DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, 11, 13-15, in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged. Election of species of Formula 1 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10, 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in step b)(i), that "the initiator or the elongated fragment are elongated by incorporation of a 3'-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate to form 3'-O-amino elongated fragment" (emphasis provided). Since a pyrophosphate moiety would be released during such polymerase-based incorporation, it is unclear how a whole "3'-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate" could possibly be incorporated. Claims 2-7, 11, 13-15, each of which depends from claim 1, are also rejected for the same reason.
It is suggested that the recitation "incorporation of a 3'-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate" in step b)(i) be changed to "incorporation of a 3'-O-amino nucleotide" to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutter et al (Nucleosides Nucleotides Nucleic Acids, 2010, 29(11), pages 1-18, cited from IDS) and in further view of Benner et al (US 8034923, October 2011, cited from IDS) and Sudo et al (US 2020/0061225, February 2020, cited from IDS).
Hutter teach methods of oligonucleotide elongation involving contacting initiator with a free 3’-hydroxyl with 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate and polymerase so that initiator is elongated by incorporation of 3’-O-amino nucleotide and further deprotection of 3’-O-amino comprising fragment to form a free 3’-hydroxyl (see Figure 1). Such reaction is carried out in the presence of hydroxylamine, which is an aldehyde scavenger, to prevent formation of oximes (see second paragraph on page 5).
Hutter do not teach using template-independent polymerase such as terminal deoxynucleotidyltransferase (TdT) for use in the method, or using aldehyde scavenger of Formula (1) in specific concentrations.
Benner teach that template-independent polymerase TdT is capable of recognition of 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphates and therefore capable of using such modified triphosphates for oligonucleotide synthesis (see lines 45-50 in column 3).
Sudo teach a number of effective aldehyde scavengers including one identical to instant Formula (1) (see Table 1, Example 4 on page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to carry out synthesis of an oligonucleotide using method of Hutter and TdT polymerase taught by Benner and aldehyde scavenger taught by Sudo, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Hutter teach method of oligonucleotide synthesis using 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphates in the presence of aldehyde scavengers, Benner teach that TdT polymerase recognizes such modified triphosphates and can use them for oligonucleotide elongation and Sudo teach several effective aldehyde scavengers, which can be used in the method taught by Hutter. Further, it would be reasonable to deliver aldehyde scavenger together with 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate, because such scavengers are used to protect amino group of 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphate. Lastly, it would be a matter of ordinary optimization to define specific concentration of aldehyde scavenger in such method of oligonucleotide synthesis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,668 in view of Hutter, Benner and Sudo, above. Claims of ‘668 teach methods of oligonucleotide synthesis using template-independent polymerase and 3’-O-blocked nucleoside triphosphates, same as in instant claims. Teachings of Hutter, Benner and Sudo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use 3’-O-amino blocked nucleoside triphosphates taught by Hutter in the methods from ‘668 in combination with aldehyde scavengers taught by Sudo, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,606,856 in view of Hutter and Sudo, above. Claims of ‘856 teach methods of oligonucleotide synthesis using template-independent polymerase and 3’-O-amino nucleoside triphosphates, same as in instant claims. Teachings of Hutter and Sudo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use 3’-O-amino blocked nucleoside triphosphates taught by Hutter in the methods from ‘856 in combination with aldehyde scavengers taught by Sudo, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 11-28 of copending Application No. 17/629,322 in view of Hutter and Sudo, above. Claims from ‘322 recite methods of oligonucleotide synthesis comprising 3’-O-amino blocked nucleoside triphosphates and TdT, same as in instant claims. Teachings of Hutter and Sudo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use aldehyde scavengers taught by Sudo in the methods of ‘322 based on teachings of Hutter and Sudo, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 11-14, 18-22, 25-26, 30, 32-33, 42-43 of copending Application No. 18/014,993 in view of Sudo, above. Claims from ‘993 recite methods of oligonucleotide synthesis comprising 3’-O-amino blocked nucleoside triphosphates and TdT in the presence of aldehyde scavengers, same as in instant claims. Teachings of Sudo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use aldehyde scavengers taught by Sudo in the methods of ‘993 based on teachings of Sudo, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 12-17 of copending Application No. 18/285,014 in view of Hutter and Sudo, above. Claims from ‘014 recite methods of oligonucleotide synthesis comprising 3’-O-amino blocked nucleoside triphosphates and TdT, same as in instant claims. Teachings of Hutter and Sudo are discussed above. It would have been obvious to use aldehyde scavengers taught by Sudo in the methods of ‘014 based on teachings of Hutter and Sudo, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637