DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-14,16-19, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200351950) in view of Jeon (US 20190254074).
Re claim 1:
Liu discloses a resource indication method, performed by a network side device, comprising (Fig.2A ref. S201 Receive SUL configuration information):
sending first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a transmission resource list or a carrier list, each of one or more transmission resources in the transmission resource list is a single carrier supporting an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission, or is a carrier combination consisting of a carrier supporting the uplink transmission and a carrier supporting the downlink transmission; and one carrier in the carrier list constitutes a transmission resource independently or more than one carrier in the carrier list constitute a transmission resource (Fig.2A ref. S201 Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection thresholds that are corresponding to a first SSB and Para.[0195] the SUL configuration information may include…frequency channel number information of a carrier (or a downlink resource) on which the downlink reference signal is located and Para.[0144] the terminal device receives configuration information of an uplink resource sent by the network device. The configuration information of the uplink resource may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: frequency-domain information of the uplink resource and common configuration information of the uplink resource and Fig.1 shows uplink and downlink on multiple carriers); and
sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a signal quality threshold corresponding to the transmission resource in the transmission resource list, or the second indication information is used to indicate a signal quality threshold corresponding to a first carrier supporting the uplink transmission in the carrier list (Fig.2A ref. S201 Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection thresholds that are corresponding to a first SSB and Para.[0011] if the downlink measurement value of the first SSB is greater than or equal to the one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the first SSB, the carrier resource used for random access includes the non-SUL resource; or if the downlink measurement value of the first SSB is less than the one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the first SSB, the carrier resource used for random access includes the one first SUL resource corresponding to the first SSB).
As shown above, Liu discloses indication information having multiple carriers. Liu does not a carrier list.
Jeon discloses a carrier list (Para.[0185] The list may comprise RACH configurations respectively associated with a plurality of SUL carriers (e.g., a RACH configuration associated with a first SUL carrier, a RACH configuration associated with a second SUL carrier, etc.)).
Liu and Jeon are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include a carrier list as taught by Jeon in order to increase the likelihood of a successful random access procedure (Jeon Para.[0004]).
Re claim 2:
Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resource indication method is used in a random-access procedure (Para.[0005] Embodiments of this application provide a random access method and an apparatus, so as to select an appropriate resource from a non-SUI, resource and at least one SUL resource to perform random access).
Re claim 3:
As discussed above, Liu in view of Jeon meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Liu does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein, in a case that the first indication information is used to indicate the carrier list, the first carrier and a second carrier constitute the transmission resource by default, wherein the second carrier is, in the carrier list, a carrier with a lowest frequency among one or more carriers each having a frequency higher than or equal to a frequency of the first carrier and supporting the downlink transmission.
Jeon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in a case that the first indication information is used to indicate the carrier list, the first carrier and a second carrier constitute the transmission resource by default, wherein the second carrier is, in the carrier list, a carrier with a lowest frequency among one or more carriers each having a frequency higher than or equal to a frequency of the first carrier and supporting the downlink transmission (Para.[0167] A base station may assign at least one (e.g., default) NUL carrier, of a cell, that corresponds to a DL carrier of the cell, for example, in an FDD configuration. An SUL carrier corresponding to the DL carrier may or may not be configured for the cell. The SUL carrier may be configured for one or more wireless devices located within the coverage of the SUL carrier and Para.[0123] A wireless device may expect that a center frequency for a DL BWP may be same as a center frequency for a UL BWP and Para.[0173] A base station may configure a non-SUL and a DL over a first frequency (e.g., a high frequency, for example, greater than 6 GHz). An SUL may be configured over a second frequency (e.g., a low frequency, for example, less than 6 GHz) to support an uplink transmission (e.g., in terms of coverage and/or capacity) of the cell and to supplement the configured non-SUL – Examiner Note Liu shows a lowest frequency in Fig.2C and 2D).
Liu and Jeon are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include a carrier list and default carriers as taught by Jeon in order to increase the likelihood of a successful random access procedure (Jeon Para.[0004]).
Re claim 4:
Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selection criteria corresponding to different transmission resources are different, or selection criteria corresponding to at least two transmission resources are same (Para.[0020] determining, based on the downlink measurement value of the first SSB and an SUL selection threshold corresponding to the third SUL resource, the carrier resource used for random access, where the carrier resource includes the third SUL resource and Para.[0056] n SUL selection threshold corresponding to a fourth SUL resource and is greater than or equal to a selection threshold corresponding to a fifth SUL resource).
Re claim 5:
Liu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein in a case that the selection criteria corresponding to the at least two transmission resources are the same, different priorities are configured for the transmission resources corresponding to the same selection criteria (Para.[0015] if the downlink measurement value of the first SSB is less than the one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the first SSB, determining, based on access priority information, that the carrier resource used for random access includes a second SUL resource in the N1 first SUL resources, where Para. [0016] the access priority information is used to indicate an access priority order of the N1 first SUL resources, and an access priority of the second SUL resource is higher than a priority of a first SUL resource of the N1 first SUL resources other than the second SUL resource.).
Re claim 7:
Liu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring one or more carriers in the transmission resource list or the carrier list, wherein at least one of the uplink transmission or the downlink transmission is configured for each carrier (Para.[0195] the SUL configuration information may include…frequency channel number information of a carrier (or a downlink resource) on which the downlink reference signal is located and Fig.1 shows uplink and downlink on multiple carriers and Para.[0144] the terminal device receives configuration information of an uplink resource sent by the network device. The configuration information of the uplink resource may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: frequency-domain information of the uplink resource and common configuration information of the uplink resource).
Re claim 8:
Liu discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the configuring comprises at one of: configuring a period of a frame structure; configuring an allocation of an uplink transmission slot of the carrier; or configuring an allocation of a downlink transmission slot of the carrier (Para.[0144] The frequency-domain information of the uplink resource may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: frequency channel number information of an uplink carrier and offset information of an uplink subcarrier. The common configuration information of the uplink resource may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: random access channel (RACH) configuration information, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration information, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information, sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information, and power control configuration information. The RACFI configuration information may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: a time-domain (a subframe, a slot, a symbol, a period, and/or the like) resource, a frequency-domain (resource block information, whether frequency hopping is performed, and/or the like) resource).
Re claim 9:
Liu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate a correspondence between synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel signal block (S SB) indexes of carriers in the transmission resource list (Para.[0195] In a possible implementation, the SUL configuration information may include an identifier of the first SSB and an identifier of the at least one first SUL resource corresponding. to the first SSB. Optionally, the identifier may be index information, or may be other indication information that may be used to uniquely indicate an SSB and/or the first SUL resource and Para.[0213] If the SUL configuration information includes identifiers of a plurality of SUL resources, and an index of one SSB corresponding to the plurality of SUL resources).
Re claim 10:
Liu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending fourth indication information, wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate cell identity (ID) information of a carrier in the transmission resource list or the carrier list (Para.[0171] PCID information of a carrier on which the downlink reference signal is located and Para.[0159] physical cell identity (PCID)).
Re claim 11: Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the terminal device.
Re claim 12: Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7 from the perspective of the terminal device.
Re claim 17:
Liu discloses the method of claim 16, selecting the target transmission resource from the one or more transmission resources based on the signal quality threshold for the random-access related data transmission comprises: in a case that a second carrier selected by the terminal for random-access is different from the first carrier receiving a system message, determining, based on the SSB index selected on the first carrier and the correspondence between the SSB indexes of the first carrier and the second carrier, an SSB index of the second carrier corresponding to an SSB index of the first carrier, and performing the random-access based on a random-access resource determined according to the SSB index of the second carrier (Para.[0197] If the first SSB is corresponding to indexes of a plurality of first SUL resources, optionally, the SUL configuration information may further include at least one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the first SSB. For example, if the SUL configuration information includes one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the first SSB, it indicates that a plurality of first SUL resources corresponding to the first SSB share one SUL selection threshold. If the SUL configuration information includes a plurality of SUL selection thresholds corresponding to the first SSB, the at least one first SUL resource corresponding to the plurality of SUL selection thresholds needs to be indicated, or one SUL selection threshold corresponding to the plurality of the first SUL resources is indicated. If SUL selection thresholds corresponding to the at least one first SUL resource are different, one first SUL resource is corresponding to one SUL selection threshold; or if SUL selection thresholds corresponding to the plurality of the first SUL resources are the same, the plurality of first SUL resources share one SUL selection threshold).
Re claim 18: Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10 from the perspective of the terminal device.
Re claim 19:
Liu discloses the method of claim 18, wherein indicating the cell ID information of the carrier in the transmission resource list or the carrier list comprises: indicating a cell ID corresponding to a carrier co-sited or sharing a system message with acarrier receiving the system message (Para.[0171] PCID information of a carrier on which the downlink reference signal is located and Para.[0159] physical cell identity (PCID) and Fig.1A shows carrier co-sited).
Re claim 25: Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11. Liu further discloses a processor and memory configured to store a computer program executable by the processor (Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Jeon as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of MolavianJazi (US 20190313348).
Re claim 6:
As discussed above, Liu in view of Jeon meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Liu does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein a priority is related to a service type.
MolavianJazi discloses the method of claim 5, wherein a priority is related to a service type (Para.[0118] In certain embodiments, the active UL BWP that corresponds to higher numerology (e.g., larger subcarrier spacing) has higher priority. In certain embodiments, the active UL BWP that corresponds to a higher-priority service/traffic type (e.g., URLLC) has higher priority over the active UL BWP that corresponds to a lower-priority service/traffic type (e.g., eMBB)).
Liu and MolavianJazi are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include priority related to service type as taught by MolavianJazi in order to improve transmit power accuracy (MolavianJazi Para.[0102]).
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu (US 20200229180) shows SUL configuration and SUL thresholds.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471