CTNF 18/568,688 CTNF 102029 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Examiner Note It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US-2024-0291179-A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 08DEC2023 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rieder (US 20210265750 A1; “Rieder”) . Regarding Claim 1 , Rieder teaches a plug-in module ( mechanically coupling ) connector which is also the electrically conductive connection ( coupling ) of at least two adjacent battery modules ( a battery connector assembly for electrically coupling two or more batteries ) (Abstract). Rieder teaches a flexible busbar (part of the electrical contact member ) for the electrically conductive connection of respective poles ( interface members ) of the battery modules (poles of batteries are connected to the terminal), and two clamps (part of the electrical contact member ) for embracing the busbar and one of the respective poles of the battery modules ([0006]) ( each interface member configured to connect to respective terminals of two adjacent batteries; an electrical contact member configured to operably attach to two interface members so as to provide an electrically conductive conduit between the two adjacent batteries ). Rieder teaches a connector housing with an opening ([0012)] ( a slot ) that can accommodate ( retainingly receive and cooperate ) the retaining clamps attached to the busbar ([0006])( the electrical contact member ). Please see the annotated Fig. 1 of Rieder below for a visual depiction. PNG media_image1.png 645 673 media_image1.png Greyscale Fig. 1 of Sheet 1 of 5 of Rieder Regarding Claim 2, please see Fig. 1 and 2 of Rieder, which show how the electrical contact member biasingly engages with said at least two interface members of the two adjacent batteries . Rieder also teaches that the two clamps (part of electrical contact member) can be easily plugged into the poles (interface members) of the battery modules via the busbar (other part of electrical contact member) ([0008]). PNG media_image2.png 741 467 media_image2.png Greyscale Fig. 2 of Rieder and Fig. 3 of Rieder, duplicated from Sheet 2 of 5 of Rieder Regarding Claim 3, Rieder teaches that the electrical contact member comprises an upper contact plate and an opposing lower contact plate (please see Fig. 1 of Rieder above for a depiction of these parts). Regarding Claim 4, the plug-in module connector 10 ( battery connector assembly ) also includes two retaining clamps 24, which are U-shaped ([0038]) and also referred to as retaining clips ([0038]). Please see Fig. 1 of Rieder above for a depiction of these parts ( electrical contact member comprises a fold conjoining said upper contact plate and said lower contact plate so as to form a resiliently biased U-shaped clip ). Regarding Claim 5, Rieder teaches that the insulation housing has at least one latching ( retaining ) element for forming a latching connection with the busbar ([0015]) and the retaining clamps ([0016]) ( the electrical contact member ), indicating that the electrical contact member further comprises at least one retainer member configured to operably engage with housing so as to retain electrical contact member within housing . Regarding Claim 7, Rieder teaches that the busbar 20 and the clamps 24 are reliably held or secured by latching elements 32 and 34 ([0045]). Please refer to Fig. 4 of Rieder below to see the lever arm associated with the connector housing that engages with the busbar ([0015]) and the retaining clamps ([0016]) ( adapted to lockingly engage a lever arm of said lever lock mechanism with said connector housing when in a closed position ). PNG media_image3.png 725 426 media_image3.png Greyscale [AltContent: textbox (20 – Busbar 24 – Clamps 32, 34 - Latching Elements )] Fig. 4 of Rieder, duplicated from Sheet 3 of 5 of Rieder Regarding Claim 8, Rieder teaches that the retaining clamps (electrical contact member) are made of spring steel, which is an electrically conductive material ([0038]). Regarding Claim 9 , Rieder teaches an insulation housing for the connector ([0045]), a housing of insulation ( made of an electrically insulative material ). Regarding claim 10, Rieder teaches that battery modules 12 and 14 may, for example, be battery modules for a high-voltage battery or a high-voltage accumulator of an electrically powered motor vehicle. Within the battery modules 12 and 14 , several battery cells are combined and interconnected with one another ([0035]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieder (US 20210265750 A1; “Rieder”), in view of Nobuyuki (JP-2020061241-A; “Nobuyuki”) . Rieder teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Rieder teaches that the insulation housing for the connector has at least one latching element for forming a latching connection with the busbar. This allows the busbar to be easily and reliably arranged and pre-assembled within the insulation housing ([0015]). Rieder does not teach a cam lock lever mechanism. Nobuyuki teaches that by rotating the handle 16/73 ( lever ), a cam pin 19 provided in the shaft part 13 and a cam part 28 provided in the regulation part 15 are brought into slide-contact, and the first terminal 11 and the second terminal 12 become held between the regulation part 15 and the pressing part 35 (Abstract). Nobuyuki teaches a rotating member 14 (electrical contact member) having a shaft portion 13 that penetrates the first terminal 11 and the second terminal 12 and a handle 16 that is assembled to an end of the shaft portion 13 (second full paragraph of Page 2) that enable electrical contact (second full paragraph of Page 1)( cam lever lock mechanism operably coupled with connector housing and adapted to contactingly and retainingly engage with electrical contact member ). Nobuyuki teaches the connector housing part 59 in Fig. 21 of Nobuyuki, duplicated from Page 28 of Nobuyuki. [AltContent: textbox (Connector Housing)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Lever)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (59- Lower Case 73 – Handle 19 – Cam Pin)] PNG media_image4.png 659 454 media_image4.png Greyscale Fig. 21 of Nobuyuki, reproduced below from Page 28 of Nobuyuki It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery connector assembly of Rieder by employing a cam lever lock mechanism as taught by Nobuyuki. Nobuyuki and Rieder each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)). Nobuyuki teaches that the cam lever lock mechanism enables the electrode terminals of the adjacent power storage elements to be electrically connected to each other without using a special tool (seventh full paragraph of Page 9), providing the motivation to modify the battery connector assembly of Rieder in view of Noboyuki. Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US-20220037743-A1 to Zhao et al. – teaches a terminal holder (Abstract) with a locking lever latch mechanism ([0108]) and an overmold plastic ( insulative material ) on terminal holder of the battery pack ([0078]) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE whose telephone number is (571)270-0315. The examiner can normally be reached 8a.m.-5p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aaron Austin can be reached at 571-272-8935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1782 /AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/568,688 Page 2 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/568,688 Page 5 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/568,688 Page 6 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/568,688 Page 7 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/568,688 Page 8 Art Unit: 1782