DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments filed 7/27/2026 with respect to the Double Patenting and 102 rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2010/0268313 and/or US 2020/0206499.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 14, 39 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conn (US 2010/0268313) in view of Carter (US 2020/0206499).
Regarding claims 1-3, 10 and 42, Conn discloses a method wherein a mastoidectomy is performed by making an incision in an outer ear of a recipient (see figure 3 and par. 0039). A stimulation assembly 140 is implanted and secured within the incision adjacent (i.e., “near”) to an external auditory canal, as seen in figure 3 (par. 0035). The assembly is used to stimulate a neural structure in the vicinity to stimulate the auditory system (par. 0030). Conn is silent as to specifically stimulating the afferent branch/trunk of the auricular branch of the vagus nerve.
Carter also teaches a stimulation assembly for stimulating the auditory system of a patient (see abstract). Specifically, Carter discloses that one can stimulate the afferent branch/trunk of the auricular branch of the vagus nerve in order to stimulate the auditory system and treat the patient (par. 0046, 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Conn to specifically stimulate the afferent branch/trunk of the auricular branch of the vagus nerve as taught by Carter as Carter teaches this nerve portion to be effective in stimulating the auditory system and treat the patient, as is the overall purpose/goal of Conn.
Regarding claim 4, Conn discloses that the assembly 140 is a ball electrode (par. 0035). Therefore, the electrode will have a portion that points towards a skull and a portion that points toward the auricular branch of a vagal nerve given that the ball is electrically active in all directions.
Regarding claims 5-6, 8 and 14, Conn discloses stimulating between electrode 140 and a reference/ground electrode 160 (i.e., “second vagal nerve stimulation assembly”), the two electrodes considered a subset of the electrodes (par. 0016, 0045).
Regarding claim 9, Conn discloses there can be a plurality of electrodes 140 (par. 0035).
Regarding claim 12, the electrode 140 is anchored by screwing the assembly into bone (par. 0036).
Regarding claim 39, as seen in figure 3, the incision is at an underside of the pinna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 40 and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796