DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments on pages 6-7 render the claims no longer interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 112 moot. The rejection under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is an apparatus claim, but lines 8-10 of the claim recite function without any structure.
detection filtering configured to filter light passing through the optical opening, the detection filtering being configured to block light of the first band of wavelengths and to pass light of at least near true color
As there is no structure, this recitation does not limit the claim. It is suggested to amend the claim to recite “a filter configured for detection filtering configured to filter light passing through the optical opening, the detection filtering being configured to block light of the first band of wavelengths and to pass light of at least near true color”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US20090181339A1), hereinafter “Liang”.
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a tissue imaging apparatus (abstract, Figs. 4-5) comprising:
an optical opening (as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0063]);
a plurality of light sources including three groups of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12a top, ref 12a bottom, ref 12b, paragraphs [0042], [0063]), wherein first and second groups of light sources (refs 12a top, 12a bottom) are configured to emit white light (paragraphs [0038], [0040]), and a third group of light sources (ref 12b) is configured to emit light of a first band of wavelengths narrower than a band of wavelengths of visible light (paragraph [0038]-[0039]);
a detection polarizer configured to polarize light passing through the optical opening (Fig. 4, ref 44, paragraph [0039]);
detection filtering configured to filter light passing through the optical opening (ref 56, paragraph [0039]), the detection filtering being configured to block light of the first band of wavelengths and to pass light of at least near true color (paragraph [0039]); and
a source polarizer configured to polarize light emitted from the first group of light sources (ref 42a, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Liang discloses wherein an orientation of polarization of the detection polarizer and an orientation of polarization of the source polarizer are mutually orthogonal (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Liang discloses wherein the plurality of light sources includes a fourth group of light sources configured to emit light of a second band of wavelengths narrower than the band of wavelengths of visible light (ref 12d, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Liang discloses wherein the detection filtering is configured to block light of the second band of wavelengths (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Liang discloses wherein the light sources of the same group are evenly distributed about the optical opening (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Liang discloses comprising circuitry configured to activate one group of light sources at a time (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Liang discloses wherein the first band of wavelengths is in a band of 380 nm through 420 nm (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Liang discloses wherein the detection filtering includes at least one of a long-pass, short-pass, band-pass, or notch optical filter (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Liang discloses wherein the source polarizer is configured to polarize light emitted from at least one of the third or fourth groups of light sources (as shown in Fig. 5, ref 42, covering ref 12d).
Regarding claim 10, Liang discloses wherein the detection filtering is configured to selectively filter light passing through the optical opening (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Liang discloses comprising an image capture device configured to capture an image through the optical opening (ref 68, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang discloses a skin analysis system comprising the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tissue is skin (If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). See MPEP 2111.02. Furthermore, [i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, and further in view of Bandic et al. (US 2008/0194928 A1), hereinafter “Bandic”.
Regarding claim 13, Liang teaches a tissue imaging method (abstract, Figs. 4-5) comprising:
illuminating a tissue with polarized white light (paragraphs [0038], [0040]) emitted from a first group of light sources (ref 12a top, paragraphs [0042], [0063]) arranged about an optical opening (as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0063]) of a tissue imaging apparatus (Figs. 4, 5, paragraph [0038]);
illuminating the tissue with white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12a bottom, paragraphs [0038], [0040]), [0042], [0063]);
illuminating the tissue with light of a first band of wavelengths narrower than a band of wavelengths of visible light (paragraph [0038]-[0039]), said light emitted from a third group of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12b);
polarizing light passing through the optical opening (Fig. 4, ref 44, paragraph [0039]); and
filtering light passing through the optical opening so as to block light of the first band of wavelengths and to pass light of at least near true color (ref 56, paragraph [0039]).
Liang is silent regarding illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening.
However, Bandic teaches a tissue imaging method (abstract) including illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources (paragraph [0041] teaches both polarized and unpolarized light).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening in order to standard white light images of skin, as it would appear to the naked eye, as taught by Applicant Admitted Prior Art, Applicant’s paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Liang non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions for causing a system (abstract, Figs. 4-5) to:
illuminate a tissue with polarized white light (paragraphs [0038], [0040]) emitted from a first group of light sources (ref 12a top, paragraphs [0042], [0063]) arranged about an optical opening (as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0063]) of a tissue imaging apparatus (Figs. 4, 5, paragraph [0038]);
illuminate the tissue with white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12a bottom, paragraphs [0038], [0040]), [0042], [0063]);
illuminate the tissue with light of a first band of wavelengths narrower than a band of wavelengths of visible light (paragraph [0038]-[0039]), said light emitted from a third group of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12b);
polarize light passing through the optical opening (Fig. 4, ref 44, paragraph [0039]); and
filter light passing through the optical opening so as to block light of the first band of wavelengths and to pass light of at least near true color (ref 56, paragraph [0039]).
Liang is silent regarding illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening.
However, Bandic teaches a tissue imaging method (abstract) including illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources (paragraph [0041] teaches both polarized and unpolarized light).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of illuminating the tissue with unpolarized white light emitted from a second group of light sources arranged about the optical opening in order to standard white light images of skin, as it would appear to the naked eye, as taught by Applicant Admitted Prior Art, Applicant’s paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Liang discloses wherein an orientation of polarization of the polarized white light and an orientation of polarization of the polarized light passing through the optical opening are mutually orthogonal (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Liang discloses comprising illuminating the tissue with light of a second band of wavelengths narrower than the band of wavelengths of visible light, said light emitted from a fourth group of light sources arranged about the optical opening (ref 12d, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, Liang discloses wherein the filtering blocks light of the second band of wavelengths (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Liang discloses wherein one group of light sources is activated at a time (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Liang discloses wherein the first band of wavelengths is in a band of 380 nm through 420 nm (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Liang discloses wherein the filtering includes at least one of a long-pass, short-pass, band-pass, or notch optical filtering (paragraph [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilzback (US 2020/0240918) teaches sample imaging including a filter to observe the object in true color (paragraph [0148]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877