Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
1. Entry of applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 12-9-23 into the application file is acknowledged.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer readable medium claimed encompasses non-statutory subject matter being transitory signals in that applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not disclose only non-transitory signals are used.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 12, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive arrangement and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the drive arrangement is not detailed structurally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive arrangement and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the drive arrangement is not detailed structurally and therefore it is unclear to what constitutes the claimed drive arrangement. Further, it is unclear to whether the sensed pH level detailed in lines 7-10 of claim 1 is the same or different than the oral pH level detailed in line 5 of claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive arrangement and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the drive arrangement is not detailed structurally and therefore it is unclear to what constitutes the claimed drive arrangement. Further, it is unclear to whether the sensed pH level detailed in line 6 of claim 12 is the same or different than the sensed oral pH level detailed in line 5 of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,064,711 to Richter et al.
Referring to claims 1, 12 and 16, Richter et al. discloses a power toothbrush and associated method and associated computer readable storage medium on a processor – at 143, comprising, a toothbrush head – at 113,115, a handle – at 117, to which the toothbrush head – at 113,115, is coupled – see figure 2, comprising a drive arrangement – at 131, for driving the toothbrush head with a vibratory motion using drive parameters – see figures 2-4 and column 7 lines 49-67, a pH sensor – at 123, for sensing an oral pH level – see column 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4, and a controller – at 133-145, wherein the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to, determine or receive drive parameters – see column 5 line 35 to column 6 line 62 and column 7 lines 49-67, which depend on the sensed level – see column 7 lines 49-67, and apply the drive parameters which depend on the sensed levels to the drive arrangement – at 131 – see column 7 lines 49-67. Richter et al. does not disclose the controller determines or receives drive parameters which depend on the sensed pH level and apply the drive parameters which on the sensed pH level to the drive arrangement. However, Richter et al. does disclose the drive motor – at 131 can be controlled based on sensor data as seen in column 7 lines 49-67 and the use of the terms/phrases “for example”, “etc.” and “such as” in this passage of Richter et al. does not prohibit the device/method of Richter et al. only to the sensors disclosed in this passage and therefore Richter et al. contemplates using other types of sensors and as seen in column 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 of Richter et al., the use of a pH sensor with the toothbrush is disclosed and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Richter et al. and use any suitable sensor including the pH sensor disclosed by Richter et al., to control the motor of the toothbrush as detailed in column 7 lines 49-67 of Richter et al., so as to yield the predictable result of making the device more user friendly by allowing for the device/method to immediately and automatically control the device to correct any issues determined by the sensor(s), so as to allow the user of the device/method to not have to take any other corrective action after the initial use of the toothbrush. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed drive arrangement, the motor – at 131 of Richter et al. is at least functionally equivalent to applicant’s disclosed drive arrangement in that applicant has not specifically disclosed the drive arrangement structurally and the motor – at 131 of Richter et al. provides the vibratory motion claimed.
Referring to claim 2, Richter et al. further discloses the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to determine the drive parameters – see column 5 line 35 to column 6 line 62 and column 7 lines 49-67.
Referring to claims 3-4 and 13, Richter et al. further discloses the controller can provide an indication if the sensed pH level is below a threshold pH level – see column 2 lines 3-14 where the sensed pH level is below a threshold value of 5.5 and then the controller controls the device to provide an indication to the user, but does not disclose the controller is adapted to, if the sensed pH level is below the pH threshold, to set the drive parameters to a more gentle brushing mode. However, Richter et al. does disclose the drive motor – at 131 can be controlled based on sensor data as seen in column 7 lines 49-67 and the use of the terms/phrases “for example”, “etc.” and “such as” in this passage of Richter et al. does not prohibit the device/method of Richter et al. only to the sensors disclosed in this passage and therefore Richter et al. contemplates using other types of sensors and as seen in column 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 of Richter et al., the use of a pH sensor with the toothbrush is disclosed and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Richter et al. and use any suitable sensor including the pH sensor disclosed by Richter et al., to control the motor based on the threshold value of pH as detailed in column 2 lines 3-14, so as to control the toothbrush as detailed in column 7 lines 49-67 of Richter et al., so as to yield the predictable result of making the device/method more user friendly by allowing for the device/method to immediately and automatically control the device to correct any issues determined by the sensor(s), so as to allow the user of the device/method to not have to take any other corrective action after the initial use of the toothbrush. Specific to claims 4 and 13, Richter et al. further discloses the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to set the drive parameters which would control frequency or amplitude of vibrations – see column 7 line 49-67, but does not disclose setting drive parameters to a more gentle brushing mode by lowering a frequency or amplitude of the vibrations. However, Richter et al. does disclose the drive motor – at 131 can be controlled based on sensor data as seen in column 7 lines 49-67 and the use of the terms/phrases “for example”, “etc.” and “such as” in this passage of Richter et al. does not prohibit the device/method of Richter et al. only to the sensors disclosed in this passage and therefore Richter et al. contemplates using other types of sensors and as seen in column 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 of Richter et al., the use of a pH sensor with the toothbrush is disclosed and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Richter et al. and use any suitable sensor including the pH sensor disclosed by Richter et al., to control the motor based on the threshold value of pH as detailed in column 2 lines 3-14, so as to control the toothbrush as detailed in column 7 lines 49-67 of Richter et al., so as to yield the predictable result of making the device/method more user friendly by allowing for the device/method to immediately and automatically control the device to correct any issues determined by the sensor(s), so as to allow the user of the device/method to not have to take any other corrective action after the initial use of the toothbrush.
Referring to claim 5, Richter et al. further discloses the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to set the drive parameters to a more gentle brushing mode by ending the brushing – see column 7 lines 49-67and providing a recommendation to the user – see via providing indications to the user as seen in 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4, but does not disclose the more gentle brushing mode is ending the brushing and does not disclose the recommendation is to switch to manual brushing or to change a toothbrush head. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Richter et al. and add the controlling of the more gentle brushing mode being ending the brushing and to provide a recommendation to either switch to manual brushing or to change the toothbrush head as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of automatically controlling operation of the device based on the user’s needs while also encouraging proper maintenance of the device as desired.
Referring to claims 6-8 and 14, Richter et al. further discloses a force or pressure sensor – at 145, for detecting a brushing force or pressure applied by the toothbrush head – see column 6 line 13 to column 7 line 67. Specific to claims 7 and 14, Richter et al. further discloses the drive parameters include a force or pressure threshold, wherein the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to compare the sensed brushing force or pressure with the force or pressure threshold – see for example column 6 line 13 to column 7 line 67 and column 10 line 49 to column 11 line 9, and if the force or pressure threshold is reached, providing a warning, or reduce the applied force or pressure – see for example column 10 line 49 to column 11 line 9. Specific to claims 8 and 14, Richter et al. further discloses the controller – at 133-145, is adapted to set the force or pressure threshold – see for example column 6 line 13 to column 7 line 67 and column 10 line 49 to column 11 line 9, but does not disclose the set force or pressure threshold is in dependence on the sensed pH level. However, Richter et al. does disclose the device/drive motor – at 131 can be controlled based on sensor data as seen in column 7 lines 49-67 and the use of the terms/phrases “for example”, “etc.” and “such as” in this passage of Richter et al. does not prohibit the device/method of Richter et al. only to the sensors disclosed in this passage and therefore Richter et al. contemplates using other types of sensors and as seen in column 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 of Richter et al., the use of a pH sensor with the toothbrush is disclosed and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device/method of Richter et al. and use any suitable sensor including the pH sensor disclosed by Richter et al., to control the motor and forces produced by the motor based on the threshold value of pH as detailed in column 2 lines 3-14, so as to control the toothbrush as detailed in column 7 lines 49-67 of Richter et al., so as to yield the predictable result of making the device/method more user friendly by allowing for the device to immediately and automatically control the device to correct any issues determined by the sensor(s), so as to allow the user of the device/method to not have to take any other corrective action after the initial use of the toothbrush.
Referring to claim 9, Richter et al. further the controller – at 133-145, further comprises an input – at 145, for receiving information about food and drink intake – see via pH sensor as detailed in column 2 lines 3-14, and is adapted to provide a recommendation of when to perform brushing in dependence on the food and drink intake – see 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 where the pH sensed can be below a threshold as related to drink consumption and can cause the user to be indicated so as to take action such as brushing.
Referring to claim 10, Richter et al. further discloses an input – at 145, for receiving information about an intake – see drink intake in column 2 lines 3-14, and is adapted to provide brushing recommendations in dependence on the medication or supplement intake – see for example 1 line 57 to column 2 line 14 and column 13 line 4 to column 14 line 4 where the pH sensed can be below a threshold as related to drink consumption and can cause the user to be indicated so as to take action such as brushing. Richter et al. does not disclose the intake is medication or supplements. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Richter et al. and use the device with any types of intakes including the medication and supplements claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the user to monitor their own health in real time and to take action to improve their health in real time as desired.
Referring to claim 11, Richter et al. a wireless communications system – see transmitter or transceiver in column 5 lines 64-67, capable of providing the sensed pH level to an external device – see column 5 lines 64-67, and capable of receiving the drive parameters from the external device – see the transceiver detailed in column 5 lines 64-67.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to powered toothbrushes in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 6,453,497 to Chiang et al. – shows powered toothbrush
U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0310900 to Curry et al. – shows powered toothbrush
U.S. Pat. No. 10,342,648 to Bloch et al. – shows powered toothbrush
U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0196871 to Ortiz et al. – shows powered toothbrush
U.S. Pat. No.10,813,373 to Shreve – shows powered toothbrush
U.S. Pat. No. 11,523,679 to Mediratta et al. – shows powered toothbrush
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643