Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4, 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/11/25.
Claim Objections
Claim8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 improperly depends from canceled claim 7 . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weymouth (US 2009/0026640) in view of Naito (US 2009/0191391 A1) in view of Guillot (EP 3640712 A1).
Weymouth teaches a method for coating ophthalmic lenses (abstract) wherein the process includes dipping the lens into a coating fluid, withdrawing the lens from the coating fluid, inspecting the lens, and adjusting the timing in response to the defects found by the inspection system (Fig. 2). The inspecting step includes inspecting the thickness of the coating and the adjustment includes adjusting the withdrawal speed [0074-0076]. The purpose of the process is to include a feedback system for analyzing finished lenses and using that information to make modifications applied to in-process lenses [0010; 0021].
Weymouth does not specify how the coating thickness is inspected and measured.
However, Naito teaches a method for coating a lens substrate where the film thickness is measured by reflectance using a reflection spectral film thickness meter, such as an FE-3000 (see attached NPL document). This is a non-contact optical measurement method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the measurement method disclosed by Naito as for inspecting the lens coating thickness because Naito establishes it is suitable for this express purpose.
Weymouth does not teach the optical lenses are at least partially covered with lenslets, although is open to features on the surface of the lens [0034].
However, Guillot teaches a substantially similar process wherein the lens is at least partially covered with lenslets 8 (Fig. 1, 2, 7) and then dip-coated [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Weymouth on the lens of Guillot. Weymouth is open to features on the surface of the lens and Guillot teaches those features include lenslets.
Claim 3:
Weymouth teaches the lens is dried, cured, and then inspected [0055-0056]. Weymouth also teaches tracking (i.e., inspecting) the lenses as they are processed through the system [0079], which would include between drying and curing. Lastly, Weymouth teaches the problem associated with waiting until after curing to inspect the finished lens [0004]. An obvious solution to this problem would be to inspect the lens earlier during the process, such as after drying and before curing.
Claim 6:
Weymouth teaches continuous adjustment of viscosity [0074].
Claim 8:
Weymouth teaches an example where the difference between measured thickness and desired thickness triggers adjustment [0074-0075]. This does depend on the fluidic properties of the coating (Id.) and the mechanical and physical properties of the lens [0034].
Claim 9:
Weymouth does teach a non-preferred embodiment where the withdrawal speed is kept constant [0075].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of co-filed claim amendments regarding non-contact optical measurement. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search.
The examiner disagrees that Weymouth does not teach adjusted withdrawal speed based on an empirical function of a difference between the measured thickness and a desired thickness. Rather, this is precisely what Weymouth seeks to accomplish through control of withdrawal speed [0072] based on identifying defects, such as thickness defects, that may fall outside an acceptable range [0074]. In this example, there is a measured thickness, a desired nominal thickness represented by the acceptable range, and an empirical function for correction when the difference between the two exceeds the acceptable range.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759