DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on December 11, 2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 18, 2023, April 28, 2025, and August 20, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (CN 109744944; already of record from IDS: see attached English translation for citations).
In regards to claim 1, Song discloses of a sweeping method (“The invention claims an intelligent dust collector robot, control module of the intelligent dust collector robot is embedded with a travel program, robot for cleaning from the first point when entering the program, moving a certain distance to reach the second point after turning, then proceeds to the third point, turning again proceeds to a fourth point at the third point, the fourth point, then proceeds to the fifth point and turning, then repeating the program makes the intelligent dust collector robot to form bow-cleaning route. the robot the program repeatedly reaches the first N point and then turning 180 degrees, again repeating the cleaning program for several times, finally intelligent dust collector robot form a cross-shaped grid cleaning travelling route. embedded intelligent dust collector robot, sweeping all the program avoids the leakage region can be at least two times of cleaning, the cleaning effect and greatly improves the cleaning efficiency and save the energy.” (Abstract)), comprising:
performing first sweeping on an area to be swept in a turn-back manner along a first sweeping direction (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), see also Fig 3); and
performing, based on a sweeping parameter fulfillment condition, second sweeping on the area to be swept in a turn-back manner along a second sweeping direction (“As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Figs 4-5), wherein
the second sweeping direction is perpendicular to the first sweeping direction (“As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Figs 4-5).
In regards to claim 2, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 1, wherein prior to performing the second sweeping on the area to be swept in the turn-back manner along the second sweeping direction, the method further comprises:
acquiring a sweeping parameter (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position); and
determining whether the sweeping parameter fulfills a preset condition (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position).
In regards to claim 3, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 2, wherein the acquiring the sweeping parameter comprises:
acquiring at least one of a time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept and a number of sweeping repetitions on the area to be swept (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5 and claim 1; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position).
In regards to claim 4, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 3, wherein the sweeping parameter fulfillment condition comprises:
a fulfillment condition for at least one of the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept and the number of sweeping repetitions on the area to be swept (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5 and claim 1; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position).
In regards to claim 6, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 4, wherein the fulfillment condition for the number of sweeping repetitions on the area to be swept comprises:
the number of repetitions sweeping on the area to be swept being greater than 1 (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5 and claim 1; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position).
In regards to claims 9-10, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 11-13 and 15, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 2-4 and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 16-18 and 20, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 2-4 and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Han (US 20180184868).
In regards to claim 5, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 4.
However, Song does not specifically disclose of wherein the fulfillment condition for the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept comprises: the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept being less than a threshold value.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the fulfillment condition for the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept comprises: the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept being less than a threshold value (“The information on the cleaning area may include a cleaning map which indicates the cleaning area, and the processor, in response to a remaining capacity of the battery becoming a predetermined value, may calculate a time consumed for cleaning the remaining area where a cleaning operation is not performed in the cleaning area based on the cleaning map, calculate a battery capacity required to clean the remaining area for the determined time, charge the battery as much as the calculated capacity, and clean the remaining area using the charged battery.” (Para 0013), “On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 6B, the robot cleaner 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may calculate the battery capacity required to complete the cleaning operation for the cleaning area based on the cleaning map before performing the cleaning operation. In an exemplary embodiment, because the time consumed for performing the cleaning operation is 30 minutes according to the current battery capacity, the processor 120 may firstly perform a charging for 20 minutes for performing the cleaning operation for 40 minutes.” (Para 0127), see also Para 0023).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fulfillment condition, as taught by Song, to include a time period needed to complete the first sweeping being less than a threshold value, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure there is enough battery capacity to complete the cleaning operation (Han Para 0013 and 0127).
In regards to claims 14 and 19, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 5 and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamazaki et al. (JP 2006020830) discloses of determining an estimated cleaning time and not starting the cleaning unless the estimated running time of the machine is greater than the estimated cleaning time.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663