DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As noted in the text above Table1, the sequences SEQ ID# 5-20 includes non-natural variants. These variants are not part of ORF8 and thus are outside the scope of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11-15, 17-20, 33, 35-36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to immunogenic fragments.
The specification only teaches a limited number of fragments that were computational determined. The genus is potentially very large as it encompasses peptides 6 or more in length as well as conformation epitopes.
The specification does not teach a large enough number of immunogenic fragments to show applicant was in possession of the genus.
The guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, § 1 "Written Description" Requirement make clear that if a claimed genus does not show actual reduction to practice for a representative number of species, then the Requirement may be alternatively met by reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicant was in possession of the genus (Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Fri. January 5, 2001, see especially page 1106 column 3).
The specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed invention. The legal standard for sufficiency of a patent's (or a specification's) written description is whether that description "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the. . .claimed subject matter", Vas-Cath, Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In the instant case, the specification does not convey to the artisan that the Applicant had possession at the time of invention of the claimed invention, the genus of immunogenic fragments.
The Federal Circuit addressed the application of the written description requirement to DNA-related inventions in University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The court stated that “[a] written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name, of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials.” Id. At 1567, 43 USPQ2d at 1405. The court concluded that “naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material.” Id.
The Federal Circuit clarified that a molecule can be adequately described without disclosing its complete structure. See Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc., 296 F.3d 1316, 63 USPQ2d 1609 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The Enzo court adopted the standard that the written description requirement can be met by “show[ing] that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics ....i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. “ Id. At 1324, 63 USPQ2d at 1613 (emphasis omitted, bracketed material in original).
Furthermore The Board in Ex Parte Kubin found that the written description of 35 USC 112 was not met, stating that
Without a correlation between structure and function, the claim does little more than define the claimed invention by function. That is not sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (“definition by function … does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”).
The Board in Ex Parte Kubin further stated on page 16 that
Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895.
The court in In re Alonso (Fed. Cir. 2008) citing In re Enzo, Enzo, 323 F.3d at 969 stated that
[F]or purposes of satisfying the written description requirement, it is not enough merely to disclose a method of making and identifying compounds capable of being used to practice the claimed invention.
Thus, the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the genus of immunogenic fragments that is required to practice the claimed invention. Applicants have not described the genus of immunogenic fragments sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus. Since the disclosure fails to provide sufficient relevant identifying characteristics, and because the genus is highly variant, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus as broadly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 11-12, 18-20, 23, 33, 35-36, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Rauch et al. (20240066114).
For claims 1, 9, and 11-12, Rauch et al. teach a lipid particle vaccine comprising ORF8 (Table 11) and in combination with N or M (Table 12), and can express the antigen (para 75).
For claim 2, the lipid particle comprises cholesterol (Table A).
For claims 18-20, the nucleic acid can also express in combination N or M (Table 12).
For claim 23, Rauch et al. teach SEQ ID# 16997 that is the same as SEQ ID No: 1 (ORF8).
For claims 33, 35, 36, and 40, the vaccine can be administered to induce an immune response, administering another vaccine SARS CoV-1 (para 324) and they can be formulated together thus administered in less than 90 days ((para 324).
Thus, Rauch et al. anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by De Groot et al. (20230242591).
For claims 13-14, De Groot et al. teach an ORF8 peptide (SEQ #785 is same as this application SEQ ID No: 1, and claim 1) and the adjuvant can be Alum (para 255). For claim 15, a carrier protein can be added (para 205), and the “absorbed” occurs when peptide is mixed with Alum (aluminum salt). For claim 17, the composition can combine multiple antigenic peptides (para 117).
Thus, De Groot et al. anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauch et al. (20240066114) and Seo et al. (11020475).
Rauch et al. is discussed above but also teaches SARS CoV-2 vaccines in adenovirus.
Rauch et al. does not teach ORF8 in adenovirus or ChAdOx1 adenovirus.
Seo et al. teach that ChAdOx1 is a known adenovirus vector and that it has been used to administer a SARS CoV-2 vaccine (col 22, line 20).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing would have known that viral vectors are a way to deliver vaccine antigen and would have been motivated to make the ORF8 antigen of Rauch et al. in a ChAdOx1 adenovirus as an alternate mode of delivering the vaccine antigen. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing would have had the expectation of success knowing that adenovirus has been used before and that making viral vectors that express antigens is routine in the art.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date to express the antigen of Rauch et al. in a adenoviral vector ChAdOx1.
Conclusion
MYRON G. HILL
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/M.G.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/Shanon A. Foley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671