DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “L”, “α”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because line 10 is missing “the” before “two bosses”. This makes it unclear if it is the previously recited two bosses or new bosses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claims 8 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “”close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 9 recites “two bosses are arranged” in line 2. It is unclear if these are the same two bosses recited in claim 1 or two new bosses. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 18 recites “two bosses are arranged” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if the claim is intending to require two additional bosses or further define the boss of claim 10 as two bosses. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 204805772U. For portions of the rejection, please see the annotated fig. 3 below:
In regards to claims 1 and 10, CN 204805772U discloses an anti-disassembly connector, comprising:
a connecting portion (shown in annotated fig.), wherein a threaded connecting section (shown in annotated fig.) is disposed on the connecting portion; and
at least two bosses (5), wherein the at least two bosses protrude from a peripheral wall of the connecting portion, each of the at least two bosses extends along a circumferential edge of the connecting portion or a peripheral wall of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 3), each of the at least two bosses has a force-bearing surface (51) and a force-releasing surface (52) that are disposed opposite to each other, two bosses are disposed at intervals along the circumferential edge of the connecting portion or the peripheral wall of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 5), and a gap between two adjacent bosses forms a clamping interval; and
a force-bearing sideline (shown in annotated fig.) is formed on a side of the force-bearing surface away from an inner wall of the connecting portion, a length of the force-bearing sideline is L.
While CN 204805772U does not expressly disclose 5 mm < L < 20 mm; the length of the force-bearing sideline may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify CN 204805772U have 5 mm < L < 20 mm, as the length of the force-bearing sideline may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
It is further noted that In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In regards to claims 2 and 11, CN 204805772U further discloses the force-bearing sideline is parallel to an axis (central longitudinal axis) of the connecting portion (shown in annotated fig).
In regards to claims 3 and 12, CN 204805772U further discloses the force-bearing surface is a flat surface (shown in fig. 5) and the force-bearing surface is parallel to an axis (central longitudinal axis) of the connecting portion; and/or the force-releasing surface is a curved surface (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 4 and 13, CN 204805772U further discloses the force-releasing surface is a curved surface, and the force-releasing surface recesses toward an interior of a boss (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 5 and 14, CN 204805772U further discloses an included angle between the force-releasing surface and a radial section of the connecting portion is a, and 20° ≤ a ≤ 50° (fig. 5 shows that an angle exists somewhere along the surface within the current range).
In regards to claims 6 and 15, CN 204805772U further discloses a junction of the force-releasing surface and the connecting portion is a circular arc transition (shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claims 7 and 16, CN 204805772U further discloses each of the at least two bosses further comprises an outer cambered surface (shown in annotated fig.), the outer cambered surface is disposed between the force-bearing surface and the force-releasing surface, and a junction between the outer cambered surface and the force-releasing surface is a circular arc transition (shown in annotated fig. and fig. 5).
In regards to claims 8 and 17, CN 204805772U further discloses each of the at least two bosses has a reinforcing portion, a reinforcing end face (see annotated fig.) is formed at an end of the reinforcing portion away from the threaded connecting section, and the reinforcing end face is parallel to an end face of the connecting portion (shown in annotated fig.); and a machining plane (see annotated fig.) is disposed at the clamping interval close to the threaded connecting section and facing the reinforcing end face, and the machining plane is parallel to the reinforcing end face (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claims 9 and 18, CN 204805772U further discloses “two bosses” (5) are arranged, and the two bosses are symmetrically disposed at the end of the connecting portion or the peripheral wall circumferential edge of the connecting portion (shown in fig. 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 6 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 14 of copending Application No. 18/568,857 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only limitation absent from claims 4 and 14 of the reference application is “5 mm < L < 20 mm”. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the reference application to have 5 mm < L < 20 mm, as the length of the force-bearing sideline may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
It is further noted that In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar anti-disassembly connector.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
01/15/2025