DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 12 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coughlin (US 2016/0167095):
Regarding claim 1, Coughlin discloses a system, comprising a fluid supply system including a blender (20) configured to receive and mix liquid and proppant within a mixing tub to form a proppant slurry; a proppant source (65,68) configured to discharge proppant; and an electrically (see [0082]) driven conveyor (15) extending between the proppant source and the mixing tub of the blender, wherein the conveyor is configured to meter delivery of proppant to the mixing tub of the blender (see [0074] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, the proppant source is configured to choke feed proppant to the conveyor, such that a speed of the conveyor defines a rate at which proppant is discharged from the proppant source to the conveyor (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, the proppant source is coupled to an enclosure substantially encompassing the conveyor, the enclosure configured to limit a maximum proppant depth on the conveyor (see Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, the proppant source includes a plurality of proppant containers (see [0088]), each of the plurality of proppant containers configured to discharge proppant onto the conveyor through a discharge chute extending into the enclosure.
Regarding claim 8, Coughlin discloses a system, comprising a fluid supply system including a blender (20) configured to receive and mix liquid and proppant within a mixing tub to form a proppant slurry; a proppant source (65,68) configured to discharge proppant; an electrically (see [0082]) driven conveyor (15) extending between the proppant source and the mixing tub of the blender, the conveyor configured to metered delivery of proppant to the mixing tub of the blender (see [0074] and [0081]); and a control system for controlling a speed of the conveyor to control a rate at which proppant is delivered to the blender (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, a first sensor is located below a distal end of the conveyor, first sensor in signal communication with the control system and configured to monitor the rate at which proppant is delivered to the blender (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 12, a second sensor is located within a passage guiding proppant slurry out of the blender, the second sensor in signal communication with the control system and configured to monitor a concentration of the proppant slurry (see [0081).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coughlin (US 2016/0167095). The system of Coughlin was discussed above:
Regarding claim 5, Coughlin further discloses the conveyor having first (165) and second (115) portion both leading to blender (20) (see [0097]), although it is not expressly stated that they are at an angle. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected the orientation of the two portions, such as at an angle, to delivery material from two locations to the blender as disclosed.
Regarding claim 6, Coughlin further discloses the conveyor having first (165) and second (115) portion both leading to blender (20) (see [0097]), although it is not expressly stated that they are adjacent and parallel. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected the orientation of the two portions, such as at and parallel, to delivery material from to locations to the blender as disclosed.
Regarding claim 7, Coughlin further discloses plural containers (see [0088] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Coughlin further teaches a variable frequency drive (see [0019] and [0081]); however, the drive is not for the conveyor. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized a variable frequency drive for the conveyor to achieve the conveyor speed control discussed in [0074] and [0081]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coughlin (US 2016/0167095) in view of Petri (US 2016/0207657). The system of Coughlin was discussed above. The first sensor being ultrasonic is not explicitly disclosed. Petri teaches providing a conveyor with an ultrasonic senor to measure flow rate (see [0096] and [0097]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized an ultrasonic sensor as taught by Petri to measure flow rate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coughlin (US 2016/0167095) in view of Scharmach (US 2017/0212029). The system of Coughlin was discussed above.
A nuclear densitometer is not disclosed. Scharmach explains in [0006] to [0011] that nuclear densitometers are well know for measuring concentration. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have employed a nuclear densitometer to measure concentration because Scharmach explains that such is “common”.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774