DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “α”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claims 7 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “”close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 8 recites “there are two bosses”. It is unclear if this is the same two bosses recited in claim 1 or two new bosses. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 19 recites “there are two bosses”. It is unclear if the claim is intending to require two additional bosses or further define the boss of claim 10 as two bosses. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 204805772U. For portions of the rejection, please see the annotated fig. 3 below:
In regards to claims 1 and 10, CN 204805772U discloses an anti-disassembly
connector, comprising:
a connecting portion (shown in annotated fig.), wherein a threaded connecting section
(shown in annotated fig.) is disposed on the connecting portion; and
at least two bosses (5), wherein the at least two bosses protrude from a peripheral wall of
the connecting portion, the at least two bosses extend along a circumferential edge of
the connecting portion or a peripheral wall of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 3), each of
the at least two bosses has a force-bearing surface (51) and a force-releasing surface (52) that are
disposed opposite to each other, the at least two bosses are disposed at intervals along the circumferential edge of the connecting portion or the peripheral wall of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 5), and a gap between two adjacent bosses forms a clamping interval; and
a junction of the force-releasing surface and the connecting portion is a circular arc transition (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 2 and 12, CN 204805772U further discloses each of the at least
two bosses further comprises an outer cambered surface (shown in annotated fig.), the outer cambered surface is disposed between the force-bearing surface and the force-releasing surface, and a junction between the outer cambered surface and the force-releasing surface is a circular arc transition (shown in annotated fig. and fig. 5).
In regards to claims 3 and 13, CN 204805772U further discloses the connecting portion is a connecting pipe, and a thickness of each of the at least two bosses is greater than a thickness of a pipe wall of the connecting pipe (fig. 5 shows that there is an area on the connection portion with a thickness less than the thickness of the bosses).
In regards to claims 4 and 14, CN 204805772U further discloses a force-bearing sideline (shown in annotated fig.) is formed on a side of the force-bearing surface that is away from the connecting portion, and the force-bearing sideline (211) is parallel to an axial line of the connecting portion (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claims 5 and 16, CN 204805772U further discloses the force-releasing surface is a curved surface, and the force-releasing surface recesses toward an interior of a boss (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 6 and 17, CN 204805772U further discloses an included angle between the force-releasing surface and a radial cross-section of the connecting portion is a, and 20° ≤ a ≤ 50° (fig. 5 shows that an angle exists somewhere along the surface within the current range).
In regards to claims 7 and 18, CN 204805772U further discloses each of the at least two bosses has a reinforcing portion, a reinforcing end face (see annotated fig.) is formed at an end of the reinforcing portion away from the threaded connecting section, and the reinforcing end face is parallel to an end face of the connecting portion (shown in annotated fig.); and a machining plane (see annotated fig.) is disposed at the clamping interval close to the threaded connecting section and facing the reinforcing end face, and the machining plane is parallel to the reinforcing end face (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claims 8 and 19, CN 204805772U further discloses there are two bosses, and the two bosses are symmetrically disposed at the end portion of the connecting portion or the peripheral wall of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 9 and 20, CN 204805772U further discloses the anti-disassembly connector is of an integrally formed structure (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 11 and 15, CN 204805772U further discloses the force-releasing surface is a curved surface (shown in fig. 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 10, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/568,857 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 10, and 14 are generic to all that is recited in claims 6 and 15 of the reference application. In other words, claims 6 and 15 of the reference application fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1, 4, 10, and 14. Thus, the invention of claims 6 and 15 of the reference application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1, 4, 10, and 14. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1, 4, 10, and 14 are anticipated by claims 6 and 15 of the reference application, claims 1, 4, 10, and 14 are not patentably distinct from claims 6 and 15, regardless of any additional subject matter presented in claims 6 and 15. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar anti-disassembly connector.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
01/16/2025