Status of claims
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 14, 19-20, and 27 are currently amended. Claims 3-5, 7, 11-13, 15, 18, 21, 23-25, 29, and 32 are cancelled. Claims 16-17, 22, 26, 28, and 30-31 are previously presented. Claims 1-10 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/055385, filed on 06/09/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PT117283, filed on 06/11/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Objections and Rejections Withdrawn
All objections imposed in the previous correspondence that are not maintained in this one are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments.
All 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments.
All 35 USC § 102 rejections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment of incorporating the key limitations of claim 7 into claim 1.
Claim Objections
Objections maintained due to Applicant’s failure to amend:
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites " wherein the active agent selected from a list consisting of”. This is not grammatically correct. A suggested amendment is to alter the claim language to "wherein the active agent is selected from a list consisting of”.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites “self-emulsifying composition according claim 1”. “according claim 1” is grammatically incorrect. The suggested amendment is to change this phrase to “according to claim 1”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections maintained in view of amendments (i.e., importing key limitations of claim 7 into claim 1): prior art maintained and unchanged, prior art mappings modified, obviousness statements modified.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezerra-Souza et al. (Bezerra-Souza A, Fernandez-Garcia R, Rodrigues GF, et al. Repurposing Butenafine as An Oral Nanomedicine for Visceral Leishmaniasis. Pharmaceutics. 2019;11(7):353. Published 2019 Jul 20. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics11070353) in view of Hsu et al. (US20100273730A1).
Bezerra-Souza et al. discloses the butenafine (active agent, self-nanoemulsifying drug delivery systems (BSNEDDS) against Leishmania infantum, said system comprising a non-ionic (neutral) hydrophilic surfactant Labrasol, Capryol 90 (propylene glycol monocaprylate) and Peceol (glyceryl monooleate). Bezerra-Souza et al. discloses a number of formulations, with Butenafine (30 mg/g) being solubilized within the excipients (page 3, section 2.4). Bezerra-Souza et al. teaches that these formulations are for oral (or enteral) administration (page 2, paragraph 4). In one embodiment (page 7, table 2, experiment 7), Bezerra-Souza et al. teaches such formulation comprising 9% (w/w) of labrasol, 61 % of Capryol 90 and 29% of Peceol, and thus having 90% w/w of a combination of two hydrophobic excipients in a mass ratio of 2.1:1, which falls within the claimed range, in addition to having a particle size of 244 nm. In another embodiment (page 7, table 2, experiment 12), Bezerra-Souza et al. teaches the composition comprising 12% (w/w) of labrasol, 52% of Peceol and 35% of Capryol 90, and thus having 87% w/w of a combination of two hydrophobic excipients, in addition to having a particle size of 167 nm. In another embodiment (page 7, section 3.2, combination A), Bezerra-Souza et al. teaches the composition comprising 15% (w/w) of labrasol, 58% of Capryol 90 and 27% of Peceol, thus having 85% w/w of a combination of two hydrophobic excipients in a mass ratio of 2.15:1 falling within the claimed range and have a particles size of 159.7 nm (page 8, paragraph 1, section 3.2).
However, Bezerra-Souza et al. also fails to teach a partial limitation of claim 1, wherein the neutral hydrophilic surfactant is macrogolglycerol hydroxystearate (known as PEG 40 hydrogenated castor oil). Bezerra-Souza et al. also fails to teach the limitations of claim 2 and 6.
Hsu et al. discloses an oral self-emulsifying pharmaceutical composition of hydrophilic drugs and preparation thereof, further comprising one or more solvents for solving the hydrophilic drug to form a drug-solvent solution and a surfactant system, further comprises one or more hydrophilic carrier which are compatible with said drug-solvent solution and the surfactant system (abstract). Hsu et al. teaches that one or more surfactants––such as propylene glycol monocaprylate and glyceryl monooleate (paragraph 33 and claim 7), PEG 40 hydrogenated castor oil (known as macrogolglycerol hydroxystearate, which is a neutral hydrophilic surfactant)---––can be included in the surfactant system of the composition. Hsu et al. teaches that the surfactant system is present in the composition an amount ranging from 20.0% to 75% (w/w) based on the weight of the pharmaceutical composition (paragraph 33). Hsu et al. teaches that the composition may contain water as the solvent, with its concentration ranging from 2.5% to 60% (w/w) based on the weight of the pharmaceutical composition (paragraph 32). Hsu et al. teaches that the composition may contain one or more hydrophilic carriers such as polyethylene glycol (PEG) (paragraph 32). Hsu et al. teaches that steroid drugs including progesterone can be included in the composition (paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-emulsifying composition of Bezerra-Souza et al. with another active ingredient such as progesterone (a steroid) taught by Hsu et al., with the motivation being to provide an alternative therapeutic formulation for oral delivery of the drug using the same self-emulsifying carrier platform. Additionally, it would have been obvious to substitute the neutral hydrophilic surfactant (labrasol) taught by Bezerra-Souza et al. with an alternative neutral hydrophilic surfactant, namely PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, as taught by Hsu et al. for use in in self-emulsifying compositions–– as these conventional surfactants are widely known to be interchangeable based on formulation needs such as optimizing drug-solvent compatibility and enhancing self-emulsifying performance––rendering such variations a matter of routine and predictable optimization using well-established result-effective variables. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making these substitutions because both references teach self-emulsifying oral-delivery systems employing similar classes of excipients and surfactants for solubilizing and delivering active agents, and Hsu et al. expressly demonstrates that steroid drugs such as progesterone and neutral hydrophilic surfactants such as PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil are compatible with and function effectively in such self-emulsifying formulations, thereby indicating that the modified composition would be expected to form a stable and effective self-emulsifying system for oral delivery.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezerra-Souza et al. (Bezerra-Souza A, Fernandez-Garcia R, Rodrigues GF, et al. Repurposing Butenafine as An Oral Nanomedicine for Visceral Leishmaniasis. Pharmaceutics. 2019;11(7):353. Published 2019 Jul 20. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics11070353) in view of Hsu et al. (US20100273730A1) in further view of Aquilue et al. (US20190298737A1).
Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. collectively teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 2, 6, 28, and 30-31.
However, Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. fail to collectively teach the limitations of claim 8 and 9.
Aquilue et al. discloses an oil-in-water nanoemulsion composition having a continuous aqueous phase and dispersed oil droplets, wherein the nanoemulsion comprises: (a) clobetasol; (b) one or more oil components; and (c) one or more surfactants; together with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients or carriers (abstract). Aquilue et al. teaches that the composition can be administered as an oral spray (paragraph 69). Aquilue et al. teaches that stabilizers such as polyvinylpyrrolidone, and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose can be included in the composition (paragraph 59). Aquilue et al. teaches that the composition can include polyoxyl 40 hydrogenated castor oil as a hydrophilic surfactant (paragraph 46). Aquilue et al. teaches that the composition can include hydrophobic excipients including glyceryl monooleate (paragraph 46). Aquilue et al. teaches that the composition can include a penetration enhancer such as cetalkonium chloride at concentrations ranging from 0.01% to 10% w/w (paragraph 64).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the cetalkonium chloride taught by Aquilue et al. into the self-emulsifying composition taught by Bezerra-Souza et a and Hsu et al. This is because Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. collectively teach nano-emulsions containing an active agent, hydrophobic excipients, and a neutral hydrophilic surfactant. Concurrently, Aquilue et al. teaches that cetalkonium chloride is a pharmaceutically acceptable cationic excipient suitable to use in nano-emulsion compositions comprising an active agent, hydrophobic excipients, and neutral hydrophilic surfactants––at concentrations overlapping with those in the present claims. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the cetalkonium chloride taught by Aquilue et al. into the self-emulsifying nano-emulsion taught by Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. to enhance its penetration. Additionally, since Aquilue et al. teaches cetalkonium chloride and its concentration range to be compatible and conventional for such nano-emulsions, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the above teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 10, 14, 16-17, 19-20, 22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezerra-Souza et al. (Bezerra-Souza A, Fernandez-Garcia R, Rodrigues GF, et al. Repurposing Butenafine as An Oral Nanomedicine for Visceral Leishmaniasis. Pharmaceutics. 2019;11(7):353. Published 2019 Jul 20. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics11070353) in view of Hsu et al. (US20100273730A1) in further view of Wooster et al. (US20190085034A1).
Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. collectively teach all of the limitations of present claims 1, 2, 6, 28, and 30-31.
However, Bezerra-Souza et al. and Hsu et al. fail to collectively teach the limitations of claims 10, 14, 16-17, 19-20, 22, and 26.
Hsu et al. (as previously cited) teaches that the described surfactant system may be present in the composition in an amount ranging from 20.0% to 75% (w/w) based on the weight of the pharmaceutical composition (paragraph 33), which overlaps with the aqueous self-emulsifying composition being at least 0.1% (w/w) per present claim 10. Hsu et al. teaches that the composition may contain water as the solvent at concentrations ranging from 2.5% to 60% (w/w) based on the weight of the pharmaceutical composition (paragraph 32), which overlaps with the composition comprising at least 50% (w/w) of water per present claim 10. Hsu et al. teaches that the composition may contain one or more hydrophilic carriers such as polyethylene glycol (PEG) (paragraph 32), which satisfies all limitations of present claims 17 and 19. Hsu et al. teaches that hydrophilic drugs including progesterone can be included in the composition at concentrations ranging from 0.2% to about 15% (w/w) based on the weight of the pharmaceutical composition, which overlaps with the claimed active agent ranges of up to 100 mg/g, per present claim 22. Hsu et al. teaches that the composition may be administered orally (paragraph 44). Hsu et al. teaches that the composition according to the invention may also exhibit good stability during storage (paragraph 34).
Wooster et al. discloses particles, including nanoparticles and microparticles, and pharmaceutical formulations thereof, comprising conjugates of an active agent such as a therapeutic, prophylactic, or diagnostic agent attached to a targeting moiety via a linker (abstract). Wooster et al. teaches that the formulation can include self-assembling particles (paragraph 7). Wooster et al. teaches that the particles in the composition can be a lipid micelle, which can be formed as a water-in-oil emulsion with a lipid surfactant (paragraph 175). Wooster et al. teaches that active ingredients, such as lovastatin, fosphenytoin, and progesterone, can be included in the composition (paragraph 72 and 508). Wooster et al. teaches that 1,2-dioleoyl-3-trimethylammonium-propane (DOTAP) can be added to such compositions as cationic lipids (paragraph 180). Wooster et al. teaches that Cold Homogenization method can be used to prepare such emulsions (including liposomes and micelles), with the process involving using a cold surfactant system to cool the composition to below room-temperature (paragraph 443), encompassing the temperature range of 2-8° C as stated in present claims 10 and 16, and the temperature range of 2 to 37° C stated in present claim 26. Wooster et al. teaches that another method (solvent dilution) can be used to prepare such emulsions, which involves reducing the temperature of the system via cold water from about 0 to about 10° C (paragraph 404), and thus also overlaps the temperature range of 2-8° C as stated in present claims 10 and 16, in addition to the temperature range of 2 to 37° C stated in present claim 26. Wooster et al. teaches that the particles of the composition may have a Polydispersity index (PDI) of ≤0.2, or ≤ 0.1 (paragraph 135), which encompasses the PDIs stated in present claims 10 and 16, and the homogeneity limitation stated in claim 26. Wooster et al. teaches that the particles in the composition may be nanoparticles having a diameter from about 70 nm to about 130 nm (paragraph 135), which overlaps with the droplet sizes in present claims 10 and 14. Wooster et al. teaches that the composition may be suitable for nasal (or parenteral) administration, having an average particle and/or droplet size in the range from about 0.1 nm to about 200 nm (paragraph 387), which also overlaps with the droplet sizes in present claims 10 and 14, taking into account the stated option of the droplets in the composition having a PDI of ~0. Wooster et al. teaches that the composition may contain sodium chloride (paragraph 248), which satisfies the limitations of present claim 20. Wooster et al. teaches that the particles of the composition may be administered orally and intranasally (paragraph 352).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the self-emulsifying composition of Bezerra-Souza et al. to form an aqueous self-emulsifying emulsion comprising water, and optional hydrophilic carriers, and having controlled particle size and polydispersity characteristics, as taught by Hsu et al. and Wooster et al., in order to obtain an aqueous dispersed self-emulsifying formulation suitable for oral administration. Particularly, Hsu et al. teaches that self-emulsifying pharmaceutical compositions may comprise water, surfactant systems, and hydrophilic carriers including polyethylene glycol, in addition to containing active ingredients––all at concentrations overlapping with those in the present claims (see MPEP 2144.05). Concurrently, Wooster et al. teaches lipid and surfactant-based nanoparticle systems including emulsions having size ranges, PDI ranges, storage temperature ranges, and salts that overlap with those in the present claims, for nasal and oral administration of active agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success combining these teachings because all three references are directed closely to lipid and surfactant-based emulsions suitable for oral delivery of active agents, in addition to the fact that both Wooster et al. and Hsu et al. collectively demonstrate that such systems can routinely be formulated to achieve stable aqueous emulsions with controlled particle size and low polydispersity using conventional techniques, thereby indicating that the modified self-emulsifying composition of Bezerra-Souza et al. may be routinely optimized by working within ranges of the prior art to predictably form a stable aqueous emulsion that meets the claimed droplet size, polydispersity, temperature handling, and excipient limitations stated in the present claims.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezerra-Souza et al. (Bezerra-Souza A, Fernandez-Garcia R, Rodrigues GF, et al. Repurposing Butenafine as An Oral Nanomedicine for Visceral Leishmaniasis. Pharmaceutics. 2019;11(7):353. Published 2019 Jul 20. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics11070353) in view of Hsu et al. (US20100273730A1) in further view of Wooster et al. (US20190085034A1) in further view of Ensign et al. (US20150297531A1).
Bezerra-Souza et al., Hsu et al., and Wooster et al. collectively teach all limitations of claim 10.
However, Bezerra-Souza et al., Hsu et al., and Wooster et al. fail to collectively teach the limitations of Claim 27.
Ensign et al. evaluated hypotonic formulations for delivering water-soluble drugs and for drug delivery with muco-inert (that is, non-adhesive) mucus-penetrating nanoparticles (abstract). Ensign et al. teaches that the composition may include emulsions (paragraph 80), which include self-emulsifying systems (paragraph 154). Ensign et al. teaches that the emulsifier in the composition can be positively charged, negatively charged, or neutral (paragraph 76). Ensign et al. teaches that the particles in the composition may have surface-alternating agents (paragraph 64), which include surfactants (paragraph 65). Ensign et al. teaches that examples of such surfactants is glyceryl monooleate (paragraph 66). Ensign et al. teaches that oral dosage forms of the composition may include pharmaceutically acceptable excipients including stabilizers and preservatives, and combinations thereof (paragraph 163). Ensign et al. teaches that the nanoparticles retain their article size and ζ-potential after storage for at least 1 month, more preferably at least 2 months, most preferably at least 3 months at 4° C (paragraph 78).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Bezerra-Souza et al., Hsu et al., Wooster et al., and Ensign et al. to further formulate the aqueous self-emulsifying composition of Bezerra-Souza et al. under conditions that promote chemical, microbiological, and physical stability during storage, by incorporating stabilizers and preservatives as taught by Ensign et al. for emulsion-based oral dosage forms. Ensign et al. teaches that oral dosage forms comprising emulsion systems may include pharmaceutically acceptable stabilizers and preservatives, which would both inhibit microbial growth and thereby promote microbiological stability of the composition during storage. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have further had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the claimed stability because Ensign et al. demonstrates that such formulations retain particle size and zeta-potential for preferably at least three months at storage temperatures that overlap with those in the present claims. Retention of size and charge is recognized in the art as an indicator that the dispersed system remains physically stable and the interfacial and colloidal properties of the composition are maintained, which is further indicative of chemical stability of the formulation components during storage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument (p. 10), that amended claim 1 is no longer anticipated by Bezerra-Souza because claim 1 now incorporates the macrogol glycerol hydroxystearate limitation of former claim 7:
The examiner agrees that the previously applied anticipation rejection is no longer maintained. However, amended claim 1 is now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Bezerra-Souza in view of Hsu for the reasons set forth above. Bezerra-Souza teaches the claimed self-emulsifying composition comprising propylene glycol monocaprylate and glyceryl monooleate at amounts and mass ratios falling within the claimed ranges, While Hsu Teaches macrogol glycerol hydroxystearate (PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil) as a suitable neutral surfactant for self-emulsifying pharmaceutical compositions. Restructuring of the art was necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Regarding applicant’s argument (pp. 11-13) that Bezerra-Souza teaches different component amounts and points the skilled artisan toward an optimized composition containing approximately 23.3% labrasol:
This argument is not persuasive. Bezerra-Souza is not limited to its ultimately preferred or optimized formulation. As previously discussed, Bezerra-Souza expressly teaches, for example, experiment 7 Comprising 9% labrasol, 61% Capryol 90, and 29% Peceol, corresponding to the 90% hydrophobic excipient at a Capryol 90: Peceol mass ratio of approximately 2.1:1, as well as combination A comprising 15% Labrasol, 58% Capryol 90, and 27.7% Peceol, corresponding to 85% hydrophobic excipients at a mass ratio of approximately 2.15:1. Thus, Bezerra-Souza itself teaches the presently claimed 9-19% surfactant range, 81-91% hydrophobic excipient range, and 4:1 to 1.2:1 mass ratio. The disclosure of another preferred formulation does not negate these expressly disclosed embodiments or constitute a teaching away therefrom. MPEP 2123 – non-preferred and alternative embodiments are considered in the prior art.
Regarding applicant’s argument (pp. 11-12) that the claimed composition provides improved homogeneity, lower PDI reduced droplet size, increased capacity for incorporation of the active ingredients, reduced surfactant content, and a simplified manufacture without elevated temperature, high shear, ultrasonication, or organic solvents:
The argument is not persuasive with respect to claim 1. Claim 1 does not require a particular PDI, droplet size, drug loading capacity, manufacture temperature, shear condition, ultrasonication condition, or absence of organic solvent. Moreover, the cited examples do not establish unexpected results relative to the closest prior art and neither are they commensurate with the scope of the claim 1, which encompass numerous hydrophobic excipients and broad concentration and mass-ratio ranges.
Regarding applicant’s argument (p. 12) that Bezerra-Souza is silent regarding homogeneity/polydispersity index:
Amended claim 1 does not recite any limitation concerning PDI, droplet size, homogeneity, and therefore Bezerra-Souza’s silence regarding these properties does not distinguish the claimed composition. To the extent such properties are expressed in the dependent claims, the rejection relies on the combined teachings of the cited references such as Wooster for the claimed particle size and PDI characteristics. Moreover, mere silence from a property/characteristic does not constitute teaching away from compositions that possess that property.
Regarding applicant’s argument (pp. 12-13) that Bezerra-Souza provides no incentive to replace labrasol and Hsu concerns a different formulation strategy directed to hydrophilic drugs:
Hsu is also directed to self-emulsifying pharmaceutical compositions and expressly identifies both Labrasol and PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil as suitable surfactants for such systems. Thus, Hsu provides evidence that PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil was a known alternative surfactant for accomplishing the same self-emulsifying function. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore substitute the PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil taught by Hsu for the Labrasol of Bezerra-Souza to provide an alternative and more optimal known surfactant for a self-emulsifying functionality via routine optimization of result-effective variables. Furthermore, claim 1 does not require any active agents, much less a hydrophilic or hydrophobic active agent, and therefore the difference between the particular drugs emphasized by the references does not distinguish the presently claimed composition.
In response to applicant’s argument’s (p. 13) that Bezerra-Souza and Hsu concern different technical fields because Bezerra-Souza concerns hydrophobic drugs while Hsu addresses hydrophilic drugs for different purposes:
This is not persuasive. Both references are directed to orally delivered self-emulsifying pharmaceutical delivery systems and the selection of surfactants/excipients useful therein, and neither mandatorily excludes hydrophilic or hydrophobic drugs. Moreover, claim 1 does not require any particular active agent, disease, or drug solubility characteristic. Thus, the distinction between the particular drugs emphasized by the reference does not negate the relevance of Hsu’s teaching concerning suitable surfactants for self-emulsifying compositions.
Regarding applicant’s argument (pp. 13-14) that Hsu merely provides broad lists and does not teach simultaneously selecting macrogol glycerol hydroxystearate, maintaining 9-19% surfactant, maintaining 81-91% hydrophobic excipients, and satisfying the claimed hydrophobic-excipient mass ratio:
This argument is not persuasive because it improperly assigns Hsu limitations already supplied by Bezerra-Souza. Bezerra-Souza expressly teaches formulations satisfying the claimed surfactant concentration, hydrophobic excipient concentrations, identities of propylene glycol monocaprylate and glyceryl monooleate, and the claimed mass ratio. Hsu is relied upon for narrower teaching of employing macrogol glycerol hydroxystearate as a known surfactant in self-emulsifying systems, which can be selected as a matter of routine optimization of result-effective variables. The rejection does not require bodily incorporation of every component or concentration disclosed by Hsu into Bezerra-Souza, but rather is based on what the combined teachings in the rejection under USC 103 would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding applicant’s argument (p. 14) that Aquilue, Wooster, and Ensign do not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Bezerra-Souza and Hsu:
This argument is not persuasive. Bezerra-Souza in view of Hsu collectively teaches or renders obvious the subject matter of amended claim 1 as discussed above. Aquilue, Wooster, and Ensign are relied upon for the additional limitations recited in the respective dependent claims, rather than to remedy a deficiency in the underlying combination with respect to claim 1. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejections for the above reasons.
Conclusions
No claim is found allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Arya A. Bazargani, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1613
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613