DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein m is any integer comprised between 1 and 100, or a mixture of two or more of these compounds” is likely intended to be in the opposite order to present the group of compounds first followed by specifying variables. Further, use of the word “comprised” in the phrase “comprised between 1 and 100” is not necessary.
Regarding claim 9, the term “10 212 g/mol” is likely intended to read “10,212 g/mol”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 are indefinite for the language ““amongst” which is interpreted as an equivalent of “comprising”. The use of the word “comprising” is not appropriate here as it is open ended language such that it is unclear what other things are included in the group. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim 9 depends from claim 1 and thus is also rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lainer et al. (Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. 2021, 529-533).
Regarding claims 1-3, Examiner first notes that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a hydrogen carrier” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations or serve to limit the structure of the claimed catalyst. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Lainer teaches the synthesis of the perhydropolysilane represented by the formula:
(Abstract; Pg. 532, Scheme 6).
This compound anticipates the formula “RnSiA14-n” where R = hydrogen, 3; A1 =
and where the compound is not 2,2,4,4-tetrasilylpentasilane or 2,2,-disilyltrisilane.
Regarding claim 9, Lainer anticipates the compound of claim 1 and further teaches the compound with following formula:
(Abstract; Pg. 532, Scheme 6)
where this compound has a molecular weight of 194.60 g/mol (from adding element molar mass), which anticipates the range required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lainer et al. (Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. 2021, 529-533) in view of Christopoulos et al. (Inorg. Chem. 2019, 58, 8820-8828).
Regarding claim 4, Lainer anticipates the compound of claim 1 and the claim further requires species to which Lainer is silent.
Christopoulos teaches the synthesis of the compound with the formula:
(Pg. 8823, left col.; Scheme (2)), which is consistent with the entry in claim 4 (top row, far left).
Advantageously, the compound taught by Christopoulos can be synthesized on gram scales in a pure fashion while not being nonpyrophoric (i.e. do not combust immediately in air) (Pg. 8823, left col.).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the compound with the formula taught by Christopoulos in the product of Lainer in order to provide a compound that can be synthesized on gram scales in a pure fashion while being nonpyrophoric as taught by Christopoulos.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lainer et al. (Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. 2021, 529-533) in view of Holthausen et al. (WO2020173588A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lainer anticipates the compound of claim 1 and the claim further requires species to which Lainer is silent.
Holthausen teaches a series of branched hydridosilane compounds with formulas including 3,3-Bis(disilanyl)pentasilane (Abstract; Claim 3), with the name for the compound consistent with the formula:
Advantageously, the compounds taught by Holthausen use hydridosilane mixtures that are significantly cheaper to produce and provide a high content of liner hydridosilanes that have good coating properties (Pg. 3, lines 16-32).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the compound with the formula taught by Holthausen in the product of Lainer in order to provide a compound that can be synthesized from significantly cheaper materials and still produce a product that is pure with good coating properties, as taught by Holthausen.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lainer et al. (Eur. J. Inorg. Chem. 2021, 529-533) in view of Burcher et al. (EP3659964A1; cited in IDS dated 12/08/2023 as WO2020108913).
Regarding claim 8, Lainer anticipates the compound of claim 1 and the claim further requires species to which Lainer is silent.
Burcher teaches silylated hydrogen carrier compounds that comprise the general formula:
where R is a bond, C1-C6 alkylene or (C1-C4 alkylene)q-Z-(C1-C4 alkylene)r;
Z is O, NR10, S(O)y, CR10=CR10, C≡C, C6-C10 arylene, 5-10 membered heteroarylene, or C3-C6 cycloalkylene; R1, R2 are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ;
R1’, R2’ are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ; R3 is H, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl; R4, R5 are each independently selected from H, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl; R6, R7, R8 are each independently selected from H, OR3, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, SiH3; R9 is selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, OR10, NO2, NR11R12, CN, C(=O)R10, C(=O)OR10, S(=O)CH3, wherein said alkyl group is optionally substituted by one or more halogen; R10 is H, or C1-C3 alkyl; R11, R12 are each independently selected from H, or C1-C10 alkyl; q, r are 0 or 1 ; y is 0, 1 or 2 ; m, n and p are integers representing the number of repeating units, with n being superior or equal to 1, p being 0 or 1 and m being 0 or 1 ; A, B are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, OSiR6R7R8, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, CR13R14R15 wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ;
R13, R14, R15 are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8; and wherein the compound (C) comprises at least one group Si-H, for example at least two groups Si-H ([0027]-[0030]). When R is a bond, B is an ORSiR6R7R8 group where R6-R8 are SiH3 groups, m is at least 4, and A is ORSiR6R7R8 group where R6-R8 are SiH3 groups, the formula in the first column, second row, of claim 8 is met.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Burcher (m superior or equal to 1) overlaps with the claimed range (between 1 and 100). Therefore, the range in Burcher renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, the compound taught by Burcher can be prepared in large amounts with high yields in short time with very low production costs ([0012]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the compound with the formula taught by Burcher in the product of Lainer in order to provide a compound that can be prepared in large amounts with high yields in short time with very low production costs, as taught by Burcher.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
The closest prior art reading on the instant invention identified by the Examiner during search is Burcher et al. (EP3659964A1; cited in IDS dated 12/08/2023 as WO2020108913).
Burcher teaches silylated hydrogen carrier compounds that comprise the general formula:
where R is a bond, C1-C6 alkylene or (C1-C4 alkylene)q-Z-(C1-C4 alkylene)r;
Z is O, NR10, S(O)y, CR10=CR10, C≡C, C6-C10 arylene, 5-10 membered heteroarylene, or C3-C6 cycloalkylene; R1, R2 are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ;
R1’, R2’ are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ; R3 is H, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl; R4, R5 are each independently selected from H, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl; R6, R7, R8 are each independently selected from H, OR3, C1-C6 alkyl, C6-C10 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, SiH3; R9 is selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, OR10, NO2, NR11R12, CN, C(=O)R10, C(=O)OR10, S(=O)CH3, wherein said alkyl group is optionally substituted by one or more halogen; R10 is H, or C1-C3 alkyl; R11, R12 are each independently selected from H, or C1-C10 alkyl; q, r are 0 or 1 ; y is 0, 1 or 2 ; m, n and p are integers representing the number of repeating units, with n being superior or equal to 1, p being 0 or 1 and m being 0 or 1 ; A, B are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, OSiR6R7R8, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8, CR13R14R15 wherein said aryl groups are optionally substituted by one to three R9 groups ;
R13, R14, R15 are each independently selected from H, halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C3-C10 cycloalkyl, C6-C12 aryl, C6-C12 aralkyl, 5 to 10-membered heteroaryl, OR3, NR4R5, SiR6R7R8; and wherein the compound (C) comprises at least one group Si-H, for example at least two groups Si-H ([0027]-[0030]). When R is a bond, B is an ORSiR6R7R8 group where R6-R8 are SiH3 groups, m is at least 4, and A is ORSiR6R7R8 group where R6-R8 are SiH3 groups, the formula in the first column, second row, of claim 8 is met.
Burcher does not teach or suggest the compounds of claims 5 or 6, nor does Burcher provide motivation or rationale for a skilled artisan to arrive at the explicit chemical formulas described. For this reason, the limitation is considered to be novel and nonobvious
Other relevant prior art identified during search include the following:
Sakamoto et al. (US20090156775A1): Sakamoto teaches polysilanes with the formula:
(Abstract; [0019]). While this reference discloses polysilanes, it does not teach or suggest the compounds of claims 5-6, nor does Sakamoto motivate a skilled artisan to arrive at the specific compounds described in claims 5-6. For these reasons, Sakamoto et al. does not remedy the deficiencies of Burcher et al.
Singh et al. (US20040224089A1): Singh teaches the preparation of silicon-containing compounds comprising numerous iterations ([0025]-[0043]). Singh does not explicitly teach the compounds listed in claims 5-6, nor would a skilled artisan be motivated by the disclosure of Singh to arrive at any of these formula as the disclosure of Singh is set out develop silicon-containing films and not hydrogen carriers. For these reasons, Singh et al. does not remedy the deficiencies of Burcher et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arkles et al. (US20120071678A1); Arkles teaches trihydridooligosilanes with the general structure:
([0013]).
/JORDAN W TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1738