DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Merkel (US 20160317788) . Regarding claim 1, Merkel disc loses a catheter (catheter 100) for cerebral angiography and neurointerventions ( Note the phrase “for cerebral angiography and neurointerventions ” is consider ed to be a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim ) , comprising: a proximal end (distal segment 106) , a distal end ( proximal segment 104 ) and a plurality of segments (Figures 5-6) , the plurality of segments comprising: a first curved segment (fourth curved portion 230) having a curve with a first radius of curvature (“ Fourth curved portion 230 curves away from longitudinal axis 202 and in a fourth direction 232 ” [0058]) , the first curved segment being extended with a first linear segment (linear portion connecting fourth curved portion 230 to third curved portion 222; Figure 5) ; a second curved segment (third curved portion 222) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (tip-opposing portion 212) , the second curved segment having a curve (third curved portion 222 having angle 225) with a second radius of curvature (“ The third curved portion 222 can also have a radius of curvature of 18 mm or less, as measured from the outermost surface of the catheter body, for the disclosed embodiments. ” [0056]) , the curve of the first curved segment being in a different direction than the curve of the second curved segment (Figure 5 , wherein third direction 224 is different than fourth direction 232 ) , and the second linear segment having a length (length 500) greater than a length of the first linear segment (Figure 5) ; and a third linear segment (laterally extending portion 204 and first substantially straight portion 200) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (at least one of first curved portion 208 and second curved portion 214) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment (Figure 5) . Regarding claim 2 , Merkel discloses t he catheter of claim 1, wherein the curved portion (at least one of first curved portion 208 and second curved portion 214) comprises a radius of curvature that is smaller than the first radius of curvature (Figure 5, showing that first curved portion 208 and second curved portion 214 each have a smaller radius of curvature than fourth curved portion 230) . Regarding claim 3 , Merkel discloses th e catheter of claim, wherein the second linear segment (tip opposing portion 212) and the first linear segment are approximately parallel one to another (Figure 5) . Regarding claim 4 , Merkel discloses t he catheter of claim 1, wherein an intersection of the third linear segment ( laterally extending portion 204 and first substantially straight portion 200 ) and the second linear segment (tip-opposing portion 212 ) covers an angle of at least 160° (Figure 5, showing that first curved portion 208 and second curved portion 214 extend through 180 ° because tip-opposing portion 212 is parallel to first substantially straight portion 200). Regarding claim 5 , Merkel discloses t he catheter of claim 1, wherein the first radius of curvature (at fourth curved portion 230) is smaller than the second radius of curvature (at third curved portion 222; Figure 5) . Regarding claim 6 , Merkel discloses t he catheter of claim 1, wherein a total length of the catheter is between 80 cm and 150 cm (“ the catheters of the present disclosure can have a length of at least 110 cm when measured from the distal tip to the proximal end. In each instance, the catheters can have a length of at least 120 cm. ” [0014]) . Regarding claim 7 , Merkel discloses t he catheter of claim 1, wherein the second linear segment (tip opposing portion 212) has a length comprised in a range between 3 - 10 cm (“ tip-opposing portion 212 extends for a length 500 of 30 mm or less ” [0053], equivalent to 3 cm) and the third linear segment has a length comprised in a range between 70-147 cm (“ the catheters of the present disclosure can have a length of at least 110 cm when measured from the distal tip to the proximal end. In each instance, the catheters can have a length of at least 120 cm. ” [0014]) . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: McFerran et al. (US 20060089618) discloses a catheter (10; Fig 7) for cerebral angiography and neurointerventions ([0016]), comprising: a first curved segment (R) having a curve with a first radius of curvature (Fig 7) and being extended with a first linear segment (Q); a second curved segment (P) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (O); and a third linear segment (M) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (N) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment ( Fig 7) , wherein the curved portion comprises a radius of curvature that is smaller than the first radius of curvature ( Fig 7). Vidyarthi et al. (US 20090082756) discloses a catheter (100) comprising: a first curved segment (132) being extended with a first linear segment (133); a second curved segment (134) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (135); and a third linear segment (137) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (136) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment ( Fig 1). Takagi et al. (US 20110077530) discloses a catheter (10) comprising: a first curved segment (28) having a curve with a first radius of curvature (R3, Fig 1), the first curved segment being extended with a first linear segment (26); a second curved segment (24) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (22), the second curved segment having a curve with a second radius of curvature (R2; Fig 1), the curve of the first curved segment being in a different direction than the curve of the second curved segment ( Fig 1), and the second linear segment having a length (L1) greater than a length of the first linear segment (L2; [0049], [0052]); and a third linear segment (12) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (20) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment (Fig 1). Vidovich (US 20130158396) discloses a catheter (10; Fig 3) comprising: a first curved segment (1) having a curve with a first radius of curvature ( Fig 3) being extended with a first linear segment (2); a second curved segment (18) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (14), the curve of the first curved segment being in a different direction than the curve of the second curved segment ( Fig 3), and the second linear segment having a length greater than a length of the first linear segment ( Fig 3); and a third linear segment (26) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (22) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment ( Fig 2) , wherein the curved portion comprises a radius of curvature that is smaller than the first radius of curvature ( Fig 3). Loh et al. (US 20200345979) discloses a catheter ( Fig 7) for cerebral angiography and neurointerventions ([0049]), comprising a first curved segment (72) having a curve with a first radius of curvature, the first curved segment being extended with a first linear segment ( Fig 7); a second curved segment connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment, the second curved segment having a curve with a second radius of curvature ( Fig 7); and a third linear segment that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment (Fig 7: [0272-0280]). Bower (USPN 5299574) discloses a catheter (46L) comprising: a first curved segment (90) having a curve with a first radius of curvature (Fig 3), the first curved segment being extended with a first linear segment (88); a second curved segment (86) connecting the first linear segment with a second linear segment (80), the second curved segment having a curve with a second radius of curvature ( Fig 3), the curve of the first curved segment being in a different direction than the curve of the second curved segment ( Fig 3), and the second linear segment having a length greater than a length of the first linear segment ( Fig 3); and a third linear segment (50L) that is connected to an end of the second linear segment through a curved portion (84) that orients the third linear segment in a direction that approaches towards the first curved segment ( Fig 3) , wherein the curved portion comprises a radius of curvature that is smaller than the first radius of curvature ( Fig 3). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LEAH J SWANSON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0394 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9 AM- 5 PM ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kevin Sirmons can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-4965 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LEAH J SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /LOAN B JIMENEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3784