DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9 – 10, applicant argues that neither Kuo nor Kuo 2 teach wherein the modified chroma samples are derived based on a luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied because the cited portion of Kuo 2 teaches utilizing luma samples to which deblocking filtering has been applied and not luma samples to which SAO filtering has been applied as claimed in the amended claims. While applicant’s arguments are understood, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner relies on a combination of Kuo and Kuo 2 in maintaining the rejection.
Kuo and Kuo 2 both teach deriving modified chroma samples by applying CC-SAO filtering to a luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied. See, Kuo, e.g. Figs. 6C and par. 106 and Kuo 2, e.g. Figs. 6B and 6G, and pars. 116 - 118: depicting and describing that modified chroma samples are derived by applying CC-SAO filtering to a luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied, with Kuo 2 further describing that filtering depicting in Figs. 6A – 6D can also include optionally cascading CCSAO filtering after luma SAO filtering. The rejection, therefore, is maintained.
On page 10, applicant argues that the combination of Kuo and Kuo 2 relies on impermissible hindsight because Kuo 2 does not suggest using a refined SAO filtered luma sample as a reference for CC-SAO because it uses deblocked samples instead. While applicant’s arguments are understood, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner relies on Kuo 2 in maintaining the rejection.
Kuo 2 explicitly teaches using a refined SAO filtered luma sample as a reference for CC-SAO. See, e.g. Figs. 6B and 6G and pars. 116 – 118: depicting and describing that the system uses a SAO filtered luma sample as a reference for CC-SAO, the CC-SAO filtering being cascaded after SAO filtering of the luma sample. The rejection, therefore, is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2022/093992) (hereinafter Kuo) in view of Kuo et al. (US 2024/0007652) (supported by provisional application no. 63/200,626) (hereinafter Kuo 2).
Regarding claims 1, and 8, Kuo teaches an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, , the image decoding method, and the image encoding method comprising:
applying deblocking filtering to reconstructed samples (e.g. Fig. 6A and par. 104: depicting and describing that the system applies deblocking filtering to reconstructed luma, chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples); and
deriving a modified luma sample and modified chroma samples by applying sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering and cross component sample adaptive offset (CC-SAO) filtering to the reconstructed samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and pars. 104 – 107: depicting and describing that the system generates filtered luma, chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples by applying SAO and CCSAO to the deblocked filtered luma, chroma Cb, and chroma Cr reconstructed samples),
wherein the modified luma sample is derived by applying only the SAO filtering among the SAO filtering and the CC-SAO filtering to a luma sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and pars. 104 - 107: depicting and describing that the filtered luma sample is generated by applying only SAO filtering to the reconstructed and deblocking filtered luma sample),
wherein the modified chroma samples are derived based on applying the SAO filtering to chroma samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied, and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the chroma samples based on the chroma samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied, and a luma sample, to which the SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and 11, and pars. 104 and 132: depicting and describing that the filtered chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples are generated based on SAO filtering to the deblocking filtered reconstructed chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples, CCSAO filtering to the chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples, and on reconstructed luma samples, wherein the reconstructed luma samples are SAO filtered luma samples [see, e.g. Fig. 6C and pars. 104 - 107: depicting and describing that filtered chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples are based on SAO filtered reconstructed luma samples]),
wherein the chroma samples include a cb sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied and a cr sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A and 11: depicting that the chroma samples include a cb sample to which deblocking filtering has been applied [DBF Cb] and a Cr sample to which deblocking filtering has been applied [DBF Cr]);
wherein the modified chroma samples include a modified Cb sample and a modified Cr sample (e.g. Figs. 6A and 11: depicting that the modified chroma samples include a modified Cb sample and a modified Cr sample).
Kuo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied; and
wherein the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied.
Kuo, however, teaches an image encoding method and an image decoding method:
wherein the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Fig. 6B and 6G, and pars. 116 - 118: depicting and describing that the modified Cb sample is derived based applying SAO filtering to the Cb sample [SAO Cb] and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample and the luma sample, the luma sample having SAO filtering applied [see, e.g. par. 116: describing that CC-SAO filtering depicting in Fig. 6B can be cascaded after SAO filtering of luma samples, one such example being depicted in Fig. 6G]); and
wherein the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6B and 6G, and pars. 116 - 118: depicting and describing that the modified Cr sample is derived based applying SAO filtering to the Cr sample [SAO Cr] and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample and the luma sample, the luma sample having SAO filtering applied [see, e.g. par. 116: describing that CC-SAO filtering depicting in Fig. 6B can be cascaded after SAO filtering of luma samples, one such example being depicted in Fig. 6G]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kuo by adding the teachings of Kuo 2 in order for the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample and the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency by exploring cross-component relationship between the luma component and the chroma component (Kuo 2, e.g. par. 8: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of both luma and chroma components by exploring cross-component relationship between luma and chroma components).
Turning to claim 14, Kuo teaches a method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising:
generating prediction samples (e.g. Fig. 2, element 41, and pars. 61 – 70: depicting and describing that the system generates prediction samples);
deriving residual samples based on the prediction samples (e.g. Fig. 2, element 50, and par. 71: depicting and describing that the system derives residual video data based on the prediction samples);
generating image information based on the residual samples (e.g. Fig. 2, elements 52, 54, and 56, and pars. 71 – 72: depicting and describing that the system generates encoded video data based on the residual samples, wherein the encoded video data is the equivalent of the image information);
deriving reconstructed samples based on the prediction samples and the residual samples (e.g. Fig. 2, element 62, and par. 75: depicting and describing that the system derives a reconstructed sample based on the prediction samples and the residual samples);
applying deblocking filtering to reconstructed samples (e.g. Fig. 6A and par. 104: depicting and describing that the system applies deblocking filtering to reconstructed luma, chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples);
deriving a modified luma sample and modified chroma samples by applying sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering and cross component sample adaptive offset (CC-SAO) filtering to the reconstructed samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and pars. 104 – 107: depicting and describing that the system generates filtered luma, chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples by applying SAO and CCSAO to the deblocked filtered luma, chroma Cb, and chroma Cr reconstructed samples); and
transmitting the bitstream for the image information (e.g. Fig. 1, element 16, and par. 50: describing that the bitstream is transmitted),
wherein the modified luma sample is derived by only applying the SAO filtering among the SAO filtering and the CC-SAO filtering to a luma sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and par. 104: depicting and describing that the filtered luma sample is generated by applying SAO filtering to the reconstructed and deblocking filtered luma sample),
wherein the modified chroma samples are derived based on applying the SAO filtering to chroma samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied, and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the chroma samples based on the chroma samples, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied, and a luma sample, to which SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A – 6D and 11, and pars. 104 and 132: depicting and describing that the filtered chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples are generated based on SAO filtering to the deblocking filtered reconstructed chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples, CCSAO filtering to the chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples, and on reconstructed luma samples, wherein the reconstructed luma samples have at least SAO filtering applied [see, e.g. Fig. 6C and pars. 104 - 107: depicting and describing that filtered chroma Cb and chroma Cr samples are based on SAO filtered reconstructed luma samples]),
wherein the chroma samples include a cb sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied and a cr sample, to which the deblocking filtering has been applied (e.g. Figs. 6A and 11: depicting that the chroma samples include a cb sample to which deblocking filtering has been applied [DBF Cb] and a Cr sample to which deblocking filtering has been applied [DBF Cr]);
wherein the modified chroma samples include a modified Cb sample and a modified Cr sample (e.g. Figs. 6A and 11: depicting that the modified chroma samples include a modified Cb sample and a modified Cr sample).
Kuo does not explicitly teach:
wherein the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied; and
wherein the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied.
Kuo 2, however, teaches an image encoding method and an image decoding method:
wherein the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Fig. 6B and par. 116: depicting and describing that the modified Cb sample is derived based applying SAO filtering to the Cb sample [SAO Cb] and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample and the luma sample, the luma sample having SAO filtering applied [see, e.g. par. 116: describing that CC-SAO filtering depicting in Fig. 6B can be cascaded after SAO filtering of luma samples, one such example being depicted in Fig. 6G]); and
wherein the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample to which SAO filtering has been applied (e.g. Fig. 6B and par. 116: depicting and describing that the modified Cr sample is derived based applying SAO filtering to the Cr sample [SAO Cr] and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample and the luma sample, the luma sample having SAO filtering applied [see, e.g. par. 116: describing that CC-SAO filtering depicting in Fig. 6B can be cascaded after SAO filtering of luma samples, one such example being depicted in Fig. 6G]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kuo by adding the teachings of Kuo 2 in order for the modified Cb sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cb sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cb sample based on the Cb sample, the Cr sample, and the luma sample and the modified Cr sample is derived based on applying the SAO filtering to the Cr sample and applying the CC-SAO filtering to the Cr sample based on the Cr sample, the Cb sample, and the luma sample. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency by exploring cross-component relationship between the luma component and the chroma component (Kuo 2, e.g. par. 8: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of both luma and chroma components by exploring cross-component relationship between luma and chroma components).
Conclusion
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487