DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1, 3, and 5-8) in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 11, the term “the direction” should be amended to “the vertical direction”.
In line 13, the term “a QR code” should be amended to “the QR code”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because the specification, while being enabling for certain embodiments, does not reasonably provide enablement for the full claimed scope. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to arrive at the invention in a manner commensurate in scope with the claims.
Upon review of the disclosure in its entirety, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be enabled to make the full scope of the invention as claimed without undue experimentation.
Case law holds that applicant's specification must be "commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]" Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant's invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all embodiments within the scope of the claim can be made and/or used as claimed and whether the claim meets the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988).
Claim 1 recites a QR code readability property without any limitation on the composition of the antifog film but the specification provides enabling disclosure for achieving such a property with a coating having certain types of polymers/materials in certain ranges of amounts. Claim 1 thus encompasses a scope that constitutes an undue amount of experimentation (in terms of the type and amount of ingredients in the antifog film) that would be required to determine which types and amounts of ingredients, from amongst the broad recitation in the claims, is able to achieve the claimed QR code property. If the scope of claim 1 was amended to recite a Markush group of each of the silane coupling agent(s), the water absorbing polymer, the polyether siloxane and the diol, as well as recite a range of amounts for each of the above respective ingredients, this rejection would be overcome.
Upon applying the Wands factors to claim 1, undue experimentation would be required:
(A) The breadth of the claims. The claims are broad in terms of the type and amount of ingredients in the antifog coating relative to the much narrower guidance provided in the specification.
(B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; and (D) The level of one of ordinary skill. The property as claimed would not be readily arrived at by one having ordinary skill in the art without significant guidance.
(E) The level of predictability in the art. To discover the full scope of the claimed invention with the limited guidance provided in the specification would require testing various types and amounts of ingredients in the antifog coating without any clear or apparent predictability.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and (G) The existence of working examples. The disclosure in the specification is sufficient for certain types and amounts of polymers/materials in the antifog coating, without any corresponding direction provided for achieving the claimed property with the broader scope as claimed.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Based on the broadly claimed scope compared to the limited guidance in the specification and the apparent lack of predictability, the quantity of experimentation would be unreasonable.
Claims 3 and 5-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1and fail to resolve the above enablement issues.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/568,507. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope with the claims of US ‘507. Specifically, the present claims contain a resin substrate whereas the claims of US ‘507 are directed to a transparent base substrate. However, as set forth in US ‘507, the scope of the transparent base includes resin substrates [0016].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oya et al. (US Pub 2019/0283549).
Oya discloses laminate (Figure 9B) comprising a resin substrate ([0191], ref #42) and an antifog film ([0191], ref #43) on a surface of the resin substrate. Oya further discloses that an adhesive sticky layer, such as an acrylic or silicone adhesive can be formed on a surface on the opposite side of the resin substrate ([0190], ref #41).
Oya does not disclose the claimed QR code readability property. However, Oya discloses an antifog film formed from a composition that is similar to the presently claimed composition. Specifically, Oya discloses that antifog film is formed from a composition comprising a water absorbent resin, such as polyvinyl acetal [0143], silane coupling agents, ethylene glycol, and surfactants, such as polyether modified siloxanes [0186]. Therefore, it would be reasonable to expect that the antifog film attached transparent article of Oya would exhibit the same or similar properties as the present invention, including anti-fog performance/transparency at prolonged exposure to water/exposure to high temperature water vapor. See MPEP 2112, which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). And, "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also, as set forth in MPEP 2112.III, where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is deemed to be Oya et al. (US ‘549). Oya does not disclose or suggest the claimed composition of claim 3 which comprises a silane coupling agent A having an amino group, a silicon atom, and a C1-C3 hydrocarbon group bonded to the amino group and the silicon atom and either a silane coupling agent B having an amino group, a silicon atom, and a C4+ hydrocarbon group bonded to the amino group and the silicon atom or a silane coupling agent C having a plurality of amino groups.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781