DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 and 12/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Lu (US 2024/0195473, hereinafter Lu 473’) and in view of Takla (US 2022/0030448).
Re Claim 1, Lu discloses a method for transmitting data, comprising:
compressing data according to a compression control instruction, to obtain compressed data, and acquiring a compression exponent ([0211], modulation compression which as scaling factors in the O-RAN spec);
determining a transmission exponent for data transmission according to the compression exponent and a signal processing scaling exponent ([0009], In O-RAN, O-DU performs channel estimation based on the received uplink (UL) reference signals, calculates BFWs and sends the BFWs to the O-RU. If the O-RU does additional scaling, the O-RAN spec gives the O-RU full freedom to scale antenna power to reduce beamforming coverage issue. BBU controls antenna power scaling that are calculated by the BBU based on the calculated beamforming weights (BFWs) that are sent from the BBU to the RU); and
the compressed data and the transmission exponent based on an Open Radio Access Network (ORAN) protocol according to an encapsulation format control instruction, so as to obtain encapsulated data, and sending the encapsulated data ([0009], [0012]. If the O-RU does additional scaling, the O-RAN spec gives the O-RU full freedom to scale antenna power to reduce beamforming coverage issue. BBU controls antenna power scaling that are calculated by the BBU based on the calculated beamforming weights (BFWs) that are sent from the BBU to the RU.).
Lu does not disclose however Takla discloses encapsulated the data ([0042] encapsulate the user plane data in a packet that is destined for vRan. [0011], shows arrangements in O-RAN).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Lu’s O-RAN spec with Takla’s RAN management which encapsulates data that is destined for RAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow encapsulated data to be transmitted with other information.
Re claim 2, Lu discloses combining the compression exponent and the signal processing scaling exponent to obtain a combination exponent ([0211]-[0213], Scaling factors determined by the BBU are combined with other existing scaling factors. In O-RAN, there is a feature modulation compression that have scaling factors that also include at least one antenna power scaling factor); and
determining the transmission exponent according to the combination exponent ([0211]-[0215], the scaling factors are associated and combined with multiple power contributions to scale the transmit power).
Re claims 11, and 13-15 are similar to claims 1-2 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 7, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu 473’) and in view of Takla and in view of Lu 596’ (US 2022/0255596, hereinafter Lu 596’).
Re Claim 7, Lu discloses a method for transmitting data, comprising:
receiving encapsulated data and an encapsulation format control instruction ([0227]-[0232], RU receives from a BBU at least one antenna power scaling factor. The plurality of BFWs are received from the BBU. RU decompresses and/or reconstructs a plurality of BFW.):
decapsulating the encapsulated data by using an Open Radio Access Network (ORAN) protocol according to an encapsulation format control instruction, so as to obtain encapsulated data and a transmission exponent for data transmission ([0005], BBU and RU are referred as O-RAN noticed in user and synchronization plane specification, O-RAN.WG4.CUS.0-V07.00);
determining a signal processing scaling exponent and a decompression exponent based on the transmission exponent ([0009], O-RAN spec gives the O-RU full freedom to scale antenna power to reduce beamforming coverage).
Lu does not disclose however Takla discloses decapsulate the data ([0036] decapsulate the received messages).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Lu’s O-RAN spec with Takla’s RAN management which decapsulates received data that is destined for RAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow encapsulated data to be transmitted with other information.
Lu and Takla does not disclose, however Lu 596’ discloses decompressing the compressed data according to the decompression exponent to obtain data ([0049]-[0052], decompress the beamforming weights the subset of data).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Lu and Takla’s compression with Lu’s decompression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to decompress something that has been compressed.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu 473’) and in view of Takla and in view of Lu 596’ and in view of Jinruo (CN 109040047).
Re Claim 8, Lu discloses determining a signal processing scaling exponent ([0009], O-RAN spec gives the O-RU full freedom to scale antenna power to reduce beamforming coverage). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Lu for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 7.
In addition, Lu 596’ discloses acquiring a maximum transmission exponent among the transmission exponents ((Lu 596 [0055], the algorithm for both ZF and MMSE based methods to be interpreted as applying maximum-ratio transmission);
the maximum transmission exponent and the maximum compression exponent ([0055], the algorithm for both ZF and MMSE based methods to be interpreted as applying maximum-ratio transmission.);
determining a decompression exponent based on the transmission exponent and the signal processing scaling exponent ([0052], using NxK matrics where points are compressed such that the total number of bits to represent subset 1 and subset 2 are fewer bits representing P.).
While Lu 596’ discloses a maximum-ration transmission, Lu, Lu 596’ and Takla does not disclose however Jinruo discloses determining a maximum compression exponent according to the bit width M of the decompressed data and the number N of decompression points (page 5, normal difference width refers to normal difference bit digit for shifting).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Lu, Lu 596’ and Takla’s compression with Jinruo’s difference width referring to different bit digit in order to shift the factors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow shifting of factors for data compression.
Re Claim 9, One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Lu for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Lu 596’ discloses determining the first difference value as the maximum compression exponent ([0053]-[0055], the algorithm for both ZF and MMSE based methods to be interpreted as applying maximum-ratio transmission). In addition, Jinruo discloses determining a first difference value between the bit width M of the decompressed data and the number N of decompression points (page 5, normal difference width refers to normal difference bit digit for shifting).
Re Claim 9, One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Lu for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Lu, Lu 596’, and Takla do not disclose determining a second difference between the maximum transmission exponent and the maximum compression exponent;
determining the second difference value as the signal processing scaling exponent;
determining a decompression exponent based on the transmission exponent and the signal processing scaling exponent comprises:
determining a third difference between the transmission exponent and the signal processing scaling exponent; and
determining the third difference value as the signal decompression exponent.
Jinruo discloses on pages 5-6, normal different sequence contains data values and extracting first normal difference maximum value of different data from difference sequence to obtain first special value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it to be obvious that determining a value of something from the difference of two other things is simply a design choice to modify Jinruo’s difference value to determine the maximum value of different data to obtain special values to include the desired special value.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443