DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The amendment of 02/20/2026 broadens the scope of the claims and the previous restriction/election is no longer necessary.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “portable winching member” of claim 12, and the “portable winching member” of claim 14, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“suitable for cleaning a surface of a structure” and “relative to the surface of a structure,”. The subsequent “structure” should be “the structure” to avoid an antecedent error, as seen in claims 1 and 12.
“a cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1and a portable”, and should be “a cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1 and a portable”, for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: “each wheel relative to the cleaning element ”, and should be “each wheel relative to the cleaning element.”, for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12-14, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, which depends on claim 1, recites: “wherein comprising two pairs of electric ducted fans, with one electric ducted each fan of each pair positioned at each end of the carriage. Claim 1 recites: “at least a pair of electric ducted fans”. As claimed, it is unclear if the “two pairs of electric ducted fans” includes the pair introduced in claim 1. For examination purposes, the two pairs of fans required by claim 6 includes the pair introduced in claim 1.
Claim 12 recites: “A cleaning system comprising a cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1 and a portable winching member”, and as claimed, it is unclear if claim 12 is meant to depend on claim 1 or an independent claim since “a cleaning apparatus” has already been introduced in claim 1. For examination purposes, claim 12 has been construed as “A cleaning system comprising the cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1 and a portable winching member”.
Claim 14, which depends on claim 12, recites: “a portable winching member”, Claim 12 introduces “a portable winching member” and it is unclear they’re referring to the same or different structure. For examination purposes, both portable winching members have been construed as different elements.
Claim 28 was previously canceled in the claims submitted on 12/11/2023. The claims submitted on 02/20/2026 introduced claim 28 as “new”. It is unclear whether the claim was numbered 28 by accident or the claim was meant to be canceled. Claim 28 will be examined, nonetheless.
Claim 31 recites: “31. (New) The apparatus as claimed in claim 31”. It is unclear which claim 31 is supposed to depend on. For examination purposes, claim 31 has been construed to depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-18, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonette (US 20090044833 A1) and Wang (US 20030106176 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Simonette teaches an unmanned cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract) suitable for
cleaning a surface of a structure (4 Fig. 1) comprising:
a carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11) adapted to be moved in upward and downward directions relative to the surface of a structure,
a cleaning element (1010 Figs. 9-11; “The washing panels 1010 may be brushes, flaps, fabric, polymer, natural fiber, sheets or the like.” [0074]) rotatably mounted on the carriage that in use rotates about a substantially horizontal axis (shown in Fig. 9), the cleaning element being configured to contact the surface,
at least a pair of support members (1002, 1008 Figs. 9-11) mounted on the carriage to support the
apparatus against the surface,
at least a pair of electric ducted fans (“one or more thrusters directing a platform against a vertical surface.” [0003]; “As the length of the blades increases, more thrusters would be (symmetrically) spaced along the length of the blades 1026 to stabilize the length of the washing blades” [0072]), the electric ducted fans being battery
powered (“Battery operated electrical systems may be used” [0076]) and operable independently (“the battery would be a back-up system in case of power outages or disconnection of the cable.” [0076]) of any power source external to the cleaning apparatus,
and together the pair of fans provide thrust to the carriage in a direction toward (“one or more thrusters directing a platform against a vertical surface.” [0003]) the surface being cleaned to stabilize the apparatus against the surface being cleaned when in use;
a motor (“The at least one first motor may both drive washing elements and provide winch action to raise and lower and horizontally shift the washing platform along the vertical surface.” [0020]) that in use is operable remotely to rotate the cleaning element (1010; “The washing panels 1010 may be brushes, flaps, fabric, polymer, natural fiber, sheets or the like.” [0074]) about its horizontal axis across the surface being cleaned; and
a spray device (“wherein the liquid applicator is selected from the group consisting of brushes, rollers and sprays.” Claim 3) that is mounted on (“a housing having a liquid application cleaning system therein” [0046]) the carriage that in use spray water towards ([0040]) the cleaning element and the surface of the structure being cleaned.
But is silent on the spray delivering device specifically being a boom and specifically providing a plurality of spaced apart nozzles; and the electric ducted fan of each pair positioned at each end of the carriage.
Wang in an analogous apparatus teaches the spray delivering device specifically being a boom (23 Fig. 3) and specifically providing a plurality of spaced apart nozzles (“A water tube 23 is provided at the upper side of the front side wall of the washing device 20. A plurality of small apertures can be evenly provided on the tube wall of the water tube 23 for spraying water toward the front side of the roller 21” [0024]); and the similar configuration electric ducted fan (220 Fig. 3; “electric propeller fans 220” [0024]) of each pair positioned at each end of the similar configuration carriage (carriage of 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the spraying boom as taught by Wang for the purpose of having a spraying device capable of spraying in a wide area.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the fan positions as taught by Wang for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, providing stability and balancing of forces.
Referring to claim 2: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further including at least one suspension member (“The system also includes a vertical motion motivator. The vertical motion motivator may be a series of winches, pulleys, cables, caterpillar drives, and other systems that can elevate and lower the platform as needed.” [0039]) positioned proximate the top side of the carriage (shown in Figs. 5b, 5c, 5d), which
suspension member in use is connected to a winch line (524 Figs. 5b, 5c, 5d), which line, in use connects the apparatus to a winch (“cable connector 530 attached to cable 524 which is connected to a winch (not shown) or secured point on the roof (not shown).” [0064]) that moves the carriage in an upward or downward direction (“to raise and lower and horizontally shift the washing platform along the vertical surface.” [0020]) as required.
Referring to claim 3: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each pair of support members (1002, 1008 Figs. 9-11) comprises a pair of wheels (shown in Figs. 9-11) mounted on the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11).
Referring to claim 4: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 3,
comprising two pairs of wheels (1002, 1008 Figs. 9-11) mounted on the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11).
Referring to claim 5: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 4 wherein the wheels (1002, 1008 Figs. 9-11) are mounted proximate each corner (shown in Fig. 9) of the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11).
Referring to claim 6: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising the plurality of electric ducted fans (220 Fig. 3 of Wang), with one electric ducted fan of each pair positioned at each end of the carriage (carriage of 20 of Wang).
But is silent on specifically being two pairs of electric ducted fans.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the two pairs of electric ducted fans for the purpose of having sufficient thrust according to the width/ size of the carriage, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Referring to claim 8: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 but is silent on wherein the pair of electric ducted fans provide a combined thrust of at least 5% the weight of the cleaning apparatus.
Per MPEP 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: sufficient thrust or insufficient thrust; further, the prior art teaches sufficient thrust.
Therefore, modifying the apparatus of Simonette as modified to provide a combined thrust of at least 5% the weight of the cleaning apparatus, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the apparatus of Simonette as modified with reasonable expectations of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified the apparatus of Simonette as modified to provide a combined thrust of at least 5% the weight of the cleaning apparatus for the purpose of applying sufficient thrust capable of fixing the apparatus as intended while minimizing the energy required in doing so.
Referring to claim 10: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cleaning element (1010 Figs. 9-11; “The washing panels 1010 may be brushes, flaps, fabric, polymer, natural fiber, sheets or the like.” [0074]) is a rotatable brush.
Referring to claim 12: Simonette as modified teaches a cleaning system (2 and 6 Fig. 1; Abstract) comprising a cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract) as claimed in claim l and a portable winching member (6 Fig. 1; “winch” [0051]) that in use is
configured to winch the cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract) up and down a surface being cleaned, the winch member (6 Fig. 1; [0051]) in use being positioned on a surface above the surface being cleaned by the cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract).
Referring to claim 13: Simonette as modified teaches the cleaning system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the portable winching member (6 Fig. 1; “winch” [0051]) is connected to roof rigging or a roof mounted lifting device above the surface being cleaned by the cleaning apparatus.
Referring to claim 14: Simonette as modified teaches the cleaning system as claimed in claim 12, wherein the
cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract) further includes a portable winching member (“An at least one first motor is provided on a moving carriage that contains the washing instrumentality. The at least one first motor may both drive washing elements and provide winch action to raise and lower and horizontally shift the washing platform along the vertical surface” [0020]) that in use is configured to winch the cleaning apparatus up and down a surface being cleaned, the winch member in use being positioned on a surface above the surface being cleaned by the cleaning apparatus (2 Fig. 1; Abstract).
Referring to claim 15: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1
further comprising:
at least a pair of lateral members (1004 “pivoting arms” [0072]) configured and adapted to support the movement of the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11) across the structure surface when in use.
Referring to claim 16: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein each lateral member (1004 “pivoting arms” [0072]) comprises a pivoting arm (1004 “pivoting arms” [0072]) that extends outwardly from the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11).
Referring to claim 17: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein each arm (1004 “pivoting arms” [0072]) at its distal end includes an auxiliary movement member (1002 Figs. 9-11).
Referring to claim 15: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1
further comprising:
at least a pair of lateral members (P1 and P2 Fig. 1-A inserted below on each side of 1000) configured and adapted to support the movement of the carriage (carriage of 1000 shown in Figs. 9-11) across the structure surface when in use.
Referring to claim 18: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 15 above, wherein the apparatus comprises at least two pairs of lateral members (P1 and P2 Fig. 1-A inserted above on each side of 1000).
Referring to claim 32: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein each fan (220 Fig. 3 of Wang) at each
end of the carriage (carriage of 20 of Wang) is in a spaced apart arrangement from an adjacent fan (shown in Fig. 3 of Wang) at the same end, about the horizonal axis (shown in Figs. 3 and 4 of Wang) of the cleaning element.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonette (US 20090044833 A1) and Wang (US 20030106176 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Jorgensen (US 4962734 A).
Referring to claim 28: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each electric ducted fan (220 Fig. 3; “electric propeller fans 220” [0024] of Wang) is driven by a motor (“Fan blades 1026 and a motor 1028 to drive the blades are shown” [0071] of Simonette).
Simonette teaches the use of a battery (“Battery operated electrical systems may be used” [0076]) which are commonly used with direct current, and does not disclose the use of an inverter. Nevertheless, Simonette as modified is silent on the fan motor specifically of being direct current (DC).
Jorgensen teaches a similar configuration fan motor specifically of being direct current (DC) (“The fan is the rotor of an electrically driven, brushless DC motor.” Col. 2, lines 18-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the DC motors as taught by Jorgensen for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the adequate electrical system configured to operate the apparatus accordingly.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonette (US 20090044833 A1) and Wang (US 20030106176 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Lange (US 20140109932 A1).
Referring to claim 29: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a shroud that covers the carriage (“The platform may be open, covered, of enclosed, with only those externally necessary elements (cleaning functions and thruster functions and motion functions) external to an enclosing component for the system.” [0038]) and is configured to prevent the spraying of residual water away from the cleaning apparatus.
But is silent on specifically being on a rear side.
Lange in an analogous apparatus teaches a similar configuration cover (108 Fig. 8) specifically on a rear side (shown in Figs. 23, 26, and 27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the rear side covering shroud as taught by Lange for the purpose of minimizing the outward splash from the neighboring objects/ pedestrians during the cleaning process.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonette (US 20090044833 A1) and Wang (US 20030106176 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of MASUZAKI (JP H10117980 A).
Referring to claim 30: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the position of the support members (1002 Figs. 9-11) is adjustable relative (via 1004 “pivoting arms” [0072]) to the cleaning element and surface being cleaned.
But is silent on specifically each support member is adjustable in specifically a forward and aft position relative to the cleaning element.
MASUZAKI in an analogous apparatus teaches each of the similar configuration support member (10 Fig. 4) is adjustable in specifically a forward and aft position (“toward the respective outer wall surface 6 on, it is configured so as to be retractable” [0013]) relative to the similar configuration cleaning element (2 Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the adjustable member configuration as taught by MASUZAKI for the purpose of furthering the ability to adjust the spacing between the carriage and the surface to be cleaned.
Referring to claim 31: Simonette as modified teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 31, but is silent on wherein each support member is mounted on an adjustable depth track that is configured to allow the forward and aft movement of each wheel relative to the cleaning element.
MASUZAKI in an analogous apparatus teaches each wherein each support member (10 Fig. 4) is mounted on an adjustable depth track (11 Fig. 4) that is configured to allow the forward and aft movement (“toward the respective outer wall surface 6 on, it is configured so as to be retractable” [0013]) of each wheel relative to the cleaning element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Simonette with the adjustable depth track configuration as taught by MASUZAKI for the purpose of furthering the ability to adjust the spacing between the carriage and the surface to be cleaned.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723