Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ester oxygen atoms" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the molar ratio" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sum of diol building blocks and polyol building blocks" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the polyol component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the molar ratio of carboxyl groups…" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the sum of hydroxyl groups of diol…" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the molar ratio of hydroxyl groups of diol(s)…" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP-604814 to Wamprecht et al. (CA-2111927 will be used for citations) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,021,554 to Padget et al.
As to claims 1-2 and 4-8, Wamprecht discloses a polyester polyol comprising building blocks of diols, dicarboxylic acids, and triols. Wamprecht further discloses reaction of the double bonds with primary amine components resulting in side chain groups derived from the primary amine:
Wamprecht discloses a polyol component comprising 4.00 mol of hexane-1,6-diol, 1.00 mol of trimethylolpropane, 0.52 mol of adipic acid, 0.52 mol of maleic anhydride (or fumaric acid, Pg. 4, ll. 17), 2.48 mol of isophthalic acid, 0.48 mol of phthalic anhydride (Polyester B, example 2). The molar ratio of dicarboxylic acid groups to the sum of diol and polyol building blocks is 4:5. Wamprecht discloses reacting the polyester polyol intermediate with the primary amine component (Pg. 16, ll.1-11). Wamprecht does not teach the claimed alkylene oxide containing monoamine.
However, within the same field of endeavor Padget discloses unsaturated polyester polyol intermediates comprising neopentyl glycol, itaconic acid and adipic acid building blocks wherein the intermediates are reacted with oxyalkylene oxide containing monoamines comprising at least 40% of oxyethylene residues wherein the oxyalkylene oxide chains are attached as a side chain of the intermediate (3:3-62. 5:1-4, 6:33-40, 7:15-53).
Padget discloses a monoamine represented by the following:
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the monoamine component of Wamprecht with the monoamine of Padget to provide non-ionic stabilization and prepare polyesters with good colloid stability (Abstract).
As to claim 3, Wamprecht discloses a polyester polyol with a number average molecular weight of 286 to 10,000 and comprising at least 2 structural units corresponding to the formula:
As to claims 9-11, Wamprecht and Padget disclose a processes for preparing the polyester comprising reacting 4.00 mol of hexane-1,6-diol, 1.00 mol of trimethylolpropane, 0.52 mol of adipic acid, 0.52 mol of maleic anhydride (“activated maleic acid or fumaric acid, Pg. 4, ll. 17), 2.48 mol of isophthalic acid, 0.48 mol of phthalic anhydride (Polyester B, example 2) at a molar ratio dicarboxylic acid groups to the sum of diol and polyol building blocks of 4:5, followed by reacting with the monoamine Pg. 14,ll. 11-Pg. 16, ll. 11).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,846,599 to Haberecht et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,021,554 to Padget et al.
As to claims 12-14, Haberecht discloses a laundry detergent comprising branched polyesters derived from at least maleic anhydride (activated maleic acid) and trimethylolpropane having a Mn of 1890 (Example 1, 25:1-46), wherein the laundry detergent is in liquid form or gel form (8:19-29) and comprise anionic surfactants such as alkyl benzene sulfonates (9:21-30) and sulfonated fatty alcohols (11:49-64).
Haberecht does not teach modifying the polyester with the claimed alkylene oxide containing monoamine.
However, within the same field of endeavor Padget discloses unsaturated polyester polyol intermediates comprising neopentyl glycol, itaconic acid and adipic acid building blocks wherein the intermediates are reacted with oxyalkylene oxide containing monoamines comprising at least 40% of oxyethylene residues wherein the oxyalkylene oxide chains are attached as a side chain of the intermediate (3:3-62. 5:1-4, 6:33-40, 7:15-53).
Padget discloses a monoamine represented by the following:
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to react the polyester polyol unsaturated groups with the monoamine component of Padget to provide non-ionic stabilization and prepare polyesters with good colloid stability (Abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,846,599 to Haberecht et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,021,554 to Padget et al. that has been explained above and is applied here as such in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0125610 to Tuerk et al.
As to claim 16, Haberecht discloses a laundry detergent comprising branched polyesters derived from at least maleic anhydride (activated maleic acid) and trimethylolpropane having a Mn of 1890 (Example 1, 25:1-46), wherein the laundry detergent is in liquid form or gel form (8:19-29) and comprise anionic surfactants such as alkyl benzene sulfonates (9:21-30) and sulfonated fatty alcohols (11:49-64).
Haberecht does not teach the addition of 2-phenoxyethanol to the laundry detergent.
However, Tuerk discloses laundry detergent formulations comprising 0.01 to 5 wt% of 2-phenoxyethanol (0213).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to add 2-phenoxyethanol taught in Tuerk to the laundry detergent composition of Haberecht to improve the preservation of the aqueous solution of the final product (0135).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763