Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4, 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/11/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weymouth (US 2009/0026640) in view of Guillot (EP 3640712 A1).
Weymouth teaches a method for coating ophthalmic lenses (abstract) wherein the process includes dipping the lens into a coating fluid, withdrawing the lens from the coating fluid, inspecting the lens, and adjusting the timing in response to the defects found by the inspection system (Fig. 2). The inspecting step includes inspecting the thickness of the coating and the adjustment includes adjusting the withdrawal speed [0074-0076]. The purpose of the process is to include a feedback system for analyzing finished lenses and using that information to make modifications applied to in-process lenses [0010; 0021].
Weymouth does not teach the optical lenses are at least partially covered with lenslets, although is open to features on the surface of the lens [0034].
However, Guillot teaches a substantially similar process wherein the lens is at least partially covered with lenslets 8 (Fig. 1, 2, 7) and then dip-coated [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Weymouth on the lens of Guillot. Weymouth is open to features on the surface of the lens and Guillot teaches those features include lenslets.
Claim 3:
Weymouth teaches the lens is dried, cured, and then inspected [0055-0056]. Weymouth also teaches tracking (i.e., inspecting) the lenses as they are processed through the system [0079], which would include between drying and curing. Lastly, Weymouth teaches the problem associated with waiting until after curing to inspect the finished lens [0004]. An obvious solution to this problem would be to inspect the lens earlier during the process, such as after drying and before curing.
Claim 5:
Inspection of an optical product, such as a lens, is assumed to include a non-contact optical method. Guillot specifies measuring optical power for example [0072].
Claim 6:
Weymouth teaches continuous adjustment of viscosity [0074].
Claims 7-8:
Weymouth teaches an example where the difference between measured thickness and desired thickness triggers adjustment [0074-0075]. This does depend on the fluidic properties of the coating (Id.) and the mechanical and physical properties of the lens [0034].
Claim 9:
Weymouth does teach a non-preferred embodiment where the withdrawal speed is kept constant [0075].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the process Weymouth does not measure/inspect the thickness of the coating. The examiner disagrees. Weymouth makes it clear that defects include the issue of increasingly thick protective coating [0074], the detection of which is used for correction to keep the thickness within an acceptable range (Id.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759