This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 8/13/26.
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-28 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 17-20, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al., US 2022/0232636, (“Shin”).
Independent Claims
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches “An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 16, UE; Fig. 19, UE 100), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 19); and
at least one processor (Fig. 19) coupled to the memory and configured to:
transmit, to a base station, a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a beam switch (paragraph no. 0352, “In this case, the UE may generate a beam/CSI report based on SSB/CSI-RS and transmit the generated beam/CSI report to the base station through PUSCH/PUCCH (S718). The beam/CSI report may include a beam measurement result, information about a preferred beam, and the like”); and
perform the beam switch based on the CSI report and an absence, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, of a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication, wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication” (paragraph no. 0352, “The base station and the UE may switch beams based on the beam/CSI report (S720 a, S720 b)”; see Fig. 16, step S720b which shows that a DCI including a TCI indication (and the particular “TCI indication” as now claimed) is not received by the UE during the time interval between transmitting the CSI report and beam switching in step S720b; since Shin does not disclose receiving the DCI, Shin still meets/teaches the negative limitation “an absence, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, of a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication, wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication” even though applicant has further limited what the TCI indication entails; in other words, since the newly claimed “wherein the TCI indication …” is still part of the overall negative limitation “an absence … of a downlink control information” (emphasis added), the newly amended claim limitation is still met/taught by the Shin disclosure as shown in Fig. 16, steps S718 and S720b; note that “a period of time” can be, in accordance with BRI, any time period between step S718 and step S720b including up to and including step S720b).
Regarding independent claim 17, this independent claim is a corresponding method claim of the apparatus claim 1 and recites similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 1 applies with equal force to this independent claim.
Regarding independent claim 9, Shin teaches “An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (Fig. 16, BS; Fig. 19, BS 200), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 19); and
at least one processor (Fig. 19) coupled to the memory and configured to:
receive, from a UE, a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a beam switch (paragraph no. 0352, “In this case, the UE may generate a beam/CSI report based on SSB/CSI-RS and transmit the generated beam/CSI report to the base station through PUSCH/PUCCH (S718). The beam/CSI report may include a beam measurement result, information about a preferred beam, and the like”); and
perform the beam switch based on the CSI report without transmitting, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication, wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication” (paragraph no. 0352, “The base station and the UE may switch beams based on the beam/CSI report (S720 a, S720 b)”; see Fig. 16, step S720b which shows that a DCI including a TCI indication (and the particular “TCI indication” as now claimed) is not received by the UE during the time interval between transmitting the CSI report and beam switching in step S720b; since Shin does not disclose receiving the DCI, Shin still meets/teaches the negative limitation “without transmitting, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication, wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication” even though applicant has further limited what the TCI indication entails; in other words, since the newly claimed “wherein the TCI indication …” is still part of the overall negative limitation “without transmitting … a downlink control information” (emphasis added), the newly amended claim limitation is still met/taught by the Shin disclosure as shown in Fig. 16, steps S718 and S720b; note that “a period of time” can be, in accordance with BRI, any time period between step S718 and step S720b including up to and including step S720b).
Regarding independent claim 21, this independent claim is a corresponding method claim of the apparatus claim 9 and recites similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 9 applies with equal force to this independent claim.
Dependent Claims
Regarding claims 2, 10, 18, and 22, Shin teaches “wherein the CSI report indicates a reference signal (RS) associated with the beam switch, and wherein the UE performs the beam switch based on the absence of the DCI including the TCI indication for a set of channels or a set of reference signals (RSs) comprising the RS” (paragraph no. 0352; see Fig. 16, step S720b which shows the “the absence of the DCI including the TCI indication for a set of channels or a set of reference signals (RSs) comprising the RS” since Shin is silent regarding the reception by the UE of such a DCI).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19, and 23, Shin teaches “wherein the CSI report indicates a reference signal (RS) associated with the beam switch, and wherein the UE performs the beam switch based on the absence of the DCI including the TCI indication for a set of channels or a set of reference signals (RSs) applicable to a TCI state associated with the RS associated with the CSI report” (paragraph no. 0352; see Fig. 16, step S720b which shows the “the absence of the DCI including the TCI indication for a set of channels or a set of reference signals (RSs) applicable to a TCI state associated with the RS associated with the CSI report” since Shin is silent regarding the reception by the UE of such a DCI).
Regarding claims 12, 20, and 24, Shin teaches “wherein the UE performs the beam switch based on the absence of the DCI that indicates a rejection of the beam switch” (paragraph no. 0352; see Fig. 16, step S720b which shows the “the absence of the DCI that indicates a rejection of the beam switch” since Shin is silent regarding the reception by the UE of such a DCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 26, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Nilsson et al., US 2019/0014568, (“Nilsson”).
Regarding claims 25-28, Shin does not teach but Nilsson teaches “wherein the period of time comprises a threshold number of slots or milliseconds starting from an end of the CSI report” (Nilsson: see paragraph nos. 0030, 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Shin by incorporating the teachings of Nilsson to also account for potential processing time of the CSI report at the base station, as suggested by Nilsson in paragraph no. 0030.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “wherein the UE monitors for the DCI during the period of time and performs the beam switch based on the absence of the DCI that indicates a rejection of the beam switch during the period of time.”
Shin is the closest prior art of record. As shown in Fig. 16 of Shin, Shin teaches that a DCI is not received after transmission of the CSI report at step S718 and before the beam switch at step S720b (the “time period”). Shin does not teach or fairly suggest monitoring for a DCI and in particular, the specific DCI claimed in claim 1, during this time period such that its absence, while monitoring, indicates to the UE that a beam switch should occur.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, re each independent claim and taking claim 1 as an example, that Shin does not teach the newly amended claim limitation “wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication.”
This argument is not persuasive. Shin teaches in Fig. 16, step S720b that a DCI including a TCI indication (and the particular “TCI indication” as now claimed) is not received by the UE during the time interval between transmitting the CSI report at step S718 and beam switching in step S720b. Since Shin does not disclose receiving the DCI, Shin still meets/teaches the negative limitation “an absence, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, of a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication, wherein the TCI indication is associated with a unified TCI framework employing joint downlink/uplink TCI states for beam indication” even though applicant has further limited what the TCI indication entails. In other words, since the newly claimed “wherein the TCI indication …” is still part of the overall negative limitation “an absence … of a downlink control information” (emphasis added), the newly amended claim limitation is still met/taught by the Shin disclosure as shown in Fig. 16, steps S718 and S720b. Note that “a period of time” can be, in accordance with BRI, any time period between step S718 and step S720b including up to and including step S720b.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Park et al., US 2024/0064813, paragraph no. 0312 which discloses a unified joint downlink/uplink TCI state for beam indication.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON TAE C KIM/Primary Examiner, Esq., Art Unit 2414