DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 and 12/14/2023 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swoyer (US 2021/0069510, hereinafter Swoyer).
Regarding claim 1, Swoyer discloses a method comprising implanting a vagal nerve stimulation assembly 12/18 within a recipient adjacent to soft tissue inclusive of an auricular branch of a vagal nerve and electrically stimulating the auricular branch of the vagal nerve using the assembly (see figure 1 and par. 0012, 0037, 0087, 0089).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Swoyer discloses stimulating the entire auricular branch of the vagal nerve, which would inherently include the trunk and afferent branches.
Regarding claim 4, as seen in figures 1-4 and 6, the electrodes are circumferential electrodes that will have a portion that points towards a skull and a portion that points toward the auricular branch of a vagal nerve.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Swoyer discloses implanting multiple assemblies and applying signals between the assemblies (par. 0040, 0046 and 0071).
Regarding claim 8, Swoyer discloses delivering stimulation signals between an electrode and an external ground electrode (par. 0072).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Swoyer discloses choosing electrodes to deliver signals between the electrodes (par. 0071).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Swoyer discloses securing/fixating the lead to the tissue with a helical screw (par. 0070).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,563. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the current claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,854. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the current claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796