Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 5,504,055). Hsu discloses a metal amino acid chelate and method for making it, comprising blending a metal salt, an amino acid and an organic hydroxy acid in chelated water. (See the Abstract and col. 1, lines 56-64.) Hsu discloses in col. 2, lines 46-53 that the metal may be iron, magnesium or copper, and in the paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3 that the amino acid may include aspartic acid and glutamic acid. Hsu further discloses in col. 3, lines 4-13 that the pH may be adjusted with sodium hydroxide or ammonium hydroxide. Accordingly the chelate of Hsu would include sodium hydroxide or ammonium hydroxide. Hsu also teaches in col. 2, lines 19-33 that the two amino acids can be combined in a ratio of 1:1, and in col. 2, lines 34-37 that the mole ratio of metal ion to acid is about 1:2. Hsu further discloses in the paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3 that mixtures of a list of preferred amino acids, which list includes glutamic acid and aspartic acid, can be used. The difference between the chelate disclosed by Hsu, and that recited in claims 10-21, is that Hsu does not disclose the specific combination od aspartic acid and glutamic acid in the chelate. It would have been obvious to include aspartic acid and glutamic acid as the amino acids in the chelate of Hsu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Hsu teaches in the paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3 that mixtures of the amino acids can be used, and that glutamic acid and aspartic acid are preferred amino acids.
Regarding claims 11, 12, 14, 15 and 17-21, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine suitable amounts of the various components in the chelate of Hsu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that Hsu names glutamic acid and aspartic acid individually among its preferred amino acids, but Hsu’s process is directed throughout to combining one amino acid with one organic hydroxy acid, is not convincing, since Hsu discloses in the sentence bridging columns 2 and 3 that mixtures of amino acids recited in a list of amino acids. . Applicant’s argument, which includes aspartic acid and glutamic acid, can be used. Applicant’s argument, that Hsu’s proceed is directed throughout to combining one amino acid with one organic hydroxy acid, is not convincing, since applicant’s claims do not exclude the organic hydroxy acid. Applicant’s argument, that the Office Action supplies no reason why the skilled person would replace Hsu’s organic hydroxy acid with a second, specifically selected amino acid, is not convincing, since applicant’s claims do not exclude the organic, hydroxy acid, and suggests mixtures of glutamic and aspartic acid in the sentence bridging columns 2 and 3. Applicant’s argument, that the specification reports that the claimed glutamate-aspartate chelates were in fact obtained at 1;1;1 for each of the recites metals and are stable across the broad pH ranges reported for Chelate B in Table 1, is not convincing, since one would have expected from the sentence bridging columns 2 and 3 of Hsu that glutamate-aspartate chelates could be formed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claims 22-24 are objected to in referring to a rejected claim.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736