DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the communication filed on 12/11/2023 and the preliminary amendment filed on the same date, in which Claims 1-20 are canceled. New claims 21-35 are added, wherein claims 21, 29 are recited in independent form. The present Application claims Priority to provisional applications 63/210,224 with a filing date of 06/14/2021 and 63/297,890 with a filing date of 01/10/2022 and is a 371 of PCT/US2022/033343 with a filing date of 06/14/2022.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “at least one of following” “or” would incorporate only a single option from the list of options which follow. At least one of following under the broadest reasonable interpretation would include only one of the plurality of options and any dependent claims which further modify an option not part of a broadest reasonable interpretation would also not be part of a broadest reasonable interpretation which incorporates a different option.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US-20200059863 to Ji et al (hereinafter d1) in view of United States Patent Application Publication US-20170332327 to Fang et al (hereinafter d2) in view of United States Patent Application Publication US-20220070766 to Haque et al (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 21, as to the limitations “A method, implemented by a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU), comprising:” d1 discloses techniques in relation to wireless communication (see d1 para. 0003) implemented as a device and a device executing a method (see d1 para. 0004)
as to the limitation “receiving configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receiving, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; decoding information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activating the second receiver; receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiating a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure” d1 discloses receiving first configuration information associated with transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU wherein it is disclosed that the channel used by the WUR is configured according to received information (see d1 para. 0053-0055); d1 also discloses receiving second configuration information associated with transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU wherein it is disclosed that the WUR beacon frame may include an indication for the operating channel of the WLAN device 210 (see d1 para. 0067) (i.e. the channel used for the primary radio is configured); d1 also discloses receiving, via the first receiver and using the first configuration information, first transmissions specific to the first receiver (see d1 Fig. 2) (i.e. reception of the WUR frame by the WUR); decoding information comprised in the first transmissions, activating the second receiver, and receiving, via the second receiver, a second transmission according to scheduling information comprised in the decoded information d1 discloses reception which suggests decoding the information to one of ordinary skill in the art of wireless communication (see d1 Fig. 2)(i.e. based on the timing of the reception of the WUR, the primary radio is activated); and on condition of detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the received second transmission, initiating a connection establishment or connection resume procedure d1 discloses that the wake-up frame includes an identifier of a to-be-woken-up terminal device (see d1 para. 0072) wherein after being woken up, the primary radio frequency circuit operates on an operating channel available to the primary radio frequency circuit (see d1 Fig. 2, para. 0077-0078) (i.e. the connection is activated).
D1 may not explicitly disclose decoding , the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitations and, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be interpreted as meeting the limitation. In the event that it is determined that d1 does not explicitly disclose any limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d2 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including decoding information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activating the second receiver (see d2 para. 0009, 0031, 0047, 0060, 0069) as well as receiving configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receiving, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; activating the second receiver; receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiating a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure (see d2 Figs. 7-9).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
When considering that D2, one may determine that d1 in view of d2 does not explicitly disclose a WTRU. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 does disclose that which is highlighted above, which is particularly relevant (although, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be met by the cited section). In the event that it is determined that d1 and/or d2 does not explicitly disclose a particular element or limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d3 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including wherein d3 discloses implementation with a WTRU (see d3 para. 0035) including receiving configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receiving, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; decoding information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activating the second receiver; receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiating a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure (see d3 Figs. 1B, 10, 14-19).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 22, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the first receiver has a first power consumption profile, wherein the second receiver has a second power consumption profile, and wherein the second power consumption profile is different from the first power consumption profile” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious in the disclosure of profiles (see d3 para. 0105-0107).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 23, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the one or more first transmissions are according to a first waveform modulation scheme configured for the first receiver, wherein the one or more second transmissions are according to a second waveform modulation scheme configured for the second receiver, and the method further comprising powering the first receiver using energy harvested from the one or more first transmissions” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious use of known modulation schemes (see d1 para. 0100).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 24, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 23, wherein the first waveform modulation scheme is according to any of: an on-off keying modulation scheme; and a frequency-shift keying modulation scheme” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious use of known modulation schemes (see d1 para. 0100; d2 para. 0072).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 25, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the information in the one or more first transmissions is first information, wherein the one or more first transmissions comprise a low- power wake-up signal and second information associated with a low-power physical downlink control channel, wherein the second information comprises the scheduling information, wherein receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions comprises receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions according to the scheduling information, and wherein the one or more second transmissions comprise third information associated with a physical downlink shared channel information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious low power wakeup signals (see d1 Fig. 2) and second transmissions comprise third information associated with a physical downlink shared channel information (see d1 para. 0056).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 26, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the first receiver is an ultra-low power receiver, and wherein the second receiver is a Uu receiver” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious a Uu receiver (see d3 para. 0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 27, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the first receiver is configured to be powered using energy harvested from the one or more first transmissions, and wherein the second receiver is configured to be powered by a power supply associated with the WTRU” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious using energy harvesting power supply (see d3 para. 0089, 0091) and other power supply (see d3 para. 0089)
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 28, as to the limitations “The method according to claim 21, wherein the WTRU is in an idle or in an inactive state when the second receiver is not activated” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious using an idle or inactive state (see d3 para. 0092-0093)
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 29, as to the limitations “A wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU), comprising at least one processor configured to:” d1 discloses techniques in relation to wireless communication (see d1 para. 0003) implemented as a device including a processor (see d1 para. 0053) and a device executing a method (see d1 para. 0004)
as to the limitation “receive configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receive, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; decode information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activate the second receiver; receive, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detect an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiate a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure” d1 discloses receiving first configuration information associated with transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU wherein it is disclosed that the channel used by the WUR is configured according to received information (see d1 para. 0053-0055); d1 also discloses receiving second configuration information associated with transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU wherein it is disclosed that the WUR beacon frame may include an indication for the operating channel of the WLAN device 210 (see d1 para. 0067) (i.e. the channel used for the primary radio is configured); d1 also discloses receiving, via the first receiver and using the first configuration information, first transmissions specific to the first receiver (see d1 Fig. 2) (i.e. reception of the WUR frame by the WUR); decoding information comprised in the first transmissions, activating the second receiver, and receiving, via the second receiver, a second transmission according to scheduling information comprised in the decoded information d1 discloses reception which suggests decoding the information to one of ordinary skill in the art of wireless communication (see d1 Fig. 2)(i.e. based on the timing of the reception of the WUR, the primary radio is activated); and on condition of detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the received second transmission, initiating a connection establishment or connection resume procedure d1 discloses that the wake-up frame includes an identifier of a to-be-woken-up terminal device (see d1 para. 0072) wherein after being woken up, the primary radio frequency circuit operates on an operating channel available to the primary radio frequency circuit (see d1 Fig. 2, para. 0077-0078) (i.e. the connection is activated).
D1 may not explicitly disclose decoding , the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitations and, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be interpreted as meeting the limitation. In the event that it is determined that d1 does not explicitly disclose any limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d2 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including decoding information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activating the second receiver (see d2 para. 0009, 0031, 0047, 0060, 0069) as well as receiving configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receiving, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; activating the second receiver; receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiating a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure (see d2 Figs. 7-9).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
When considering that D2, one may determine that d1 in view of d2 does not explicitly disclose a WTRU. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 does disclose that which is highlighted above, which is particularly relevant (although, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be met by the cited section). In the event that it is determined that d1 and/or d2 does not explicitly disclose a particular element or limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d3 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including wherein d3 discloses implementation with a WTRU (see d3 para. 0035) including receiving configuration information associated with one or more first transmissions specific to a first receiver in the WTRU and associated with one or more second transmissions specific to a second receiver in the WTRU; receiving, via the first receiver and using the configuration information, the one or more first transmissions; decoding information in the one or more first transmissions, the information comprising scheduling information; activating the second receiver; receiving, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions, comprising a third transmission according to the scheduling information; detecting an identifier of the WTRU in the third transmission; and initiating a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure (see d3 Figs. 1B, 10, 14-19).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 30, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 29, wherein the first receiver has a first power consumption profile, wherein the second receiver has a second power consumption profile, and wherein the second power consumption profile is different from the first power consumption profile” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious in the disclosure of profiles (see d3 para. 0105-0107).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 31, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 29, wherein the one or more first transmissions are according to a first waveform modulation scheme configured for the first receiver, wherein the one or more second transmissions are according to a second waveform modulation scheme configured for the second receiver, and wherein the WTRU is configured to power the first receiver using energy harvested from the one or more first transmissions” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious use of known modulation schemes (see d1 para. 0100).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 32, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 31, wherein the first waveform modulation scheme is according to any of: an on-off keying modulation scheme; and a frequency-shift keying modulation scheme” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious use of known modulation schemes (see d1 para. 0100; d2 para. 0072).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 33, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 29, wherein the information in the one or more first transmissions is first information, wherein the one or more first transmissions comprise a low- power wake-up signal and second information associated with a low-power
physical downlink control channel, wherein the second information comprises the scheduling information, wherein at least one processor being configured to receive, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions comprises the at least one processor being configured to receive, via the second receiver, the one or more second transmissions according to the scheduling information, and wherein the one or more second transmissions comprise third information associated with a physical downlink shared channel information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious low power wakeup signals (see d1 Fig. 2) and second transmissions comprise third information associated with a physical downlink shared channel information (see d1 para. 0056).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 34, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 29, wherein the first receiver is configured as an ultra- low power receiver, and the second receiver is configured as a Uu receiver” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious a Uu receiver (see d3 para. 0102).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 35, as to the limitations “The WTRU according to claim 29, wherein the first receiver is configured to be powered using energy harvested from the one or more first transmissions, and wherein the second receiver is configured to be powered by a power supply associated with the WTRU” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 renders obvious using energy harvesting power supply (see d3 para. 0089, 0091) and other power supply (see d3 para. 0089)
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including decreased power consumption (see d3 para. 0003). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of improved power consumption (see d3 para. 0003) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the disclosed teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including achieve improved power consumption in mobile devices (see d2 para. 0005). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques (power saving). D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (power saving in mobile devices) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of better power usage (see d2 para. 0005) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643