DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/06/2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1, 3-5 and 13-20 and 22 in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Lee KR 101224194B1 does not disclose the special technical feature of amended claim 1. This is not found persuasive because new reference Jian CN 113741112A discloses the special technical feature of amended claim 1. For example, Jian CN 113741112A discloses an electronic ink screen, in at least figs.11, 12, 2 and 4-8 (figs.11 and 12 can have the embodiment shown in figs.2 and 4-8):
a first conductive substrate (1204) comprising a drive layer (it’s inherent to have a drive layer, see fig.5) and an electrode layer (at least 504-509, see figs.5 and 12);
a second conductive substrate (1206) located above the first conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12);
an ink display layer (1205, or a layer with 501-503 and 405) located between the first conductive substrate and the second conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12), wherein the ink display layer has a plurality of ink accommodating cavities (501-503) that are mutually independent (see fig.5), wherein each of the ink accommodating cavities are respectively provided with ink particles (405) that have a same color such that each ink accommodating cavity includes only one color of ink particles (see figs.5 and 12), and wherein the ink particles are configured to displaying a first color (see figs.5 and 12); and
a function layer (1201-1203) located at a side of the ink display layer (see fig.12), wherein the side of the ink display layer faces away from the second conductive substrate (see fig.12), and wherein the function layer is configured to display a second color (see fig.12),
wherein the electrode layer comprises at least one electrode group (504-505, 506-507, or 508-509), and each ink accommodating cavity corresponds to one electrode group,
wherein the electrode group comprises a first electrode (504, 506 or 508) and a second electrode (505, 507 or 509) disposed relative to each other in a thickness direction perpendicular to the electronic ink screen (see figs.5 and 12),
wherein the drive layer is configured to provide a voltage to the electrode layer, to form an electric field in a vertical direction between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate (see first left cavity, fig.5), and to form an electric field in a horizontal direction between the first electrode and the second electrode (see middle cavity, see fig.5), and
wherein the electric field in the vertical direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the vertical direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see first left cavity, fig.5), and the electric field in the horizontal direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the horizontal direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see middle cavity, see fig.5).
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/06/2026.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 13-14, 16, 18-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jian CN 113741112A (see 18569022_2026-02-19_CN_113741112_A_M.pdf).
1. Jian discloses an electronic ink screen, in at least figs.11, 12, 2 and 4-8 (figs.11 and 12 can have the embodiment shown in figs.2 and 4-8):
a first conductive substrate (1204) comprising a drive layer (it’s inherent to have a drive layer, see fig.5) and an electrode layer (at least 504-509, see figs.5 and 12);
a second conductive substrate (1206) located above the first conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12);
an ink display layer (1205, or a layer with 501-503 and 405) located between the first conductive substrate and the second conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12), wherein the ink display layer has a plurality of ink accommodating cavities (501-503) that are mutually independent (see fig.5), wherein each of the ink accommodating cavities are respectively provided with ink particles (405) that have a same color such that each ink accommodating cavity includes only one color of ink particles (see figs.5 and 12), and wherein the ink particles are configured to displaying a first color (see figs.5 and 12); and
a function layer (1201-1203) located at a side of the ink display layer (see fig.12), wherein the side of the ink display layer faces away from the second conductive substrate (see fig.12), and wherein the function layer is configured to display a second color (see fig.12),
wherein the electrode layer comprises at least one electrode group (504-505, 506-507, or 508-509), and each ink accommodating cavity corresponds to one electrode group,
wherein the electrode group comprises a first electrode (504, 506 or 508) and a second electrode (505, 507 or 509) disposed relative to each other in a thickness direction perpendicular to the electronic ink screen (see figs.5 and 12),
wherein the drive layer is configured to provide a voltage to the electrode layer, to form an electric field in a vertical direction between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate (see first left cavity, fig.5), and to form an electric field in a horizontal direction between the first electrode and the second electrode (see middle cavity, see fig.5), and
wherein the electric field in the vertical direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the vertical direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see first left cavity, fig.5), and the electric field in the horizontal direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the horizontal direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see middle cavity, see fig.5).
3. Jian discloses the drive layer comprises a substrate layer (206) and at least one drive switch that is located on the substrate layer, and wherein the at least one drive switch is configured to provide a voltage to the electrode layer (it’s inherent to have at least one drive switch is configured to provide a voltage to the electrode layer, see figs.2,5 and 12).
4. Jian discloses each ink accommodating cavity corresponds to a drive switch (see fig.5), and wherein the drive switch is configured to provide a voltage to the first electrode or to the second electrode (see fig.5).
5. Jian discloses each ink accommodating cavity corresponds to two drive switches (see fig.5), and wherein one of the two drive switches is configured to provide a voltage to the first electrode, and the other of the two drive switches is configured to provide a voltage to the second electrode (see at least middle of cavity in fig.5, each electrode 506 and 507 are controlled/drive separately, so that there are two drive switches).
13. Jian discloses the function layer is a display screen (see figs.11 and 12, last two paragraphs of page 10).
14. Jian discloses (Previously Presented) The electronic ink screen of claim 13, wherein the ink particles are white ink particles (3rd paragraph in page 6), and the display screen is in a black state (last two paragraphs of page 10, the display screen can independently operated, so that the display screen can be in a black state as well).
16. Jian discloses the ink particles are black ink particles (see figs.12 and 5), and the display screen is in a display state (last two paragraphs of page 10, the display screen can independently operated, so that the display screen can be in is in a display state to provide light).
18. Jian discloses the display screen is located at a side of the first conductive substrate, and the side of the first conductive substrate that faces away from the ink display layer (see figs.11 and 12).
19. Jian discloses the ink display layer comprises a plurality of microcapsule structures (see figs.5 and 12), and internal space of each microcapsule structure forms the ink accommodating cavity (see figs.5 and 12).
20. Jian discloses the ink display layer comprises a plurality of microcup structures (see figs.5 and 12 and last paragraph of page 6), and internal space of each microcup structure forms the ink accommodating cavity (see figs.5 and 12).
22. Jian discloses a display apparatus, in at least figs.11, 12, 2 and 4-8 (figs.11 and 12 can have the embodiment shown in figs.2 and 4-8) comprising:
an electronic ink screen (see figs.11 and 12), comprising:
a first conductive substrate (1204) comprising a drive layer (it’s inherent to have a drive layer, see fig.5) and an electrode layer (at least 504-509, see figs.5 and 12);
a second conductive substrate (1206) located above the first conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12);
an ink display layer (1205, or a layer with 501-503 and 405) located between the first conductive substrate and the second conductive substrate (see figs.5 and 12), wherein the ink display layer has a plurality of ink accommodating cavities (501-503) that are mutually independent (see fig.5), wherein each of the ink accommodating cavities are respectively provided with ink particles (405) that have a same color such that each ink accommodating cavity includes only one color of ink particles (see figs.5 and 12), and wherein the ink particles are configured to displaying a first color (see figs.5 and 12); and
a function layer (1201-1203) located at a side of the ink display layer (see fig.12), wherein the side of the ink display layer faces away from the second conductive substrate (see fig.12), and wherein the function layer is configured to display a second color (see fig.12),
wherein the electrode layer comprises at least one electrode group (504-505, 506-507, or 508-509), and each ink accommodating cavity corresponds to one electrode group,
wherein the electrode group comprises a first electrode (504, 506 or 508) and a second electrode (505, 507 or 509) disposed relative to each other in a thickness direction perpendicular to the electronic ink screen (see figs.5 and 12),
wherein the drive layer is configured to provide a voltage to the electrode layer, to form an electric field in a vertical direction between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate (see first left cavity, fig.5), and to form an electric field in a horizontal direction between the first electrode and the second electrode (see middle cavity, see fig.5), and
wherein the electric field in the vertical direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the vertical direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see first left cavity, fig.5), and the electric field in the horizontal direction is configured to control the ink particles to move in the horizontal direction in the ink accommodating cavity (see middle cavity, see fig.5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “in a first drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the white ink particles move to an inner side wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a black color, wherein in a second drive state, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the white ink particles move to an inner top wall or an inner bottom wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a white color, and wherein in a third drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the white ink particles are dispersedly provided in the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays in a gray state”, along with other claim limitations.
Jian CN 113741112A does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “in a first drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the white ink particles move to an inner side wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a black color, wherein in a second drive state, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the white ink particles move to an inner top wall or an inner bottom wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a white color, and wherein in a third drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the white ink particles are dispersedly provided in the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays in a gray state”, along with other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “in a first drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the black ink particles move to an inner side wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a white color, wherein in a second drive state, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the black ink particles move to an inner top wall or an inner bottom wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a black color, and wherein in a third drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the black ink particles are dispersedly provided in the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays in a gray state”, along with other claim limitations.
Jian CN 113741112A does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “in a first drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the black ink particles move to an inner side wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a white color, wherein in a second drive state, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the black ink particles move to an inner top wall or an inner bottom wall close to the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays a black color, and wherein in a third drive state, the electric field in the horizontal direction is formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the electric field in the vertical direction is formed between the electrode layer and the second conductive substrate, the black ink particles are dispersedly provided in the ink accommodating cavity, and the electronic ink screen displays in a gray state”, along with other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871