DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 and 26 are pending.
Claims 20-25 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising,”. Please replace the comma after comprising with a colon in order to distinguish the preamble and the body of the claim.
Claims 1, 7, 12, and 18 recite "/", for example and/or. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to use the word “or” instead of a symbol slash “/” (e.g. at least one A or B).
Claims 2-6, 8-11 are depending on claim 1, and claims 13-17, and 19 are depending on claim 11, and therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, "On NR MBS operation in Idle/Inactive mode," 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #114-e, R2-2104984, May 2021, hereinafter Samsung,
in view of ZHOU et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210274417 A1), hereinafter ZHOU,
and further in view of XI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210159966 A1), hereinafter XI.
"On NR MBS operation in Idle/Inactive mode" is Applicant information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2024.
With respect to claim 1, Samsung teaches A method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system (see section 2.1, UE), the method comprising,
joining a multicast session provided in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) (see sections 2.1.5 - 2.3, UE joins a multicast session provided in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) / configured MBS BWP);
receiving a paging in the initial BWP, wherein the paging includes a multicast session identity (ID) for the multicast session (see section 2.1.5 – 2.3, UE receives a paging / session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) in the initial BWP, session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) carries multicast session Id);
establishing and/or resuming a radio resource control (RRC) connection in the initial BWP as an active BWP (see section 2.3, UE receive MBS service in RRC_CONNECTED state on Initial BWP).
Samsung does not explicitly teach monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state.
However, ZHOU teaches monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state ([0131], the user equipment monitors the initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU, monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state, into the teachings of Samsung, in order to reduce the use rate of dedicated signaling, and thus reducing the system overhead and avoiding the waste of air interface resources (ZHOU, [0011]).
The combination of Samsung and ZHOU does not explicitly teach switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP.
However, XI teaches switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP ([0112, 0157], WTRU switches the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP / candidate BWPs based on QoS and then select the target BWP, or a BWP based on predefined rules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XI, switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP, into the teachings of Samsung and ZHOU, in order to configure for low latency and efficient beam indication (XI, [0004]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches wherein the paging includes (see section 2.1.5).
The combination of Samsung and ZHOU does not explicitly teach an autonomous switching indication informing that the wireless device is able to autonomously switch the active BWP.
However, XI teaches an autonomous switching indication informing that the wireless device is able to autonomously switch the active BWP ([0112, 0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XI, an autonomous switching indication informing that the wireless device is able to autonomously switch the active BWP, into the teachings of Samsung and ZHOU, in order to configure for low latency and efficient beam indication (XI, [0004]).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches is configured per multicast session (see section 2.1, multicast session Id).
The combination of Samsung and ZHOU does not explicitly teach the autonomous switching indication.
However, XI teaches the autonomous switching indication ([0112, 0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XI, the autonomous switching indication, into the teachings of Samsung and ZHOU, in order to configure for low latency and efficient beam indication (XI, [0004]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches without a command for BWP switching from a network ((see section 1).
The combination of Samsung and ZHOU does not explicitly teach switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP.
However, XI teaches switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP ([0112, 0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XI, switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP, into the teachings of Samsung and ZHOU, in order to configure for low latency and efficient beam indication (XI, [0004]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches receiving a multicast service based on the multicast session before entering the idle and/or inactive state (see section 2).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches wherein the paging does not include an identity (ID) of the wireless device (see section 2).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches wherein the method further comprises, acquiring information on the specific BWP while in a connected state (see section 2.3).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a network (see section 2.1.4 - 2.1.5).
With respect to claim 12, Samsung teaches A wireless device in a wireless communication system comprising (see section 2.1, UE):
join a multicast session provided in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) (see sections 2.1.5-2.3, UE joins a multicast session provided in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) / configured MBS BWP);
control the transceiver to receive a paging in the initial BWP, wherein the paging includes a multicast session identity (ID) for the multicast session (see section 2.1.5 – 2.3, UE receives a paging / session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) in the initial BWP, session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) carries multicast session Id);
establish and/or resuming a radio resource control (RRC) connection in the initial BWP as an active BWP (see section 2.3, UE receive MBS service in RRC_CONNECTED state on Initial BWP).
Samsung does not explicitly teach a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to:
monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state.
However, ZHOU teaches a transceiver ([0190]); a memory ([0190]); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory ([0190]), and configured to: monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state ([0131], the user equipment monitors the initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU, a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to: monitoring an initial BWP upon entering an idle and/or inactive state, into the teachings of Samsung, in order to reduce the use rate of dedicated signaling, and thus reducing the system overhead and avoiding the waste of air interface resources (ZHOU, [0011]).
The combination of Samsung and ZHOU does not explicitly teach switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP.
However, XI teaches switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP ([0112, 0157], WTRU switches the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP / candidate BWPs based on QoS and then select the target BWP, or a BWP based on predefined rules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XI, switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP, into the teachings of Samsung and ZHOU, in order to configure for low latency and efficient beam indication (XI, [0004]).
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 15, this claim recites the method of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the method of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, in view of ZHOU, in view of XI, and further in view of Chang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200288507 A1), hereinafter Chang.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. XI teaches wherein the step of switching autonomously the active BWP from the initial BWP to the specific BWP comprise: activating the specific BWP ([0114]).
The combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI does not explicitly teach deactivating the initial BWP.
However, Chang teaches deactivating the initial BWP ([0112, 0157]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang, deactivating the initial BWP, into the teachings of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI, in order to improve a random access success rate (Chang, [0006]).
With respect to claim 16, this claim recites the method of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, in view of ZHOU, in view of XI, and further in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220210766 A1), hereinafter Liu.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. Samsung teaches the specific BWP as set forth above.
The combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI does not explicitly teach BWP includes common frequency resources (CFR) for the multicast session.
However, Liu teaches BWP includes common frequency resources (CFR) for the multicast session ([0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, BWP includes common frequency resources (CFR) for the multicast session, into the teachings of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI, in order for downlink control channel monitoring for multicast/broadcast services (MBS) (Liu, [0001]).
With respect to claim 17, this claim recites the method of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, in view of ZHOU, in view of XI, and further in view of DEOGUN et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190075585 A1), hereinafter DEOGUN.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI teaches the method of claim 1. The combination of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless device supports a single active bandwidth part.
However, DEOGUN teaches wherein the wireless device supports a single active bandwidth part ([0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of DEOGUN, wherein the wireless device supports a single active bandwidth part, into the teachings of Samsung, ZHOU, and XI, in order to perform data transmission and measurements on multiple bandwidth parts (DEOGUN, [0002]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, in view of Abraham et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140351598 A1), hereinafter Abraham.
With respect to claim 26, Samsung teaches A base station in a wireless communication system comprising (see sections 2.1-2.3, a wireless communication system):
perform a multicast session joining procedure with a wireless device (see sections 2.1-2.3, Multicast Session Group Notification with a UE);
control the transceiver to provide, to the wireless device, a multicast service based on a multicast session in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) (see sections 2.1-2.3, provide Multicast Session Group Notification in a specific bandwidth part (BWP) / configured MBS BWP);
control the transceiver to transmit, to the wireless device, a paging in an initial BWP, wherein the paging includes a multicast session identity (ID) for the multicast session (see section 2.1.5 – 2.3, UE receives a paging / session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) in the initial BWP, session group notification message (e.g. MCCH) carries multicast session Id); and
control the transceiver to resume to provide the multicast service to the wireless device without transmitting a BWP switching command (see section 1, Introduction, UE in RRC IDLE/INACTIVE should be able to monitor/read both MCCH channel and SI/Paging without BWP switch).
Samsung does not explicitly teach a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to: pause to provide the multicast service.
However, Abraham teaches a transceiver ([0028, 0030 0038, transceiver]); a memory ([0035]); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to ([0052]), and configured to: pause to provide the multicast service ([0052], AP stops multicast service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abraham, a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to: pause to provide the multicast service, into the teachings of Samsung, in order to decrease the overhead in transmitting payloads in data packets (Abraham, [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20230353987 A1; “BABAEI”, ([0080])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469