) field is used as a field for the multiple AP link adaptive control. However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose wherein A-Control subfield in a HT Control (High Throughput Control) field is used as a field for the multiple AP link adaptive control (See FIG. 15-16, and ¶[0126], [0132], [0163]. Disclosed the A-Control subfield in the HT Control field as a dedicated field for multiple AP link adaptive control through SS allocation and multi-band operation subfield, multiple Rx chains operation duration subfield and SS and band activation/transition signaling.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stacey to modify Liang. Liang teaches the need for channel state information measurement and reporting for multiple Aps to enable coordinated transmission. Stacey teaching demonstrate that the A-Control subfield in the HT control field is used as a field for multiple AP link adaptive control. This combination Liang measurement reporting using Stacey explicitly defined multi-AP control fields in the standardized HT control field structure. With regarding Claim 12, Liang and Stacey disclose the method of claim 1, Liang disclose wherein the channel measurement value is a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value or a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) value (See ¶[0124], [0126]-[0127], [0182]. Disclosed lists RSSI and SNR as valid channel quality indicators that can be used in this framework.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stacey to modify Liang. Liang teaches channel quality information and first threshold may be indicators such as the RSSI, the SNR, the SINR or the channel correlation. Thi8s combination improve channel quality. With regarding Claim 13, Liang disclose a station (STA) for transmitting channel state information in a wireless LAN system, the STA comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (See FIG. 24-25, and ¶¶[0151]-[0154], [0236]-[0239], [0245]-[0248]): receiving, from an access point (AP), a first frame containing request information for requesting channel state measurement for multiple Aps (See FIG. 3-5, and ¶[0009]-[0010], [0023]-[0026], [0049]-[0050], [0110]-[0112]. Disclosed that before sending channel sounding frames, the Aps send NDPA frames to indicate to the STA to perform channel sounding on channels of the Aps, both primary and secondary Aps may send NDPA frames.); and transmitting, to the AP, a second frame containing channel state information for multiple Aps (See ¶[0009]-[0011], [0015]-[0019], [0031]-[0035], [0048]-[0052]. Disclosed STA transmits a second frame(channel measurement report frame), the frame contains channel state information, and the information is for multiple Aps (m target Aps out of n, where m less than are equal to 1), with per-AP identification). wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively (and wherein the channel state information includes channel measurement values for each of multiple APs measured by the STA. (See FIG. 12, 22 and ¶[0009]-[0011], [0019], [0048], [0144]. Disclosed that the STA measures channel state information for each AP form multiple Aps and then reports this information.) Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively, and However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively(See FIG. 5A, 12, 22 and ¶[0126], [0132], [0163], [0168], [0192]. Disclosed fields for multiple AP link adaptation control , per-link policy fields for multi-AP/MLO, carried in MAC frame elements), and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stacey to modify Liang. Liang teaching AP-originated NDPA/BFRP requesting CSI, multi-AP channel sounding context, channel measurement report with CSI of m target Aps and their identifiers, and CSI request/response semantics tied to link adaptation. And Stacey teaching single multi-link AP device with multiple-AP element and per-AP element in one frame, and multi-link per-AP policy/parameter fields carried in frame. i.e. multi-AP link-control fields. The combination ensure multi-band operation in EHT as a critical area of improvement, multi-band operations enable STA 504 seamless and lossless transition between links/bands. Which directly addresses the need for accurate channel state information across multiple APs. With regarding Claim 17, Liang disclose a station (STA) for transmitting channel state information in a wireless LAN system, the STA comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (See FIG. 24-25, and ¶[0151]-[0154], [0236]-[0239], [0245]-[0248]): receiving, from an access point (AP), a first frame containing request information for requesting channel state measurement for multiple Aps (See FIG. 3-5, and ¶[0009]-[0010], [0023]-[0026], [0049]-[0050], [0110]-[0112]. Disclosed that before sending channel sounding frames, the Aps send NDPA frames to indicate to the STA to perform channel sounding on channels of the Aps, both primary and secondary Aps may send NDPA frames.); and transmitting, to the AP, a second frame containing channel state information for multiple Aps (See ¶[0009]-[0011], [0015]-[0019], [0031]-[0035], [0048]-[0052]. Disclosed STA transmits a second frame(channel measurement report frame), the frame contains channel state information, and the information is for multiple Aps (m target Aps out of n, where m less than are equal to 1), with per-AP identification). wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively (and wherein the channel state information includes channel measurement values for each of multiple APs measured by the STA. (See FIG. 12, 22 and ¶[0009]-[0011], [0019], [0048], [0144]. Disclosed that the STA measures channel state information for each AP form multiple Aps and then reports this information.) Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively, and However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose wherein the request information and the channel state information are included in fields for multiple AP link adaptation control in the first frame and the second frame, respectively(See FIG. 5A, 12, 22 and ¶[0126], [0132], [0163], [0168], [0192]. Disclosed fields for multiple AP link adaptation control , per-link policy fields for multi-AP/MLO, carried in MAC frame elements), and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stacey to modify Liang. Liang teaching AP-originated NDPA/BFRP requesting CSI, multi-AP channel sounding context, channel measurement report with CSI of m target Aps and their identifiers, and CSI request/response semantics tied to link adaptation. And Stacey teaching single multi-link AP device with multiple-AP element and per-AP element in one frame, and multi-link per-AP policy/parameter fields carried in frame. i.e. multi-AP link-control fields. The combination ensure multi-band operation in EHT as a critical area of improvement, multi-band operations enable STA 504 seamless and lossless transition between links/bands. Which directly addresses the need for accurate channel state information across multiple APs.
9. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang and Stacey as applied to claims 1/13 above, and further in view of Ouchi et al.(US 20230309076 A1). With regarding Claim 3, Liang, Stacey and Ouchi disclose the method of claim 2, Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose wherein the A-Control subfield includes a control identifier (Control ID) subfield and a Control Information subfield, and wherein, based on the Control ID subfield indicating a value for the multiple AP link adaptive control, the Control Information subfield is used for transmission of the request information or the channel state information.. However, in analogous art, Ouchi disclose wherein the A-Control subfield includes a control identifier (Control ID) subfield and a Control Information subfield, and wherein, based on the Control ID subfield indicating a value for the multiple AP link adaptive control, the Control Information subfield is used for transmission of the request information or the channel state information. (See FIG. 9, and ¶[0049], [0054]-[0055], [0066]-[0067]. Disclosed that the A-Control subfield includes both a Control ID subfield and a Control Information subfield.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ouchi to modify Liang and Stacey. Stacey teaches that the A-Control subfield is used for multiple AP link adaptive control, providing specific examples of fields within this structure used for spatial stream allocation, multi-band operations, and multiple receive chain control. Ouchi teaches the field structure of the A-Control subfield, including the Control ID subfield and Control Information subfield, along with examples of how different Control ID values determine what information is carried in the Control Information subfield. This combination ensure implement efficient multi-AP coordination in wireless networks. With regarding Claim 4, Liang, Stacey and Ouchi disclose the method of claim 3, Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose wherein a subfield for a identifier in the Control Information subfield is included, wherein a value of the subfield for the identifier indicates which of the request information and the channel state information is included in the Control Information subfield However, in analogous art, Ouchi disclose wherein a subfield for a identifier in the Control Information subfield is included, wherein a value of the subfield for the identifier indicates which of the request information and the channel state information is included in the Control Information subfield (See FIG. 9, and ¶[0049], [0054]-[0055], [0066]-[0067]. Disclosed that the HT Control field structure includes identifier values within subfields of the Control information field that determine whether the field contains request information or channel state information.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ouchi to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches the multi-AP coordination context where such fields would be used. Ouchi teaches subfield for an identifier within the Control Information subfield, the value of this identifier determines whether request information or channel state information is included in the Control Information subfield. This combination ensure a single MLA control subfield whose control information includes and inner type/identifier bit indicating whether that instance carries MLA request information or MLA CSI.10. Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang and Stacey as applied to claims 1/13 above, and further in view of Sugaya et al.(US 20190268826 A1). With regarding Claim 5, Liang, Stacey disclosed the method of claim1, Liang disclose wherein the request information in the first frame includes subfields for basic service set color (BSS Color) values corresponding to each of multiple APs for which measurement is requested by the STA (See FIG. 12, 22 and ¶[0009]-[0011], [0019], [0048], [0144], [0112]-[0114]. Disclosed that the STA measures channel state information for each AP form multiple Aps and then reports this information.). Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein the request information in the first frame includes subfields for basic service set color (BSS Color) values corresponding to each of multiple Aps. However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose wherein the request information in the first frame includes subfields for basic service set color (BSS Color) values corresponding to each of multiple Aps control (See FIG. 15-16, and ¶[0125]-[0126], [0132], [0163]. Disclosed the structure of frames used for multiple access point coordination, including fields for identifying multiple Aps and their operational parameters). Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose wherein the request information in the first frame includes subfields for basic service set color (BSS Color) values However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose wherein the request information in the first frame includes subfields for basic service set color (BSS Color) values. (See FIG. 2, 7-8, and ¶[0058], [0108]-[0109]. Disclosed that BSS color information is included in frames, specifically within the HE-SID field, and that ESS color mask information can be included to specify BSS color information for multiple Aps.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches frame sequence where measurement is requested from the STA, Stacey teaches the filed structure for multiple AP link adaption control, and Sugaya teaches using BSS color values to identify multiple BSSs in frames. This combination incorporate BSS color values into the request frames of the Liang-Stacey system to efficiently identify the multiple Aps involved in coordinated channel measurement, thereby improving communication efficiency in dense wireless environments. With regarding Claim 6, Liang, Stacey and Sugaya disclosed the method of claim 5, Liang may not explicitly disclose wherein the number of subfields for the BSS Color value is predetermined or an end subfield indicates that the subfields for the BSS Color value have ended. However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose an end subfield indicates that the subfields for the BSS Color value have ended.(¶[0124]-[0126], [0132], [0163]. Disclosed predefined subfield structure with specific formats within the A-Channel field). Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose wherein the number of subfields for the BSS Color value is predetermined. However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose wherein the number of subfields for the BSS Color value is predetermined .(See FIG. 8, 10-12, and ¶[0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0058], Disclosed where BSS color values need to be communicated for multiple Aps within an ESS.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey. Stacey and Sugaya establish the need to carry multiple BSS color values in A-Control subfields, a protocol designer would face a fundamental formatting choice: use fixed-length fields with termination. This combination ensure implementing within bounded frame fields. With regarding Claim 7, Liang, Stacey and Sugaya disclosed the method of claim 5, Liang disclose wherein only subfields for each channel measurement value for the BSS Color values indicated by the request information are included as the channel state information (See ¶[0130], [0142], [0170]. Disclosed that channel measurement report frames carry channel state information in dedicated fields, and identifier information can be carried in a prior frame, allowing the measurement report frame.), without a subfield for the BSS Color value in the second frame. Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose BSS Color values indicated. However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose BSS Color values indicated (See ¶[0048],[0110]. Disclosed BSS color as a compact, efficient identifier that reduces overhead compared to traditional identifiers.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches a mechanism where AP identifier are carried in a frame sent before the channel measurement report frame, and the APs obtain their respective fields in the report frame based on an order in the identification information of the APs. Sugaya teaches BSS Color as an efficient, compact identifier(6-bit vs 48-bit BSSID) that can be processed at the physical layer header level. This combination improvement in high-efficiency wireless communications. With regarding Claim 8, Liang, Stacey and Sugaya disclosed the method of claim 7, Liang disclose wherein subfields for the channel measurement value are included in the second frame in the order of subfields for the BSS Color value in the first frame (See ¶[0170], [0144], [0174]. Disclosed STA information fields containing both identifiers and measurements, and identification information is provided separately and used to interpret ordered fields in the measurement report.). Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose the BSS Color value in the first frame. However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose the BSS Color value in the first frame (See ¶[0048],[0110]. Disclosed using BSS Color values as identifiers for APs/BSSs within the same ESS, the BSS color information is information identifying each BSS in an upper-level ESS including the BSS to which its own device belongs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches a mechanism where AP identifier are carried in a frame sent before the channel measurement report frame, and the APs obtain their respective fields in the report frame based on an order in the identification information of the APs. Sugaya teaches BSS Color as an efficient, compact identifier(6-bit vs 48-bit BSSID) that can be processed at the physical layer header level. This combination improvement in high-efficiency wireless communications. With regarding Claim 9, Liang, Stacey disclosed the method of claim 1, Liang disclose wherein, based on that BSS Color values corresponding to each of the multiple APs for which measurement is requested by the STA are not included in the first frame, subfields for BSS Color values of frames measured by the STA in the second frame and subfields for corresponding channel measurement values are included (See ¶[0009],[0144], [0170]. Disclosed the inclusion of identifiers with channel state information in report frames). Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose BSS Color values of frames measured. However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose BSS Color values of frames measured (See ¶[0048],[0110]-[0112]. Disclosed BSS Color as the standard, efficient identifier for BSSs in IEEE 802.11 systems, replacing longer identifiers like BSSID.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey. Liang teaches a mechanism where AP identifier are carried in a frame sent before the channel measurement report frame, and the APs obtain their respective fields in the report frame based on an order in the identification information of the APs. Sugaya teaches BSS Color as an efficient, compact identifier(6-bit vs 48-bit BSSID) that can be processed at the physical layer header level. This combination improvement in high-efficiency wireless communications. With regarding Claim 10, Liang, Stacey and Sugaya disclosed the method of claim 9, Liang disclose wherein the frames measured by the STA are arbitrarily selected by the STA (See ¶[0009],[0131], [0153]. Disclosed that the STA can select a subset of APs (m APs) from a larger set of available APs (n APs) based on channel state information. This selection process is performed by the STA itself, establishing that the STA has the capability to arbitrarily choose which APs to measure and report on.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches that the STA selects target APs for channel measurement reporting from a larger pool of available APs. This selection is made by the STA based on its own criteria, demonstrating arbitrating selection capability. With regarding Claim 11, Liang, Stacey and Sugaya disclosed the method of claim 9, Liang disclose wherein the number of subfields for the BSS Color value and the channel measurement value is predetermined, or an end subfield indicates that subfields for the BSS Color value and the channel measurement value have ended (See ¶[0009],[0131], [0153]-[0155]. Disclosed reporting channel state information for multiple APs but does not address predetermined field structure for BSS Color and measurement pairs). Liang may not explicitly disclose an end subfield indicates that subfields for the BSS Color value and the channel measurement value have ended. However, in analogous art, Stacey disclose an end subfield indicates that subfields for the BSS Color value and the channel measurement value have ended (See FIG. 15-16, and ¶[0125]-[0126], [0132], [0163]. Disclosed the structure of frames used for multiple access point coordination, including fields for identifying multiple Aps and their operational parameters). Liang and Stacey may not explicitly disclose BSS Color value and the channel measurement value. However, in analogous art, Sugaya disclose BSS Color value and the channel measurement value (See ¶[0048],[0110]. Disclosed using BSS Color values as identifiers for APs/BSSs within the same ESS, the BSS color information is information identifying each BSS in an upper-level ESS including the BSS to which its own device belongs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sugaya to modify Liang and Stacey.Liang teaches a mechanism where AP identifier are carried in a frame sent before the channel measurement report frame, and the APs obtain their respective fields in the report frame based on an order in the identification information of the APs. Sugaya teaches BSS Color as an efficient, compact identifier(6-bit vs 48-bit BSSID) that can be processed at the physical layer header level. This combination improvement in high-efficiency wireless communications.
Conclusion10. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of the action.
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468