DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 & 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re: claim 2 & 9, “the flared portion together defining” should read “the flared sidewall together defining”. For purposes of examination, the examiner has made these changes in the office action.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839).
Re: claim 8, Kain teaches a removable holder (Fig. 3) for mounting, comprising: a mount (Fig. 3 - 22) having a rear portion (30), a bottom portion (33), and a ramp (32) formed in the rear portion, comprising: a back plate (40) having a front portion (Annotated Fig. 3 – front portion) and a rear portion (Annotated Fig. 3 – rear portion), a sidewall (Annotated Fig. 3 - sidewall), the sidewall and the front portion of the back plate together defining a receptacle (36); a projection (44, 70) extending outward from the rear portion of the back plate (40); a cantilever (72, 73) extending from the rear portion of the back plate (40), the cantilever (72, 73) having a securement projection catch (72), the securement projection catch being located at a distal portion of the cantilever (72, 73 – See Fig. 3), wherein, when the removable holder (Fig. 3) is mounted, the projection (44, 70) of the removable holder engages the ramp (32) of the mount (22), and the securement projection catch (72) of the cantilever (72, 73) engages the bottom portion (33) of the mount (22).
It is noted by the examiner that the interior of a work machine operator cab is considered to be part of the preamble of the claim.
Re: claim 10, Kain teaches wherein the sidewall (Annotated Fig. 3- sidewall) includes at least one stiffening projection (Annotated Fig. 6 - projection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabel et al. (Patent No. 10,814,791) in view of Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839).
Re: claim 1, Dabel et al. teaches a system for mounting a removeable holder (Fig. 2) an interior of a work machine operator cab (Fig. 1 - 10), comprising: an interior panel (Fig. 1 & 2) including: a panel face (Annotated Fig. 1 – panel face) configured to be exposed when the interior panel is mounted within the work machine operator cab (See Fig. 1); a first recess (Fig. 1 - 37) having a first recess face (Fig. 2 - 47), at least a portion of the first recess face being located further from the interior of the work machine operator cab than the panel face when the interior panel is mounted within the work machine operator cab (See Fig. 1); a second recess (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd recess) having a second recess face (42); at least a portion of the second recess face being located further from the interior of the work machine operator cab than the portion of the first recess face (See Fig. 1 – 2nd face is located deeper/further than the 1st recess) when the interior panel is mounted within the work machine operator cab (See Fig. 1); a mount (Fig. 6c - 130) being disposed within the second recess (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd recess); a removable holder (Fig. 8), including: a back plate (Annotated Fig. 9 – back plate) having a front portion (Annotated Fig. 8 – front portion) and a rear portion (Annotated Fig. 9 – back portion), a sidewall (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower sidewall, upper sidewall, flared sidewall), the sidewall and the front portion of the back plate together defining a receptacle (Fig. 8 – 114); a cantilever, the cantilever having a securement projection catch, the securement projection catch being located at a distal portion of the cantilever. Dabel et al. fails to teach a mount having a rear portion, a bottom portion, and a ramp formed in the rear portion; and an access relief located below the bottom portion of the mount and configured to permit manual access; and a removable holder, comprising: a projection extending outward from the rear portion of the back plate; a cantilever extending from the rear portion of the back plate, wherein, when the removable holder is mounted, the projection of the removable holder engages the ramp of the mount, and the securement projection catch of the cantilever engages the bottom portion of the mount.
However, Kain teaches a removable holder (Fig. 3), comprising: a mount (Fig. 3 - 22) having a rear portion (30), a bottom portion (33), and a ramp (32) formed in the rear portion; and an access relief (Annotated Fig. 1 – gap) located below the bottom portion (Fig. 3 - 33) of the mount (22) and configured to permit manual access; a removable holder (Fig. 3), including: a projection (44, 70) extending outward from the rear portion of the back plate (40); a cantilever (72, 73) extending from the rear portion of the back plate (40), the cantilever (72, 73) having a securement projection catch (72), the securement projection catch being located at a distal portion of the cantilever (72, 73 – See Fig. 3), wherein, when the removable holder (Fig. 3) is mounted, the projection (44, 70) of the removable holder engages the ramp (32) of the mount (22), and the securement projection catch (72) of the cantilever (72, 73) engages the bottom portion (33) of the mount (22).
Dabel et al. and Kain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Dabel et al.’s apparatus and cantilever with those of Kain’s mount and cantilever in order to provide the advantage of a system that has more positive engagement with the cabin, while also still being easily removed by a user.
Re: claim 2, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the sidewall (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower sidewall, upper sidewall, flared sidewall) includes a lower sidewall (lower sidewall), an upper sidewall (upper sidewall), and a flared sidewall (flared sidewall), the lower sidewall, the upper sidewall, and the flared [sidewall]
Re: claim 3, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the sidewall (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower sidewall, upper sidewall, flared sidewall) includes at least one stiffening projection (Fig. 8 - 116).
Re: claim 4, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the back plate (Fig. 13 – Area of 150) includes a plurality of ribs (152).
Re: claim 5, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the plurality of ribs (Fig. 13 - 152) are disposed on a rear side (See Fig. 13) of the back plate (Area of 150).
Claim(s) 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839) in view of Dabel et al. (Patent No. 10,814,791). Re: claim 9, Kain teaches a sidewall (Annotated Fig. 3 – sidewall).
However, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the sidewall (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower sidewall, upper sidewall, flared sidewall) includes a lower sidewall (lower sidewall), an upper sidewall (upper sidewall), and a flared sidewall (flared sidewall), the lower sidewall, the upper sidewall, and the flared [sidewall]
Kain and Dabel et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kain’s sidewall with those of Dabel et al.’s sidewall in order to provide the advantage of a system that can secure different sized and shaped objects in the receptacle.
Re: claim 11, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the back plate (Fig. 13 – Area of 150) includes a plurality of ribs (152).
Kain and Dabel et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kain’s holder with those of Dabel et al.’s ribs in order to provide the advantage of a reinforced system.
Re: claim 12, Dabel et al. teaches wherein the plurality of ribs (Fig. 13 - 152) are disposed on a rear side (See Fig. 13) of the back plate (Area of 150).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabel et al. (Patent No. 10,814,791) in view of Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839) in further view of Rogers (US 2020/0324681 A1).
Re: claim 6, Rogers teaches wherein the removable holder (Fig. 1 – 100) includes a drain opening (190).
Dabel et al., Kain, and Rogers are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Dabel et al.’s holder with those of Rogers’ drain in order to provide the advantage of being able to keep fluid from pooling in the receptacle and allowing for air to enter the bottom of the receptacle so that anything put into the receptacle is easier to remove.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabel et al. (Patent No. 10,814,791) in view of Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839) in further view of Selvasekar et al. (US 2019/0143903 A1).
Re: claim 7, Selvasekar et al. teaches wherein at least one of the mount (Fig. 1 - 22) and removable holder (32) comprise three-dimensionally printed material (Paragraph 0030 & claim 9).
Dabel et al., Kain, and Selvasekar et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kain’s mount and holder with those of Selvasekar et al.’s material in order to provide the advantage of a cost-productive system.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839) in view of Rogers (US 2020/0324681 A1).
Re: claim 13, Rogers teaches wherein the removable holder (Fig. 1 – 100) includes a drain opening (190).
Kain and Rogers are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kain’s holder with those of Rogers’ drain in order to provide the advantage of being able to keep fluid from pooling in the receptacle and allowing for air to enter the bottom of the receptacle so that anything put into the receptacle is easier to remove.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kain (Patent No. 6,467,839) in view of Selvasekar et al. (US 2019/0143903 A1).
Re: claim 7, Selvasekar et al. teaches wherein at least one of the mount (Fig. 1 - 22) and removable holder (32) comprise three-dimensionally printed material (Paragraph 0030 & claim 9).
Kain and Selvasekar et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of receptacle holders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kain’s mount and holder with those of Selvasekar et al.’s material in order to provide the advantage of a cost-productive system.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/PHILIP C ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612