DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 14 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 August 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. See 37 CFR 1.83(a). Therefore, the “anode [consisting] of more than two small anodes assembled in a horizontal direction” of claim 5 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
The labels used in Fig. 1B and the figure labels for Figs. 1A-13 appear to be in Chinese. 37 CFR 1.52(b)(1)(ii) requires the application, including drawings, to be in English.
The drawings do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: “8109” at p. 13, [0061]. The reference sign “810” is used elsewhere in the specification for the same part. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words and contains legal phraseology (“wherein,” “by means of,” etc.) and implied phrases (“Disclosed in an embodiment,” etc.). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On p. 15, [0066], the reference sign “90014” should read “9014.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, on line 6, the comma after “an anode” should be removed.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7, 8, and 11, the word “and” is missing after the final comma of each claim.
Further regarding claim 3, on line 3, “at least one ring of sealing member” should read “at least one ring of a sealing member.”
Regarding claim 4, on line 3, the word “wherein” is missing after “respectively.”
Further regarding claim 5, on lines 2-3, “assembled in horizontal direction” should read “assembled in a horizontal direction.”
Further regarding claim 8, on line 4, “are” should read “is.”
Regarding claim 9, on line 3, the word “and” is missing after “positioning cylinder.”
Regarding claim 11, on line 2, “provides” should read “provided.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The combined limitations of “the anode is arranged vertically” and “the anode consists of more than two small anodes assembled in horizontal direction” [sic] render the claim indefinite because the actual claimed structural arrangement of the elements recited is unclear.
The claim will be interpreted as referring to a vertical orientation of the more than two small anodes assembled in a horizontal direction, e.g., the anodes are side-by-side or concentric.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 7,622,024 B1) in view of Yahalom et al. (US 2003/0150715 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mayer teaches an electroplating device (Col. 7, lines 40-67; Fig. 2), comprising: an electroplating tank (213), configured to contain an electroplating solution (215); a clamp (223) configured to hold a substrate (as “wafer” 221); a positioning cylinder (231; claim 12), located in the electroplating tank, one end of the positioning cylinder being open (as shown); and an anode (225), located inside the positioning cylinder. A first surface, the top of the anode as shown, is parallel and opposite to the substrate. The centers of the anode and substrate are aligned as shown by the projection lines. The size of this first surface is similar to that of an effective electroplating region of the substrate, as shown by the horizontal size of the wafer (221) and anode (225).
Mayer is silent regarding wherein the positioning cylinder comes in contact with the anode in a sealing manner, so that in the entire surface region of the anode, only a first surface comes in contact with the electroplating solution.
However, Yahalom teaches a similar electroplating device with an anode (Fig. 4, element 72, [0041]) located inside a positioning cylinder (74, “insulator”), so that only the top surface is in contact with the electroplating solution (within “cavity” 38, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electroplating device taught by Mayer so that the anode is sealed against the sides of the positioning cylinder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yahalom teaches that an insulator surrounding the anode plate provides a more substantially homogenous electric field ([0041]), improving the evenness of the depth of coating on the substrate ([0040]).
Regarding claim 2, the positioning cylinder of Mayer modified by Yahalom is in contact with the sides of the anode, perpendicular to the first surface as defined in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 7,622,024 B1) and Yahalom et al. (US 2003/0150715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Waki et al. (JP H08-100292 A, using attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Mayer and Yahalom further teach wherein the positioning cylinder is “arranged vertically,” that is, its walls are along the vertical axis.
Mayer and Yahalom do not teach wherein the inner wall of the positioning cylinder is provided with at least one ring of sealing member which comes in contact with at least the edge of the first surface in a sealing manner, nor wherein the sealing member has a certain height in the vertical direction.
However, Waki teaches that an O-ring for sealing the plating solution is provided between the moving substrate holder and cathode electrode (Fig. 3; [0006]: substrate holder 11, cathode electrode 2). The O-ring necessarily has a height in the vertical direction as it would not be able to seal the substrate holder with the cathode otherwise.
Although Waki teaches the O-ring as it relates to sealing the substrate and cathode, the teaching is analogous because the need to prevent electrolyte from leaking at the bottom of the tank and into the moving parts below the tank had been previously recognized and solved in the prior art (Waki [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to seal the edge of the first surface of the anode and the inner wall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done so in order to prevent electrolyte leaks, as the result of the modification is predictable and results in an improved system.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 7,622,024 B1) and Yahalom et al. (US 2003/0150715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (JP S58-113399 A, using attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, Mayer and Yahalom do not teach wherein the electroplating device according to claim 1 comprises a driving device and controller which drive the anode toward the substrate.
However, Okamoto teaches that in electroplating processes, the anode may be connected to a driving device (p. 5, “lifting mechanism”). The driving device is connected to a controller (17) which regularly calculates the change in distance between the first surface of the anode and the substrate, and then controls the driving device to move the anode toward the substrate so that the distance reaches a set value (p. 5, wear height compared to set value, driving motors to adjust the distance between the anodes and the steel plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include an anode driving device in the electroplating device taught by Mayer and Yahalom. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification in order to maintain the appropriate inter-electrode distance between the anode and the substrate, reducing power consumption as the anode is worn down (Okamoto p. 5, end of [0001]).
Regarding claim 5, the electrically active part of the anode of Yahalom applied to Mayer and modified by Okamoto consists of more than two small anodes arranged in a horizontal direction (Figs. 2 and 3, element 60).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 7,622,024 B1) and Yahalom et al. (US 2003/0150715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0171500 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mayer and Yahalom are silent regarding the inclusion of a gas inlet in the electroplating tank.
However, Chen teaches an electroplating tank for depositing material onto a substrate (Fig. 1, tank 102, [0017]) which includes a gas inlet for introducing air into the electroplating solution (140, [0025]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electroplating system disclosed by Mayer and Yahalom by adding a gas inlet for introducing air into the electroplating solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to agitate the plating solution, improving the homogeneity of the electrolyte (Chen [0025]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 recites the limitations of “a driving device, a sensor, and a controller” and “the sensor being connected to the controller.” The closest art of record, JP S58-113399 A to Okamoto et al., only teaches moving the anode according to a calculated result without the claimed sensing and controlling according to the sensor output. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to include a sensor in the electroplating apparatus taught by the combination of Mayer, Yahalom, and Okamoto.
Claims 8-11 depend on and further limit the allowable subject matter of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2012/0061246 A1 to Feng et al. teaches adjusting the position of an anode to maintain an appropriate distance to the substrate.
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711