DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed May 19, 2026 in regards to prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed May 19, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Song et al. (EP 3138458; hereinafter Song ‘458; already of record from IDS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10, 12-13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (CN 109744944; already of record from IDS: see attached English translation for citations) in view of Song et al. (EP 3138458; hereinafter Song ‘458; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 1, Song discloses of a sweeping method (“The invention claims an intelligent dust collector robot, control module of the intelligent dust collector robot is embedded with a travel program, robot for cleaning from the first point when entering the program, moving a certain distance to reach the second point after turning, then proceeds to the third point, turning again proceeds to a fourth point at the third point, the fourth point, then proceeds to the fifth point and turning, then repeating the program makes the intelligent dust collector robot to form bow-cleaning route. the robot the program repeatedly reaches the first N point and then turning 180 degrees, again repeating the cleaning program for several times, finally intelligent dust collector robot form a cross-shaped grid cleaning travelling route. embedded intelligent dust collector robot, sweeping all the program avoids the leakage region can be at least two times of cleaning, the cleaning effect and greatly improves the cleaning efficiency and save the energy.” (Abstract)), comprising:
performing first sweeping on an area to be swept in a turn-back manner along a first sweeping direction (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), see also Fig 3);
acquiring a sweeping parameter (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position); and
determining whether the sweeping parameter fulfills a preset condition (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position);
performing, in response to the sweeping parameter fulfilling the preset condition, second sweeping on the area to be swept in a turn-back manner along a second sweeping direction (“As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Figs 4-5), wherein
the second sweeping direction is perpendicular to the first sweeping direction (“As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Page 4 Para 0002), see also Figs 4-5).
However, Song dopes not specifically disclose of wherein acquiring the sweeping parameter comprises:
acquiring a number of repetitions sweeping on the area to be swept,
wherein the sweeping parameter fulfilling the preset condition comprises:
the number of repetitions sweeping on the area to be swept being greater than 1.
Song ‘458, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein acquiring the sweeping parameter comprises:
acquiring a number of repetitions sweeping on the area to be swept (“The control unit 110 may decide whether or not the deep cleaning is required on the basis of the accumulated environment information, and determine the depth levels and additional traveling patterns for each of the depth levels. The depth level may indicate the number of times of repeated performance of the traveling patterns, and kinds of traveling patterns may be different from each other per the number of times of repeated performance.” (Para 0071), “For example, when an amount of introduced dust is a predetermined value or more, the control unit 110 may determine the number of times of deep cleaning. In addition, the control unit 110 may determine traveling patterns corresponding to each of the depth levels. The respective traveling patterns may include various traveling patterns such as a concentrative cleaning pattern in which the robot cleaner moves in a spiral form on the basis of a specific position, a grating traveling pattern in which the robot cleaner covers a specific zone in a grating form, a random traveling pattern. For example, in the case in which the amount of introduced dust is high, the control unit 110 may decide that the depth level is 4, and determine that the grating traveling pattern is repeatedly performed four times depending on the depth level.” (Para 0072), “In addition, the input unit 120 may receive a mode input corresponding to a traveling pattern according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention or receive a mode key input, a sweep mode input, a traveling start or traveling end input, and the like. To this end, the input unit 120 may include various buttons for receiving the respective mode inputs, a soft button implemented by a touch screen, or the like.” (Para 0030), see also Figs 6-9),
wherein the sweeping parameter fulfilling the preset condition comprises:
the number of repetitions sweeping on the area to be swept being greater than 1 (“The control unit 110 may decide whether or not the deep cleaning is required on the basis of the accumulated environment information, and determine the depth levels and additional traveling patterns for each of the depth levels. The depth level may indicate the number of times of repeated performance of the traveling patterns, and kinds of traveling patterns may be different from each other per the number of times of repeated performance.” (Para 0071), “For example, when an amount of introduced dust is a predetermined value or more, the control unit 110 may determine the number of times of deep cleaning. In addition, the control unit 110 may determine traveling patterns corresponding to each of the depth levels. The respective traveling patterns may include various traveling patterns such as a concentrative cleaning pattern in which the robot cleaner moves in a spiral form on the basis of a specific position, a grating traveling pattern in which the robot cleaner covers a specific zone in a grating form, a random traveling pattern. For example, in the case in which the amount of introduced dust is high, the control unit 110 may decide that the depth level is 4, and determine that the grating traveling pattern is repeatedly performed four times depending on the depth level.” (Para 0072), “In addition, the input unit 120 may receive a mode input corresponding to a traveling pattern according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention or receive a mode key input, a sweep mode input, a traveling start or traveling end input, and the like. To this end, the input unit 120 may include various buttons for receiving the respective mode inputs, a soft button implemented by a touch screen, or the like.” (Para 0030), see also Figs 6-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sweeping parameter for sweeping the area, as taught by Song, to include a number of repetitions for sweeping the area that is greater than 1, as taught by Song ‘458, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow repeated performance of the cleaning operations based on the depth, therefore more effectively removing dust, pollutants, and the like in the cleaning area (Song ‘458 Para 0093).
In regards to claim 3, Song in view of Song ‘458 teaches of the sweeping method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring the sweeping parameter further comprises:
acquiring a time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Song Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Song Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5 and claim 1; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position).
In regards to claim 4, Song in view of Song ‘458 teaches of the sweeping method according to claim 3, wherein the sweeping parameter fulfilling the preset condition further comprises:
the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be fulfilling the preset condition (“as shown in Figure 3, supposing the intelligent dust collector robot at A point position and the A point position into the present invention embedded cleaning route program, robot move forwards to the B point, the clockwise turning at point B position, steering angle can be set to be 90 degrees. then the robot continuously move forwards to C point, distance of travel can be set as the diameter of the robot at the point C again clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to 90 degree, after the robot continues to travel to point D, point D clockwise steering, the steering angle can be set to be 90, then from D point to E point, the distance of travel is also the diameter of the robot. then the robot turning anticlockwise again at point E, steering angle can be set to 90 degrees. the robot has completed a cleaning route after the complete unit, to point E as the starting step of repeating for several times more, cleaning route of robot can form arch-shaped route. Because two electric side robot chassis front end brush disposed in the advancing process of the robot the rotation of cleaning ground, so from B point to C point and D point to E point, the traveling distance can preferably be set into robot diameter distance, so as to ensure that in a subsequent process of advancing side brush not to drain the sweeping surface. In FIG. 3, the robot starts travelling direction is to the right side of the start, can start moving to the left side, it only needs to make the steering direction of the B point and C point is clockwise, the steering direction of the point D and point E is also can finish the arch-shaped cleaning route is clockwise, then combined robot is started in the environment of placing position of adjustment, it can reach the cleaning environment to be covered.” (Song Page 4 Para 0001), “As shown in FIG. 4, the robot after the cleaning path repeatedly reaches N-point position, the N-point position of robot steering, and the steering angle is preferably set to be 180 degree. Thereafter the robot to N point as a starting point and repeating the A point position to the N position of the travel path, the final travel route of the robot shown in FIG. 5, forming a cross-shaped grid cleaning route, such route program set can make the robot at least once repeated cleaning crossed area of required cleaning, the robot for cleaning ground to avoid occurrence of leakage.” (Song Page 4 Para 0002), see also Fig 3-5 and claim 1; where the second sweeping isn’t performed until the first sweeping is repeated a number of times until the cleaning path reaches the N-point position), (“The control unit 110 may decide whether or not the deep cleaning is required on the basis of the accumulated environment information, and determine the depth levels and additional traveling patterns for each of the depth levels. The depth level may indicate the number of times of repeated performance of the traveling patterns, and kinds of traveling patterns may be different from each other per the number of times of repeated performance.” (Song ‘458 Para 0071), “For example, when an amount of introduced dust is a predetermined value or more, the control unit 110 may determine the number of times of deep cleaning. In addition, the control unit 110 may determine traveling patterns corresponding to each of the depth levels. The respective traveling patterns may include various traveling patterns such as a concentrative cleaning pattern in which the robot cleaner moves in a spiral form on the basis of a specific position, a grating traveling pattern in which the robot cleaner covers a specific zone in a grating form, a random traveling pattern. For example, in the case in which the amount of introduced dust is high, the control unit 110 may decide that the depth level is 4, and determine that the grating traveling pattern is repeatedly performed four times depending on the depth level.” (Song ‘458 Para 0072).
The motivation of combining Song and Song ‘458 is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claims 9-10, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 12-13, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 3-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 17-18, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 3-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Song ‘458, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Han (US 20180184868).
In regards to claim 5, Song discloses of the sweeping method according to claim 4.
However, Song does not specifically disclose of wherein the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept fulfilling the preset condition comprises: the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept being less than a threshold value.
Han, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept fulfilling the preset condition comprises: the time period required to perform the first sweeping on the area to be swept being less than a threshold value (“The information on the cleaning area may include a cleaning map which indicates the cleaning area, and the processor, in response to a remaining capacity of the battery becoming a predetermined value, may calculate a time consumed for cleaning the remaining area where a cleaning operation is not performed in the cleaning area based on the cleaning map, calculate a battery capacity required to clean the remaining area for the determined time, charge the battery as much as the calculated capacity, and clean the remaining area using the charged battery.” (Para 0013), “On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 6B, the robot cleaner 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may calculate the battery capacity required to complete the cleaning operation for the cleaning area based on the cleaning map before performing the cleaning operation. In an exemplary embodiment, because the time consumed for performing the cleaning operation is 30 minutes according to the current battery capacity, the processor 120 may firstly perform a charging for 20 minutes for performing the cleaning operation for 40 minutes.” (Para 0127), see also Para 0023).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fulfillment condition, as taught by Song, to include a time period needed to complete the first sweeping being less than a threshold value, as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure there is enough battery capacity to complete the cleaning operation (Han Para 0013 and 0127).
In regards to claims 14 and 19, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 5 and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663