DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “at least one of the based” in line 2 which appears to be a typographical error and should be replaced with –at least one of the base --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 , 2, 5, 12, 13, and 1 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (CN111567878A) (claims are mapped to the English translation provided) . Claim s 1 , 2, and 5 . Wu et al. discloses a sealed heating device for a cigarette, the device comprising a flexible sealing sleeve 3 (receptacle) with a sealed cavity (heating zone) inside, a flexible sealing ring 6 (seal) which is arranged in a groove or cavity on the sealing sleeve 3 and protrudes relative to the side wall of the sealing cavity (seal protrudes unto the heating zone and seals between the article and receptacle ) ; and a central heating element 1 (heating element protruding into the heating zone) arranged inside the sealed cavity ([03]-[05]; Figure 1). Claims 12 and 13. Wu et al. discloses flexible sealing sleeve 3 (receptacle) and flexible sealing ring 6 (seal) , which is arranged in a groove or cavity on the sealing sleeve 3 and protrudes relative to the side wall of the sealing cavity ([03]-[04]; Figure 1). Claim 1 9 . Wu et al. discloses that the materials used in the flexible sealing sleeve 3 and the flexible sealing ring 6 herein are both flexible and elastic. That is, these materials deform after being stressed, and can restore their original shape after the force is lost ([13]). Claims 1 - 5, 7, 24, 31, 32, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Capelli et al. (WO 2020/221643). Claim s 1 -4 . Capelli et al. discloses an aerosol-generating device for heating an aerosol-forming substrate , the device comprising a longitudinally extending cavity 110 , wherein the cavity 110 is provided in an extractor 100 (receptacle defining a heating zone) of an aerosol-generating device according to an aspect of the invention. The extractor 100 is a component that is removably couplable to a main device portion to form the aerosol-generating device. The longitudinally extending cavity 110 of the extractor 100 is arranged for receiving a distal end and distal portion of an aerosol-generating article . The extractor 100 has a base 102 and side walls 103 that extend from the base 102. The longitudinally extending cavity 110 is defined by internal surfaces of the base 102 and the side walls 103 and has an opening 111 at an opposite end of the cavity 110 to the base 102. A first portion, or stabilizing portion 120, of the cavity 110 has a first diameter. This diameter is dimensioned to closely match the outer diameter of an aerosol-generating article for use with the aerosol-generating device. A second portion, or heating portion 130, has a second diameter. This second diameter is greater than the first diameter to help minimise or prevent contact between an outer surface of an aerosol-generating article received in the cavity and an inner surface 131 of the cavity in the heating portion 130. For example, if the first diameter is approximately 7.2 mm, the second diameter may be between approximately 8.8 mm and approximately 9.2 mm. This would provide an air-gap of approximately 1 mm between an outer surface of an article fully inserted into the cavity and the inner surface 131 of the cavity walls in the heating portion 130 of the cavity. A third portion, or locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) , has a third diameter. The third diameter is preferably substantially the same as, or identical to, the first diameter. A hole or slot 150 is defined through a radially central portion of the base 102. This hole 150 allows a heating element attached to the main portion of the aerosol-generating device to be inserted into the cavity 110 when the extractor 100 is coupled to the main portion of the device. The hole 150 also allows inflow of air into the cavity 110 (Figures 1-6 ; Page 14, last paragraph – Page 16, second paragraph ). Claim 5. Capelli et al. discloses that the locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) is a shoulder 1440 ( Figures 1-6 and 15). Claim 7 . Capelli et al. discloses that the locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) seals with the aerosol-forming substrate at a juncture of the heating element and the extractor 100 (receptacle) (Figures 1-6 and 15). Claim 24 . Capelli et al. discloses an aerosol-generating device for heating an aerosol-forming substrate (article comprising aerosol-generating material), the device comprising a longitudinally extending cavity 110 , wherein the cavity 110 is provided in an extractor 100 (receptacle defining a heating zone) of an aerosol-generating device according to an aspect of the invention. The extractor 100 is a component that is removably couplable to a main device portion to form the aerosol-generating device. The longitudinally extending cavity 110 of the extractor 100 is arranged for receiving a distal end and distal portion of an aerosol-generating article . The extractor 100 has a base 102 and side walls 103 that extend from the base 102. The longitudinally extending cavity 110 is defined by internal surfaces of the base 102 and the side walls 103 and has an opening 111 at an opposite end of the cavity 110 to the base 102. A first portion, or stabilizing portion 120, of the cavity 110 has a first diameter. This diameter is dimensioned to closely match the outer diameter of an aerosol-generating article for use with the aerosol-generating device. A second portion, or heating portion 130, has a second diameter. This second diameter is greater than the first diameter to help minimise or prevent contact between an outer surface of an aerosol-generating article received in the cavity and an inner surface 131 of the cavity in the heating portion 130. For example, if the first diameter is approximately 7.2 mm, the second diameter may be between approximately 8.8 mm and approximately 9.2 mm. This would provide an air-gap (gap between receptacle and article) of approximately 1 mm between an outer surface of an article fully inserted into the cavity and the inner surface 131 of the cavity walls in the heating portion 130 of the cavity. A third portion, or locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) , has a third diameter. The third diameter is preferably substantially the same as, or identical to, the first diameter. A hole or slot 150 is defined through a radially central portion of the base 102. This hole 150 allows a heating element attached to the main portion of the aerosol-generating device to be inserted into the cavity 110 when the extractor 100 is coupled to the main portion of the device. The hole 150 also allows inflow of air into the cavity 110 (Figures 1-6; Page 14, last paragraph – Page 16, second paragraph). Claim s 31 , 32, and 3 6 . Capelli et al. discloses an aerosol-generating device for heating an aerosol-forming substrate , the device comprising a heating element 520 which extends into the cavity 110 through the opening 150 defined through the base 102. The heating element 520 penetrates the distal end of the aerosol generating article 10 and contacts the aerosol-forming substrate 20 (Figures 5 and 6; Page 16, last paragraph – Page 17, second paragraph). The extractor 100 has a base 102 and side walls 103 that extend from the base 102. The longitudinally extending cavity 110 is defined by internal surfaces of the base 102 and the side walls 103 and has an opening 111 at an opposite end of the cavity 110 to the base 102. A first portion, or stabilizing portion 120, of the cavity 110 has a first diameter. This diameter is dimensioned to closely match the outer diameter of an aerosol-generating article for use with the aerosol-generating device. A second portion, or heating portion 130, has a second diameter. This second diameter is greater than the first diameter to help minimise or prevent contact between an outer surface of an aerosol-generating article received in the cavity and an inner surface 131 of the cavity in the heating portion 130. For example, if the first diameter is approximately 7.2 mm, the second diameter may be between approximately 8.8 mm and approximately 9.2 mm. This would provide an air-gap of approximately 1 mm between an outer surface of an article fully inserted into the cavity and the inner surface 131 of the cavity walls in the heating portion 130 of the cavity. A third portion, or locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) , has a third diameter. The third diameter is preferably substantially the same as, or identical to, the first diameter (Figures 1-6; Page 14, last paragraph – Page 16, second paragraph). Claim 3 5. Capelli et al. discloses that the heating element 520 is exposed within the cavity 110 (Figure 5). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 25 -27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capelli et al. (WO 2020/221643) in view of Malgat et al. (US 2016/0309782). Claim s 25 and 27 . Capelli et al. discloses the system of claim 24 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the article comprises a pre-formed bore configured to receive the heating element. Malgat et al. discloses a heated aerosol-generating article for use with an aerosol-generating device wherein the article comprises a rigid hollow tube 30 (pre-formed bore) located at the extreme distal or upstream end of the aerosol-generating article 10 ([0111]; Figures 1 and 2). The rigid hollow tube defines a lumen or bore. The heating element may be inserted through the lumen or bore ([0008]). The rigid hollow tube has a proximal end and a distal end. The pierceable film may span the distal end of the rigid hollow tube. The pierceable film may span the proximal end of the rigid hollow tube. The rigid hollow tube spanned by the pierceable film protects the distal end of the rod from ignition in case a user applies a flame and draws on the mouth end of the article. The heat from the flame impinges the hollow tube, which is non-flammable. The aerosol-forming substrate, located downstream of the rigid hollow tube is less likely to reach its combustion temperature than if it were located at the distal end of the heated aerosol-generating article. Furthermore, the pierceable film helps prevent air from being drawn through the rod. Thus, the risk of inadvertent or unintended ignition of the aerosol-forming substrate is reduced ( Malgat [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a rigid hollow tube 30 (pre-formed bore) in the distal end of the aerosol-generating article of Capelli et al. in order to protect the article from inadvertent or unintended ignition of the aerosol-forming substrate as taught by Malgat ([0006]). Claim 26. Modified Capelli et al. discloses that the locating portion 140 (seal at distal end) seals with the aerosol-forming article at its distal end, which is the face of rigid hollow tube 30 (pre-formed bore) ( Capelli Figures 1-6 and 15 ; Malgat [0008] Figures 1 and 2 ). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 8 , 9, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Wu et al. (CN111567878A) and Capelli et al. (WO 2020/221643), which both disclose an aerosol generating system according to claim 1, but do not disclose or suggest that the heating element comprises part of the seal. Wu et al. and Capelli et al. also do not disclose that the seal is configured to engage with a relatively more resilient engaging feature of the article. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Katherine A Will whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0516 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 10:00AM-6:00PM(EST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Wilson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3882 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KATHERINE A WILL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747