DETAILED ACTION
2. In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
3. The Amendment filed April 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, 13, 15, 19, and 20 have been amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the objections to the Specification; and Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 03, 2006. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a manipulation unit, a processing unit, a sound output unit, in claims 15-17, and 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation “the correspondence” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because term “correspondence” was not introduced earlier in the claim and thus it is unclear what earlier term is referencing which causes the scope of the claim indefinite. As the first time this term is introduced, "the correspondence” can be replaced by " correspondence” to overcome the indefiniteness problem. The same remarks apply to independent claims 15, 19, and 20.
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1, and are also rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15, and are also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20170150282 (hereinafter, “Mishra”, cited by Applicant IDS filed 12/11/2023, 1 page; previously cited) in view of Eldon U.S. Patent 6447461.
Regarding claim 1, Mishra teaches an information processing method of an information processing system (including mobile device 102, hearing assistant module 110, Fig. 1; The user device 102, which may be a mobile device such as a smartphone, tablet, laptop, wearable device, etc., is shown to include speaker 106, headphones 104, display element 108, microphone 114, various sensors 112 and a hearing assistant module 110, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra), comprising:
an adjustment manipulation accepting step of accepting adjustment manipulation of sound output (a gradual change in conversational behavior such as requesting others to repeat words, and raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra) from a sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra; User volume setting profiler circuit 214 may be configured to monitor the volume level set by the user, over time, for various applications such as for phone calls, virtual assistant interaction, alert sounds and media playback, etc., Fig. 2, par [0022], see Mishra); and
a feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra) of estimating auditory capacity (i.e., hearing loss indicator data, par [0014], see Mishra) of a user corresponding to the adjustment manipulation (raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014]) from the adjustment manipulation (The analysis may detect hearing loss trends linked to each context over a period of time, par [0014], see Mishra) and signal data of the sound (in decibel (dB), par [0020], see Mishra) corresponding to the adjustment manipulation (User speech profiler circuit 208 may also be configured to monitor the volume levels of the user in response to selected keyphrases like “hello,” or “Ok Google,” which may serve as a convenient/stable benchmark for comparisons over relatively longer periods of time, par [0021], see Mishra), and outputting feedback (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra; The collected hearing loss indicator data from one or more of the user's devices, along with context information related to the usage environment, may be aggregated and analyzed, for example by a remote or cloud-based analysis system. The analysis may detect hearing loss trends linked to each context over a period of time, as will be described in greater detail below. Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user to enable early intervention to avoid or limit further hearing impairment, (par [0014], see Mishra). The hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra).
However, Mishra does not explicitly disclose wherein the feedback output step further comprises a data collecting step of collecting event data including device-specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure.
Eldon teaches method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones (see Title) in which wherein the feedback output step (The output of the system is set to particular frequency, such as 1 kHz. The volume control for the audio signals at the particular frequency is adjusted until the calibration device produces the calibrated drive voltage on its output. With the volume control set for the system at the adjusted level, the user is prompted (i.e., feedback) through a hearing test in the test frequencies, while the output of the system is controlled according to a data set characterizing headphones, col. 2, lines 46-54, see Eldon) further comprises a data collecting step of collecting event data including device-specific data (The process begins by storing a data set characterizing the frequency response of the headphones (i.e., device-specific data) for sound pressure levels at various input drive voltages over the range of frequencies to be utilized in the test (step 30), col. 5, lines 21-24, see Eldon) including a level diagram of the sound output unit (With a suitable system including a computer with a sound card or equivalent hardware for producing audio signals, headphones and a volume control for the headphones, the system is used for hearing tests by determining the frequency response characteristics of the specified headphones, determining the drive voltage that will generate a target calibration value in dB SPL (i.e., 94 dB) using a 1 kHz calibration sine tone in the headphones, and utilizing a calibration device to indicate by bulb light, meter reading or other indication, that this proper voltage is being sent to the headphones at 1 kHz, so that the specified headphones generate the target calibration level (i.e., 94 dB SPL), as measured by established audiometric coupler, col. 4, lines 38-51, see Eldon), wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure (The headphones are characterized by a data set including drive voltages for corresponding test frequencies at which a constant sound pressure level (SPL) (i.e., absolute sound pressure as opposed relative sound pressure) is generated by the headphones. Further, the headphones are characterized by a calibrated drive voltage at a particular reference frequency which produces a particular sound pressure level output by the headphones. The method comprises coupling audio signals from the computer to the input of a calibration device which translates an input audio signal to output drive voltages, col. 2, lines 36-45, see Eldon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones taught by Eldon with the information processing method of Mishra such that to obtain wherein the feedback output step further comprises a data collecting step of collecting event data including device-specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure in order to provide for a hearing test system that can be utilized in music studios or home environments, as suggested by Eldon in column 10, lines 46-48.
Regarding claim 2, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches wherein, in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), a notification based on an estimation result of the auditory capacity (i.e., hearing loss) of the user is presented to the user as output of the feedback (Example 17 includes the subject matter of Examples 15 and 16, further comprising sending a report to the user, the report comprising the estimated hearing loss and the recommended actions, par [0090], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 3, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches wherein, in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), a parameter for adjusting a function of the sound output unit (raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra) is output to the sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra) as the feedback based on an estimation result of the auditory capacity of the user (i.e., hearing loss; The hearing loss analysis system receives this data from one or more of the user's devices and performs statistical analysis to group the hearing loss indicators into clusters associated with each context and to identify trends, par [0015], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 6, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches wherein, in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), the auditory capacity of the user is estimated from volume adjustment manipulation for adjusting volume of the sound (the hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra) or adjustment manipulation of an equalizer for adjusting sound quality of the sound.
Regarding claim 7, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches wherein, in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), the auditory capacity of the user is estimated from a feature amount (in decibel (dB), par [0020]) of the signal data (the hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 8, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), latest auditory capacity of the user is estimated based on an estimation result of the auditory capacity of the user estimated in time series (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data and the context data over a selected time period and provide that data to a hearing loss analysis system at periodic intervals. In some embodiments, the collection period may be on the order of hours, days or weeks, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 9, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches wherein, in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra), future auditory capacity of the user is estimated based on an estimation result of the auditory capacity of the user estimated in time series (The trend identification circuit 406 may be configured to identify trends in the hearing loss indicator data for each of the generated clusters over a selected period of time. In some embodiments, the selected period of time may be on the order of weeks or months or more, Fig. 4, par [0036], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 12, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches further comprising a sound output step of outputting the sound by the sound output unit (The user device 102, which may be a mobile device such as a smartphone, tablet, laptop, wearable device, etc., is shown to include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 13, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 2. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches further comprising:
a selection manipulation accepting step of accepting selection manipulation corresponding to the notification based on an estimation result of the auditory capacity of the user (Example 3 includes the subject matter of Examples 1 and 2, further comprising receiving a report (corresponds to notification) from the hearing loss analysis system, the report comprising an estimate of user hearing loss (corresponds to the auditory capacity of the user) and recommended actions to reduce further loss, the report based on an analysis of the collected data provided by the device over a second selected time period, par [0076], see Mishra);
a function enabling step of enabling a hearing aid function or a sound collecting function of the sound output unit based on the selection manipulation (At operation 730, the hearing loss indicator data and the context data is collected over a selected time period, for example hours or days, Fig. 7, par [0046], see Mishra); and
a hearing step or a sound collecting step in which the sound output unit performs hearing or sound collecting processing (At operation 740, the collected data is provided to a hearing loss analysis system, for example a remote or cloud-based system, at periodic intervals, Fig. 7, par [0046], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 15, Mishra teaches an information processing system (including mobile device 102, hearing assistant module 110, Fig. 1; The user device 102, which may be a mobile device such as a smartphone, tablet, laptop, wearable device, etc., is shown to include speaker 106, headphones 104, display element 108, microphone 114, various sensors 112 and a hearing assistant module 110, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra),comprising:
a manipulation unit (this limitation invokes 112(f) parts of the terminal device 2, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0011]; including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra) that accepts adjustment manipulation of sound output (a gradual change in conversational behavior such as requesting others to repeat words, and raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra) from a sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra; User volume setting profiler circuit 214 may be configured to monitor the volume level set by the user, over time, for various applications such as for phone calls, virtual assistant interaction, alert sounds and media playback, etc., Fig. 2, par [0022], see Mishra); and
a processing unit (this limitation invokes 112(f) parts of the terminal device 2, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0011]; corresponds to hearing assistant 110, Figs. 1, 2, par [0018], see Mishra) that estimates auditory capacity (i.e., hearing loss indicator data, par [0014], see Mishra) of a user corresponding to the adjustment manipulation (raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014]) from the adjustment manipulation (The analysis may detect hearing loss trends linked to each context over a period of time, par [0014], see Mishra) and signal data of the sound corresponding to the adjustment manipulation (User speech profiler circuit 208 may also be configured to monitor the volume levels of the user in response to selected keyphrases like “hello,” or “Ok Google,” which may serve as a convenient/stable benchmark for comparisons over relatively longer periods of time, par [0021], see Mishra), and outputs feedback (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra; The collected hearing loss indicator data from one or more of the user's devices, along with context information related to the usage environment, may be aggregated and analyzed, for example by a remote or cloud-based analysis system. The analysis may detect hearing loss trends linked to each context over a period of time, as will be described in greater detail below. Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user to enable early intervention to avoid or limit further hearing impairment, (par [0014], see Mishra). The hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra).
However, Mishra does not explicitly disclose wherein the output of feedback further comprises collection of event data including device- specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure.
Eldon teaches method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones (see Title) in which wherein the output of feedback (The output of the system is set to particular frequency, such as 1 kHz. The volume control for the audio signals at the particular frequency is adjusted until the calibration device produces the calibrated drive voltage on its output. With the volume control set for the system at the adjusted level, the user is prompted (i.e., feedback) through a hearing test in the test frequencies, while the output of the system is controlled according to a data set characterizing headphones, col. 2, lines 46-54, see Eldon) further comprises collection of event data including device- specific data (The process begins by storing a data set characterizing the frequency response of the headphones (i.e., device-specific data) for sound pressure levels at various input drive voltages over the range of frequencies to be utilized in the test (step 30), col. 5, lines 21-24, see Eldon) including a level diagram of the sound output unit (With a suitable system including a computer with a sound card or equivalent hardware for producing audio signals, headphones and a volume control for the headphones, the system is used for hearing tests by determining the frequency response characteristics of the specified headphones, determining the drive voltage that will generate a target calibration value in dB SPL (i.e., 94 dB) using a 1 kHz calibration sine tone in the headphones, and utilizing a calibration device to indicate by bulb light, meter reading or other indication, that this proper voltage is being sent to the headphones at 1 kHz, so that the specified headphones generate the target calibration level (i.e., 94 dB SPL), as measured by established audiometric coupler, col. 4, lines 38-51, see Eldon), wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure (The headphones are characterized by a data set including drive voltages for corresponding test frequencies at which a constant sound pressure level (SPL) (i.e., absolute sound pressure as opposed relative sound pressure) is generated by the headphones. Further, the headphones are characterized by a calibrated drive voltage at a particular reference frequency which produces a particular sound pressure level output by the headphones. The method comprises coupling audio signals from the computer to the input of a calibration device which translates an input audio signal to output drive voltages, col. 2, lines 36-45, see Eldon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones taught by Eldon with the information processing method of Mishra such that to obtain wherein the output of feedback further comprises collection of event data including device- specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure in order to provide for a hearing test system that can be utilized in music studios or home environments, as suggested by Eldon in column 10, lines 46-48.
Regarding claim 16, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing system according to claim 15. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches further comprising a sound output unit (this limitation invokes 112(f), the sound output device 1 includes a sound output unit, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0012]; speaker 106, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra) that outputs the sound (The reports may appear as visual and/or audio alerts through display 108 and/or speaker 106 and headphone 104, Fig. 1, par [0025], see Mishra).
Regarding claim 19, Mishra teaches a data collecting method (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra) comprising:
a manipulation data collecting step of collecting manipulation data of a manipulation unit (including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra) by a user from the manipulation unit that accepts adjustment manipulation of sound output by a sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra; User volume setting profiler circuit 214 may be configured to monitor the volume level set by the user (corresponds to accepts adjustment manipulation), over time, for various applications such as for phone calls, virtual assistant interaction, alert sounds and media playback, etc., Fig. 2, par [0022], see Mishra);
a sound signal data (decibels (dB) par [0020], see Mishra) collecting step of collecting signal data of the sound (via volume of device) when the manipulation unit is manipulated (raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra; User volume setting profiler circuit 214 may be configured to monitor the volume level set by the user, over time, for various applications such as for phone calls, virtual assistant interaction, alert sounds and media playback, etc., Fig. 2, par [0022], see Mishra) from the sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra); and
an event data (i.e., environment data, par [0024], see Mishra) generating step of generating event data by associating the manipulation data with the signal data (Audio context generation circuit 204 may be configured to estimate context or environment data associated with use of the device by the user. Examples of context may include, but not be limited to, a business meeting environment, a voice phone call, a work environment, a home environment, a factory environment and an entertainment environment, Fig. 2, par [0024], see Mishra); and
a storing step (via a remote or cloud-based system, par [0046], see Mishra) of storing the event data in a storage unit (At operation 740, the collected data is provided to a hearing loss analysis system, for example a remote or cloud-based system, at periodic intervals. This is to allow the remote analysis system to aggregate the data with additional data (i.e., storing), provided from other devices or platforms of the user, over a relatively longer time frame (e.g., weeks or months) to estimate user hearing loss, Fig. 7, par [0046]; see also a storage system 970, Fig. 9, par [0054], see Mishra).
However, Mishra does not explicitly disclose wherein the event data includes device-specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure.
Eldon teaches method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones (see Title) in which the volume control for the audio signals at the particular frequency is adjusted until the calibration device produces the calibrated drive voltage on its output. With the volume control set for the system at the adjusted level, the user is prompted through a hearing test in the test frequencies, while the output of the system is controlled according to a data set characterizing headphones (col. 2, lines 48-54, see Eldon); wherein the event data includes device-specific data (The process begins by storing a data set characterizing the frequency response of the headphones (i.e., device-specific data) for sound pressure levels at various input drive voltages over the range of frequencies to be utilized in the test (step 30), col. 5, lines 21-24, see Eldon) including a level diagram of the sound output unit (With a suitable system including a computer with a sound card or equivalent hardware for producing audio signals, headphones and a volume control for the headphones, the system is used for hearing tests by determining the frequency response characteristics of the specified headphones, determining the drive voltage that will generate a target calibration value in dB SPL (i.e., 94 dB) using a 1 kHz calibration sine tone in the headphones, and utilizing a calibration device to indicate by bulb light, meter reading or other indication, that this proper voltage is being sent to the headphones at 1 kHz, so that the specified headphones generate the target calibration level (i.e., 94 dB SPL), as measured by established audiometric coupler, col. 4, lines 38-51, see Eldon), wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure (The headphones are characterized by a data set including drive voltages for corresponding test frequencies at which a constant sound pressure level (SPL) (i.e., absolute sound pressure as opposed relative sound pressure) is generated by the headphones. Further, the headphones are characterized by a calibrated drive voltage at a particular reference frequency which produces a particular sound pressure level output by the headphones. The method comprises coupling audio signals from the computer to the input of a calibration device which translates an input audio signal to output drive voltages, col. 2, lines 36-45, see Eldon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones taught by Eldon with the information processing method of Mishra such that to obtain wherein the output of feedback further comprises collection of event data including device- specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure in order to provide for a hearing test system that can be utilized in music studios or home environments, as suggested by Eldon in column 10, lines 46-48.
Regarding claim 20, Mishra teaches a data collecting system (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra) comprising:
a sound output unit (this limitation invokes 112(f), the sound output device 1 includes a sound output unit, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0012]) that outputs sound (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra);
a manipulation unit (this limitation invokes 112(f) parts of the terminal device 2, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0011]; including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra) that accepts adjustment manipulation of the sound output (a gradual change in conversational behavior such as requesting others to repeat words, and raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra) from the sound output unit (include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra; User volume setting profiler circuit 214 may be configured to monitor the volume level set by the user (corresponds to accepts adjustment manipulation), over time, for various applications such as for phone calls, virtual assistant interaction, alert sounds and media playback, etc., Fig. 2, par [0022], see Mishra); and
a data collecting unit (this limitation invokes 112(f), data collecting unit, Specification page 8, par [0026]; The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra) that collects manipulation data of the manipulation unit (including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra) by a user of the sound output unit (raising the volume setting of the device, par [0014], see Mishra) and signal data of the sound (in decibel (dB), par [0020], see Mishra) when the manipulation unit is manipulated (User speech profiler circuit 208 may also be configured to monitor the volume levels of the user in response to selected keyphrases like “hello,” or “Ok Google,” which may serve as a convenient/stable benchmark for comparisons over relatively longer periods of time, par [0021], see Mishra).
However, Mishra does not explicitly disclose wherein the data collecting step of collecting event data includes device-specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure.
Eldon teaches method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones (see Title) in which the output of the system is set to particular frequency, such as 1 kHz. The volume control for the audio signals at the particular frequency is adjusted until the calibration device produces the calibrated drive voltage on its output. With the volume control set for the system at the adjusted level, the user is prompted through a hearing test in the test frequencies, while the output of the system is controlled according to a data set characterizing headphones, col. 2, lines 48-54, see Eldon) wherein the data collecting step of collecting event data including device-specific data (The process begins by storing a data set characterizing the frequency response of the headphones (i.e., device-specific data) for sound pressure levels at various input drive voltages over the range of frequencies to be utilized in the test (step 30), col. 5, lines 21-24, see Eldon) including a level diagram of the sound output unit (With a suitable system including a computer with a sound card or equivalent hardware for producing audio signals, headphones and a volume control for the headphones, the system is used for hearing tests by determining the frequency response characteristics of the specified headphones, determining the drive voltage that will generate a target calibration value in dB SPL (i.e., 94 dB) using a 1 kHz calibration sine tone in the headphones, and utilizing a calibration device to indicate by bulb light, meter reading or other indication, that this proper voltage is being sent to the headphones at 1 kHz, so that the specified headphones generate the target calibration level (i.e., 94 dB SPL), as measured by established audiometric coupler, col. 4, lines 38-51, see Eldon), wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure (The headphones are characterized by a data set including drive voltages for corresponding test frequencies at which a constant sound pressure level (SPL) (i.e., absolute sound pressure as opposed relative sound pressure) is generated by the headphones. Further, the headphones are characterized by a calibrated drive voltage at a particular reference frequency which produces a particular sound pressure level output by the headphones. The method comprises coupling audio signals from the computer to the input of a calibration device which translates an input audio signal to output drive voltages, col. 2, lines 36-45, see Eldon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system for conducting a hearing test using a computer and headphones taught by Eldon with the information processing method of Mishra such that to obtain wherein the feedback output step further comprises a data collecting step of collecting event data including device-specific data including a level diagram of the sound output unit, wherein the level diagram represents the correspondence between an input signal level and an output absolute sound pressure in order to provide for a hearing test system that can be utilized in music studios or home environments, as suggested by Eldon in column 10, lines 46-48.
14. Claims 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20170150282 (hereinafter, “Mishra, cited by Applicant IDS filed 12/11/2023, 1 page; previously cited) in view of Eldon U.S. Patent 6447461, and further in view of Huang U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220225039 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 3. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, further teaches in the feedback output step (the hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra).
However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose wherein a notification for changing the parameter is presented in a case where a value indicating an estimated auditory capacity level of the user is equal to or less than a threshold, and the parameter is changed based on manipulation corresponding to the notification.
Huang teaches self-fitting hearing aid having built-in pure tone signal generator (see Title) in which: see [par 0037] the user connects the hearing aid in a wired or wireless manner through the fitting software of the corresponding App on the computer or mobile phone when there is a network. Firstly, the pure tone signal generator in the hearing aid emits pure tone signals of different frequencies and different gains (i.e., a value indicating an estimated auditory capacity level) through the hearing test software, and a speaker in the hearing aid emits sounds. Then, the test software respectively sends out corresponding sound hertz frequency commands, and the users can hear the pure tone signals in the hearing aid respectively. If the users cannot hear the pure tone signals (i.e., threshold), the system will automatically increase the volume within the corresponding time until the user can hear the pure tone signals (corresponds to the parameter is changed based on manipulation corresponding to the notification). After hearing the pure tone signals, the users can press a confirmation button on the software interface, and the system will automatically record the hearing threshold of the frequency point. Finally, the relevant parameters suitable for the users are calculated through the software programming system, and then the program settings in the voice processing system of the hearing aid are automatically rewritten in a wired or wireless manner. If the users feel that the hearing effects are not good, the retest button can be press for retesting. After the adaptation is completed, the users can press a clicking button after hearing on the software interface. The next time the user use it, just turn on the switch. If the hearing loss degree has changed, a retesting is required again (par [0037], see Huang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the self-fitting hearing aid having built-in pure tone signal generator taught by Huang with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain wherein a notification for changing the parameter is presented in a case where a value indicating an estimated auditory capacity level of the user is equal to or less than a threshold, and the parameter is changed based on manipulation corresponding to the notification in order to simplify fitting procedures and improve the accuracy of the hearing test and fitting, as suggested by Huang in Abstract.
Regarding claim 14, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 3. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, teaches further comprising a hearing step or a sound collecting step in which the sound output unit performs hearing or sound collecting processing (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data and the context data over a selected time period and provide that data to a hearing loss analysis system at periodic intervals, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra).
However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose based on a parameter for adjusting a function of the sound output unit.
Huang teaches self-fitting hearing aid having built-in pure tone signal generator (see Title) in which he user connects the hearing aid in a wired or wireless manner through the fitting software of the corresponding App on the computer or mobile phone when there is a network. Firstly, the pure tone signal generator in the hearing aid emits pure tone signals of different frequencies and different gains through the hearing test software, and a speaker in the hearing aid emits sounds. Then, the test software respectively sends out corresponding sound hertz frequency commands, and the users can hear the pure tone signals in the hearing aid respectively. If the users cannot hear the pure tone signals, the system will automatically increase the volume within the corresponding time until the user can hear the pure tone signals (par [0037], see Huang). If the user still cannot hear the pure tone signals, the system will continue to automatically increase the volume by 3-5 dB (i.e., parameter) until the user can hear the pure tone signals (par [0030], see Huang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the self-fitting hearing aid having built-in pure tone signal generator taught by Huang with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain further comprising based on a parameter for adjusting a function of the sound output unit in order to simplify fitting procedures and improve the accuracy of the hearing test and fitting, as suggested by Huang in Abstract.
15. Claims 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20170150282 (hereinafter, “Mishra”, cited by Applicant IDS filed 12/11/2023, 1 page; previously cited) in view of Eldon U.S. Patent 6447461, and further in view of Strelcyk et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220218236 (hereinafter, “Strelcyk”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing method according to claim 1. Mishra in view of Eldon, as modified, further teaches wherein in the feedback output step (Analysis results and suggestions may be provided to the user (par [0014], see Mishra) (the hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra) wherein the auditory capacity of the user is estimated (i.e., hearing loss; the hearing loss indicator data generation circuit 220 may be configured to measure hearing loss indicators associated with use of the device by the user. Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume (Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra); The hearing loss analysis system receives this data from one or more of the user's devices and performs statistical analysis to group the hearing loss indicators into clusters associated with each context and to identify trends, par [0015], see Mishra).
However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose based on a learning model for estimating the auditory capacity of the user.
Strelcyk teaches systems and methods for hearing evaluation (see Title) in which Machine learning model 702 may be implemented by any supervised and/or unsupervised learning algorithms. For example, machine learning model 702 may be implemented by a supervised deep learning model, such as a neural network, a convolutional neural network, and/or a recurrent neural network (Fig. 7, par [0066], see Strelcyk). In some examples, the hearing profile may be estimated by estimation module 404 in terms of other than air-conduction pure-tone hearing thresholds. For example, a logistic-regression model could be used to predict the likelihood of the presence of a hearing loss or hearing impairment (Fig. 4, par [0067], see Strelcyk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the systems and methods for hearing evaluation taught by Strelcyk with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain based on a learning model for estimating the auditory capacity of the user for purpose of providing remote hearing evaluation capability, as suggested by Strelcyk in paragraph [0036].
Regarding claim 10, Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk teaches the information processing method according to claim 5. Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk, as modified, teaches further comprising a data collecting step of collecting event data (via remote analysis interface circuit 212, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra) which includes manipulation data of the adjustment manipulation by the user (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data and the context data over a selected time period and provide that data to a hearing loss analysis system at periodic intervals, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra), signal data of the sound when the adjustment manipulation is performed (Indicators of hearing loss may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and word rate, user adjustments of device volume, Fig. 2, par [0020], see Mishra) and situation data of the user when the adjustment manipulation is performed (Audio context generation circuit 204 may be configured to estimate context or environment data associated with use of the device by the user. Examples of context may include, but not be limited to, a business meeting environment, a voice phone call, a work environment, a home environment, a factory environment and an entertainment environment, par [0024], see Mishra), device-specific data related to sound output of the sound output unit (Devices and techniques do exist for coping with hearing impairment, such as medical-grade hearing aids, par [0002], see Mishra), and user-specific data (user volume setting of the device, par [0044], see Mishra), which includes physical data related to the auditory capacity of the user (As illustrated in FIG. 7, in one embodiment hearing loss detection method 700 commences by measuring, at operation 710, hearing loss indicator data associated with use of the device by the user. The hearing loss indicator data may include, for example, ambient sound characteristics, user speech volume level and user volume setting of the device, Fig. 7, par [0044], see Mishra), and storing (via a remote or cloud-based system, par [0046], see Mishra) the event data, the device-specific data, and the user-specific data in association with each other (At operation 730, the hearing loss indicator data and the context data is collected over a selected time period, for example hours or days. At operation 740, the collected data is provided to a hearing loss analysis system, for example a remote or cloud-based system, at periodic intervals. This is to allow the remote analysis system to aggregate the data with additional data (i.e., storing), provided from other devices or platforms of the user, over a relatively longer time frame (e.g., weeks or months) to estimate user hearing loss, Fig. 7, par [0046]; see also a storage system 970, Fig. 9, par [0054], see Mishra).
However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose wherein, the learning model performs machine learning for an estimation method of the auditory capacity by using data collected in the data collecting step.
Strelcyk teaches systems and methods for hearing evaluation (see Title) in which Machine learning model 702 may be implemented by any supervised and/or unsupervised learning algorithms. For example, machine learning model 702 may be implemented by a supervised deep learning model, such as a neural network, a convolutional neural network, and/or a recurrent neural network (Fig. 7, par [0066], see Strelcyk). In some examples, the hearing profile may be estimated by estimation module 404 in terms of other than air-conduction pure-tone hearing thresholds. For example, a logistic-regression model could be used to predict the likelihood of the presence of a hearing loss or hearing impairment (corresponds to auditory capacity) (Fig. 4, par [0067], see Strelcyk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the systems and methods for hearing evaluation taught by Strelcyk with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain wherein, the learning model performs machine learning for an estimation method of the auditory capacity by using data collected in the data collecting step for purpose of providing remote hearing evaluation capability, as suggested by Strelcyk in paragraph [0036].
Regarding claim 17, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing system according to claim 16, wherein the sound output unit is headphones (104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra) (including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra) and the processing unit (corresponds to hearing assistant 110, Figs. 1, 2, par [0018], see Mishra) are mounted on the earphone or a terminal device (this limitation invokes 112(f), terminal device 2, Fig. 1, Specification page 4, paragraph [0010]; mobile device 102, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra; The user device 102, which may be a mobile device such as a smartphone, tablet, laptop, wearable device, etc., is shown to include speaker 106, headphones 104, Fig. 1, par [0016], see Mishra) that outputs the signal data to the headphone
However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose headphones being an earphone.
Strelcyk teaches systems and methods for hearing evaluation (see Title) in which the acoustic stimuli may be presented to user 204 by way of one or more sound transducers (e.g., loudspeakers, headphones, and/or earphones) connected to or included in computing system 202 (Fig. 2, par [0029], see Strelcyk).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the systems and methods for hearing evaluation taught by Strelcyk with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain headphones being an earphone for purpose of providing remote hearing evaluation capability, as suggested by Strelcyk in paragraph [0036].
16. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20170150282 (hereinafter, “Mishra”, cited by Applicant IDS filed 12/11/2023, 1 page; previously cited) in view of Eldon U.S. Patent 6447461 in view of Strelcyk et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220218236 (hereinafter, “Strelcyk”, previously cited), and further in view of Tran U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200268260 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk teaches the information processing method according to claim 10. Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk, as modified, teaches wherein, in the data collecting step (The remote analysis interface circuit 212 may be configured to collect the hearing loss indicator data and the context data over a selected time period and provide that data to a hearing loss analysis system at periodic intervals, Fig. 2, par [0025], see Mishra), at least any one of the event data, the device-specific data or the user-specific data is collected (hearing loss indicator data (par [0025], see Mishra), user volume setting of the device, par [0044], see Mishra), (i.e., hearing loss; The hearing loss analysis system receives this data from one or more of the user's devices and performs statistical analysis to group the hearing loss indicators into clusters associated with each context and to identify trends, par [0015], see Mishra), a genetic test result or a blood test result of the user.
However, Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk does not explicitly disclose the event data including at least any one of an emotion of the user estimated from an image of the user captured by an imaging device and an environment around the user.
Tran teaches hearing and monitoring system (see Title) in which in one aspect, a method includes providing an in-ear device to a user anatomy; determine an audio response chart for a user based on a plurality of environments (restaurant, office, home, theater, party, concert, among others), determining a current environment, and updating the hearing aid parameters to optimize the amplifier response to the specific environment (par [0164], see Tran). In one embodiment, the camera captures facial expression and a code such as the Microsoft Emotion API takes a facial expression in an image as an input, and returns the confidence across a set of emotions for each face in the image, as well as bounding box for the face, using the Face API. The emotions detected are anger, contempt, disgust, fear, happiness, neutral, sadness, and surprise. These emotions are understood to be cross-culturally and universally communicated with particular facial expressions (par [0164], see Tran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hearing and monitoring system taught by Tran with the information processing method of Mishra in view of Eldon in view of Strelcyk such that to obtain the event data including at least any one of an emotion of the user estimated from an image of the user captured by an imaging device and an environment around the user in order to improve diagnosis, aids in better treatment, and allows for earlier detection of problems, as suggested by Tran in paragraph [0050].
17. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20170150282 (hereinafter, “Mishra”, previously cited) in view of Eldon U.S. Patent 6447461, and further in view of Xu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220201404 (hereinafter, “Xu”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 18, Mishra in view of Eldon teaches the information processing system according to claim 16, wherein the sound output unit is a speaker of a television (television, par [0053], see Mishra).
Mishra in view of Eldon further teaches the manipulation unit (including user volume setting profiler circuit 214, Fig. 2, par [0018], see Mishra). However, Mishra in view of Eldon does not explicitly disclose the manipulation unit is a remote control of the television.
Xu teaches self-fit hearing instruments with self-reported measures of hearing loss and listening (see Title) in which computing system 108 may comprise one or more mobile devices, server devices, personal computer devices, handheld devices, wireless access points, smart speaker devices, smart televisions (Fig. 1, par [0027], see Xu). These hearing tests often require calibration of transducers (headphones or earbuds), which may be a potentially difficult process for older users. Moreover, fine adjustments to meet individual preferences typically require users to manipulate many aspects of sound, such as bass, treble, overall loudness, with a control interface (e.g., a remote control or a mobile app), par [0045], see Xu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the self-fit hearing instruments with self-reported measures of hearing loss and listening taught by Xu with the information processing system of Mishra in view of Eldon such that to obtain the manipulation unit is a remote control of the television in order to improve the ability of hearing instruments to be fitted to individual user as suggested by Xu in paragraph [0047].
Response to Arguments
18. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
19. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695